12 amp Task Force 3 in 1 electric lawnmower

by Shannon
(Columbia, SC)

The 12 amp Task Force 3 in 1 electric lawnmower is a good buy. Costing less than $200, it is economical upfront and it uses no gasoline like other lawnmowers available.


The bag is effective and allows for easy removal and cleaning. The mower works well even with damp grass, and is quiet enough to use in early mornings or late evenings without disturbing your neighbors. The mower has the added benefit of being light and self propelled.

The worst issue with the Task Force electric lawnmower is the time spent working on not running over the electrical cord needed to power it.

When you reach to move the cord, often you release the handle and have to restart the lawnmower. While that is easy to do on the Task Force, it quickly becomes a nuisance to have to remedy each time you switch directions of the mower.

While most of the parts on the Task Force are durable, the cushioning around the handle quickly wears out or tears, with simple week by week use.

The wheels are large and easily adjusted, but it is difficult to find the proper setting that will allow the grass to be clipped closely without the bottom of the mower scrapping, or placing the setting too high to require additional mowing later, so the mower does not scrap the ground.

Overall, it is a good lawnmower for a small lawn in a residential area, especially for those looking for something without a large price tag.

Comments for 12 amp Task Force 3 in 1 electric lawnmower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 01, 2014
Rating
star
The machine died on me
by: Bill N

I used this machine 3 times and the starter handle broke, I managed to still use the tip of it to start it, but now the machine runs for few minutes then dies and have to start it again. Any advice form the manufacture? On why would they sell junk product ?

Aug 01, 2014
Rating
star
The machine died on me
by: Bill N

I used this machine 3 times and the starter handle broke, I managed to still use the tip of it to start it, but now the machine runs for few minutes then dies and have to start it again. Any advice form the manufacture? On why would they sell junk product ?

Jun 07, 2014
Rating
star
save your $$
by: Anonymous

mine broke in less than one year

Jun 13, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Electric I've had
by: Franklin

After some 10 years of frustration with another high value name mower that would not cut low enough to maintain a green bermuda lawn and a side mounted bag that kept one away from mowing anything close. as well as dragging, I finally gave it a decent burial (sold at a yard sale) and bought the Task Force now into it's 3rd summer. Absolutely the best mower ever, to say nothing of it's great vacuuming ability. Given the price to purchase, even if I had to replace it this summer, I'd consider it a great purchase-- both this one and the next one.

May 28, 2013
Rating
starstar
Task Force Mower kinda sucks
by: jasper

Well, bought my first one in 2010, used it maybe 5 times and it quit working, just thought I got a lemon, I took it back and Lowes replaced it for a new one, I took a 2yr warranty out on it and I seemed to really like the second one until this year, took it out and started mowing with it and it just would start and then slowyly shut it self off, could not make it run. My husband took it apart and found we needed new brushes for it, I have called around and still cannot find the part. I am so upset, my warranty ran out and now I am without a mower, this one did the same as the first one, except I did get a few years out of this one before the warranty ran out and needed to repair it. I really did like the light weight of this motor, made it easy to use on my hill, oh well I won't buy another one, just try to find one better and that will last me at least 6yrs.

May 22, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
outstanding mower!
by: Anonymous

We have our Task Force 227684 for nearly 7 years!

I have used it, abused it, beat up sticks, rocks, grass and mulched 3 acres of leaves with it ..

Other than a blade replacement, it has been a Blessing to have:)

I threw away the grass catcher, and drop the deck to GOLF course height on our rolling landscape...

The trick is to back-off when you hear it struggle, clear it, clean it and go again!

NOW - If only it were cordless ;)



Apr 30, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
longevity problems
by: Anonymous

to be honest, i loved this when i bought it- i'm older lady with breathing problems- machine was light weight enough for me to use comfortably- bought it last year, used it several times and was pleased with results. took it out this year for first time, cut half the lawn and the machine just died. other reviews show same problem. machine doesnt appear to be long lasting.

Mar 17, 2013
Rating
star
Don't buy this mower!
by: Anonymous

Our broke the second time we used it. The button (big red) broke and we had to rebuy the part. We took it back to lowes and we were at the 30 day mark on the receipt and they would not help. It's a piece of crap! The parts are cheap plastic, towing the cord is impossible and it is cheap.

Nov 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Not bad for the money
by: Dan

I bought the mower several years ago to tackle my small, City of Chicago lawn. After a couple of years, it started arcing and sparking one day. I replaced a blown diode in the engine, and off it went. No problems before or since. I'm not using a grass catcher, but the mower itself does the job.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
Task Force mower stopped working
by: Orlando mowerman mechanic

While I travel for business, my wife upgrades our excessive consumption unnecessarily. My wife gave away our old (15 years...only problem was on-off handle which needed a bit of technique to keep it going) electric mower I got at a yard sale for $25....and bought this TASK FORCE 20" 3-in-1 Electric... 'easy to use' clean looking one. Now 12 months later (25 mows total) it stops functioning. So I am in middle of process of taking it apart (switch cam is intact) to diagnose the problem.... from comments I see I need to go further down into electric motor to see if I'm screwed there by various clog/burnout problems.
Chinese factories can produce items under supervision of others but this one looks cheap inside made of too much plastic to be other than disposable mower. Broken now, my wife handed it over to me to deal with. I wish she would not replace something that ain't broke, for supposed ease, since the cheap stuff always ends up this way, on my list of 'to do' items.. I wish she had googled the name before purchasing it; all these comments confirm my suspicion when I first looked at her proud purchase and worrried about all the plastic that appeared nondurable....alas I was right.... AGGGG

Jun 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works fine for me!
by: Bill

It was time to replace my old mower when I came across the Task Force Electric. I had used an electric mower(Sunbeam)my parents had when I was a kid, and the thought of not keeping gas around the house relly appealed to me. I've used the mower now for 2 1/2 years and its been great. The only maintenance I do is to make sure that the air vents for the motor are kept clean and open, wipe down the mower after use,once a year I remove the motor cover and clean out debris, check the motor brushes(by the way, after two years they show very little wear), and keep the blade sharpened. I would recommend this mower to anyone

Apr 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
"it just died" .....
by: Ormond Beach Buddy

Bought mine new just about 2 years ago. Was very happy with it. Unlike many of the other posters, I thought the quality was decent. Now let me tell u I've abused the heck out of this mower: I have two very bent blades to prove it! [btw 18" replacement blades are available via Lowes online.] It died seemingly suddenly. I took the switch mechanism apart first ... no problems. Then I took the motor cover off (4 screws on top then pry away the gasket). I was surprised by how much grass crud had seeped into the motor area .. the gasket seal seemed good. Then I immediately found the problem: a wire had broken off a solder lug. So now I think it was really my fault: running the mower with a severely bent blade causes lots of vibration ... the wire just vibrated itself off the lug.

Mar 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Plastic housing for brushes melted
by: Joe

Owned mower for just over two years and I really liked it.I've had know real problems at all untill yesterday. I was mowing grass about 6 to 8 inches high for about an hour and a half when the mower quit and smoke was rising from the housing. I took the top off and found that the motor brushes were housed in plastic and the plastic had melted and deformed so the brushes no longer were aligned with the motor. The housing is part of the motor so I would have to replace the motor to fix it, costs $106. I'm going to buy a gas mower, might fix this later for a backup.

Mar 19, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i bought a 12 amp taskforce
by: Anonymous

!2 a Task Force is nothing but a piece of junk i bought one last year and just now using it , the first time i used it i ran over a pine cone and it broke my blade frame off and the motor feel out , and can not find the parts to fix it , i really am thinking about Sue them 250 bucks out the door one junk

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
star
starter switch assembly
by: Annoyed

Plastic broke in my starter switch as well and like those who have commented before me on this problem. It is harder to get parts than to re-route to a new switch.

Nope, won't buy or recommend this product again.

Nov 28, 2011
Rating
star
Broken starter box plastic pieces
by: Steve

The two plastic pieces that fasten to each end of the "on / off" bar have broken. I cannot find any manuals online that will identify the part numbers for these two pieces. I am going to follow the advise of the one person who hard wired the switch and installed another "on / off" switch. Next time I will buy a gas powered mower.

Sep 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Way to go...
by: Blueshoes

I'm making this comment on Electric Lawn Mowers in General. I've been using them for well over 30 years, the first two being flip-handle corded, I believe Black & Decker.

About 15 years ago I bought a cordless at a tag sale for $40, which lasted a long time before needing a replacement battery, that I did get. I now have a Task Force, 20 inch, 24 volt 3-in-1 Cordless Mower that I've had for over 5 years. Last year I had to replace the battery and just now, the upper motor bearing disintegrated on me and I have to agree with Palm Coast Fl., that getting parts is difficult.

For those in need of parts, I've been fairly successful getting them from: MSG Services - Sunrise, Global Marketing, Inc., 866 456-8934. As for my bearing, I have to decide whether to locate some bearing and repair the unit my self or just buy a new CORDLESS ELECTRIC... I'm leaning toward a new one and giving the this one to a neighbor, if he wishes to try and repair it.

There is an anecdote I wish to relay. Having yanked my arm out trying to start gas mowers, I went to the electric because it was/and is easy to use as opposed to a gas mower, with the hassle of gas, oil, filters, weight, etc. So easy that my wife would take it out and cut the grass herself (my ulterior motive). One time she was telling a co-worker about the electric mower and the woman, with a quizzical look asked, "Well how do you start it?" My wife replied, "Ya turn on the switch."

Electric mowers are the way to go, cordless even better, for the average house. I'd like it if the cordless had a drop-in battery so that when one is drained, just drop in a fully charged one and keep going. Don't know if it exists yet but that would be great.

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2 1/2 years and still works great
by: Palm Coast, FL

Hello ya'll,
I cut an acre of land with this mower every other week, I run over pine cones and tree branches ( some an inch thick ) with no problem. This mower has taken a lickin and keeps on tickin after all the abuse I give it, and it handles it all pretty well I must say. The only thing bad I have to say about this mower is, is that I have a hard time finding replacement blades for this in my area. Lowe's sells all the other brands from 19" and up, so why can't they sell this brands blades as well. That's the only grief I have for this product, thanks for letting me post - good day all.

Jul 28, 2011
Rating
starstar
Joining the club -- my starter broke too.
by: Tom

My starter broke too -- after two summers of mowing once a week. Still a little bit within warranty, so I called the service Department. Got sent to Denver Altaquip where they said the manufacturer usually doesn't consider any "broken" part covered by the warranty. Waiting to hear the final decision on this, but I definitely wouldn't buy this product -- or any Task Force product -- again. Any recommendations for a high-quality manufacturer for a good electric lawnmower?

Jul 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Still working great a 4+ years
by: Anonymous

I'm sorry to see that so many other people have had trouble with this lawnmower. Just so anyone looking into knows that those are only some of the stories - I bought mine used when it was 2 years old. I've used it all summer for three more years without any problems at all. I've mowed lawns, and also mowed lawn I killed out to landscape down to 1/2" with no trouble.

The bagchute on all electric mowers is a pain, so I just take the spring device off, making it a snap to take the bag on and off. One thing I'd change - I'd put a zipper on the wide end of the catcher bag like Black & Decker's.

If you've never used an electic mower, getting used to the cord takes awhile, but I'll take an electric mower over noisy, polluting gas ones any day!!!

Jun 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Take care of it!
by: Grant in Phoenix

I have owned my 18 inch 3 in 1 for 2 seasons now, it to work great. As with any TOOL, it works best if it is not over worked. I never let the grass get too long before I cut it, 7 to 10 days at the most. An electric mower is not designed to go through 8 to 10 inch tall grass. I also clean (rinse off, motor and all)the mower before it is put away! WORKS GREAT!
I also wrap the50 foot cord around the handle for storage and unwrap cord only as needed while Iam in the process of mowing, leaving just a little slack.
I also found that the plastic grocery bag handles fit nicely on the two hooks(left and right sides) on the bagger, which holds the bag open making it simple to empty the bagger into the grocery bag. Remove it and tie the handles together and you're done. It doesn't get much easier!

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
parts
by: Anonymous

a plastic piece broke in the switch assembly that pushes in an on switch. I called customer service to inquire ...... I was told that I had to purchase the complete box switch assembly. I removed the switch assembly and straight wired the switch. When anything else breaks with this mower I will purchasd another brand elctric mower!!!!!
Danny Hutchins

May 18, 2011
Rating
star
WTF!
by: SHANROCKER

I bought my mower last spring. Worked okay until I went to use it this spring. It just lost power out of nowhere. What a waste of money! I cannot afford another mower and resorted to using a Weed Wacker to cut my lawn. I cannot find any manuals on line either. I paid less for a Black and Decker and that lasted me years. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY SOMETHING ELSE!

May 14, 2011
Rating
starstar
Less than 1 year
by: DJ

I bought this mower less than 1 year ago and like most folks on this review, the switch housing just gave out. Plastic POS!! I'm going back to a gas mower!!

Apr 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Happy with mine
by: Anonymous

Mine just died after about 5 years of pretty hard use. I suspect it's the starter switch in the handle as the motor looks to be in great shape. I've been very happy with mine and considering I haven't had the gas-mower aggravation including struggling to get it going after winter layoff, I'll be getting another one when it's needed.

Mar 16, 2011
Rating
star
Didn't work out of the Box
by: Anonymous

Bought this new at LOWES. Bought an appropriate 15 amp 12 gauge heavy duty outdoor extension cord.

Didn't work out of the box.
I'm Returning it tonight.

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
Cheap Starter Switch Cam
by: Anonymous

I bought in beginning of 2010 use for a few months worked great at first. Then one day went to use it was shutting of intermittently. To switch assembly apart and found the plastic cam broken. Hope this help on your decision on buying this product. My opinion, don't buy it.

Feb 07, 2011
Rating
starstar
How to fix the lawn mover
by: Popeye

No power! Sand the motor, rectifier heat radiator and. Don't forget to check all the connections or connectors!

Nov 11, 2010
Rating
star
Thanks NAFTA
by: Rick

Mower kept tripping the breaker and I pulled the cover. Resistor bracket was broken. No earthly reason for this except very cheap, low quality components

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
try it
by: mcm

To avoid the electric cord, have cord on the left or right from the power source. Just hold about five feet in your hand and whip the cord out of the way as you go,

Sep 20, 2010
Rating
star
Worked great until the starter button broke
by: Anonymous

I opened it up and found a switch with way to strong of a spring and a cheezie plastic cam to actuate it with. Well, the cam broke, which is why the starter stopped working. I am gluing the cam back together. If this fails, I will just put in a toggle switch to replace this whole POS cam assembly.


Sep 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Adapt
by: Keith Parsels

It's an electric mower, Which means you can bypass the starter and design your own, a switch is just that a switch, when I was a kid there was just on and off. once it's out of service contract modify it.

Sep 04, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: A Nonny Mouse

There are no polite words, or polite means of expression to express my utter disgust and towering rage at the unmitigated gall of any business that would manufacture such a piece of garbage, and that goes double for any business that would continue to sell such junk in face of all the complaints I have read here. I have used this clunker only three times because whoever designed the grass-catcher is mentally challenged. A twelve year old kid could have made a better design. The grass discharge chute has such a stiff spring, you need both hands and both feet to put the grass catcher in place. Now when you try to take the grass catcher off to empty it, feet won't help, you need three hands. When you try to extract the catcher, there is the problem with the spring on the discharge chute cover. When you get past that, the rear of the grass catcher smacks into the crossbar, thoughtfully designed to make a saint cuss. And the last piece of horse-hockey you run into is looking at the meager pile of grass-clippings all lying on the ground!!!! ....And last but not least, as several of you folks have pointed out the design is so poor, you might as well not fool with the grass catcher at all. But, that is one of the reasons for having these new-fangled gadgets. I don't want that thatch on the ground (this is a dry climate). I want to put the clippings onto my "working" compost heap. Thus far, the mower itself seems to work just fine. (It will probably quit the next time I take it out of the shed according to what I read here.) I won't stoop to suggesting where they can dispose of that grass-catcher. But, if I tell you that I'm a P.O'ed mean and nasty 80 year old retired Army First Sergeant, who has no use for political correctness, you will all know exactly what I mean, and where I want that grass-catcher to go.

Sep 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
arrggg
by: Anonymous

because of all this coments now they are renaming the machine to earth wise cordless mower if you have a change to see one of this check the blade and it is the same and i still dont find a replacement blade for this new earth wise mowers.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works fine if you know how to use it.
by: Benjamin

So, all of you cry-babies didn't know how to use a lawn mower???

I had mine for 5 years, mowing ever week in the summer and took off late fall to early spring (total of 140 times). I learned how to use a mower with a cord when I was 9, so the cord never came into line of the mower and I got my mowing done in 30 minutes (45 if I caught the grass clippings for mulch around the bushes).

I did stupid things like leaving the mower out in the rain for days (at least on 10 occassions) and it only stopped working now, after a hard rain.

Aug 24, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of crap
by: Anonymous

Bought the Task Force from Lowes one year ago. Never had a problem with it at all. Went to mow this evening and it just lost power and died. I have absolutely no clue why.

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
I didn't know
by: Chris Nielsen

I made my comments as to the poor performance of the grass catcher rear bag. Then I read other peoples comments. Now I am grateful that my machine is still operating. I have cut my grass with it about 5 times and so far it vibrates some, but still seems to cut the grass. I have not had to change blades so I don't know if I can get a blade to fit.

Once I read all the comments I realize that reading what others said about the machine should have been my first step before buying.

Thanks for the comments. I'll start now putting away a few bucks to replace this jewel as soon as I can before it craters on me.

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
star
WARNING!!!
by: Anonymous

Do NOT buy this piece of CRAP! Everything broke, went back and forth from Lowes and Home Depot wasting money on replacement parts that were "supposed" to fit but didn't. Called the 1-800 number and got dropped every time (never spoke to a human). Don't waste your money.

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
star
task force electric lawn mower
by: Anonymous

I bought a task force electric mower two years ago and now I will bring it to the dumps because it lost power, then stopped working completly.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
starstar
12 amp Task Force 3 in 1 electric lawnmower
by: Jack Tomkins

I bought this Task Force 3 in 1 electric lawnmower (Model #25113) in May of 2009. My starter assembly (Red button) broke on the inside. I try to call the parts depart (1-866-456-8934) waited on the phone for 25 minutes and receive no answer as expected all lines or operator's were busy. I check my manual for the part number and the only number they have is for the Upper handle and switch assembly. I just need one small part not whole upper handle & assembly. The Manual was printed in China, I wonder if the lawn mower was made in China. I guess I'll have to go to China to get my part. This really sux's...

Jul 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Total P.O.S
by: Melissa

we have had this lawn mower for 2 months LITTERALY. 2 months and it already stopped working. I also cannot find anywhere to get the parts to fix it. Total piece of s.... My lawn is so tall right now because we cannot cut it due to the starting issue.

Jun 22, 2010
Rating
star
broken sleeve
by: Anonymous

we purchased this mower a year half ago, we only use it 6 times. The sleeve the hold the handle from the inside where use to start the mower is broken. The place where i bought the mower don't have any parts. The mower is very poor design.

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
P.O.S and I do not mean Point of Sale
by: Chris M

I purchased this lawn mower last July. Last month I experience it not working after taking it to my rental property.

Called Lowes support line to get the usual take it to repair shop etc...

After my lawn mower being help hostage for a month due to the repair shop not being able to file a warranty claim I got back yesterday and to my amazement it still does not work .

I took it upon my self to open the power housing, (note to unplug from power supply) and see that the power button was shattered, What the repair shop did was try to glue it, I could see the glue.

I guess they do not make things they way they did. I will be sending it back for repair later today.

Jun 01, 2010
Rating
starstar
Poor Quality
by: AZ mower

I bought this mower the end of Nov. 2009, Today is June 1st.2010 and the mower is dead!

I opened up the housing box for the power and breaker and found the housing to hold the bail switch into the power button was shattered.

This mower is used on a minute size lawn and is housed carefully in my garage.

I was disappointed by the poor quality of the components.

May 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It died with an awful smell
by: Steve

I've had it a little over two years and I was almost happy yesterday when the thing simply stopped and smoke started rolling out from under it.

I've never liked that mower much because the bag is virtually useless--the rear discharge chute clogs so almost nothing gets into the bag and the bag hangs at such a steep angle that what little does get in falls out when you remove it.

The other problem which I found rather amusing was the start lever would stick in the groves of the pad on the push handle which completely negated the "dead-man" functionality of the lever.

May 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Task Force Mower
by: Dave

I have had the Task Force for two years. The height adjustment spring has been replaced twice. The third is holding in there. Just removed the top cover since I have never cleaned inside and to my surprise there was a resistor (item 54 and mistakenly called a rectifier) just hanging by its wires. The bracket it is attached to is broken in half. How that happens on a flat piece of metal screwed to another flat piece of metal is a mystery. Unit needs some more power.

May 10, 2010
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

I have mowed my lawn 5 times and it is now a piece of junk in my garage. Makes me so mad noone agrees to talk to you even about sending a replacement.

Mar 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Works OK - Bag fit and usefulness terrible
by: Bob - Abilene, TX

I liked the light weight and easy to use mower. BUT - using the words of another person " The bag falls off all the time the hooks are about half a centimeter to short. The bottom of the bag is crap plastic that is way to thin and bulges up so half the bag is unusable, the shut out the back is to small and always blocks up even with short (1 inch) cuts of dry grass". I finally called the company and although it was slightly out of date they sent me another bag. Unfortunately it wasn't the type used for my mower. SO even with the correct model, serial, etc I still got the wrong type of grass catcher. I've had mine for several years and it still works but I probably would get another brand and really check on the grass catcher. Anybody need a new (two year old) bag?

Nov 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Lasted 2 1/2 years
by: Richard, FL

The lawn mower, I bought in June 2007, recently died. The mower will not turn on. I used in for 2 1/2 years every other weekend and sometimes every weekend in the summer months. So it got about 70 -80 mows. I think it should have last longer but I remember it being fairly cheap. The plastic on switch broke early on but would still start with what was left of the switch. I had no other problems until now.

Sep 28, 2009
Rating
star
Make just one more and send it to a museum for poor design.
by: Anonymous

I have "suffered" with mine for 2 years now. The bag falls off all the time the hooks are too short. The bottom of the bag is crap plastic that is way to thin and bulges up so half the bag is unusable, the shut out the back is to small and always blocks up even with short (1 inch) cuts of dry grass. I live in Northwest Indiana,cut our grass once a week and really perfer electric mowing; this being my third mower in 39-years. The leveling device might work on golf course greens, but I prefer to adjust each wheel for cutting at the edge of walks and driveway as my "Lawn Chief" used to do. The time and money spent designing the blade so no other blade could be used should of been spent on the wheels bag and chute, it would be a good mower if they did that and gotten my praise. On the praise note if you cut your grass twice a week 10 months a year (you need to cut twice a week with this mower or else the grass gets to tall to cut) and gas is over 3 dollars a gallon and you buy the task force on sale for 119.00 well it paid for itself and so I muttle through with it also. Design & Research ought to get on the stick as the present product sucks!

Sep 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starter Broke
by: Anonymous

So does this mean you cannot fix the starter? Looked like plastic piece broke. I've only used mine 6 times; that stinks.

Sep 09, 2009
Rating
starstar
task force = chinese "sunrise" crap!
by: joe

I have "suffered" with mine for 3 years now. The start handle broke the second time I used it. The bag falls off all the time the hooks are about half a centimeter to short. The bottom of the bag is crap plastic that is way to thin and bulges up so half the bag is unusable, the shut out the back is to small and always blocks up even with short (1 inch) cuts of dry grass. Do not attempt to use with wet grass, it just won't cut it. I live in south NM and usaully have to turn off the sprinkeliers for 2 days to dry the grass enough to cut; also, don't try to cut more than an inch of grass it will have trouble even if the grass is BONE dry. It could roll easier too, I am 6 foot 2 built like a line backer and my yard is only 4000 SQ FT of tall fiscue and pushing the task force with its cheap wheels gets tiresome at the end. Thwe blade is unreplacable with anything you can buy at the store "even lowes where I bought it" and when you call the number on the instructions lowes just ask you to call sunrise at 1-866-456-8934, took 22 min. to get a person; the lady was good just have the item number ready they can't help you with out it it seems. THe time and money spent designing the blade so no other vlade could be used should of been spent on the wheels bag and chute, it would be a good mower if they did that and gotten my praise. On the praise note if you cut your grass twice a week 10 months a year (you need to cut twicw a week with this mower or else the grass gets to tall to cut) and gas is over 3 dollars a gallon and you buy the task force on sale for 119.00 well it paid for itself and so I muttle through with it.

Jun 11, 2009
Rating
star
starter
by: Anonymous

We had ours for less than a year and the starter went out too! Would not purchas again!

Oct 20, 2008
Rating
starstar
Starter breaks easily
by: Anonymous

I purchased the Taskforce electric lawn mower in june of 2008. I used it 8 times to mow an area that is approx. 75 feet by 50 feet. The starter went out during the last time that I was using it.
Up until then, I enjoyed using the mower. It is light weight, easy to stop and start, and easy to push.Luckily, it came with a 2 year warranty. I spent $189.00 plus tax on this mower, and I expected it to last longer then 8 mows.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.