Banana Peelings for Rose Bushes

by Jeanna
(Corrales, NM)

We all know bananas are good for our bodies, but maybe you didn't know that the part we usually discard into the trash is great for our rose bushes. The potassium is just what your roses crave, Just throw the peeling at the base of the bush. Easy as that. Your roses will thank you.

Comments for Banana Peelings for Rose Bushes

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 13, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
roses
by: Anonymous

I tried the banana peelings on my rose bushes. I did see a slight difference after a week. The rose flowers were darker an seem healthier. I went on vacation for a week an when I got home my poor rose bushs were a disaster. I started giving them banana peelings agin and they perked right up. So I decided when I go on vacation agin to have whoeever is watering for me to ask them to give my roses banana peelings also.

Sep 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
nice :)
by: amusician

i've actually heard about banana peels having some use in the garden, but i've always been pretty skeptical, it's nice to find some confirmation on the matter, and thanks to the info I can see it's best for roses, kudos :)

Aug 20, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Banana peel is great but I have another tip
by:

I have been using the banana peel in my plants and it is very useful for the plant. Another important tip for the rose plant is to put sow garlic in the soil and let the leaves shoot out. This helps the rose plant a lot and you will find your plant covered with lots of roses which have more fragrance.

Jul 22, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cool
by: Melody

I am new to gardening and this is a great tip. I have a neighbor who has beautiful roses and I always wondered how she managed it and now I know her secret. I am not sure I'm ready to try roses yet, but I'll try this tip on some of my other plants.

Jul 19, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My Grandmother Also Told Me
by: Anonymous

My Grandmother told me when I was a small girl about the banana peels and she had beautiful roses.

She also told me that a small amount of fat drippings placed at the base of the rose bush will keep it healthier and make it bloom more often.

Jul 14, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tried and True
by: lc

My dad and I have been gardening this way for as long as I can remember, but not just with rose bushes--we use them for everything. Banana peels (and coffee grounds) are ideal for just about any plant that needs moist soil!

Jul 09, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
A Sick Rose Bush
by: Anonymous

I am not a gardener by any means but I love pretty flowers. My dad planted a rose bush several years before he died and it produced some of the prettiest roses I have ever seen. But in recent years the roses decreased and now the bush seems to be dying out. I am going to try the banana peels to see if I can spark new life into those roses.

Jul 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yeah it works
by: Anonymous

My mom and grandmother both swear by this. Mom used to make me eat bananas all the time because she does not like them. But she wanted the peels.

Jul 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
Grandma's advice
by: Katherine

Actually heard this bit of information from my grandmother when I was a little girl a long time ago. She always had me put my banana peelings around the rose bushes, but she always told me it was for the tiny monkeys that climbed in the rose bushes at night. As a tribute to her, I have always done the same, and I have the prettiest roses in the neighborhood.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gardening Tips.