Country Clipper Jazee One

by Joe Sanders
(Shalimar, FL)

About four years ago I was looking to upgrade from the mower I owned at the time. I had been using a 30" Dixon for eleven years which was a zero turn mower, but it was not hydro-static, it used a cone and disk setup. It had given excellent service.


I attend a farm expo annually in Moultrie Ga and there are a lot of companies who bring out their full line to demo. I was attracted to the Country Clipper (Jazee One is the model I have) as it had a flip out deck which makes the blades very accessible and it also has a joystick control for steering. I was used to a zero turn mower so getting used to it wasn't a problem.

The second year I saw them at the Expo I came prepared to purchase one. I got an excellent deal on one and brought it home.

At that time of year (October) there isn't much mowing to do here, I usually just run over the lawn to clean up the debris.

It would be spring before I could see how it was cutting. I notice that it was cutting uneven, I could see a grove with each pass of the mower.
There is very little adjustment with this mower they say because of the flip up deck.

The only adjustment is a rake adjustment on each side, but going very far with either side will also effect the other side.

There is very little dealer support for Country Clipper in the Florida Panhandle. When I purchased it there were two dealers 50-60 miles away, but they have since jumped ship.

I did talk to the company on many occasions but that went no where. The distributer that was bringing the mowers to the farm expo where I purchased it has gone out of business.
My present situation is I am down for a broken belt.

The day I broke the belt, I was able to contact the regional rep and he set up a drop ship through a dealer.

No status as when to expect it.
I exhausted all attempts on line to locate a belt, but came up empty. It takes a 144" X 1/2 inch belt and no after market companies carry one that long.

As soon as I do get a belt I am unloading this piece of junk. Here are the things that have brought me to this. I don't like the deck design due to no adjustment. I would prefer a 2 blade setup over a three blade, it is only a 38" mower, don't know why they use three blades.
It does not maneuver around two foot trees without backing up and taking a second shot, so I guess I need something smaller.

I am dissatisfied with the company support and the lack of a dealer network in this area.
This mower has quality, but they messed up with the design. I would advise anybody to pass on this one. I am thinking strongly about a 34" Gravely.

Comments for Country Clipper Jazee One

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need that joystick!
by: Kent

Mine is not a JAZEE but this should be read by anyone thinking about purchasing ANY County Clipper. There's a lot of both good and bad.

We purchased a new 2000 County Clipper Commercial mower with a 54" inch cut, 27 hp Kaw engine. After moving to a large property in west-central Indiana it quickly became evident that our little Ariens rider was overwhelmed. We mow about five acres per week.

Worse, our land used to be a tree farm, and is heavily wooded even in the areas we mow. A County Clipper dealer is nearby. We bought the commercial model because we wanted a mower that would last.

All in all, that thing has been a tank. I'm a machinist and I made front and rear hitches, rigged my own lighting system, threw away the cheap little motorcycle battery and installed a large automotive battery. This property was allowed to go by the wayside for a couple of years and that mower and my bush hog on the tractor found every section of wire that was dropped and forgotten, every hole where a tree was dug out and never refilled, rolls of ground cover plastic laying in the weeds, fence posts dropped and forgotten, even two lengths of water pipe.

We did not purposely abuse this mower, but it certainly WAS abused. Very much so. But it soldiered on like a war horse. We loved it.

It's currently not running. Engine vibration eventually worked an oil filter loose and the motor locked up. I'm going to see if a local repairman can fix it. Regardless of his success, we know we need a new mower.

We became absolutely hooked on the CC joystick control. We need a free hand to brush away low tree limbs. We usually take a soft drink with us when mowing (I had to make the cup holder.) And we both smoke. Our next mower will be a joystick, no doubt about it.

This mower owes nothing to anybody. If it never runs again I will always consider it money well spent. But---

Once you drive away with the thing, forget all about your dealer. He will certainly forget all about you. Thank God I can make most of my own parts. My dealer charged me $61.00 for one little plastic screw that held on the air filter. I ordered it without asking the price. Never made that mistake again! Also, he wanted $133.00 for a set of replacement blades. I bought some onliine (all three of them) for $16.00, a savings of $117.00!

I've replaced a spindle bearing. I found it was a common size bearing and bought on from a bearing supply house in a nearby city. The old one had spun inside the spindle but "pinging" it with a center punch and using a liberal amount of Loktite bearing locker worked very well. It's still on the mower.

If you have machining skills, or a neighbor or friend who does, I'd recommend these mowers in a heartbeat. But you should NEVER expect a fair deal (or anything close to one) on parts from your dealer. They have no parts distribution system whatsoever. Everything is UPSed direct from Iowa, and always at "express costs." Even if you blow a bearing to bits, try to save the inner about outer races. A bearing shop can use them to match what you need, and the cost will be a tiny fraction of what CC would charge you (plus that terrible shipping)!

Change your hydraulic fluid, oil, and both filters frequently to add long-life to your motors and engine. Air filters--another thing CC charges an arm and a leg for--can be found at good auto parts stores. I made my mind up that if I could not find one,, I'd tear the CC air filter off and replace it with an automotive type. And I would have, too, no questions asked, if I had not found a good aftermarket filter. I've bought and replaced my own hydraulic hoses and belts as needed. (Always buy aftermarket hoses and belts, NEVER from your dealer. They'll stick you there, too!) NAPA carries them all.

I'm currently looking at other brands that have joysticks. There don't seem to be very many and the ones I have found are too small, not enough cutting width or horsepower. The Kawasaki engine on mine was/is great. I won't buy anything else.

But BUYER BEWARE! What you take home is IT! Forget their warranty, forget their spare parts, and if you can't make many parts, or don't wish to, better look at another brand. These things are very expensive--and mine was worth it--but you'll go broke if you rely on your dealer for anything. But if you can be inventive and a little crafty, I recommend the mowers themselves very highly.

Aug 18, 2014
Rating
starstar
Country Crapper
by: Maryland Me

Well let's see. $6500+\- (cost of mower), 245 hours later and I have a fried pump and a shattered hub/drive motor. Flat 2.6 acre lot, easy use and now I have a $1200 to $2300 repair. Basically the Country Clipper made hub cracked and allowed the woodruff key to dislodge from the wheel motor and rotate inside the hub, destroying it's $500 self. Then the added strain on the hydro pump caused it to crap out and send aluminum flakes all through the system toasting everything. Now Parker (wheel motor) has never heard of this happening but Country Clipper now has a different part number hub available. Hmmmm you be the judge.

Aug 01, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Drive belt size!
by: Anonymous

I bought a jazze one and the drive belt is broken and needs serviced! What size belt? And what fluids should I change, and how much oil does it hold?

Jul 05, 2014
Rating
star
country clipper junk
by: Dave Weese

Stay away from the Jazee one. No factory support and fly by night dealers. Skips grass between the blades, deck rust out. Transmissions require fluid chage often. Factory will not sell parts direct and dealers have to order parts, making downtime intolerable. Call factory for support and get the feeling they are being bothered.
TOTAL JUNK

Jun 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Clipper, Jazee Pro
by: Linda G

I have owned a Jazee Pro, 60 in deck for about 7 years now. Love it. I cut 4 1/2 acres once a week during the spring/summer/fall months. Have replaced 2 pullies and one set of blades. Belts are still the original, tires are still original. Just recently developed a leak from the hydraulic. Dealer I purchased from was/is over an hour away. Waiting until the end of mowing season this year before I put in the shop for repair of the hydraulic.

Jun 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
love my clippers
by: sean j

i have had several clippers......have had none of the above problems as listed.....maybe being I do all my own work on it makes the diff. not a good homeowner mower due to upkeep.....most home owners don't have the skills to keep up with a mower like this......

May 13, 2014
Rating
starstar
I own 2 CC Boss Mowers
by: D. Hughes

Lots of work to keep them running. One has a blown motor 353 hr on a Liquid Cooled Kaw engine The dealer wants $3000 for a new engine. The other one just spent $1500 on bearings, clutch, other crap. Buy a real proven commercial grade mower if spending this type of money.

Nov 22, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good mower
by: Steve

I just finished the third summer with my Charger model. I lost a deck belt last summer, but that's been the only problem. I have a great dealer that has stood behind my mower. Hildebrand's in Indiana, PA. So I guess this makes a big difference. Flipping up the deck to clean it can be a little difficult, just make sure you are on a nice level surface. I mow about 4-5 acres of grass every week and it takes about 1 and 1/2 hours. I would recommend this mower to anyone.

Sep 03, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub cadet "tank"
by: Kenny s.

Had belt problems the dealer was about to replace pulleys i told him to get belts with fiber weaved on the sides of the belts it fixed the problem. Had had same problem with John deere. Hope this helps some of you.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
RIP OFF ARTIST
by: Anonymous

STAY AWAY FROM CENTRAL HARDWARE IN ENOLA, PA. HE IS A COUNTRY CLIPPER DEALER, THIS MAN WILL CHEAT THE EYEBALLS OUT OF YOU AND TELL YOU WHAT A GOOD DEAL YOU ARE GETTING

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
COUNTRY CLIPPERS ARE JUNK
by: Anonymous

MY IS ABOUT 4 YEARS OLD NOW, THE PTO FOR THE MOWER I HAD REPLACED 4 TIMES NOW, TWO CARBS 4 FRONT TIRES ( WILL NOT AIR) THE BEAD ON THE FRONT TIRE GROWS BIGGER THEN THE RIM. USES OIL LIKE CRAZY, I BOUGHT THIS THING BRAND NEW SO I KNOW WHAT KIND OF LIFE IT HAD. I REPLACED BELTS LIKE CRAZY. THE ARM REST FELL OFF, PAINTS COMING OFF, SEaT SPRINGS KEEP BRAKING. I AM DONE WITH COUNTRY CLIPPER, I AM LOOKING AT A SKAG RIGHT NOW.

Jun 06, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Machine
by: gary

I've had my Charger with 60" deck & 25HP Kawasaki since 2005. I mow about 5 acres and the mower has about 400hrs. I had to replace the electric clutch knob two years ago, but that's it. No belt issues, engine runs strong. My neighbor just bought a new 60" Dixie Chopper & I can mow circles around him. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another one.

May 29, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Clipper
by: J. C.

I purchased my Country Clipper Jazee One in 2004. I currently have over 400 hours on the machine. I replaced a starter solenoid this year, as it the starter would not kick in and it seems like it got stuck in the on position and ran down the battery. I also replaced a deck belt two years ago. This mower has been outstanding so far. My dealer went out of business several years ago but you can find most engine parts at O'Reilly's or Autozone; the other parts can be ordered off the internet.

Do not use water to clean your deck as this causes rust and may get into the deck bearings.

I would not hesitate to purchase another CC.

May 23, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
cc jazee pro 23 hp kohler 52 in deck
by: Anonymous

I have owned my country clipper for seven years now and honestly love it. I mow about four acres a week with it. A lot of trees with exposed roots and some hill sides on my property. This mower is run hard and really has taken a beating. I have replace the blades once and thats it no other failures not even a belt. After getting used to it i love the joystick. Its great for having one hand free for moving low hanging tree limbs out of the way. Mine is also very stable on hills. But with that being said all dealers located near my home have either went out of busineas or no longer sell the country clipper brand. I never really unserstood this because mine has truley been bulletproof. After reading the comments on this forum i now realize i may have just been really lucky or got a good one.

May 18, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt Issue
by: Jerry Steiniger

I have a 2005 Charger model. It was considered commercial grade back then. It has been fairly reliable but I suppose due to change I got the wrong belt when I ordered both times. The parts number was taken right from the book. It Pains me that you cant get parts faster. The down time is expensive. At least 150.00 to have 3 acres cut. Both times I needed a belt I got a much thinner belt about a foot less in circumference. The first time I thought that the dealer was trying to pass off a lesser quality belt but this time it came with the country clipper name and Shivvers name on the belt but no way will it fit. Between now and 2005 I guess some changes were made. You would think the dealers would recognize what you need. Now I have to send the belt back for credit. This company should make their parts more available. As much as I have liked this mower when it comes time I may consider another brand. Jerry Steiniger Florissant Missouri

Jun 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Poorly applied Deck Paint (underneath)
by: Lee

I bought this mower mainly to ease cleaning the deck
of grass, etc. I found manually lifting the deck was a royal pain, so I use a chain hoist. I also had belt breakage constantly, until a dealer told me how to adjust the deck (front to back). The other
problem is the deck paint underneath came off in 3-5" chunks. After complaining, the factory agreed to replace the deck with a "new" one. Of course, I had to deliver the original & pick up the sent replacement at the dealer 30+ miles away. Mind you,
this was still under Warranty. The 2nd deck paint came off quicker & in bigger chunks. It was obvious
there was no primer applied or cleaned before paint
was put on. After contacting the factory & e-mailing
photos, I was told the following: The paint came off due to rocks, dirt & proteins in the grass. Due to those things warranty didn't apply. I guess the same thing does not warrant the same response. I don't know what grass proteins are,
but I do know I don't mow rocks or dirt! I would never buy or recommend a mower from this company!

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
update
by: weaser

I just repaired our Jazee again. Shift rod fell off joy stick. I can see bragging about these mowers if you just bought one off the lot, but put a few hours on one and they become a pain in the rear. I ordered a new shift lever, only to find they had revised it to a bigger diameter rod and bolts. I had to lathe spacers for it to fit. The machine has 280 hours on it and the deck, which has been cleaned after each use and sprayed for winter storage with rust inhibitor has rusted through the top.
The factory help is void, except giving a part number so the part can be purchased through a dealer; another pain, I called three dealers before I found one that would drop ship the part. This company needs to sell parts direct from the factory.
Country clipper has built joystick models for snapper in the past. Snapper didn't stay long; it's not hard to see why after a few hours has been put on the machine.
To all you anonymous users that brag about this machine, hats off to you, I must have got a lemmon.

Jun 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
country clipper
by: Anonymous

i found on mine there is a bolt little to long and its rubbing on the belt so it might not break as often
i love my jazee 1

May 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Jazee
by: weaser

I have owned a Country Clipper, Jazee one for over 6 years. At 200 hours the hydraulic drives were slipping. Changed oil and filters in hydrostat and solved problem. Dealer was a fly by night and factory help was of little help. I think they could improve on dealer quality.
Three drive belts and two deck belts. I do all my repairs; I find most dealers to be quacks with under paid mechanics anyway.
If your are not savoy to mechanical operations and mower adjustments leave the Jazee in the dealers lot. I have always been able to find parts and belts through online searches.

May 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Common sense
by: Tbone

Maintenance! Dont buy the cheap mowers, you have to buy the commercial series like the Boss. Also did I mention Maintenance.

Mar 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great mower
by: scott

I have a jazee with over 500 hrs. Have never changerd the belt or ever had a problem. Suprised with all the people with belt problems. The hydrualics are very fast and responsive, I like the way you sit lower to the ground than my older skag. A+ in my opinion.

Mar 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why
by: Docb51

Why are most of the great ratings from anonymous,Most Bad ratings have names attached? Makes one Wonder?

Feb 26, 2012
Rating
star
jazee one 38" deck regret
by: Anonymous

I own a Jazee one 38" cut and it has eat belts, and no way to find parts near by. I need a belt and a new deck. No where can I find a dealer near buy or anything on line to make it easier to fix my mower.


since day one it has been a pain in the butt. I have 2.5 acers and it will eat two belts and pulleys damaged every year. no customer service to order parts or assistant. 38" belts not sold in my area. lowes, sears, etc don't carry anything for a 38" country clipper. I regret ever buying one.

belt eater
deck no good
pullys defect
starter hangs up
(JUNK) someone needs to report them to the better business buearu it they haven't already.

I have complained for years, I must drive all the way to the beach to get a belt for a 38".


Dec 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belts wearing out fast
by: Ol guy

I had a older different brand mower that ate belts like Wimpy eats hamburgers (Wow, that ought to date me). I found that the "V" sides of the pullys had rusted and were chewing up the belts. I removed the pullys, sanded, and repainted them. No more problems. A quick fix is to use a paint stirrer stick and tape sand paper on the end. VERY CAREFULLY sand the pully "V"s as the mower is running (idle). Alignment is not as great of a problem as rust.

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cleaning top of deck
by: Bill - retired

When I'm done mowing with my Country Clipper Boss 60", I have the top of the mower covered with clippings and such. I could not clean under the blade pully guards on each side with hose or compressed air. So I bought 8 @ 7/8" x 1/8" magnets from www.KJMagnetics.com (#RE22CS-N)and bolted them to each corner of the guards. Caution! do not tighten them down as they are brittle!! - just snug them down. I used 1/2" flat heads with lock nuts and plastic washers to keep from losing the bolts. I put 4 @ 1/4" X 1" allen key set screws into the original bolt holes to keep the guards aligned. They stick up about a half inch above the deck. Now I can simply lift off the guards and blow off the deck with compressed air. No more wet grass laying on the deck between mowings and building up under the guards. Works like a champ.........
Love this mower but I'm not sure I would get a joy stick again. It works good but not as precise as a control for each drive wheel.
Bill @ suffolk@comcast.net

Oct 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
most fun cutting lawn in Ohio
by: Anonymous

We have owned our Jazee one since 2005,and with thejoy stick is such a fun way to cut the lawn that has some slopes and about an acre with many trees to cut around. We have only replaced the belt once and probably because of the twigs or pine needles caught by the pulleys.

Our only problem is starting the tractor. We now use a battery tender to make sure the battery is being charged. We bought a replacement this summer and it still can be touchy with starting.

Needed new blades and found that the farmer's co op where we purchased it will not be selling them so there goes our only service. We will probably have to order everything from the closest on line site and pay astronomical shipping prices which is not something to promote the product. AFTER ALL IT IS ALL ABOUT SERVICE IF YOU WANT TO BE THE BEST.

Afraid when it finally quits that it will be hauled to the dump and we will be stuck buying something else. How sad for the cost that it is not going to get the mileage a used car for that price would get.

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
charging
by: hoppy

my country clipper won't keep the battery charged now. is the starter also the charger? and is there some sort of a rectifier in the system? anyone with an answer please e mail me at jkhoppy@gmail.com. thank you

Jul 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Few Difficulties
by: Real Deal H&L

I have a C.C. Jazee Two and it is an excellent mower and a tank. however at 100hrs on my 07 model I am having issues with my belt and tensioner. Result is that i have to replace the belt tensioner arm. Well really just the bushing but better to do more than to little. cost about 100$ and $20 belt. Good to go again probably another few yrs. If you have questions or feed back... RealDealHL@yahoo.com


Jun 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Clipper Parts
by: Anonymous

I bought a Jazee 42" and same problem with others that have posted. The dealer went out of business. Well I have since found a site that you can order country clipper oem parts from and get it shipped. The website is www.twofeatherssmallengine.com and they even have a simple parts lookup for Clipper owners. Hope this helps. Ordered a belt and received it within the week.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
New to zero turn
by: Anonymous

After reading what I have read on this form I will be sure to stay away from Country Clipper. What a piece of junk. Everybody seams to have the same problem.I am sure glad I read this before I bought one. They should take care of the people that bought them. Service is everything.

Jun 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ORDER INFORMATION-BELTS
by: BOB H

I own a JayZee one and love it! The belts are as follows:

Deck Belt 1/2" x 160" P/N: A158K K is for Kevlar
Belarus Tractor. www.vbelts4less.com $21.29 each

Transmission belt P/N:D3754 $12.68 ea

You can also call: 800-356-2336

May 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt
by: Anonymous

Try McMaster-Carr for belts. And boy do they ship it fast!

May 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Jazee
by: sams1ham

You can find the belt at Ace Hardware.

May 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Clipper Jazee
by: sams1ham

We've had the Country Clipper Jazee for about 3 yrs and love it. The best feature is the joystick which is so smooth and leaves one hand free. It is easier to get on and off than other mowers. We did replace the joystick handle and went to our closest dealer and he said take the one off the mower on the floor and we didn't pay a cent for it. We've owned 4 other mowers a Murray, Bowen, Sears, and the Jazee is our favorite.

May 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Crude
by: Anonymous

I have mixed fillings, the mower looks like some one is building them in there basement.
Or mower is 6 or 7 years old, 310 hrs. I like the joy stick but it's not precise. Every 100 hrs. a seat spring brakes. You can't adjust the lift deck tension, you can on a $500 mower. The rear tire with is to wide for a 52in deck, not enough deck sticking out for trimming around trees. It cut terible, a dealer said to try high lift blades...they work, but at my expense. Instead of using spacers on bolts to take up space they just used a bucket of washers. The joy stick plastic handles brake, they came out with better plastic, again at my expense. You can't grease the front pivot arm bearing. The plastic seat cover is cheap.
You can mow on the side of a bank and hold it straight.
We mowed over the well cap, 2 ground rods, 1" pipe and it didn't phase it.
I like the stand up deck.
It is built like a tank.
Belts still going strong.

Apr 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Jazee
by: Anonymous

I have had my Jazee for three years. It is a wonderful mower. I have had the same belt on the mower for that whole time. I mow about 3 acres each week. I did have a problem when I mowed over a branch and had part of it get stuck in one of the pulleys. Knocked it out of the pulley, put the belt back on and have mowed for two more years with that belt. I don't understand the bad comments. I have five friends that run Country Clippers and all of us rave about them. Go figure. Some people have great experiences. We all have purchased our mowers from the same dealer here in Minnesota. I guess he must really know what he is doing.

Apr 07, 2011
Rating
star
country clipper jazee
by: Anonymous

I have a Jazee one that has been a royal pain. The deck never cut even, the dealer now gone and the factory were of no help. 200 hours and the hydrostat is slipping , belts are hard to find. NO trade in value. Junk, scrap heap material from the day it was built.

Apr 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
one reason for belts being destroyed
by: Anonymous

KEEP THE BELT GUARD ON THE DECK FREE OF DEBRIS LIKE TWIGS , ROCKS, SWEET GUM BALLS ,PINE CONES ETC. DEBRIS GETS CAUGHT IN THIS AREA BETWEEN GUARD AND BELT AND DESTROYS YOUR BELT IN NO TIME. I HAVE A COUNTRY CLIPPER CHARGER 48" WITH OVER 500 HOURS AND REPLACED THE BELT ONCE.IT HAS MADE ME ALOT OF MONEY BUT WITH ANY MOWER THINGS WILL GO WRONG.

Apr 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
happy with mower just a little help
by: Anonymous

what i whoud like to know is way i can not get a diegram of how the belt goes on the deck sure whould like to know thanks jazee two 60in deck

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I Love Country Clipper
by: Anonymous

I live in Indiana and I love my Country Clipper Jazee Pro 48". I love that it has 3 Deck blades and a stand up deck! The deck jack also is a great accessory, making my work much easier. I, unlike others, have had great customer service and whenever I had a problem (not very often) there was someone in my area to solve it. The joystick is awesome! Oil/Filter changing is easy! For all of you who have trouble finding belts, I would call Grain Systems, Inc. in Wabash to find your CC accessories. They have been a tremendous help to me!

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Jazzee one
by: frazzldad

Well I have had mine for two seasons and must say that belts are hard to find for the 38" deck. I do use the mower to cut 2 1/4 acres and it is heavly wooded, so far I have been through two belts. My 11 years old son does use it so that is a plus or minus ,depends what he hits. I have had multiple calls to the manufacture and I will have to agree that country clilpper needs to provide better service. On the other hand the joy stick is what sold me on the mower. I purchased the mower used and it is a 2006. All in all great for small level yards but for hills and acrage I think a grasshopper 610 is my next purchase. When I win the lottery that is!! Hope this helps anyone out there.

Mar 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This is a good mower
by: Anonymous

I have a Commercial Clipper 60" deck I have to say this is a great mower I have over 800 hours on it granted over the years its had some parts that needed replacing but so will any mower. I just recently started having an issue with the belt that goes from engine to deck I cant really adjust the deck without the belt trying to come off and keep eating up belts if any one has had this prob and corrected it please let me know how you fixed it. other then that this mower is built like a tank. this is made by shivvers the newer version of this mower is a country clipper.

Jan 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Woman loves her clipper
by: Anonymous

Call any dealer in the usa and give your model number and they will send belt to you. My daughter is still running her 1993. Do yearly before season maintence. Enjoy.

Oct 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
mower
by: james

i have a jazzee two series, it has cut more grass than i ever thought it would, i have over 460 hrs on it, if your having belt problems then its the pulleys on the decking some of this was taken care of with spacers under the pullys, the only thing i had to replace is two hydro belts and two deck belts, if you guys are have problems with theses units then call country clipper and talk to john, he is their tech, man, and he has the answers, they have redone some of the items on these mowers since i purchase mine and they are a lot better, planning to buy another one in 2011,.

Oct 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Jazee One Belts
by: Anonymous

I have had a jazee One for two seasons and I love it. I did start out with the belt issue as well. After about 5 belts, the factory rep visited and found that they had shpped some mowers with a support bar near the belt that was installed upside down. A reversal of this bar cleared up the problem and it has performed fine sisnc.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
starstar
BELTS
by: Matt

I have had my jazee one for four years.i average FIVE deck belts per season.chews them up and throws them off.I do love the joystick control.hell i like everything about the mower except the belt issue

Sep 08, 2010
Rating
star
Motor Blown - 3 years!!!
by: Robert

I have had the Jazee One for about 3 years, and had a few minor problems since day one. The bolts to the deck (holding it to the adjustment bar) broke, the motor constantly backfired with no assistance from the dealer, the tires spin constantly and do not grip well. This week, there was a loud bang, and then nothing. I took it to the dealer and he stated the motor threw a rod, and the motor was toast! This is a 3 year old mower used only in a residential lot in OHIO! No help from the company, nor the dealer. Please, Please please... do not buy this product.....

Sep 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
JAZEE PRO COMMENTS
by: ALLEN, PA

BOUGHT A JAZEE PRO LAST YEAR WITH JOYSTICK CONTROL - MACHINE HAS WORKED PERFECTLY - NO PROBLEMS OR ISSUES - MY ONLY COMMENT IS THAT I WISH THEY WOULD USE AMERICAN TIRES AND AN AMERICAN SEAT FOR THE MACHINE - BOTH OF THESE ITEMS ON MY MACHINE ARE MADE IN CHINA AND THE SEAT IS RIPPING AND THE TIRES DO NOT HOLD AIR. OTHER THAN THAT I LOVE THE MACHINE - IT CUTS ABOUT AN HOUR OFF MY MOWING TIME!

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No one can build a mower like the clipper
by: Anonymous

If you do your research, Country Clipper is the only ZTR to have a joystick system. The only reason anyone ever gets a dual lever ZTR is because they have never tried the joystick. I cant imagine using a dual lever ZTR ever again. It is a little precarious at first but within 3 hours of using it you will never use a dual lever again. Best part about it is that its STILL made in America by Americans with American parts. There is not a whole lot of companies that can still say that.

Jul 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
jazee pro
by: Dustin

I'm on my third season with my 60" mower. I have never regretted getting it. I did have to replace a pulley that came apart, but it was under warranty. If you are having trouble with belts, just check the condition of your pulleys.

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hello from KANSAS Country Clipper
by: Anonymous

On Saturday July 3rd I bought a 60in JAZee Pro 27hp Kohler engine. I have never used a zero turn before. I have joy stick control and simply love it. I have hills in the country on 3 acres and have had no issues on hills. I wanted the low profile of the mower so I could cut the grass under the tree limbs. This is the most convenient mower I've ever owned. It is quiet, can mower my 3 acres in an hour, very safe and efficient. I don't know why there are some people whom have negative reports on this mower the only thing I hate was paying the Kansas TAX. I love the flip up mower deck and the step, I love the color as it will match my Farmall Tractor when I finish Painting it. If you read through the instructions and use common sense there should never be no problems with this mower it looks and feels like QUALITY ENGINEERING THROUGH OUT the complete mower, thank you Country Clipper, my life is eaier and my lawn looks beautiful. Gary H.

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Muffler issues
by: Dean Harrawood

I bought a Country Clipper Jazee SR200 and have not mowed one season with out having to take it in and have the linkage worked on. I like the joy stick on the mower as it allows me to have one hand free and to be fair it mows nice when it works.
The Biggest issue I am having with it now is I can not keep the muffle tight on the mower. I have done everthing I can think of except have it welded into place. Lock tight, lock washers, double nuts nothing works. This is a 18.5 els Briggs and Stratton motor and I am wondering if anyone else is haveing issue like this and if so how can it be fixed. I went to the dealers and noticed that the mufflers have been changed on the new models.
Any help would be great deano@rtccom.net

Thanks

Jun 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RIPP/OFF CLIPPER
by: PASTOR RANDY

WELL THEY GOT THE NAME CORRECT, "RIPPOFF". VERY COSTLY TO MAINTAIN. NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT AT ALL AND THEY ALWAYS BLAME YOU FOR THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD MINE FOR THREE SEASONS. I HAVE GONE THROUGH, WAIT FOR IT, 12 BELTS. AT $65 A POP THE PIECE OF JUNK AINT WORTH IT.SOMETHING KEEPS EATING UP THE BELTS, I GUESS IT IS ME. MY WIFE SHOULD FEED ME BETTER. I DID FINALLY FIND BULTS ON LINE FOR ABOUT $15. THE ONLY TROUBLE IS THEY ARE ALWAYS ON BACK ORDER. WE PURCHASED THE MOWER FOR ITS CONVIENCE, BUT IT HAS BECOME INCONVIENT.WWW.vbelts4less.com........
hope this helps someone..

Jun 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Don't buy Country Clipper
by: Jack

My brother bought the Zazee 1 and it has eat more belts than one can imagine, at a cost of $90 to be shipped. No dealer within 75 miles. Very frustrating. Sure would like a solution to this problem.

Jun 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wow
by: walt

got a country clipper& love it-love it- love it best mower I've ever ran,fast& a good job, dealer in each of cloesest towns.S W MINN

May 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love my country clipper
by: Anonymous

To tell you the truth i wouldn't own nothing but a country clipper. My fatherendlaw has gresshopper and you could'nt give me one it's alway something with it.
I have had my mower for 4 years it's a 60 inch mid it has 458hrs on it knock on wood never had the first problem. I mow 6 acers each week and have several trees to mow around and still enjoy mowing thank you shiver for building such a mower.

sinncerly,
Ollie

May 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Clipper Stinks
by: Anonymous

I too have one of these, Jazee II. I can't find parts for mine either. The dealer here has since gone out of business. I have contacted Country Clipper about a problem I had with the deck belt coming off and getting chewed up. Some guy at Shivers (don't remember his name) told me they had a problem with this issue and hand some kind of kit to resolve the issue. He told me he would send the kit to me since there were no dealers in my area. I called the guy back 3 times and each time he told me he forgot about. That was two years ago. Still have not seen the kit. He was a liar. I would not recommend this mower to anyone. Poor customer service, design and lack of dealer support.

May 04, 2010
Rating
star
parts availabilty
by: Anonymous

Why would anyone mess around with a Country Clipper when there are plenty of good zero turn mowers on the market that you can find good dealers everywhere ???????

Sep 24, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love my Counrty Clipper
by: Anonymous

My understanding is that Shivvers is also responsible for the dixon you like so much. I don't know about either problem with the deck or cutting around small trees because mine does great!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Riding mowers main page.