Craftsman 13.5 HP 30 in. Deck Rear Engine Riding Tractor- CA Model

I purchased this particular riding lawn mower at Sears last November and have been very pleased by it. I have not had any problems with this mower yet and have been greatly pleased by the way that it handles and mows.


I own a house that rests on 3 acres of land, so this mower is my saving grace! As a short woman, I would have trouble maneuvering some of the larger riding mowers; however, this particular model is very easily maneuverable and the front is very easy to see. Also, I love using this mower due to it's comfortable seat!

My husband also is very pleased by this mower. Before we had this mower we lived in a very hilly area and sadly did not own a riding mower. He complained about using a push mower up large hills and about not being able to get the job done as well as he had liked. However, with this new mower he gets the job done and has some time to spare! After switching to a riding mower, we will never go back to a push mower! My husband has also raved about this model's ability to turn around corners easily and tightly.

We also are able to store our mower easily into our storage unit in the backyard. It is just the right size and we have both been very pleased by it.

My twelve year old son is even interested in mowing the lawn! He asks us all the time if he can mow the lawn sometime. We are going to start letting him mow the lawn as a chore and he is ready to start a mowing business this summer! My husband and I have told him that he will have to wait a while to start his own business but that he may mow our lawn for a profit.

I think that this mower will last our family for years to come!

Pros
- easily maneuverable
- comfortable seat

Cons
- none

Rating
5 out of 5

Comments for Craftsman 13.5 HP 30 in. Deck Rear Engine Riding Tractor- CA Model

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Blade Engagement
by: Anonymous

I purchased this model in July 2009 and thought it was a terrific mower. Last summer, the blade engagement was sluggish. This spring, after after it tuned up, blade engagement is a gamble - sometimes it will engage and sometimes it won't. It's very frustrating!! Sears products aren't as good as they used to be.

Oct 13, 2014
Rating
star
craftsman 30 in. rear engine mower
by: GP Delaware

Although this mower sells for less than others like it,do yourself a solid and research reviews on a few different sites before buying.The transmission problems with the 28000 and 25000 models are well documented but sears will not recall or fix the problem if you are one day out of the two year warranty.There is no evidence that the issue has been fixed on the newer models and the cost to fix trans is costly.You are better off to spend the extra 300=#400 for a better mower

Jul 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
Ehh, its alright
by: Ken

Pros:
1.) Climbs hills decently
2.) Turns sharp
3.) Comfort
4.) Cheap

Cons:
1.) front tires suck, I recommend buying solid tires
2.) loses traction easily
3.) Hard to push if it doesn't start.

Well the Starter solenoid broke and started speaking which turned on the starter and turned on the engine WITHOUT the key even in the ignition. NOTE- We don't have to sit on the seat to start the mower because that wire got disconnected and I don't wanna rip the mower apart to reconnect it. Honestly, Buy a John Deere.

Jul 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
WILL NEVER GO TO SEARS AGAIN
by: Jim Rodman

PIECE OF CRAP!!!! Used it for about 2 1/2 years and the transmission went. I REMEMBER SEARS USED TO BACK UP THEIR PRODUCTS BUT I GUESS THOSE DAYS ARE GONE. WHEN YOU PAY THAT MUCH MONEY FOR A RIDING MOWER AND THEN HAVE TO PAY OVER HALF THE COST OF THE MOWER FOR A PART ONLY AFTER 2 1/2 YEARS IS SAD. SHAME ON YOU SEARS AND GUESS WHO WON'T BE PURCHASING ANYTHING FROM SEARS AGAIN?

Jim Rodman

May 06, 2013
Rating
star
tires and transmission -- all products designed for parts replacments
by: rick

pro: its cheap
con: designed frequent service

1) i can confirm the frequent replacment of tires.

2) my transmission is just now starting to go

3) there is no viable grass catcher available for this model. i bought something they called a grass catcher. it was a fixed box. had bars on the top to prevent me from sliding in a plastic leaf bag. the only way to get grass out is to use the lever to dump the grass / leaves on the ground.

4) i also bought a portable leaf / vacumm. i get back aches because the bag attachment is slung over my shoulder. As I have large lot, i frequently need to empty the bag. yes the zipper broke and a new bag cost about half of a new unit.

5) so basically, i bought about $1200 worth of sears equipment and still cannot pick up a leaf.

i use a rake and a tarp now.

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
bad front wheel design
by: PHIL

Wouldn't be a bad low cost rider if the front wheel(s) design wasn't flawed. I have replaced 6 front wheels over the last 3 years. A combination of heat build up from friction along with the lateral forces exerted when making sharp turns, particularly on inclines, destroys the wheel bearings. I've tried a few different wheel designs and nothing has been able to resist failure. This year I'm going to try replacing wheels bearings with more costly "heavy duty" ones. If that doesn't work then I am out of retrofit ideas to fix it. I think Sears (And Murray, the actual manufacturer) should have recognized this as a defective product and provide consideration to the customer. After looking around the web I see this is a repetitive complaint on this model.

Oct 01, 2010
Rating
star
JUNK
by: HOME OWNER

THIS MOWER IS A JUNK. I HAVE HAD IT FOR 2.5 YEARS AND HERE IS THE LIST OF PROBLEMS. NEW TRANS, 7 FRONT WHEELS HAVE BEEN REPLACED, ALIGNED FRONT END 5 TIMES, EJECTOR TUBE CLOGGES EVERY TIME I MOW, ENGAGING BLADE ONLY WORKS SOMETIMES. BATTERY HAS BEEN REPLACED 2 TIMES, FRONT WHEELS DEPEND ON WASHERS TO KEEP THEM IN PLACE, FRONT WHEELS DO NOT HAVE BEARINGS. ( THE FRICTION CREATED ON THE FRONT WHEELS MAKES THEM HEAT UP AND CRACK)BUY SOMETHING ELSE IF YOU WANT IT TO LAST.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

I purchased this ride on two years ago and just a week out of the 2 year warrenty the transmission went and i was told the whole transaxel had to be replaced at a cost of $781.09 . The mower had less than 200 hundred hours . Was told Craftsman would rebate me $100.00 towards and new mower .So i guess this will be my last Craftsman .

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - craftsman.