Craftsman 160 cc Honda with rear bag

Recently we found ourselves in the market for a new push lawn mower. We took our time and did our research. We needed a mower that would last a long time and would be easy to push. After about a week of research we decided on the Craftsman 160cc Honda with rear bag.


After deciding on this purchase we went around to different stores to find the one at the best price. Finally we discovered that most of them are priced around the same. There is no store really cheaper then the other.

After sales tax is included it all comes out about the same. In the end we decided to just go with the store where we make most of our lawn care purchases.

I love this mower. We have owned several mowers and this one is a cut above the rest. Our previous mower was hard to start. The pull string would get stuck and you would find blisters on your hands before you got it started.

This is not the case with this new lawn mower. It is one of the easiest push lawn mowers to start. After priming the engine it usually only takes about two pulls of the string.

This is also my first mower with a rear bag. I've never understood why so many people like these things but after owning one I now understand.

I love how all the grass is collected in this 3 and 1 mulch bag. No longer getting mowed grass all over my shoes. The grass is collected in a bag that is easily detached from the mower then re attached.

I was worried that it would be a little awkward to remove and re attach but I was wrong.
In the end I would recommend this lawn mower to not only my family but also my friends.

Comments for Craftsman 160 cc Honda with rear bag

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 19, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
An almost perfect mower
by: Anonymous

A very good mower that is made by Husqvarna. Mine is 7 years old.

A huge problem is dealing with Sears for service and parts. Because of this I no longer buy anything from Sears.

The other glitch is the fact the rear wheels can stick when trying to pull the mower backwards. A real PITA.

Oct 19, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
Low Refs
by: Hennie

I like the machine, only problem is that there is no refs.Can it be adjusted ??? Where ???
It runs on low refs all the time, you have to cut slow due to the front drive wheels going slow because of the slow refs.

Jun 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
rear wheels stick
by: Anonymous

A great mower. Ours is 5 years old. The very big problem is dealling with Sears for service and parts.

The other glitch is the fact the rear wheels can stick when trying to pull the mower backwards. A real PITA.

May 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
the motors goods
by: Anonymous

I love the honda motor ,I GOT 5 YEARS OUT OF MINE UNTIL THE CARB NEEDED WORK but the rest is craftsman the drive system wont last to long

May 09, 2010
Rating
starstar
Terrible design flaw.
by: Carl

While I love the ease to start this mower, the lever to adjust the front height of the mower was poorly designed . The lever is designed with a "nub" extending from the lever and this nub "slots" into holes in the mower wall. In the highest setting the mower works fine, as do the next two lower settings. But put it in the fourth position, and with the slightest bump to the mower, it falls all the way past the lowest setting, causing you to literally drag the mower across your now scalped lawn!

If you are going to use only the three highest settings, this is a pretty good mower, enginewise. I never thought I would have a desire to mow lower, but now I see that at times, I would like & need to change heights. So, I wouldn't recommend this mower to anyone. Sears/Craftman really dropped the ball on this one. The Honda engine has worked great. I've read where some have had problems with oil leaks around the gasket, but I have not seen that (yet).

Nov 14, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda powered Craftsman mower
by: Don

The Honda engine on this mower is great! This engine actually does start with one pull, unlike the Briggs and Stratons that claim to. It's quite, powerful and trouble free.

Aug 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
craftsman 160cc honda engine 21
by: dan

this mower is junk. i purchased this mower 07/2008. it leaks oil at the head cover. sears no longer carries the engine for this mower. customer service cannot locate the diagram for the engine for parts replacement. craftsman manufactured the mower with the honda engine but is of little help in tracking parts. customer service gave me 2 phone numbers to call to track info. 1st number was the tech dept---WRONG #!!! to call for parts...SEARS...the new pontiac...

Aug 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
craftsman 160cc honda engine 21" mower
by: dan

this mower is junk. i purchased this mower 07/2008. it leaks oil at the head cover. sears no longer carries the engine for this mower. customer service cannot locate the diagram for the engine for parts replacement. craftsman manufactured the mower with the honda engine but is of little help in tracking parts.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Craftsman Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.