Craftsman LT 3000 Riding Lawn Mower

by David
(Mountain Home, Ar.)

This is the worst machine of any kind that I have ever bought.


First lawn mower
1)Intermittently would run, or would run very rough, or would not run at all. Serviced 4-5 times by Sears under warranty, 2 different service techs. Problem was never fixed. Sears replaced mower

2)Steering column became loose

Second lawn mower (items 1 & 2 are the same on both mowers). I have made all repairs on 2nd mower

1)After 1-2 months developed the same problem as the first lawn mower. Intermittently would run, or would run very rough, or would not run at all. I did not trust the current repair staff to fix the problem, so I trouble shot it myself to find that the carburetor choke return spring was missing or defective. Came to the repair shop to get another spring and the tech was very glad to also learn of what the problem was. I repaired.

2)Steering column became loose. In my opinion the problem was a design flaw. 2 small sheet metal screws were used to hold column in place, screws were stripped out and had fallen out. I repaired using 2 #10 machine screws and nuts and have had no further difficulty

3)Tires leak will not hold air - looked for leaks and they were not found on the tires, but in defective valve stems - currently leaking

4)Seat safety switch was defective - intermittently stopping the mower from running (this went on for months until I found the problem), replaced switch

5)Weld broke on the pulley that connected to the motor crankshaft - replaced

6)Extreme oil consumption - takes approximately 2 hours to mow yard and have to add around 1/2 quart of oil per use

7)Current issue - Mower will not start, replaced battery, motor turns over very slowly and bottom of starter gets very hot.

Comments for Craftsman LT 3000 Riding Lawn Mower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
what a bunch of cheap wine ass's
by: Anonymous

Commenting on you all that are telling only the side you want us to here about how you really treat or expect out of your tractor, well you just make make me sick, I've got a sears a Kubota and a john dear the only one that runs the best is the Kubota, and half of the screws are missing from vibration so here is my advice, grow up, treat it the way it was intended, or spend the extra money out of your tight wad butt and buy the most expensive tractor, and trade it in on a new Maching every year, cuz news flash THEY ALL HAVE THERE PROBLEMS...

Sep 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
what a bunch of cheap wine ass's
by: Anonymous

Commenting on you all that are telling only the side you want us to here about how you really treat or expect out of your tractor, well you just make make me sick, I've got a sears a Kubota and a john dear the only one that runs the best is the Kubota, and half of the screws are missing from vibration so here is my advice, grow up, treat it the way it was intended, or spend the extra money out of your tight wad butt and buy the most expensive tractor, and trade it in on a new Maching every year, cuz news flash THEY ALL HAVE THERE PROBLEMS...

Oct 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
LT3000
by: Tom W

I have had my LT3000 2seasons now. The caburator was bad when the tractor was first delivered and had to be replaced. A moderate annoyance. I believe I got a fair deal, bought it on sale and got 12 months interest free payments..

This is not a John deer or other high end mower.. It has been very dependable thus far, but I take every precaution to check the oil before every mow and I put in a gas valve to empty the tank every winter for storage.

The sheet metal hood design sucks. It does not stay in place in rough conditions.

I like the tighter turn radius.

Yesterday, the drive belt broke and went to the local Sears satellite store. They gave me the wrong part because their part numbers don't match the on-line part numbers. Go figure. Ordered one online, which now puts me out of leaf clearing for at least a a week-right in the middle of peak leaf cleaning season.

This is my 3rd Craftsman Tractor. I feel the quality is declining. The parts and design is not robust.

I will probably by a John Deer next time

Aug 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pure junk
by: Anonymous

I have had mine about four years. It has been maintained and kept inside. It takes a new battery about every year and now it won't start, gas in the oil, tires flat all the time. I have had other Sears mowers that were fine, but this one is terrible.

Aug 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pure junk
by: Anonymous

I have had mine about four years. It has been maintained and kept inside. It takes a new battery about every year and now it won't start, gas in the oil, tires flat all the time. I have had other Sears mowers that were fine, but this one is terrible.

Jul 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My LT 30000.
by: santa6642

had mt LT 3000 for just over 6 years no problem except to sharppen blades , Same battery and oil + filer, kee-p it out side rain or snoa .Neve a problem, Starts every time

Jun 09, 2014
Rating
star
Garbage
by: Anonymous

I went with the buy American idea, i change the oil twice a year and only use the recommended Sears oil. I have also changed the filter regularly. I have had nothing but problems. The spring that holds the drive pulley in place ripped through the cheap thin frame, I drilled another hole to attach it and had the same outcome. I ended up welding in a stronger piece of steel and solved that problem. Next the rear wheel snapped off leaving the bolt in the axle ($118 for an Axle). A slew of other problems including belts, pulleys and today without warning the engine seized. There is ample oil in the engine no other signs of an issue. This is a 2011 Model and it is junk!!!! Going to buy some foreign made mower.

May 18, 2014
Rating
star
Buy Something Else!
by: Alan

The biggest travesty with this mower is the Intek 20hp engine. There is a critical valve adjustment that's not described adequately in the manual and bent valves two years after I bought it. From then on I took it to a shop to have the valves adjusted, but it didn't matter. Even with regular shop adjustments I bent the replacement valves. Poor design and an awful engine.

May 18, 2014
Rating
star
Buy Something Else!
by: Alan

The biggest travesty with this mower is the Intek 20hp engine. There is a critical valve adjustment that's not described adequately in the manual and bent valves two years after I bought it. From then on I took it to a shop to have the valves adjusted, but it didn't matter. Even with regular shop adjustments I bent the replacement valves. Poor design and an awful engine.

May 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Junk
by: Anonymous

Bought about 5 years ago and I am 60 year old female and this craftsman rider broke so much that I can fix it now due to it breaking so many times and learning how to fix it. Spindles, belts, stabilizer bar, batteries galore. Lucky to get 1 mowing out od it. And they had to replace the WHOLE mower deck the first month I owned it. I have a whole area in my shop with parts to keep it running...Won't buy another one.

Nov 19, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

I am very pleased with my LT 3000, BS 21HP. Had it 1 year, absolutely no problems. Same machine, priced just below the Husky and significantly below the Deere. Great Mower

Jun 03, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GREAT LAWN TRACTOR
by: Anonymous

I bought my Craftsman DLT 3000 in the spring of 2004. It's still running great! The only thing I've ever done to it is sharpen the blades, change the oil, and clean the air filter. It has a Briggs & Stratton, and I cut about 3 acres a week, mow brush that I probably shouldn't mow with it, climb hills and mow angels that it's not made to climb, pull my 18 ft fiberglass boat and 2 other trailers around the yard, grade the driveway with it, drag and reseed lawns, and pull Load Hoggs full of firewood with it. All that, and it still starts and runs like a top! I'll buy another Craftsman Deluxe, especially considering that my brother has had trouble with his newer Cub Cadet and my father with his newer Husqvarna.

Oct 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worth evry penny
by: Anonymous

Purchased new in May 2006. 20 HP Kohler Engine, 6-Speed manual trans. Aside from a broken choke spring, after the third year, it's been completely trouble free. October 22, 2012 and that still remains the only repair. Profesionally maintained annually and it continues to start evry time and mow my acre lot in 35 to 40 minutes. My service company says they have seen others with the Briggs & Stratton engine with lots of problems. Not so much out the the Kohler models.

May 10, 2012
Rating
star
JUNK
by: Anonymous

I had bought sears tractors before with decent results
The first day I had this tractor I wanted to take it back.My biggest mistake. Same as others steering wheel came off, seat shutoff keeps turning off mower.Has to be re-attched continually,issues with unlevel cutting,front wheels do not turn together wheel now is coming off ,light never worked,battery died very early.
beyond that good luck. Their was a class action suit where i received 50$ back if I buy another unit??? Buy a john deere or simplicity.Do not buy sears.

Apr 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Well worth the money
by: Anonymous

In 2006 I bought my LT3000 with manual trans. and 42" deck. I have beat the living hell out of this machine and honestly have not done much at all to maintain it 1 oil change, 1 battery, 1 spindle, 1 set of blades. Found a used snowblower and used that also a couple of times and it works wonderful. For just over $1000.00 when I bought why would I ever want to go buy some $10,000.00 or more John Deere, Kubota, Cub Cadet???? I can replace this mower 10 times with a craftsman before reaching that kind of money!

Apr 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LT3000 tip
by: Anonymous

I had intermittent problems with the mower not wanting to start. Completely disabled safety system. Problem persisted. Finally figured the stator was defective. What I'm calling the stator is the device that rotates a magnet within a coil to make the spark. Has run solid to a couple of years after replacing

Mar 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MY CRAFSMAN LT 3000
by: Anonymous

My LT 3000 HAS BEEN RUNNING GREAT SINCE 2007 AND TODAY MARCH 18, 2012 I WOULD NOT START AND I REPLACE THE BATTERY FOR THE SECOND TIME SINCE BUYING IT. BUT IT STILL WON'T START I THINK IT MIGHT BE MY CHOKE NEEDS ADJUSTING SINCE IT STARTED WHEN I REPLACE THE BATTERY AND I ADJUSTED THE CHOKE AND PROBLEMS BEGAN WITH NOT STARTING. MY ? HERE IS WHAT IS THE BEST POSITION FOR THE CHOKE. TO ANSWER EVERYONE'S COMMENTS THIS IS A GREAT TRACTOR LIKE SOME HAVE SAID TAKE CARE OF IT AND IT WILL SATISFY YOU FOR AS LONG AS YOU NEED IT. IF ANYONE HAS ANY IDEAS ON WHAT MY PROBLEM MAY BE FEEL FREE TO ANSWER IF NOT I'LL TAKE IT TO THE SHOP FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE PURCHASING IN 2007. I CAN STILL SAY EVERYONE THAT OWNS THIS CRAFTSMAN LT 3000 YOU HAVE A GREAT MOWER.

Feb 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Machine
by: Anonymous

I have owned this lt3000 for 1 year and it has ran perfectly. I think some of these people abuse these tractors and do not change the oil like they should.

Oct 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

I purchased mine in 2007. Never had a single problem. Change the oil and filter as required and winterize if needed. I cut approx. 1 acre.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love my LT 3000
by: Anonymous

I have had my Craftsman LT3000 Briggs & Stratton for 6 summers. Love, love, love it. Replaced the battery one time, but I think neighborhood kids damaged it by jamming the key entry. Have not had the first problem with it and haven't done any maintenance either. I mow 3 acres of rough, hilly terrain.

Sep 27, 2011
Rating
starstar
Garbage Mower
by: Anonymous

Like other postings, my LT3000 mower ran well for while, but I had problems with tires leaking, battery constantly dying out, replaced battery, then it ran rough for a while...when everything seemed smooth for a short while, the engine block cracked wide open while I was mowing with no particular reason...Now my $1400 investment is completely dead. I only had the mower for 4 years. My neighbor is still riding on his vintage 1974 mower and my bright shiny "new" mower needs to be discarded...what a piece of crap.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
42" lt3000 craftsmen
by: Anonymous

Love it for the first for 2.5 years. Since then have replaced tie rod twice and need to order a new one once more.

Jul 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lt 3000 20 hp briggs&straton 6 sp manual
by: Anonymous

Love this mower haven't had any problems just make sure it gets the right service done to it take to local shop let them service it price isn't bad just take care of it and it will run for ever sorry to hear about everyone else and there problems

Jul 05, 2011
Rating
star
LT (Loaded Turd) 3000
by: Anonymous

I agree with a lot of the digruntled owners. From day one I've had nothing but problems and Sears want me to renew my warranty so they can get free money. They never call me any other time, just when my warranty is due to be renewed. I even told them about my cracked gas tank and they told me to put gas in it anyway to see if would start. I told them this was a safety hazard and after he thought about it, he agreed. I eventually got a new tank FEDEX to me, but why it still doesn't run. They're coming out next week to try to fix it; we'll see:)

May 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great mower
by: Anonymous

have had zero problems with this mower, but of course I keep the mower maintained mine has the khlor engine in it, think more could say the same if maintance was kept up.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Craftsman LT3000
by: DoubleD

The engine on my LT3000 blew after less than 5 years. It blew a hole in the side of the motor which is very thin aluminum. There was oil in the motor, I'm not sure what happened. You should be able to get more than 5 years out of a riding mower.

May 18, 2011
Rating
star
Blown Transmission
by: Anonymous

I bought my LT3000 in July of 2006. 20hp B&S, 6speed manual trans. Used it extensivly since then for mowing only (nothing heavy duty) on my 3/4 acre lot. The very first cut of the year I notice as I let off the clutch that it took awhile to engage. Figured it was just a loose belt. I'll fix it after I mow. A bit later I hear grinding. Shut it down and find a hole the size of a quarter and a gear poking out of the hole sideways. Called Sears sent a guy out $300 for a new transmission and $100 for the service call. Another $100 for him to come back and put it in. I just didn't have time to shop for a replacement so I agreed to have them do the work. I'm very disappointed. I have always had other Craftsman products without problems. Part of the reason I bought a 6 speed over a hydrostatic is because all my reasearch indicated manual last longer than hydrostatic. Oh well. I'll let you know how it turns out.

May 16, 2011
Rating
star
sears lt 3000 18.5 briggs
by: Anonymous

This mower is the biggest piece of crap I ever purchased!!! fist time I mowed with it it started having troubles, I replace the cheap mandrels at least once or twice a year, 100 dollars a pop for 1 including shipping, now I am also having starting problems, I think their wiring is a big time flaw, it is currently drawing down the battery, I changed out the selenoid, pulled the starter and it seems to be OK? spins when on the charger, I think I need to try to bypass all the safety switches WAY TOO MANY!! thinking I have a bad ground somewhere on the red junker, last mower I will buy from Sears, in fact last product I will buy from sear, when I was a kid Sears was the go to store, I think all their junk is made in China now. STAY AWAY FROM THEIR MOWERS!

Apr 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GREAT MACHINE
by: Anonymous

I have had mine for 5 yeras now with zero problems. For those of you with battery issues, stop. I am on the same battery. When I bought mine they told me to always remove the key from the ignition so there won't be a draw which I always do. Mine sat in the garage for the winter and I never started it once. No battery tender on it and this spring it started like a champ. Don't know why everyone has issues.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
T3000 Craftsman Riding Mower
by: Anonymous

This mower is going on the 5th yr and has given me problems after the first year. Hard to start....sometimes had to jump it off; new battery into 2nd year late; new starter the end of third year; It has stopped working the last of fourth year. This year...new battery and seasonal maintenance. It will turn over somewhat, but will not start. This mower should last longer than four and a half year at this size and price!!!

Mar 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Like any Craftsman product it is not meant to be used regularly
by: BK

I think this really nifty red tractor is really meant to look really nifty in the garage ... not out being used.

Like all Craftsman products they are meant for hobbyist and not people who actually use them.

I have to admit though, I use mine regularly during the summer months for mowing, and in the fall for leaf pickup and it has been working well for me.

Steering is quite a chore and it is very loud. I was really surprised today when I went out to the back of the garden where it sat all winter (really bad winter too) and it started right up on the fourth or fifth try. Much to my surprise!

I won't recommend it, mainly because my Craftsman compressor crapped out on me soon after I used it for the first time and Sears won't stand behind their product because I was one week out of warranty. They don't have replacement parts either because it's all made in China and the Chinese discontinued the motor.

Like all my Craftsman tools I am selling and replacing with another brand. My tractor will probably go this summer, in particular because I want to add a snowblower attachment and will never buy another Craftsman product or part. From my cabinet saw to my tractor it's all going out of my life.



Dec 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Minimal issues
by: Jersey Dude

I've had my LT3000, 20hp, B&S for four seasons now and am satisfied with it. It's not perfect, but what is? The main issue I've had is with battery life. If the charge is medium to low, it may not start. After figuring this out, I now know to set it on a charger (two-three times per year) for an hour, if it won't start, and it works every time. I use it year-round: 3/4 acre spring/summer mowing, fall leaf removal (heavy with many trees), winter snow plow.

Dec 29, 2010
Rating
star
Give Me My Money Back
by: Fix or Replace

In 1991 I purhased a Craftsman rding mower and it ran good until the day I solded it February 2010 only replacement was belts.
I replaced it with a 46" Craftsman 3000,from day one problems it's in the shop now. This was a real bad replacement buy.

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
star
junk
by: Bigomoe

These are junk. Craftsman & Kohler admit to a recall on the starter and p.c.n. that replaced it. The steering is also terrible in that it relies on a ball-joint setup for the draglink from steering gear to front tire spindle and if you make too many sharp turns or turn in a hole or ditch it's wallered out because of the low grade steel. Should have coughed up the extra $2k for a commercial grade Scag or Gravely.

Jul 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Decent mower, similar problems
by: Anonymous

I've had this mower for 2 years now and have experienced similar problems to the choke spring breaking off, the steering wheel becoming loose, and bad battery life - have replaced it every year - well then again, it sucks for all small batteries. But overall, no major issues and am pretty happy with it.

Jun 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Proffesional grade to me.
by: Jr


I have the Craftsman Lt 3000 W/20 horse Briggs & Stratton. Not only have I not had any problems in the two years I have had mine, I also do several other lawns as a side bussiness with this piece of equipment!

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great mower
by: Dave Zee

Sounds like the op got a dud, or could it possibly be that he's expecting perfection.

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Mower
by: John

Good mower, had no major issues, just normal wear and tear. These machines have no suspension so things vibrate loose every now and again if you mow a bumpy lawn as i do. Just do a good inspection every time before or after you mow the lawn. I mow 1.25 acres and this is my 6th season.
Found the battery dead this spring and the key was turned on, totally my fault. Changed to synthetic oil at the first interval and it runs like it was new.

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great Mower
by: Old Smokey

Great mower I have the one with 19 hp Kohler. I am in my 4th season zero problems. I live in Tenn. and take care of 3 lawns with it. Total app 2 acres. Mow them every week starting in April. Have had none of the problems mentioned by others here. Only change oil & filter every spring and sharpen blades as needed. Great little mower.

May 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
craftsman lt3000 42 "
by: Anonymous

Have had for over 2 season and works great. Nice sharp turns and cuts even. Would buy again.

May 03, 2010
Rating
star
craftsman lt 3000
by: Anonymous

as above mentioned this is the biggest piece of crap ever produced!!! i guess they work great if your in Florida and only mow an 1/2 inch lawn at a time. DO NOT BUY this mower..

Feb 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
craftsman LT3000
by: Anonymous

Have used 2 years without problem. Great mower and snow remover.

Nov 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower!!!
by: Anonymous

This mower is absolutely great! No problems whatsoever. Rides nicely, feels solid, starts everytime, mows like a champ!

Sep 22, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good mower
by: Anonymous

Have had my mower for over 2yrs without an issue (other than changing the battery last week) and I live in South Florida where there is now "down time" for the winter season.

Mar 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Good Mower
by: Anonymous

Have used my LT 3000 for two seasons now. Have had no problems.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - craftsman.