Craftsman Rotary Lawn Mower, 675 Series

by B. Burton
(Oregon)

We received this lawn mower as a gift about 6 months ago, and have been very satisfied with it. Thus far, it has been reliable, starts and runs easily, and gets the job done quickly! This is a 21 inch multi cut mower, with a Briggs and Stratton Engine from Sears.


The mower has typical features, including adjustable cutting height, handle height, and engine speed, and the handle can be folded down for easier storage. The Craftsman Rotary Lawnmower is capable of mulching, rear bagging, and side discharging of clippings.

The cost of this mower was moderate, in the $250-$350 price range, and it would be satisfactory for any general lawn or yard mowing needs. We have used it on various heights and thicknesses of grass, and never had any problems with it making clean cuts and completing the work as needed. Even when mowing tall, wet grass, the mower has not clogged.

The bag is easy to remove and attach, making it quick and easy to dump out clippings as necessary while mowing. The mower itself is fairly lightweight and easy to move around, but is also durable. We have kept it outside and it has weathered well, still starting and running easily whenever it is needed.

It does require general maintenance, but nothing more than regular oil addition and overall inspection of its running parts and tires. In general, we are very satisfied with this Craftsman Rotary Lawnmower, and would certainly recommend it to anyone who needs a good, everyday lawnmower to do light to moderate work in the lawn and garden.

Comments for Craftsman Rotary Lawn Mower, 675 Series

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 30, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No problems
by: Anonymous

No problem with my 675 . have not used it much,but when I do it starts and does a good job. The mower cuts grass and that's all it's made for.

Apr 30, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No problems
by: Anonymous

No problem with my 675 . have not used it much,but when I do it starts and does a good job. The mower cuts grass and that's all it's made for.

Oct 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works fine for me
by: Anonymous

Very satisfied with this mower whether cutting lawn or weeds. Easy to start wnd run. had it since '08 with no problems. Starts right up after a hard winter.

Sep 25, 2011
Rating
star
Frame and engine oil
by: Anonymous

Frame is weak.

Engine design allows burning of oil to occur and it burns quickly.
I've had the mower for about 1.5 years (bought it new) and it is burning oil faster than I can mow.

Model number 917.385410

Part of the 675 Series Briggs and Stratton engine family

Apr 27, 2011
Rating
star
crap
by: Anonymous

i agree with the comments of the others. This mower i have used three times and oil started spraying out everywhere. i refilled it with no reading on the oil stick when i decided this is sears problem. i took it back only for them to tell me it was my fault and even though i have a service contract they charged me....would not recommend this mower and i will NEVER buy anything from sears again!!

Jun 15, 2010
Rating
star
Handle Bracket
by: Anonymous

Purchased it yesterday. Took it out of the box. Tried to attach the bolt and knob to the handle bracket. Bolt much too short to attach to handle and knob. Sears told me to bring back the entire lawn mower just to get another pair of bolts/knobs. My 66-year old female body had hard enough trouble/difficulty getting it home much less trying to get it back to Sears! Going to the local hardware store to get a pair of bolts instead. No more Sears for me!

May 24, 2010
Rating
star
only had two years
by: Anonymous

675 Series Briggs & Stratton Power Propelled 22 Multi Cut purchased from Sears Burlington NJ This was very disappointing concerning the repairs and service. One week after the warranty expired the self propulsion went bad and a week later the crankshaft starter went bad . Would not recommend this lawn mower or Sears service.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstar
Very disappointed
by: Bill Powers

I am very disappointed in my two month old Sears Craftsman 675. The first time I used it, I pulled it backwards about 4 feet to reposition the mower; the rear flap guard was chewed up by the blade.

I am also disappointed that it is front wheel powered; when the rear mulch bag becomes half full, the weight pulls the front wheels up making it necessary for my 63 year old legs to push the mower because of the lack of traction.

I am pleased with the key starter; now my wife can’t say she can’t cut the grass because she can’t start the mower using the pull cord. bpowers10@hotmail.com

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Craftsman Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.