Craftsman YT 4000 24 HP 42" Yard Tractor

by Grace
(Florida)

This mower is by far my favorite mower ever. Although I have a Lawn-Boy pushing lawn mower I prefer the Craftsman YT 4000 24 HP 42" Yard Tractor much better. The main reason I prefer the Craftsman YT yard tractor to the Lawn-Boy mower is the fact that I don’t have to push the lawn mower which is a huge plus! In the Craftsman YT yard tractor you just sit and mow your lawn easily. The Craftsman YT yard tractor also has many key features that make it a wonderful lawn mower. The Craftsman YT yard tractor is powered by a 24 hp Platinum V-Twin engine that has overhead valves so that the yard tractor doesn’t get overheated as well as making the yard tractor last longer. The Craftsman YT yard tractor also has a hydrostatic automatic transmission so that you can make the work needed to be done and the speed of the tractor to match for much more efficiency.


I purchased my Craftsman YT 4000 24 HP 42" Yard Tractor at Sears in their Hardware department. What I also really liked about this yard tractor was the color it came in. The Craftsman yard tractor comes in its signature color of red. The tractor also came with a great warranty which is always important to consider when buying expensive yard tractors.

The Craftsman yard tractor comes with a 2 year warranty that covers the entire yard tractor. After those 2 years there is still a warranty for 5 years that covers the frame and front axle of the yard tractor. I haven’t had to use the warranty yet and hopefully I will never have to. The durability of this yard tractor is excellent, and it works great. With taxes and the warranties my Craftsman yard tractor came to a total of a little over $2000 dollars.

Comments for Craftsman YT 4000 24 HP 42" Yard Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 02, 2014
Rating
star
worked great for the first two years
by: Anonymous

I have owned this mower for 3 years and this year it has developed an engine miss, changed plugs, filter, fuel filter, drained gas, added new gas. I'm at a loss, never had a problem with a lawn mower this new.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Worst lawn tractor EVER. Do not buy!!!!
by: Anonymous

I agree!!!!. This is the worst lawn tractor we have ever purchased. It was not cheap. We previously had a craftsman ride on lawn mower that we bought in 1995. It was only half the horsepower but it was smoother, more reliable, had way more power, was quieter, cut better, and was way better out together. This new one will not do the slightest incline. We have less than ten hours on it and it acts like it is 25 years old. It is so rough that we get back and neck aches from it that last for days. It sounds like it is going to fall apart at any minute and i have been finding odd pieces on the ground. I wish we had kept our old one and, from the dealers reaction to my complaints, I will NEVER purchase anything from Sears again. DO YOUR RESEARCH AND DO NOT BUY THIS TRACTOR!!!!!!!

Jun 11, 2013
Rating
star
WORST LAWN MOVER EVER PURCHASED
by: Cynthia Knavel

I purchased this lawn mower with the bagger 1 1/2 years ago. It has been the worst lawn mower I have ever owned. It breaks down easily, the bagger is ackward to empty and it certainly doesn't mow clean. My exended warranty, which didn't come cheaply, doesn't cover it's problems. What a rip off. I would NEVER purchse another lawnmower from Sears. Also when I call for service, I always reach oversears and they won't tell me where they are located. This certainly is not a US product or warranty. Take this advice and DON'T BUY FROM SEARS!!!!

Apr 28, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Craftsman 4200
by: George

My new mower was delivered completely ready to ride! Although wife and I first looked at a John Deere riding mower for around $1500. the dealer-salesman kept urging us to purchase a Husquevara unit saying it was better than the John Deere. So we decided to see what Sears had to offer. The unit we purchased has 24 HP and is twin cylinder, more than adequate power for the hills and slant of our yard. Unit performs perfectly, absolutely no complaints! It is also much prettier than any John Deere and is better built.

Mar 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love It
by: Jeff

I bought my YT4000 with the manual transmission last spring and I just love it.
My front yard is flat and it just breezes through it. My back yard is a combo of flat land with a few steep hills. The YT4000 has plenty of power to climb the hills with no issues what so ever.
The mower has great looks, ease of use, and does all the jobs that I need it to do with ease.
I highly recommend this mower.

Apr 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Consider a Tire Upgrade
by: Anonymous

I've got one mowing season (50 hours) of use on my tractor on some pretty steep terrain (a lot of 2:1 slopes) on my 1.5 AC lot. I bought the manual transmission, as I just can't afford the heavy duy automatic tranmissions on the upper end John Deere's and Kubotas.

My chief complaint is the tires. Given that my slopes face north, the grass is often damp, and it doesn't take much for the clippings to stick to the tires, The tires that come on these do not shed the grass clippings the way that the Carlisle tires on my old Sabre 2046 used to. If you mow a lot of slopes, consider a tire upgrade.

Jun 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
JUNK
by: Anonymous

bought my craftman lawn tractor b&s 24 hp from sears and blew a piston 2 week after the warrenty was up,,,,,,,,,,go figure !!

Oct 15, 2009
Rating
starstar
Design
by: Anonymous

I bought one after owning other Craftsman mowers and am thoroghly fed up with the features on it. From the ROS(reverse operating system)which is the biggest pain in the rear of anything I have run across on a mower to the positioning of the throttle. I would NEVER buy it again!!!!!

Apr 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Looks cool and great for what I need
by: William Heath

I have recently moved to a different area with a little more than 3 acres of land. With that much land my self-propelled mower just wasn’t cutting it no pun intended. I looked at the usual places; I started at the tried and true Sears down the street and saw a lot of different choices. The difference when you look at a push or self-propelled mowers aren’t that dramatic but when you try to price point a riding or standing mower and all the other things to look at they can jump greatly.

They started around eight hundred dollars and toped out around sixty five hundred. That is a huge difference I am just glad that I only needed one that was going to be used for the acreage that I have. I guess the higher end ones that have the small turning radius and all the bells and whistles are really geared toward commercial grade us. I found a craftsman back at Sears that I really like it cost around twelve hundred and is great for what I need. I bought the Craftsman YT 4000 it has a forty-two inch precision cut mowing system, which includes 4 adj. gauge wheels.

It also has a six-speed transmission and has a full two-year and a five-year frame and front axle warranty. It features a Briggs & Stratton twenty-four-horse power platinum V-Twin engine with overhead valves for cooler running and longer life.

This has enough power for more than what I need it for I did get more than I needed but I didn’t want to be stuck a couple of years later when I needed it for a bigger job. The one I choose was a fire engine red that looks great and has front headlights also that was really cool, well at least I thought so.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - craftsman.