Cub Cadet 42' lawn tractor 19 hp

by Melissa
(Green Springs Ohio)

8/3/2009


Where to begin...... First is to warn all future Cub Cadet Purchasers!
To start out we have an acre of land so we decided to purchase a 42' Cub Cadet May 14, 2006. We have had NOTHING but problems since we bought it from the Tractor Supply CO. The first time we had a problem with this Cub Cadet lawn mower was on July 31, 2006, yes less than 2 1/2 months after purchasing (just the beginning). The problem was blowing smoke and oil from the front part of the motor, then backfiring & killing grass. After not having a lawn mower for approx 3-4 weeks and making other arraignments to cut our grass, we got it back. The repair shop said it was supposedly fixed by changing the valve cover gasket, yea right.

The second time it there was a problem was May 12, 2007 and it just so happened that it was blowing oil & smoke, backfiring & still killing grass. Now 2 times in a year we had it "serviced" again FOR THE SAME PROBLEM LESS THAN A YEAR BEFORE. Again the lawn mower was gone for approx 3-4 wks and again it was supposedly fixed by changing the valve cover gasket, yea right. Now mind you we live in Ohio and you can only use the lawn mower roughly 5-6 months out of the year so having less than 60 hrs on this Cub Cadet mower and the second time in for same problem.
Ok so now for the THIRD time would be NOV 5, 2008! Once again FOR THE SAME PROBLEM plus one more issue: now not starting and blowing smoke and oil, backfiring, KILLING grass. So they changed the valve cover gasket (AGAIN) and starter-alternator. Once again they said it was fixed after being gone and making other arraignments to cut our grass, we got it back for 3-4 weeks. This was all within having LESS than 100 hrs.
Now for this last time June 24, 2009. Our extended warrant ran out May 14, 2009, but of course having less that 15 hrs since it was "repaired or fixed" again it started to blow smoke and oil, backfire & kill my grass we had to call the extended warranty center, National Electronic Warranty. They were aware that our warranty ran out, but they authorized a service center to pick up our mower and started to repair it. Well after not hearing from the service center for over 2 weeks I called to get an update. They told me that they had been trying to contact N.E.W. for 2 wks but could NOT get a response to get the ok to fix the Cub Cadet lawn mower. I called N.E.W. myself & told the story that the service center was not getting a response. Basically I was called a liar until the phone rep called the service center direct. They couldn’t explain why no response was being given so he passed me on to a supervisor. The next day the service center received an e-mail that said “Extended Warranty expired, bill customer”! Now N.E.W. knew that the warranty expired but authorized everything anyway. We have been in contact with Cub Cadet & Kohler directly. Of course they kept passing it off to the other person.

Kohlers solution to it blowing 4 valve cover gaskets in 3 YRS was to change the valve cover because it COULD be warped. Well I'm not a mechanic but I would think if it was warped it would leak all the time. Cub Cadet has been helpful but still CANNOT tell me why it is killing my grass. The answer to why the mower was killing the grass to the service center when they called MTD & Kohler was “It is what it is DON’T let the lawn mower set on the grass.” Now I don't know about anyone else but we DID NOT pay $1600+ to have a lawn mower KILL spots in our yard. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!!

So since the mower has been gone since June 24, 2009 and making other arraignments to cut our grass. All we were asking was a replacement mower or our money back but both still to no avail. This has been a very LONG ON GOING problem that is extremely frustrating. Nobody is willing to say “we see you have a problem” (same problem at that) what can we do to dissolve this problem. Just a warning “DO NOT BUY CUB CADET” they DO NOT stand behind equipment, if so then I would think we would of had a new lawn mower or repair correctly by now! We liked the lawn mower but just NOT ALL the problems that came with it.

Sincerely
A Disappointed Customer Of a Cub Cadet Lawn Mower

Comments for Cub Cadet 42' lawn tractor 19 hp

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Cub cadet Junk
by: Anonymous

They are junk. I have an older one too and have nothing but problems with it. 4 ignition switches at $32.00 each and no one knows why they burn out? Now the POS won't even turn over or start unlesss you jump the positive terminal on the starter. Even then the mower won't engage. Total POS and they want $90.00 an hour to work on it. Yeah right! Don't buy one of these junk piles.

Sep 13, 2012
Rating
star
Replace the vavle cover gasket yea right
by: Anonymous

I have had the same problem that you all talk about. I am ready to change the valve cover gasket for the 6th time in the 5 years that I have had it. The way the cover it made to bolt on the engine is the problem. Looking to buy something new and NOT a Cub Cadet!!!!!!

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
Hum
by: Anonymous

I was considering buying Cub Cadet from out local implement dealer. Thanks for the warning. I won't be making that purchase.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
This is an outrage!!
by: Anonymous

Something needs to be done! What has happened to pride in your product. I've also been speared by the bleeding Cub Cadet! Oil, Oil everywhere with plenty of Smoke to spare! Hmmm what to do now?

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
Stay away from Cub Cadet
by: Larry

We bought our 1045 at the Home Depot in Bastrop, Tx, 3/07. On Labor day weekend in 2007, it through the blade belt. That thing is really hard to get back on, if you haven't had to do it. Anyway, called Home Depot and some woman told me to bring it to them. So we load it into the truck, drive there, and told we have to take it to a DEALER for warranty work. So, on to the dealer, 20 miles away. They took care of it for us. That's a separate lesson, by the way. DON'T buy from a big box store. They just unload 'em and sell 'em. Back to story: have had this same recurring problem once a year since then. Also had the drive belt break after only 100 hrs. This mower replaced a second-hand Craftsman which NEVER threw a belt...it did peter out, after 17 years.... but we all get old. Anyway, pay the up, and take the John Deere. You'll be glad you did.

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
reply to buying a John deer
by: curtisbobbie

I've nearly bought several mowers in the 1700.00 price range and have been looking at 38-46 inch decks. Turnes out nealy all of these machines (john deer, craftsman, cub cadet, polan pro, husqvarna) use the same sorry hydrostatic transmission (made under the name tuff torq modle k46, some have the k series up to the k58 and all these transmissions) with reported failure usually under 200 hours of use. Replace ment cost for part over $600 plus labor & materials. These mowers also all use the same types of engines either the Kohler or Briggs & Stratton both seemingly ok. This is the first reprot that I have read with a serious engine problem (ie. warping head on the over head vaulve 19 hp kohler).

Jan 12, 2011
Rating
starstar
Same Problem here. . . at least I know now its not just me
by: Anonymous

Yeah, I purchased a Cub Cadet LT series which worked great for the first year. Suddenly it began to backfire and smoke profusely for which I had it serviced repeatedly. Each time, strangely enough, a gasket was replaced which was said to have fixed the problem. When I drove back onto my trailer at the repair station it was still smoking but I was told it was only from residual oil remaining on the block that would have to burn off. Apparently not the case at all. I can actually see oil dripping from the front of the engine when the mower is turned off! I've been told the aluminum heads warp very easily under any strain leading to this problem. Too bad I was told that after already purchasing one. I've learned my lesson. Cub Cadet has seen the last of my money!! Welcome to the world of John Deere!!

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
I have the same symptoms with my cub cadet
by: John

My LT1045 (DOM 4/2007) does the exact same thing.......smokes, kills my grass and I only have 19 hours on it. I bought it new from Home Depot. I'll never buy another cub cadet.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - cub cadet.