Cub Cadet® GT 2550 Riding Garden Tractor

by Vince
(McKinney, Texas)

I regret buying this mower. From day one it leaves two uncut lines down each pass. I have had it back to the shop three times and they can't seam to do anything for me. They keep telling me to lower the deck but its as low as i can for terrian and type of grass. I bought the heaver model thinking it would perform better and hold up longer. Wrong. Another problem is it gets off center very easy and you end up stuck.


Having to mow two acreas at least twice each time and getting off center two or three times makes a hour and half job take three.

Comments for Cub Cadet® GT 2550 Riding Garden Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GT2550 is junk
by: Anonymous

Bought in 2008, first hood broke off 30 minutes after I got it home. On the fourth hood now with the fix kit, what a joke. Can't let it idle in the lawn because it runs so hot it burns the lawn, that's right a lawn mower you can't let sit in the lawn. Lost a crank seal, I'm sure due to the excessive engine temps. Steering is extremely loose, wore out one front tire while other one is fine. Front tire has always leaked. The best part is it cuts like crap, exactly what is stated above leaves two uncut strips every pass. Biggest POS I've ever seen, never again will I buy or recommend a Cub Cadet anything.

Sep 09, 2014
Rating
starstar
Cub Cadet not as good as the old days
by: wayne

I have had the Cub Cadet garden tractor for many years and i can say instead of suing new features they have added bad
1 3 blade cuts uneven, one high two low.
2 front deck holder comes off,breaks belt.
i have broken 5 belts so far this year 2014
factory reps should check on this problem
Carthage TN

Aug 28, 2014
Rating
starstar
problem, problems, problems,and more
by: bob denny

i purchased the 2550 cub cadet garden tracter and since then the hood latch broke the exhaust off the muffler is so hot it melted the hood so much out of shape the headlights wont stay in their proper place, the oil filter has always leaked, the discharge of the grass is lousy, a poor deck design, the reverse is poorly designed,the plate under the seat had to be replaced, the oil filler cap is stripped out and they want 101.00 for the valve cover.the front tires have always leaked showing no laeks even replacing the tires still leaking. im sorry my wife purchased this tractor and paid almost 3700.00 dollars for it and she calls it the machine from hell.thats about it other than it was purchased in the spring of 2006. though it would be nice to get a new hood and headlights. BOB DENNY OF IN.

Aug 28, 2014
Rating
starstar
problem, problems, problems,and more
by: bob denny

i purchased the 2550 cub cadet garden tracter and since then the hood latch broke the exhaust off the muffler is so hot it melted the hood so much out of shape the headlights wont stay in their proper place, the oil filter has always leaked, the discharge of the grass is lousy, a poor deck design, the reverse is poorly designed,the plate under the seat had to be replaced, the oil filler cap is stripped out and they want 101.00 for the valve cover.the front tires have always leaked showing no laeks even replacing the tires still leaking. im sorry my wife purchased this tractor and paid almost 3700.00 dollars for it and she calls it the machine from hell.thats about it other than it was purchased in the spring of 2006. though it would be nice to get a new hood and headlights. BOB DENNY OF IN.

Jul 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt jumping off
by: Brockman

Cub Cadet is a P. O. S. I mow two acres and belt jumps off probly 15 times before im done.

Oct 05, 2013
Rating
star
poor design
by: Anonymous

Have to go with the poorly designed aspect, as usual the engineers never use the equipment the design. Can't imagine what the Phd was on who had the bright idea of having the hood open the way it does

Jun 21, 2013
Rating
star
belt eater
by: Anonymous

66 hours and 9 belts I will never buy a cub again. Customer service is terrible. Worst tractor I ever had.

May 22, 2013
Rating
star
Heavy duty my eye!
by: Anonymous

I bought a GT 2550 in Aug 2010. This was a major mistake. I would never buy another Cub Cadet product for several reasons. First this is hardly a heavy duty garden tractor. I have relegated it to pulling my aerator and spreader around my yard. The hood came apart where the metal screws attach to plastic sockets(very poor engineering. The drive belt for the cutting deck jumps off of the front pulley the first time it is engaged each time it is used to cut my grass. I tried to get some sort of trade-in towards a tank zero turn but the dealer wouldn't even call me back because they knew what the 2550 was worth(nothing). I was always a Deere guy and let a guy I used to work with talk me into giving Cub Cadet a try. I now have a Deere zero turn and love it. Never another nickel to Cub Cadet.

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
Poor cutting & cheap plastic oil drain plug
by: Anonymous

I would never buy a cub cadet again. I was warned when International sold cub cadet got cheapen down.

From day-1 mower cuts bad. Unreal use plastic nipple for engine oil drain, of course it stated leaking after 35hrs. luck it didn't during mowing.

Can't reach carb.- to drain it, even if you could, sure there's no drain needle. Battery is put in worst spot possible to remove each fall.

Have never seen such common-sense & poor quailty errors as compared to other older mowers I've had.

Can't deal with these cub cadet on the phone....what a joke.

Jul 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
out of level
by: Anonymous

Sounds like your deck is out of level

Apr 12, 2011
Rating
starstar
leaves seam
by: Anonymous

I have to cut grass twice. Always leaves a middle seam of grass on each cut.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cub Cadet Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.