Cub Cadet i1042 Lawn Tractor

by Jeremy Buechter
(Kilgore, TX)

I am very happy with the tractor and zero turn system.


I am very unhappy with the deck assembly. The "timed blades" idea is poor engineering. The blades turn in opposite directions and pass each other because of a "toothed" belt and pulley system. This works OK until the belt wears a little - and I mean changing my belt yearly is not enough. ($55 per belt).
The blades are unusually heavy with swept up "wings in the trailing edge. If one blade scrapes dirt or hits heavy grass the belt can slip and the blades get out of time. Then they start whacking together with all the force of the engine. They chop the ends off each other as you scramble to disengage the PTO.
This not only results in a set of new blades ($60) but also tends to knock the bearings out of your spindle assemblies ($110 for drive side and $98 for slave side).

I have had this mower for 18 months and have bought 4 sets of blades, 4 "toothed" belts and a one spindle assembly for each side. Not to mention the time and frustration included in constant expensive breakdowns and the ordering and waiting for parts.

This deck could be made with conventional offset blades and I would love it. It has been over-engineered beyond common sense and a complicated system has replaced a tried and true design.

Again the tractor and zero-turn steering is great. The deck assembly is terrible.

Comments for Cub Cadet i1042 Lawn Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Back work
by: Jr.

Had a John Deere GT235 for 13 years and changed oil, sharpened the blades every spring. Very,very little maintenance had to be done on it to start cutting grass for the summer. Then I got a bright idea to get a newer mower.(i1042 cub cadet zero turn mower) Sold my JD GT 235 before I got this mower. What a mistake !!! Whenever I want start mowing, I have to lay on my back and put the belts in place!!!! or set the timing belts again...

Jul 09, 2014
Rating
star
A real piece of shit
by: Jon mankie

I too thought if i spent more money i would end up with a better mower. Way wrong !! My old mtd mower got an oil change and a air filter cleaning in the spring and worked hard all summer with no problems. I still use it to mow the ditches. The cub cadet i bought worked well the first year,now i cant keep the deck drive belt on,and i cant afford to keep putting new $60 blades on it everytime it gets out of time. I asked the dealer if i could trade it in on something else,but they dont even want it. Anybody have the phone number for snapper ?

Apr 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
deck problems
by: paul

I have a used 1042 ran great last year. on the 3rd use this year timing belt came off.put it back on mad 3 passes blades out of time again.has cub cadet offered a permenent fix for anyone

Jan 22, 2014
Rating
star
Drive belt adjustment
by: Edward Lee

This unit (i1042) was not a carefully thought-out engineering project. I had a 12hp Craftsman for 21 years, and except for minor adjustments and a starter, it just wore out. (not including blades) The drive belt (to the transmissions) does not stay in adjustment, and it is not covered by warranty. It is a nightmare to adjust and I'm sick about spending $2,800.00 for a machine that I can't get warranty service on. Plus, they have discontinued production ! Surprise, Surprise !

Nov 23, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best machine ever!
by: Joedad

Had a Yardman from 1999 Montgomery Wards and loved it. No problems. You just have to take care of them.
Bought the i 1042 June 2012 and now ( Nov-2013) have 67 hours on it. Best machine ever! Holds the hills, transmission on each back wheel, wider track wheels. No problems. I read these reviews and think people are describing another machine.

Sep 01, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
deck problems
by: bobk

bad deck system, constantly resetting blades, belt breaks. tractor runs well but spend to much time on deck.

Jul 15, 2013
Rating
starstar
nice tracter
by: Richard

Nice toy for summer, only if you like to do mecanics. Belt problems, i've spent more time on this new lawnmower in the past 3 years than all lawn mowers within my life together.Bad point for you guys (club cadet).Last one for me.

Jun 03, 2013
Rating
star
pic of s%#t
by: Charlie

I purchased my i1042 cub at the end of the season 3 years ago. In this time it has had 4 pto belts a new set of blades, spindles, top pullys,wiring fixed, drive belt put back on and i am sure I missed some things. Now the drive belt has a chunk out of it and the wiring from the clutch pto has broke and both have to be replaced. I have yet to get a full summer out of this mower.Also while I was servicing it I pulled the top shroud off the motor to get to the plug and filters easyer and found the wiring was in bad shape under it ,heat brakedown and bare spots.My yard is less than an acre and it is not rough or hilly. Mower has a little over 125 hours. It is cleaned and washed after every mowing and stored in my shed between mowings.
I hope this review will help. Charlie

Aug 17, 2012
Rating
starstar
Too fragile
by: CHESTER

LTX 1050 has :12hrs of mowing already broke down twice cub cadet takes too long to get back to you. I had a craftsman for 13yrs no problems this mower didn't last 1summer very disappointed.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!!!

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
Disgusted
by: Bill

I agree with all the comments.Zero turn great. The rest of the mower sucks, big time! Wasted 2 grand!!!

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
pto problems
by: Anonymous

the PTO belt seems to get stretched so that it no longer drives the blades. I can't tell whether this is related to heavy mowing or not. Are there other problems with the PTO? I just had to replace the gasket for this assembly.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - cub cadet.