Cub Cadet Model 18M

The Cub Cadet 18M is not a bad lawn mower, but I keep thinking I could have done better. I have owned and used this machine for 2 years, and it has been reliable so far, in that it has not broken down during this time (although it does occasionally refuse to restart after being used for a while, never for more than 10 minutes, which I attribute to overheating).


I believe it is also gas-efficient, as I get up to 4 hours usage per tank, which doesn't seem bad (although I don't have anything to compare with this figure, since the previous model I had was electric). However, I wish the mower was not quite so heavy, as I find it impossible to lift it into small areas (over a row of plants near a fence, for instance), which I was able to do with my prior electric model. It is difficult to comply with the manufacturer's instructions for maintenance.

Changing oil requires that the gas tank be empty, because it is necessary to tip the mower on its side to drain used oil (draining from below through a removable plug seems more convenient). Full drainage from such a shallow angle takes quite some time as well. Also, the air filter has a foam element that one is supposed to occasionally soak in clean engine oil, then squeeze dry, with the caution that leaving too much oil in the foam will cause the engine to smoke.

To be quite honest, I have always skipped this step, not wanting to deal with the mess of squeezing oil out of a mounted foam sponge, and then having to wonder if any ensuing smoke billowing from the engine was due to the air filter or something else.

On the other hand, since the mower is still working, it hasn't proven absolutely necessary to do this. In summary, I plan to keep using this mower until it gives out, but if I could go back in time, I would select a different machine.


Pros
- Has not broken down for 2 years
- Seems gas-efficient

Cons
- Heavy
- Difficult to maintain

Rating
3 out of 5

Comments for Cub Cadet Model 18M

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Really?
by: Anonymous

This mower's been great for me. Bought it refurbished for under $200 bucks in 2009, still going strong in 2015.

I've been using it in side jobs for years, and it's made me a ton of money. I have had to change the belt once, and just now am beginning to have some propulsion issues.

But it has always started right away and run and performed well. Doesn't use much gas at all. Learn how to maintenance these simple machines and they will last a long long time. It's not hard, people.

May 07, 2015
Rating
star
IT's A P.O.S.
by: Anonymous

3 yrs old needs new carb...$60.00... pure garbage DON'T WASTE UR MONEY ON CUB!

Feb 17, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Pretty good inexpensive mower
by: Anonymous

Mine has been running fine for five or six years now. Starts pretty easy, even after not being used for several months during the winter. My biggest complaint is that the bag clogs pretty easlily, but I've a got a relativley small yard so its not that big a deal.

Jun 08, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
so far so good
by: Charlie

I only use this mower to trim with. That includes a dog pen run area fairly large area. I first bought a lawn boy push mower at home depot. It was only used in mulching mode and what a piece of crap. Left grass clumped everywhere. Took it back. Then bought this cub 18m push mower 139cc from a dealer and so far it works fine. It does outstanding in the mulching mode. Even when mulching wet grass. I just finished doing that this morning. If I have any issues down the line I will do an updated review.

May 23, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works fine
by: Anonymous

I got mine at Home Depot as a return for $150.00
Full warranty...started first pull and has worked fine ever since. Drive works great and cuts pretty deep grass with no probs.
Don't understand all the haters

May 21, 2013
Rating
star
big piece of junk
by: Anonymous

On my 3rd season with this cub cadet 2nd year,wheel adj.tab broke fixed myself then the engine shut off lever didn't work ( a safety issue) then the self propel didn't work. yesterday NO Start dealer fixed it $70.00 put on manual fuel shut off,cub dealer, what a joke.called co. they said, see your dealer. the next dealer I see will be the junk dealer. after cutting grass 40 years this is the worst mower ever. 300.00 down the drain.

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
Removed fuel for the winter , oil or transmission fluid under mower on garage floor in Spring.
by: Paul

Brought the walk behind 18m mower in 2008 at Home Depot. Not really to many problems, wouldn't start next season after purchasing it. You know the regular stuff needed a tune-up no problem.

2013 problem -drained gas before storage , not oil. Found a puddle oil on garage cement floor or transmission looks dark red. when moving it out to the driveway, but don't know where the oil came from on the mower.Seams like it getting worse after every passing year.Not really worth the money to keep fixing it. I paid $299.00 for it still looks some what brand new. I'm done buying at Home Depot.Everytime you drop 300.00 or more on a product you can bet the parts for the unit won't be the shelf 3 years later and no sign that it was even in the store not even a spark plug.

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
star
Cub Cadet = Terrible
by: Anonymous

My mower -- after only 3 years -- is kaput.

I submitted a help request to Cub Cadet through their website. Response I got... "Take it to a dealer".

When I went back to their website to respond to their response, I found that the online account I established with them had been disabled.

How convienient for them. They get negative input, they send a response that does nothing to help, and then they disable your account.

So... I called into their service line, and the rep I spoke to said I had to speak to a supervisor. When I asked him to transfer me, he said a supervisor wasn't there right now, so I asked him to take a note and have one call me back -- to which he said "I can't do that because this is an inbound call center.".

What the???

I urge extreme caution with buying a cub cadet product. Translation -- Only buy a cub cadet product if it's the last choice you have in that product category! Their products don't last, and when you write or call for help, ready thyself for tons of corporate nonsense.

May 24, 2012
Rating
starstar
Oil Leak
by: Jim

The 18M mower I bought 3 years ago developed an oil leak from the main engine gasket. Really irritating. Should have lasted more than 3 years. Now the repair cost is near $150 - why not just but a new mower of a different brand?

May 20, 2012
Rating
star
Same experience as everyone else
by: Dan

So hard to start the cord breaks and is impossible to replace without major work and the likelihood of ruining the coil spring. Never came with the mulching plug and has never mulched well. Yesterday, the blade adapter shattered. I hate this thing with a passion.

May 06, 2012
Rating
star
Terrible Mower / Worse Customer Service
by: Anonymous

I bought this mower several years ago. Worked ok the first year, trailed off the next year, had to fight it every step of the way the third. Won't start at all this year -- even after a complete servicing.

I sent an email to Cub Cadet to get their thoughts on the matter. It's been two weeks now, and not a peep from their end.

Will be interesting to see what they say when they do respond -- or should I say "if" they respond. My total uses of this machine... Probably 45 total. I'm thinking a mower should last longer than that, but this one hasn't Piece of junk if you ask me.

Apr 22, 2012
Rating
star
not worth 10 cents
by: Anonymous

I have had problems with this mower since the day i bought it. Very hard to start. parts break. Automatic drive stopped working after the first year. Leaks oil. // Rating of one star is too high, but had to select that because it's the lowest one on the scale. // Cub Cadet should recall these mowers. They would save serious face doing so, and they could give the mowers they get back to high schools -- so students could learn how to fix and improve small motors.

Apr 20, 2012
Rating
star
This Lawnmower Sucks Arse
by: Anonymous

This would be (past tense) my third year with this mower. Got it out of the shed for use this year. Changed the spark plug. Put new fuel in - along with additive. Changed the oil (painful). Cleaned the filter. Did an overall good cleaning, And...

The POS wouldn't start.

Where's a stick of dynamite when you need it?

And another question...

How the hell did this POS make it on the shelves at Home Depot?

Answer --> A very slick salesman -- one who made a fortune, and is now laughing at me for buying this colossal piece of crap.

I just voted Cub Cadet off my island forever. I plan to push this into the middle of the park near my house and leave it there, as I've come to the conclusion that this POS isn't even worth using a stick of dynamite to put it out of its misery.

Adios Cub Cadet. And that goes for Home Depot too.

Apr 10, 2012
Rating
star
biggest piece of crap ever
by: chris

i have a few mowers i bought this one to replace a craftsman that was about twelve years old i have had it for three years and kept in in my shed and had regular tune ups and now the stupid piece of $h!t wont start and every mower shop i take it to says it will coast 150 to 200 to fix it. i have less problems from my other mowers that are more than ten years older than this piece of $h!t and i will NEVER buy another!

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

This mower is on season 4. Has been fixed twice for the engine not cutting off when the handle is released. Cub cadet would not warranty this saying it was an adjustment even though it was reported to them it has done this since day one. 4th season the rear end went out. Never could pull it back either as the rear wheels lock up. Will never buy cub cadet again. The warranty department at cub cadet was rude and will not stand behind theirr warrantie. Even the repairman at the lawn mower shop warned me that they have a hard time getting cub cadet to warranty their stuff.

Jun 26, 2011
Rating
starstar
A reputation at stake
by: Anonymous

I fix lawnmowers out of my barn and have come across 3 of these cub cadet push mowers. They seem like a well built mower but the recoils on two were shot (poorly made) and two had rear drive problems. The rest seems decent quaility. I would never buy one.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
I am glad this model is not sold at home depot !
by: Anonymous

I agree this is the worst mower ever, This is year 2 for me the V-belt to enable for you it to self propell broke the first season, took the rest of the season to get a new one very hard to find belt. The damn mower leaks oil and is not worth the $300-350 bucks people have paid for this mower. I purchased this from mower from the HomeDepot. I wish i would have gotten there protection plan, so it could have been there problem. No help either from the manufacturer, so don't waste your time, neither is the certified authorized repair shops very expensive.

May 23, 2011
Rating
star
cub cadet
by: Anonymous

Purchased a Cub Cadet push mower and had trouble starting it from the beginning. I should of returned it. After 2 years it's leaking oil now.I would rate it below one star if I could. It's junk.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Lemon
by: Edmonton

Bought at the end of last summer, this is the start of my second miserable year with the Cub Cadet Model 18M purchased from Home Depot.

Because of a bad back I chose the self-propelled type. Would be a good feature if only it would simply start !

Perhaps after 60 years I don't know how to properly start a lawm mower! I have taken it back to the store 5 times, to very politely ask anyone to show me and am told they either don't know how, or can't start the motor on their property!

Now it will sit in a repair place for 3 weeks. What's a person to do?


May 09, 2011
Rating
star
Poor quality product / Don't buy a Cub Cadet
by: Mike (NH)

I've owned this lawnmower for four years and it's been a big dissapointment. I have a small city lot, so it's not like this mower gets used a lot. After two years the self-propel system started developing problems and barely works at all. The dealer wanted $150+ to replace it; so I went out an purchased a new Husqvarna with a Honda engine (non-self propelled, big rear wheels)and wished I had purchased the Husky four years ago. Also, the Cub Cadet engine doesn't always work too well...it's tough to start, and won't restart after running for a while. Big dissappointment in Cub Cadet considering it's a well-known brand; but obviously poor quality and craftsmenship. It appears that many other buyers have the same problems. Please avoid this company at all costs!

Mar 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works just fine
by: Anonymous

I really don't understand all the complaining here about this mower. I'm into my 3rd or 4th season with mine, and it has performed just great. Changing the oil is awkward, with having to tip the mower on its side, but thats a small inconvenience. It starts easy, even after sitting all winter. It runs smooth and cuts evenly. The grass catcher bag is a little small, but I have a relatively small yard so its not a big deal.

Mar 14, 2011
Rating
starstar
Not Happy With it!!!
by: Len

The mower is hard to start -- that is the pull cord requires a lot of effort, and then you got to most of the time do it at least twice more, And self-propelled --HA. Once the grass starts to thicken up a bit you got to push it, which means fighting the transmission gears --- very tough job. Mover is starting its 3rd season, and I already had to change the drive belt --- big hassle. Very unhappy with my purchase.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
What are you talking about ?
by: Anonymous

I don't know what you people are talking about. This is a great mower. Plenty of power , cuts absolutely great, doesn't use much gas and runs very smooth. I couldn't be more happy with my purchase. Oh I'm sorry I thought I was in the John Deere section for reviews.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
One Lousey Ass of a Mower.
by: My Mower From Hell

This mower is only 2 years old and it is hard as hell to push if you can keep it running long enough. Cub Cadet must have stock with the fuel companies because I used so much gas to mow my small lawn (about 5 dollars a week) mowing only once a week. Lowes stopped selling this mower because Cub Cadet would not back up their service plan for their mowers. What I have now is a very large paper weight because that is all this dam thing is good for. Self propelled mower my ass because I did more tugging then propelling. After it was warmed up it would shoot balls of flames from the muffler and back fire like an old car.
Do yourself a favor when buying a mower call the manufacturer and find out what service plan they have and then call them a dam liar. Good Luck

Jul 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Cub Cadet 18M
by: Anonymous

I have had the mower for 3 years and have had to replace the drive belt(royal pain,if you can find one)and the recoil starter assembly(another royal pain) but other than that,It runs and cuts great and doesn't use much gas but now is using a little oil.

May 21, 2010
Rating
star
piece of garbage
by: Anonymous

i'm on year 3. year 2 mower would cut out at least 4 or 5 times i mowed. this year it won't start at all. i was told to replace the plug, fuel line, and fresh gas. nothing. starts with starter fluid then instantly dies. sounds like the mix in the carb is off.

i'm going to take pleasure dropping her off of a bridge somewhere. yet another poor purchase at home depot of a brand i thought stood by their products. unfortunately this piece of garbage was manufactured in china for cub cadet. i'm going to my local deere dealer for a real mower.

May 20, 2010
Rating
star
Fuel Eater.. Plus
by: Don/05/2010

Big Note: It will use 98% of a full tank in 1 Hour of use. Also you can't pull back with it in release. The drive wheels hold you back, even if its not running. Cutting grass is not good, weeds still show after cut,Its garbage. Bought it from Home Depot, now 2nd season, new stuff is realy garbage! paid 300.00 with tax. I should of just taken it back the 1st year, my mistake. However it won't happen anymore now.
*All the manufactures should follow up on all buyers for there machines for at lease 1st season of use. Better yet, why can't we have a demo at the store to try first?...you test drive a car before you buy it?

Don 05/2010

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Cub Cadet Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.