Cub Cadet series 1000 model 1045 Riding Mower

by Anthony Pace
(Canada)

My lawn mower is a Club Cadet series 1000 model 1045 Club Cadet is known for quality and performance and that’s exactly what I got.


I was skeptical of getting a Club Cadet because I’ve never heard of it before, but after looking through the flyers and reading about it on the Internet, I was sold. It’s has a 20 horsepower engine so I don’t have any problems getting around my property or polling large objects. With all its safety features I have no worries of anybody getting hurt using it, but some people might find them bothersome.

Also The SmartJet Is a very handy accessory to have, and it comes with the lawn mower (FREE). For those who don’t know what SmartJet Is, it’s a attachment that allows you to connect your guard hose to the blades to clean them.

Is very handy instead of getting down on your hands and knees and scraping the grass off the blades. The lawn mower comes with a three year limited guarantee which I thought was pretty good for a lawn mower.

I just have one complaint is that the brakes have a tendency of getting sticky and sometimes jamming, which is not a big problem. all you have to do is lubricate them, but he gets annoying after a while.

But overall it’s a strong and durable lawn mower, that for $2000 CAN is a good buy. Anthony Pare Canada

Comments for Cub Cadet series 1000 model 1045 Riding Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 31, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
engine leaking oil
by: johnny sosebee

little over 100hrs of use-had to replace electric clutch, now leaking oil at front-causing smoke-from what i read, may be cracked 19hp kohler engine--appears to be good class-action suit by some lawyer against cub cadet mfg and kohler-since reocurring to lots of owners-money wasted-i thought cub was better -wrong-model lt 1042

Oct 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
2012 cub cadet ltx1050
by: Anonymous

brought cub cadet ltx 1050 from home depot in 2012 did not even have it 1 month mowing belt broke this has happened several times now, drive belt broke twice,replaced the deck spindles at least 3 times,the welds on the mowing deck have broken at the lift arms, the hydro fan has been replaced at least 5 times i have only had this tractor 2 years i could of brought a new tractor for what i spent on repairs i will never buy a cub cadet again i had murrays that lasted longer, good luck is you buy cub cadet

Jun 22, 2013
Rating
star
never again
by: dan

have a much older model with 1200 hours on it and only now just wore out a fuel pump (40 dollars)but the damn 1045 wore out 6 belts in less than 30 hours of use (found a part on the deck had been installed backwards thus making the pulley at a very bad angle chewing up belt the repair manual even shows it wrong with the cheap fix of a second hole in the welded bracket to make it look intentional used a BFH and a few well calculated blows fixed that and the belt now has 6 hours on it and and no sign of wear)
NOW problems are no brakes beyond the hydro-satic , no reverse till I hit forward a few seconds to prime transmission I have to remind self to pull into garage backwards , transmission smelled hot and found that the oil expansion tank had too long a hose in it and it had flipped up on install so sucked air instead of oil back (fixed myself), transmission sounds BAD at low speeds till oil in it heats up and blaming that on the oil expansion tank, refill plug for transmission can't be opened with wrench so that's next on list, fuel line valve went bad at 24 hours so bypassed it, ALL TOLD NOT UNDER ANY SERVICE WARRANTIES

Jul 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub Cadet Belt Fix
by: Anonymous

I have posted a video which details how to fix the belt coming off issue for the Cub Cadet Mower

youtube.com/watch?v=Pd4nYovcnvY

Jul 08, 2012
Rating
star
What do I expect next
by: Tree

I wrote one review before this is my second my first comment I had less than 100 hours on the motor and it was bad along with other problems now I have less than 200 hours on the motor most of the time is as then in the shop and now the starter is bad cub Cadet I am ashamed of you used to be one of the best mowers on the market now junk junk junk and more junk I will never buy a cub Cadet again Kubota,Husqvarna, snapper and others never again cub Cadet I am done

Jul 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Cracked and Crooked
by: moe

Cracked!
Yuuuuuuup! The motor has a crack on my 2006 1042. If you are leaking oil hope its just the bolts to the cover, but its more then likely a crack in the motor casing. The tech at the dealer had me check due to many others having the same problem.

It appears from what I read on line, Cub Cadet is quite aware of Kohlar engine cracking issues.

Not to get political guys, but this is why consumer protection is so important. With everything being outsourced it is even more important today than when things were made in America.

These machines are not cheap as you well know. I paid around $2300 to $2500 new.

"Harvard Law School professor Elizabeth Warren, the architect of Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), was originally considered the top candidate to run the bureau. But Republicans signaled they would firmly oppose her nomination, in part because they said she was too liberal and too critical of the banking industry to fairly regulate it."
She would have been a bull dog for consumers like ourselves but our republican congress works for big business not for the public and consumers. Im just sayin.

Cub Cadet, I just want you to know that the best way for you to get IT! Is to not give you anymore of my money...ever again. No repeat business. No $800.00 to $1200 dollar engine repair. Nothing, Zero, Zilch.
I am retiring the Cub-Cadet hat and returning to Snapper. Snapper was good enough for Forest Gump and Snapper is good enough for me.

Bye Cubby. No loyalty to me, equals no loyalty to you. Fix the damn engine problem with Kohlar or use a Briggs Stratton motor.

Kohlar should stick to making bathtubs

FYI
Kohler created a joint venture in China called Kohler-YinXiang Ltd., based in Chongquing, China, to manufacture small gasoline engines, and intends to begin importing more of their engines, rather than building them in the USA.

In 1999, a court case was brought by the U.S. Labor Department against the Kohler Company due to hiring practices that were found to be discriminatory to women.[5] The company had an informal height requirement of 5'4" for women, which is the average adult female height in the United States.[6] Because of its contracts with the federal government, the Kohler Company was prohibited from such discriminatory hiring practices.[7] The company agreed as part of the settlement to hire 111 of the 2,000 women who had applied to work at Kohler in 1994 to 1995, and to undertake a study "to eliminate unnecessary barriers to women."[8]

Bye

Moe

Jun 23, 2012
Rating
starstar
Another China product?
by: MadMama

I bought my LT1045 new in 2006 and had same belt issue. Finally the design flaw was corrected and belt has stayed. Now, belt housing snapped off at all 3 bolts and left spindle assembly broke loose and another has crack in it. What next? Our 24 yr. old John Deere is still going strong. Also, paint issues with flaking and rust, eventhough it is kept in a closed building. Never again!

Apr 25, 2012
Rating
starstar
Dont buy cub cadet
by: Edray

I donethe worst possible thing I could do.I got a Cub Cadet Riding mower.i had a John Deere and never had problems.With the Cub Cadet nothing but problems.My advice to anyone buying a Lawn Tractor keep away from Cub Cadet.

Apr 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not worth buying!
by: Tim

I bought my LTX 1045 in March of 2009 , didnt have it 2 weeks and it threw the deck belt, and its been troubl every since. The latest is an oil leak, and now the muffler just broke off! the parts are expensive and the mower is junk!!!I wouldnt want my name on it, shame on you Cub Cadet!!!!!!!

Apr 09, 2012
Rating
star
can you say JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

can you say JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Apr 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
can you say JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

can you say JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Apr 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
junk,junk, junk
by: Anonymous

All I can say is junk never again buy a cub cadet THEY dont give a shit about there products they make just like our goverment they just want your money

Apr 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
junk,junk, junk
by: Anonymous

All I can say is junk never again buy a cub cadet THEY dont give a shit about there products they make just like our goverment they just want your money

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
star
very bad product
by: Tree

VERY BAD PRODUCT AFTER CUB CADET SOLD OUT Very short comment, my very first cub cadet no problem my new so-called cub cadet problem since day one it is junk with only 50 hours on the motor the motor was bad right out of the store less than 100 hours the hydrostatic stop working I have spent my fair share of money on this unit straight out the gate I will never buy another cub cadet as long as I live

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Cub Cadet 1042 Mower Belt comes off
by: Anonymous

What a piece of JUNK. I bought mine in 2006, and I have spent enough on belts to pay for the mower again. No help from Cub Cadet dealer. I have made adjustments, picked the deck up and replaced the pulleys. nothing has worked. I had a cheap riding mower that lasted for years. I rarely had to replace the belt. I bought Cub Cadet because I thought it was a better mower, it cost a lot more. I will never own another one. JUNK, JUNK,JUNK!!!!!

Sep 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
POS Cub cadet belt coming off LT1045
by: Anonymous

FINAL SOLUTION TO FIX THE BELT FROM COMING OFF LT1045 WHILE MOWING!

I also had this issue with my LT1045 belt, its extremely frustrating considering belts are $20-$30. I mow about 3 acres once a week and I couldnt deal with the headache of trying to put the belt back on six times+ each time I mowed the lawn, I almost finally went and bought a new mower, after forking out the $$$ for the POS CC.

However, I just figured out how to finally fix / re-engineer my LT1045 Cub Cadet from having issues with the belt coming off of the deck while mowing.

Taking it back into a shop for repairs will not work (tried this multiple times), the belt will just come off again the first time you mow. I am making a YouTube Video to help others like me with this mower issue and will post a link here soon showing how to fix this design flaw.


It took me about an hour to fix but I've got it working now with no problems, minimum vibrations and belt is running cool now! I've gone for 2 months with no problems now. Check back soon for the link!!

(I was going to post the video sooner but I've been swamped with work, but will post soon! Planning on trying to get it finished this weekend now that things are slowing down a little bit, and people are bombarding me with emails pleading for a solution)

contact me at mikeProllins@yahoo.com if you need any more info and like I said I will be posting soon the link for the video.

- Mike


Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Whatta Piece of Junk!
by: LosingMyReligion

Purchased a Cub Cadet 1045 after hearing great things about old models. What I bought is a challenge to anyone's sanity and religion!!! The blade belt has come off constantly. When it has stayed on for any appreciable length of time, it wears out quickly! The drive belt wears out every 6-12 months and has to be replaced. The muffler, a REAL piece of thin metal junk, had to be taken off and welded after it came apart in the first 6 months. Now the mower is running but the mower blades cut out constantly while speeding up the mower. I really think this mower is the yard implement equivalent to the YUGO! I'll NEVER purchase anything with CUB CADET on it again!

AND...for those who say "take it to the dealer," do know that the "authorized repair shops" are few and far between.....AND they keep mowers for weeks at a time before you get them back! This is a racket if I ever saw one!

Jun 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Final Solution to fix your Belt from coming off of LT1045
by: MikeP

I know is super annoying to have to put the belt on every 5 - 10 minutes for this mower.

FINAL SOLUTION TO FIX THE BELT FROM COMING OFF LT1045 WHILE MOWING!

I just figured out how to finally fix / re-engineer my LT1045 Cub Cadet from having issues with the belt coming off of the deck while mowing. Taking it back into a shop for repairs will not work, the belt will just come off again the first time you mow. I am making a YouTube Video to help others like me with this mower issue and will post a link here soon showing how to fix this design flaw.

It took me about an hour to fix but I've got it working now with no problems, minimum vibrations and belt is running cool now! I've gone for 2 months with no problems now. Check back soon for the link!! I expect I will have the video tutorial finished within a week!!

- Mike

If you for some reason you cant' wait for the video contact me at mikeprollins@yahoo.com for my solution.

ps. i am not a bot/spammer.

Jun 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
1045, 1046 deck belt
by: Anonymous

deck belt slipping after replacement is due to wrong size belt. new numbers are wrong for serries 1000, replacement is 122" the right one is 116 1/4".
i have seen new out of box with the wrong belt,so check an see if the tenchner even pulls on spring, should be fairly tight

Jun 02, 2011
Rating
star
junk junk junk
by: rich

First I have to admit this mower stays clean but thats usually because it's broke down . When I got it , it would throw the one blade . I told MTD and I realized the warrenty ended as it went out the door at tractor supply . 4 times the blade flew then I replaced the spindel at my cost. then a spring on the deck broke 3 weeks to get the part. Then I had to go buy another mower and bought a SWISHER and have had NO problems .The cub breaks belts , springs and the bolt broke for the tensioner . I paid $1834.52 for this junk and I wish someone would file a class action lawsuit against MTD . I have 24 hours on it since 2006 as it usually breaks during the mowing season and you have to wait for parts. It's broke again now and it's always deck issues ,I don't even want to put the money in to fix it as just keeps breaking. it's always a differnet deck part that breaks so you can't anticapate what will break. I might just use it as a boat anchor .

May 24, 2011
Rating
star
Terrible mower!
by: Terry

Worst riding mower I’ve ever owned as far as reliabilty is concerned. I bought mine 2 months ago and it’s been through 3 mower belts so far. It keeps throwing belts until they are too worn out and then they break. I’ve had the mower back to where I bought it (big box store) and they’ve tried to fix it with no luck. They tell me no refunds after 30 day’s so I’m screwed. I’m still making payments on this thing and can’t use it. A belt last about 3 mowing hours which is about how long it takes to mow my yard. If you add in the time it takes to put it back on everytime it throws it I’m at about 5 hours per mowing seasion. Belts are about $20 apiece. This has been the worst lawn tractor I’ve ever owned.

BTW, Cub Cadet use to be one of the best mowers ever made. They sold the name to a company called MTD. I found this out AFTER I bought mine. Ever hear of Murry mowers? Same stuff, same quality. Some leassons are learned the hard way. This is one I won’t ever forget.



Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Lemon
by: Anonymous

I have noting but trouble with mine when i can get it started. I took it to repair shop they found the fly wheel bolt was loose and damaged the key, thus the timing was off. It is sill hard to start, i burnt out the starter to prove it. The shop said set it to kohler specs and had to come from the factory that way. They also said the single cylinder 20 hp engine is a poor design, too much compression. The mower deck belt continually comes off. I cannot mow any lower than a #4 on deck height. The belt to hydrostatic trans came off twice. And now the exaust valve retaining cilp broke off, bending the valve and putting a ding in the piston. I can't wait to get rid of this dog. I had a craftsman for 12 years and only had to sharpen the blades.

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
star
waste of money
by: Dave

I bought a brand new cub 1045 with the Kohler 20 h.p.engine in 2009 and after 5 hours,the damn muffler fell off. After that,the next year with a little under 100 hours,the rod locked up on the crankshaft. It was covered under warranty (new long block) but the local cub dealer gave me a bag of crap saying I put 90 weight gear oil in it because it stunk,well no shit,it locked up!!!!

I have been a mechanic for 25 years and I think I know what oil to put in it!! I changed the oil and filter at 50 hours like the book said using Kohler oil and filter as not to "viod the warranty"(12.00 for filter and 4.00 a quart oil). I think this is the first and LAST Cub Cadet I buy. Might go with a Deere next time.

Aug 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub Cadet 1000 series
by: Upset

Belt constantly comes off mower deck. Changed all parts for idler pully ($70)including belt with no difference. Adjusted deck many times. Try to contact Cub Cadet....you can't. Never again, never this junk.

Jun 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
another of a few good days
by: Dave

Well today was one of the few trouble free days of mowing I have had.Only had to add a little oil on the new long block installed 48 hours ago on the hourmeter(see comments below).Knock on wood,maybe my lemon Cub Cadet mower problems are over for a while. Wish me luck!!!

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt problems
by: Dave

Fortunately this is one of the problems I haven't had with my mower-the belt slipping off. Check the pulley alignment and make sure they are not bent or the grooves are not smashed together. Also the tensioned may be weak causing the belt to slip and come off. Hope this helps!!

Jun 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Belt Slips Frequently
by: Anonymous

Had this mower for 3 years and the belt keeps coming off. We have to keep calling a repairman to replace the belt and this gets expensive and frustrating. The repair guy said the belt keeps rubbing on the deck and he was going to see if he could hook something up to prevent this from happening. Anybody else have this problem ???? I'm tired of buying new belts.

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
trnsmisston plug
by: Anonymous

some do have a plug try looking up in the manual. On some its under the trnsmisston

THIS IS WHAT IT SAYS ABOUT MINE

Hydrostatic Transmission
Keep the area around the transmission cooling fan free of grass and debris at all times. The hydrostatic transmission is sealed at the factory and is maintenance free. The fluid level cannot be checked and on most models, cannot be changed.
If your tractor is equipped with a transmission drain plug terrain, towing, etc.) and you choose to change the hydrostatic fluid, do so after the tractor’s initial 50 hours
of operation and every 100 hours of operation
thereafter.

NOTE: Several tractor components and parts (fender,
fuel tank, etc.) must be removed in order to refill the
transmission after draining it.

http://manuals.mtdproducts.com/mtd/Public.do?BrandCode=10051

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tranny plug
by: Dave

There is no transmission plug,it is a non-servicable unit. The only ones that have a servicable unit are the larger garden tractors,not the lawn tractors. Like everything else they make,if it goes bad just throw it away!

Jun 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
trnsmisston plug
by: Anonymous

i want to know where the plug is on the transmission on my 1045 series 1000 cub cadet.

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub Cadet series LT1045 Riding Mower
by: Anonymous

I bought mine a year ago and it works fine no problem with it. works great on hills. I bought mine from Home depot Lowes didn't carry Cub Cadet. might be only south Florida I guess

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
star
Don't waste your money
by: Anonymous

Don't waste your money, read further if you like. Bought brand new 2mo ago, twin blade 46in with hydrostatic transm and reverse mow capable for my 1.5 acres of lawn. Put a mulch kit on before using.

(After 1-2 hrs) of use, mulch plug came off deck approx 11 times, its a cheap spring secured plastic plug that will not stay in place on the side of the mow deck. The claims of how tight the turning radius is compared to other brands is true, but is not useful, as the front wheels just plow sideways when attempting a sharp turn.

(After 3hrs) hydrostatic transm started making loud bearing type noise. Contacted local outdoor power supply and service store where I purchased, they said they would take a look at it, but have to take to other, far for me location, on the other side of town, no service at closer purchase location store. Decided to drill out hole in deck and secure mulch plug with a bolt and nut, seems to work ok. Kept using mower,

(after 5hrs) the left headlamp burned out.

(After 11 hrs) the hydrostatic transmission seized and threw the transmission drive belt along with a heavy spring for the tensioner. Lucky I didn't sell my 10yr old zero turn Cub Cadet, at least I have a back up mower. Will be taking across town next week to drop off for repair. Will likely sell this POS as I have no confidence in the reliability of the LTX1045. The only good thing on this mower is the Kohler 20hp motor and it does mow nice and even. Cub Cadet dropped the ball on this model, and I will likely never buy anymore of their products, yes I am disappointed.

My old mower has a failing transmission also, but still works for now. The LTX1045 is not made like the old Cub Cadets of the past and thats a shame. By the way, hydrostatic transmissions are not cheap on any models, 8-1200 on average not including installation.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
star
Don't buy this
by: James Martin

On 5-18-05 I bought a Cub Cadet 1045 from Lowes.On 7-10-09 it officially died. The bearings went out in the Kohler engine.

But this was not the only thing that went wrong with this mower.

The 1st mower I brought home didn't work it sprayed gas straight out the muffler.

The 2nd mower I got was in the shop twice with problems with the main pulley that ran the mower blades.I spent $1800.94 on a tractor that lasted 4yrs.On 7-11-09 I bought a Sears craftsman 3000 series tractor for $1400. I haven't got it yet but it can't be worse then the Cub Cadet I first bought.

Don't buy the cheap 1000 series tractors from Cub Cadet.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - cub cadet.