Cub Cadet SLTX 1050 Riding Lawn Mower

by Angie
(Texarkana, AR)

We purchased our cub cadet to mow our 5 acre property. We have not experienced any problems with this mower. It cuts the grass nice and short, and doesn’t get clogged up. It is a quick mower too with us able to get our whole property knocked out in an afternoon.


Some of what I consider the strengths of this mower are: Very comfortable seat, cup holder, easy to steer – not tight. The deck comes over very easily to change out the blades. Headlights and we love the reverse PTO. It has a very powerful engine which can take mowing our entire 5 acres in one cutting. It also cuts through the taller grass with ease. It doesn’t drink the gas like crazy. We can get 1-2 cuttings on a single 5 gallon can of gas. It’s a very smooth riding machine too. Our property is very hilly and bumpy and you don’t get hardly any vibration in the ride. I also like the safety features that when your rear leaves the seat it kills the motor automatically. It’s a pretty smart machine.

The only thing I really do not like about this mower is its tendency to backfire after extended use. If we use it for over an hour at a time when we kill the engine it will backfire loud enough to startle the neighbors – and we live in the country. Replacing the blades are a bit pricey but I can get a lot of cuttings off of a set of blades. I will say that it is a bit difficult to get to the oil filter to change and replace oil and oil filter.

Overall I have been nothing but satisfied with this machine and I hope to experience many years of great cutting with my cub mower.

Comments for Cub Cadet SLTX 1050 Riding Lawn Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 23, 2014
Rating
star
not good at all
by: Az

Had my Cub Cadet SLTX 1050 for 4 years now, 240 hours. My property is just under 3 acres. Not holding up very well. Within the first year the bumper fell off, the dashboard indicator lights stopped working. Second year the battery was dead Some switch broke so the mower would not start, you couldn't even push the mower as the transmission was locked (could not manually disengage the trans). Constantly leaking oil even though I change it at least once yearly. This year a starter coil had to be replaced. A fuse keeps blowing, mechanic can't figure out why. Now the PTO switch will not engage the blades when pulled on. Design is very poor as grass clippings accumulate under the hood causing the engine to overheat. Very dissapointed in that I don't know the thing will work each time I need to use it. Cub Cadet should be embarrassed at producing such poor quality machine.

Sep 14, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad
by: Anonymous pen

Owned cub for about 3 years, always replacing belts, engine burning oil and now the rear axle just broke in half. Back to a john Deere!!!!!!!!

Aug 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
tractor backfires on shutoff
by: jim klass

to the guy whose mower backfires when he turnes it off,if he would let it idle for a while after mowing it may not backfire.this lets it cool down,hope this helps.

Jul 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
crazy
by: Anonymous

8 years I watched my neighbor to the west mow with his C.C. After 2 years of using my dads LTX 1054 which mowed 2-3 acres weekly I bought a SLTX 1050. 1 year after I got mine the neighbor to the east got the exact same mower. All are well maintained, Mine has 100 Hours- none of us has had any of the issues I just read about.

Jul 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GARBAGE!!!
by: Anonymous

Always replacing belts and making minor repairs then major engine trouble at only 200 hrs. New engine needed at only 200 hours... GARBAGE!

Jun 25, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Shocked
by: Anonymous

I cannot believe so many people are unhappy with their Cub Cadet. I have had mine for 5 years over 100 hours used mowing approximately 2-1/2 acres of ground that is not ideal. Hills and rough surface. I am a very large guy and it hauls me up the hills no problem. I have never had any problems. One note. I wish the oil drain had an extension so it wouldn't be easier to drain the oil.

Jun 16, 2014
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

WHAT A PIECE OF SHIT ! I spend more time putting the drive belt on than I do mowing.

Jun 16, 2014
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

WHAT A PIECE OF SHIT ! I spend more time putting the drive belt on than I do mowing.

May 25, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub cadet 1050
by: Anonymous

I got mine last spring so far tires won't hold air steering came apart and now the kW engine runs an hour the stalls out and this tractor only has 34 hours on it , what a piece of junk

Oct 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
XTL 1050
by: Steve

Bought a new John Deere LA115 in 2008...the deck belt comes off about three times a summer and costs $35.00 a pop. The big disapointment is the paint started peeling off after 300 hours. I decided to look around and buy a new mower, and decided on a Cub Cadet XTL 1050...the John Deere can't get close to this mower in handling, cutting, or build that I can see. Never again will I own a John Deere that I always dreamed of buying.

Sep 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
what issues ?
by: get er done

had my L1050 for 2 yrs. did all my own service according to manual,without any other help and it runs and operates like new! the o turn out mowes my neighbors john deere that have the same size lot by over a hour.had a jd before this didnt come close to the cc.never had a belt issue at all.check your deck level if having problems.doing regular maintance or have the dealer do it.this will save you alot on neglected issuses you have over looked.dont blame cc becouse its not a maintaince free machine.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
DON"T BUY CUB CADET
by: Anonymous

I have had the mower 2 years and everytime I take it in for service they say nothing is wrong and charge me 40 bucks! It keeps throwing the belt off. I even bought a new belt. AND FORGET CUB CADET TECHS HELPING OUT. Their first comments surround you and not the "Leamon" mower they produce. I have a 2000.00 nboat anchor they does not cut grass.
I am filing through the BBB and whatever else I can do! Remember, they make TORO and MTD mowers which I am sure are not any good either.

Save your money and buy a Deere or something else!

May 13, 2012
Rating
star
Worst lawn mower I have ever owned!!!
by: Patricia Campbell

OK,,So I am replacing the belt for the transmission for the third time(It broke again today,I just put a new one on mid summer last yr) NEVER will I purchase anything Cub Cadet again!! I have owned this mower for 6 yrs and never had a summer without a breakdown...Pulleys and new belts deck & transmission almost every year and a new gas tank the first yr that split at the seams... Not to mention I had replace the heads on it a day before the warrienty was up & the implement wouldnt help me out so I had to take it to a different dealer..Wellington implement nor Cub Cadet would stand behind that..Manufacture's defect....Think about this machine before you buy!!I thought I got a lemon,, after reading these comments I relize this lawn mower is crap!!! Please read the reviews buy one only if you have time and the abilty not to mention the money to repair!!

May 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere Junk/Cub Cadet Awesome
by: Steve

Bought a 2008 John Deere and today it looks like Chevrolet painted it...the paint chipped off in large chunks. I went and bought a 1050 Cub Cadet, and will never own anythig else. It is easier turn, it cuts better than the Deere could dream of cutting. My only fuss is changing the oil is a pain in the hind end. They could improve this in some way.

May 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LTX 1050
by: Steve

Had a Deere LA115 that was never in the weather and the paint started chipping off after three years. I looked and compared, and I bought the Cadet LTX 1050. I mow 2 1/2 acres and so far this mower is much better than the Deere. My only complaint is where you drain the oil, it is far back on the motor and hard to get to, and you have to use a tube they give you to get the mower to drain outside of the motor without makig a mess. This mower has the power to do what ever you want and the cut is amazing even on corners. It will go around a tree virtually leaving very little to weedeat! I'm very satisfied, and after wanting a Deere for life, I wouldn't have another one.

Mar 27, 2012
Rating
star
disgusted
by: brooks

I have a 2010 stlx 1050 commercial mover and paid cash for it, at first I thought I good working piece of equipment,boy was i wrong. I had to replace the spindles at 35 hours the drive make s a horrible nose as it go's into reverse. At 45 hours on the engine (25 hp kohler courage) started using oil, the dealer let me know that this was my fault due to the air filter was dirty, what a crock of crap. At this time I have had to replace the engine. Seams as though the dealers wants to do is to sell this piece of?@#%&! and give the finger to the people that bought thier product. Believe me I will never buy another cub cadet or any mtd. Also I will give this thing back to the dealer if he would look me in the eye and tell me what a good product this is. AND I wonder what he has to cut his grass with (John Deere)

Mar 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LT 1024 <1O5O
by: AJ OKLAHOMA

I have a lt 1024 I bought in april of 04 and now it has 275 hrs on it and I have 3.5 acres of tough pasture grass for a ysrd.I use my leafe blower to blow the deck and mower clean .when done I use a damp to keep it clean. I do all maintance on it .The only thing I had to do to it is a new drive belt ,battery and carb kit.I cover my 1024 & 1054 and keep them in my shop.It they look new and still mowes like new.
My 1050 , an 08 model has 155 hrs.on it and the only thing done to it is a new drive belt last week. My wife drives the 1024 and i drive the 1050 and we wouldnt have any thing else.

Mar 24, 2012
Rating
star
dont buy one of these please!
by: Anonymous

I have a 2008 1054 it has 70hrs on it I have replaced the deck belt twice and the and the drive belt once I have also replaced the deck height cable pullies twice the left front tire is very dryrotted due to the fact that the exhaust points right at it I have also noticed that I now have to turn the wheel a half turn before the tires move because the steering shaft gears are almost gone if your grass is remotely long it will clog and the thing I hate the most is how slow it is so if you buy one of these get ready to spend some money fixing it regularly.

Dec 24, 2011
Rating
star
cub cadet
by: Anonymous

to all of you thinking about buying a cub cadet rider lawn mower and don,t want to work on it every time you mow the yard don,t buy one

Dec 14, 2011
Rating
star
P.O.S!!!!
by: Anonymous

Bought new march 2011 has 62HRS- mower deck belt broken,(deck lift pulley replaced..(due to mowing in ditch) $2500.00 bucks not worth it!

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
Cub LXT 1050
by: Carol Crawford

I had a wizard mower for 18 years from Western Auto. Never had to do anything to it. Purchased a cub thinking top of the line. WRONG! It is a piece of crap 1 year of mowing and the Berrrings went out on deck and piece broke off the steering. In shop and under warrenty still. Have mowed part of the yard only today and had to fix steering myself. What Junk!!!

Oct 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
i1050...love it!
by: Anonymous

I have a cub i1050 and I love it! I cut 6 acres with it and have had ZERO problems with it. If I had 1 complaint, it would be that I wish it was a little faster...and I might be able to do some adjusting to increase the drive speed. Other than thatm its an awesome machine!

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
star
Undeserved rating - scale not low enough
by: Anonymous

Purchased in 2007. Steering gear box goes out: broken tooth on gear. Authorized dealer cannot determine correct rebuild kit so would not fix saying his work couldn't be guaranteed. Had to attempt repair on my own or pay the $300 plus for new gear box. Ground speed never reached advertised rating. In my opinion, when MTD took over Cub Cadet went down the pooper. Would not recommend this brand mower even to my enemies. Will NEVER purchase another. Hope this helps some poor unsuspecting potential buyer.

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Rust
by: Anonymous

I have never had any problems with the motor. I have over 150 hours on it. I use it commercially mowing 14 lawns a week. I keep it clean and kept indoors. Mows great just sharpen the blades every now in than. Easy to change oil & filter. the only problem i have is RUST on the frame. were the frame over laps there is rust all under there. MTD has done a shity job when putting the frame together.

Aug 23, 2011
Rating
star
Sorry for leaving my Deere
by: Sr Power Plant Mechanic

I bought this SLTX1054 P.O.S. after mistakenly only reading 2 reviews that were good. The reports were obviously written by morons that are mowing level blacktop painted green. Well I called about blown fuses to find out my 400.00 PTO clutch is shorted out on my 2 month old mower. So they give me a dealer to call and he says 2 weeks to get it back. I say "just give me the clutch and I will spend the 15 minutes to put it in 'on the house' myself". I mean I work on 30 million dollar turbines,you work on 3000 dollar mowers, I can handle it. Got nowhere. So I will hire a mower for the 2 mow jobs needed for 2 weeks and sue Cadet for the costs if they don't pay for it. Wonder if John Deere will give anything for it on a trade? My last Deere lasted 37 years! 1974 110 model amazing piece of worksmanship. Now I have a chinese piece of junk that didn't last 2 weeks before it blew a belt off and 2 months before the PTO crapped out !

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: cub lover

I have about 25 hours hours on mine and have had a great time mowing with it. MY Deere went out after 3 years and I refuse to deal with them again. This monster 26 HP Kohler with a 54 in deck has surpased all my expectations. Awesome mower. None can compare to IH but MTD has done a great job.

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Anonymous

I have a Cub Cadet and I am not happy with it at all. Had problems throwing the belt last summer and blew off the spindle tower. Taken it to a Cub Cadet dealer, costed $600 t "fix" it. Got it home, didn't even get done mowing threw the belt 3 times. Mowed for 30 minutes the belt busted. Totally not happy wioth it. Should have bought a John Deere.

May 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Noisey idler pulley SLTX 1050
by: Ron

Purchased the mower in fall of 09. The idler pulley is very noisey wen you release the break. we took to dealer and they replaced pulley, is still very noisey. They said grease had to work into the bearings?? doesn't sound right.Has anyone had similar problem?

May 10, 2011
Rating
star
Comment - "not fit to print"
by: Mechanical engineer

SLTX1050:

Absolutely (without any double) one of the worst mowers. Bagging is absolutely useless because of poor chute and deck design. Cloggs occur often regardless of grass conditions. Very poorly engineered with obviously little design testing. Need further proof? - check what Consumer Reports has to say about this unit.

Basically they say it's the most maintenance prone and worst at bagging - END OF STORY.

Oct 10, 2010
Rating
star
I Definetly would not recommend this mower!!!
by: Patricia Campbell

I bought this mower thinking I would not have to buy another for years to come...Im a single woman with 2 acres to cut went out on a recommendation to buy a cub cadet. I have 90 hrs on it...Lets see I had to replace a head gasket 1 day after warrenty no fault of mine the sevice man told me that was commom...The springs on the deck fell off twice no fault of mine...have went through 4 deck belts ,,replaced a gas tank costing over 100.00 where it split in the seem manufactors defect..was told soory bout it.. just replaced the idler pulleys on the transmission and a transmission belt all of this in 4 years ...it still has less than a hundred hours on it..The dealer told me I should have bought a commerical cub they dont have those problems...Dear Cub Cadet your product sucks and I would never recommend your product to anyone,in fact i would tell them check out HUSQVARNA thier dealers and product proceeds themselfs...

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
star
Cub Cadet i1050 "lemon"
by: Neil Reed

Paid more than $40o0 for this state of the art CC which features a zero turn. Deck has 6 cutting levels, but will only work on two.

Mower stops on some zero turns as wheels lock up going sideways. Deck rumbles badly on z-turns. Been in the dealer workshop many times and they say CC rarely do field trips to check out issues with their mowers.

Last week spindle came lose on the center blade bringing mowing to a sudden stop.
Its now out of warranty and issues still arise. Anyone else having probs with an i1050??

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
should have gone with Deere
by: Anonymous

Dang, I shoulda bought a Deere! 17.5 hours, throws the main drive belt, destroys the cheap plastic fan that cools the hydrostatic drive, front tires don't hold air, sometimes have to run with the choke on to prevent stalling and lights on gauges don't work well. Even though its less than one year old, the warranty only covers the plastic fan. Service is 1 1/2 to 2 week after drop-off at the dealer.

On the plus side, it does mow well and is fast when the drive belt stays on....


Sep 10, 2010
Rating
star
Don't Buy CUB CADET / LTX1050
by: R.L.

The people at MTD that are making CUB CADET are the most rude uncaring business people that I have ever encountered in my 46 years.

I bought a LTX1050 from Home Depot in Tulsa last year. I have had it quit me twice now and refuse to start. I am not in good health and have had to puch this mower across my property to be able to load it. Thought I was going to have a heart attack before it was over. Finally got it returned and they shipped it off for three weeks.

Got it back and it started fine for the next two uses. Then it started being difficult to start and now i had to push it all over creation again in less than a year to send it back again for the same problem. It will not fire. The engine turns over but it will not start.

Back to Home Depot again for another three week send off. Called the factory customer service which is MTD and was never treated so rudely by a customer service person in my life. Bottom Line, If Home Depot doesn't take it back, CUB CADET /MTD
will NOT STAND BEHIND IT for refund.

It's NOT OVER YET ! It will be freezing in HELL before I ever buy another MTD / CUB CADET product again.

Sep 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt FIX
by: Disappointed

Found a cure for the issue of belts coming off the LTX1040. Refer to cub cadet service advisory CC671. This make a newly designed belt retain available.

Sep 03, 2010
Rating
star
Bearings Can't be oiled
by: Anonymous

The deck bearings on the Cub Cadet cannot be oiled---they are sealed--- even though the paper work implies that they can. The bearings on mine went out just after a year's service. The customer service rep was an uninformed idiot who knew nothing about mechanics. Also a local warranty repair individual hung up on me when I quizzed him about the bearing problem and the purpose of the weep hole. I think the bearing issue has a tie to a lucrative warranty business. I smell a rat. I would never buy another Cub Cadet. Additionally, I believe the cheap bearings were made in CHINA.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
throws belt
by: Disappointed owner

I have less than 20 hours on this machine and have to keep putting the belt back on. The belt comes off when engaged. Service call had it tied up two weeks and the first time i engaged the belt it popped off. I have a second service request in. This time its traveling a couple hundred miles and once again I will be without a mower for 7-10 days.

Mar 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
backfire
by: Anonymous

make sure you idle it down for a minute before you turn it off. Then it wont backfire. All small engines will backfire if shutoff at high idle.

Nov 24, 2009
Rating
starstar
Bad Deck Spindels
by: Anonymous

I purchased a STLX 1050 in may 2009 and was very happy with the mower until Aug when all of a sudden the deck started making a growling noise.It had only 35 Hrs. on it. I took it back to dealer where I purchased it from to have it fixed. He told me the deck bearings were shot and he had to replace all of them,he seemed to think water had caused them to fail. This deck has two places to hook a hose onto it and wash it out which we only used a couple of times, we usually rinse it off after we mow the grass. The dealer told me the bearings he took out of it were a sealed type and he replaced them with the same type bearing. Sealed bearings CANNOT be greased but still the spindel housings have grease fittings on them which are USELESS. Seems to me these grease were put on to makes you think you can grease them which helps them sell machines.
The dealer suggested that I not wash the deck. The SAD part is I paid cash for the machine and am stuck with it. WON'T BUY ANOTHER CADET.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
star
I would never buy another LTX1050
by: SAM

I have purchased two Lawn tractors LT1050 and LTX1050. I have had spindles bearing to go out on both mowers.

The first mower bearing went out in 90 hrs. The second mower bearing went out 68 hrs.

The bearings are very poor quality cheap. Customer service terrible.

I would never buy another LTX1050.

Nov 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub Cadet backfire
by: Anonymous

Sometimes, using a higher grade gas will eliminate the backfiring after extended use.

Sep 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cub Cadet SLTX1050 IS THE BEST!
by: Jimmy P

My wife recently purchased the Cub Cadet SLTX1050 for me as a birthday gift when my other mower of 28 plus years finally bit the dust.

Before the purchase, I carefully researched several mowers from different manufacturers. The Cub Cadet came out on top on all points. It is very well built. A lot of extras come standard on this model. When you look at how the total deck is made compared to other models, the quality of the mower, the frame, extra deck wheels, roller, bumper, reverse PTO, two consoles, a drink holder!!

Wow and does it mow!!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - cub cadet.