Eager-1 Sears Craftsman

This Eager-1 Sears Craftsmen 20" push mower is one great machine, it is 7 years old and still going strong. My wife even ran it low on oil for about 15 hours and it never missed beat, that was three years ago.


Once I had to take the lawn mower in for a carb cleaning when it was four years old, but I did not drain the gas out over winter so my fault. The motor never started on the frist pull like they said it would. The motor always starts on the third pull.

The blades seem to last about two years if I don't let the grass get to long between cuts. Blades are easy to change and run around ten dollars at my hardware store.

That deck is great with lots of sticks, small rocks, and even a hammer have been run over, and still looks almost new.

I would move the gas tank over on the lawn mower if I could. When I refill it is hard not to spill on your shoes. That is my biggest trouble with this lawn mower. The oil is easy to check and the pull rope is very easy to work with.

The wheels on the lawn mower are still going strong and changing the deck height is very easy with the long handles that come off the wheels.
This was not a pricey lawn mower but in the middle of the Sears Craftsmen line up, the mower cost me around 120 dollars new. Most of the other lines I looked into just seemed so soft in the deck that I drove back to Sears and purchased this model.

I would like to say that if I need Parts now Sears closed there parts and service center by me so I am not sure where I will get them at.

Great lawn mower for the price if you can find one some where pick it up you not be sorry. Good luck out there

Comments for Eager-1 Sears Craftsman

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 10, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Sears Eager 1
by: Thacker

This is the best lawn mower ever. I bought it on sale in the fall , thirteen years ago. I have changed the oil, spark plug, and air filter three times. Sears sells tune up kit when needed. I always drain the gas out for winter. I keep the mower in a shed or garage. Changed or sharpened blade 5 times. Was debating on getting a new mower. But after reading post on the garbage that is available, I'm keeping mower. Made in USA

Apr 15, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
need help
by: anonomus

need carb. for sears eager1engine/4.5 h.p.

Oct 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Age of a mower?
by: Anonymous

I have a Sears Craftsman Eager-1 Lawnmower. It has a label on the front 4.0hp/ 20" cut, also model #V023547. I acquired this lawnmower from my grandparents several years ago. About the only maintenance I do to it (besides gas) is every few years I replace the blade. It usually fires up on 2-3 pulls. My question is that I have been trying to find out when this mower was sold. I don't see anything on mower that would give me any type of date. I would appreciate any help you could give me. I love the fact that the older things were built to last - a true testiment to the quality of a good machine. Thanks.

Sep 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
1992 Model
by: Anonymous

My Eager-1 replaced several mowers that died after a year or so. This sucker has been working since 1992 (now 2011) with a lot of abuse. Here is a link to the Craftsman parts site for this model which is a 143.944506 4.5 Hp 20 in. Craftsman II

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/partsdirect/part-model/Craftsman-Parts/All-Products-Parts/Model-143944506/0247/1503500/10033976/00001?blt=06&prst=0&shdMod=143944506

You can back up and search other numbers. If it doesn't start check for fuel (check for water in the tank), spark (my plug wire wore through and had to be wrapped in electrical tape as well as replacing spark plug)(also pure the rope with the wire off to see if it will spark), and air (replace filter). Don't forget about checking oil and replacing it. Also the kill lever & wire and connection should be checked from under the handle on down.

Good Luck! JHS

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Craftsman 4.0 primer bulb
by: Wayne

How do install the primer bulb in an Eager 1 20" lawnmower 4.0 hp.?

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RE: Craftsman 4.0 20" inch push mower
by: Anonymous

I have a Craftsman 4.0 hp Sears push mower 20" cut and the model no. on mine is 917.380330. The serial no. is 023775 with Eager 1 engine.

May 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Model Number
by: kscrane

I have an inherited Sears 4 HP Eager 1 lawnmower. The lower handle is broken and I need a new one. I called Sears and they need a model number so they can order a new one. The sticker with the info is long gone. Can someone help and give me the model number.
Thanks
kscrane@sympatico.ca

May 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

I bought an old eager 1 lawn mower for 30 bucks ..it runs great and have never had a problem with it..I love it!!

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
20+ years and still going strong!
by: BJ Harrington

I bought my Eager-1 4hp aluminum deck mulching mower new over twenty years ago. I had to replace the primer bulb a couple of times, but it cranks on the first pull every time! I also had to replace the cable that engaged the drive gear a couple of times and my handle tube broke. I'm about to rebuild the carburator and tune it up. It's been a great mower.

Jun 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need Help with a Craftsman Eager-1 Lawn Mower
by: Tendonin

Right, the Serial number is 971.372440, it's a 22" 4.0 H.P. beast. We aren't having much luck. My father sprayed some starter fluid directly into the carb and it started, but when the spraying stopped, so did the engine. Wondering how to take it apart and fix it.



Tendonin,
terelwalker@hotmail.com

Jun 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
eager-1 carb
by: Anonymous

I need a carb for a 5.5 hp model, any suggestions? nknit84@sbcglobal.net

May 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need a carb
by: Anonymous

I need a carburetor for the 6.5 hp Eager 1 model.

anthrodell@gmail.com

Apr 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
amazing longevity
by: LawnGuy in Georgia

Bought this mower new in 1993. I grew up in an apt., so am not mechanically inclined. So only in 2000 did I realized I had never changed the oil...
of course it was jet black, but the mower never (as far as I could tell) burped or gave up black smoke... it's 2010 now and I've learned to change the sprk plug, etc... and it works beautifully. Just keep the underside of the deck clean from grass, etc.

May 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Eager 1, The best in lawn mower quality!
by: Anonymous

Craftsman Eager 1 Lawn Mowers Are The Best And Have Never Let Me Down!!!!!!!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Craftsman Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.