Homelite 18 In. Homelite Corded Electric Mower

by Michael Everett
(Simi Valley, CA, United States)

This lawn mower has it's ups and downs, but the ups most definitely outweighs the downs. It is a very durable lawn mower that does the job that I need it to do.


I'll start with the negatives. The first obvious negative issue is the need for an extension chord. It obviously gets in the way, and you run the risk of running it over, and not only destroying the chord, but possibly electrocuting yourself in the process. The only other negative I can think of is the fact that the mower does not come with a bag, and is not modify-able for a grass bag.

I would be more in tune with the mower if I could put a bag on it, so I wouldn't have to rake up and blow the grass with my leaf blower.
As for the positives, the first and most important fact about the mower is that it is an electric mower. You don't need to put fuel in it. A person does not need to change the oil, or worry about trying to turn it on with a pull chord.

It is very quiet for a mower, which makes the mowing process more enjoyable. It allows me to hear the music in my headphones more clearly, making the mowing process go along quicker than usual.
It has five different level settings for different sizes of grass, which makes lawn mower more adaptable to any lawn.
All in all, this lawn mower does the job, and does the job well enough that I can endure the negatives.

Comments for Homelite 18 In. Homelite Corded Electric Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 16, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
who did you order the battery from online?
by: Anonymous

I read your note about the cordless Homelite. I have the 20" mower UT13222. I cannot find the replacement battery for this anywhere. Where did you get yours? Thanks, C

Jul 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great technology
by: Anonymous

My battery-operated Homelite mower stopped working last week. I went and bought a Craftsman model. Impressive-looking but, after seeing all that was required of owning and using a gas-powered unit, I decided it was worth buying a new battery, about $200, and returned the Craftsman. After all, in the 5 years I've had my Homelite, all I ever did was plug it in. I know now that I should sharpen the blade once in a while but that is all you need. Besides, it is a lot quieter than other models. I feel people, sometimes, have a bad experience but I wouldn't knock down the technology. It is not as powerful, compared to gas, but it is also much quieter and cleaner. My only complaint is that the battery needs to be ordered online as they no longer carry it at my local Home Depot.

Apr 06, 2012
Rating
star
Less than a year - need part
by: Anonymous

We are having trouble finding the 20 in. Homelite Corded Electric Mower. Can someone help us. We do not have finances to buy again and again. It should have lasted longer. Personally, the wife does NOT like that cord.

Hopefully can find a part soon.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
star
didn't last one year
by: Anonymous

Just took it apart for a friend, got it working, died already.
Seems the electronic switches, capacitors, wiring etc. proves inferior from China. This product is no different. Looked it up in Homelite parts and it's not even listed . . . JUNK


Jun 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
No need for a grass bag
by: Anonymous

The reviewed apparently didn't realize the UT13218 is a mulching mower. All you have to do is close the chute.

May 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GREAT PRODUCT!
by: Mower Man

I've been using an electric lawnmower since the 80's and manufactures continue to improve them. Today they are powerful enough relative to gas mowers for any grass cutting needs that I've come across. I purchased Home Depot's 20" version of this mower.
The mower assembled very easily without tools which I did without reading the instructions and while it remained sitting in the box. In fact I completed the few steps required to attach the push handle, removed a few cardboard pieces and then lifted it right out.
It's been mentioned that a heavier gauged cord should be used especially if 100' length but I use a 100' lesser gauged cord and it powers the mower through tall grass just fine, at least while cutting grass that isn't wet. The thinner cord also fits in the cord holder underneath the handle, although I instead tie the cord around the lower bar. In this way I never need to hold the cord while mowing unless I'm backing up with the mower more than a few feet.
It has been mentioned that the grass clippings don't enter the bag very well and that the discharge opening to the bag should have been made larger. I don't find this to be an issue at all and that the clippings collect nicely in the bag. I have even been able to stuff the bag full so that it needs to be shaken considerably to empty the clippings. Again, I don't mow while the grass is wet.

To reduce entanglements with the cord while mowing it is best to start closest to the outlet and mow in a back and forth pattern, moving away from the outlet. Although one could just gather and lay the cord down in any preferred location, mowing in a pattern away from the where the cord lies.

For those who want a bit more freedom from having to squeeze hold the handle while the power is engaged a plastic squeeze clamp works great.

For a nice tutorial on a convenient way to wrap and store the cord; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eaEv9wm6gy0&feature=related

What's nice about electric mowers is that they can be stored while tilted up on two wheels. If one doesn't want to use a heavy item to keep it from rolling while stored a hook can be mounted to hold the handle to the wall. This model can get scratched on the front if tilted up far enough so have a piece of cardboard ready if that is an issue.




May 07, 2011
Rating
star
rip off
by: B G

bought at home depot cut lawn maybe 8 times it died after cutting part of lawn this year under warranty took back to home depot they were not very nice i feel ripped off i had to pay $35to implement the warranty rip off dont know whats wrong yet my previous craftsman held up 20 years it was all metal things aremade like garbage today it was bought 4 30 2010 now i know why people pay someone to cut grass at home depot their rental equipment is all metal the junk they sell to suckers is plastic cysta

May 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works great
by: Anonymous

Ive had mine for a year...excellent value for the price. 12 amp motor.Mulching feature works well.
No complaints

Jul 05, 2009
Rating
star
That mower is the worst ever created
by: disappointed

Do not make the mistake I did and actually purchase any Homelite products; least of all that 18 inch mower. That thing fell apart and now resides in a landfill somewhere, as all will WITHIN one year of use, give or take. I had to go and borrow my Dad's old mower which still works after 25 years. It is hard to believe that we are offered such inferior products by a China when previously we had access to quality products.

BOYCOTT Home Depot! It is now time to take our country back. They should just take all of the products that come in from China and put them durectly to the dump and save us the frustration.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.