Honda Blackmax (sold at sam's)

by Steve
(Detroit MI)

My lawn mower is only 1 year old. It is a BlackMax brand mower with a Honda engine. It was purchased from Sam's Club and has given me no problems to date. Included with the purchase was the four cycle motor oil required in the owners manual.


The mower also came with a bag, a side shoot, and has a mulching option. I have only mulched so far because the mower does a good job with grass up to five inches long.

The bag looks like it would hold at least ten passes across a twenty five foot strip before having to unload. The blade is a twenty-two inch steel blade. The only thing I have had an issue with is the "Easy Start". I usually have to engage the primer two times to get the mower to start.

The gas tank capacity allows me to cut the grass two times before having to refill. My yard is just under one half acre.

The automatic drive feature works well, but I was surprised that the safety shut off bar also controls the drive train. You have to let the bar out a little to disengage the drive, but too far and the engine choke starts to kill the motor.

The drive speed is about perfect. Sometimes however, if you don't lift the mower up and the drive is still engaged, the wheels will rip up the grass as they spin.

The engine was the reason I bought this mower. I have never had an issue with a Honda motor.

Comments for Honda Blackmax (sold at sam's)

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
4 years old and still working strong
by: Anonymous

I've had my Blackmax mower for about 4yrs now and outside of normal maintenance its been working fine. I had to replace the drive wheels this summer. They were worn out and one of them had the gears worn to where it wouldn't drive the mower any more. I currently about to replace the grass catcher though. This has worn pretty fast compared to me craftsman mower that I had prior to this one. All and all for the price I paid, I very happy with this mower. The only issue I had with the honda engine was that the automatic choke return was sticking. After a shot of PB blaster, all is well.

Sep 07, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
carb and wheels
by: Goodwillguy

Hey all, bought my Max from a thrift store for $100. Started right up and running good for two seasons. This year had some trouble starting, my fault left the gas in it. Pulled and cleaned the carb but still wouldn't start. pulled the plug, bone dry. Off with the carb again noticed the jet was completely clogged, took a chunk of speaker wire twisted 4 strands together and viola! perfect for cleaning out the jet. put it all back together, one pull, running like a scalded dog.
On the subject of wheels, mine cracked as well. Ever notice how much they look like the wheels on a golf bag push cart? I did! Off to the Goodwill (love the place) Picked up a push cart for $10. Had several to choose from, so I got one that had air filled wheels with bearings, bolted them on (no alterations needed). Off and running. Dad taught me not to spend time complaining, just get it done....thanks dad!

May 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Decent basic and reliable mower
by: Anonymous

I brought one of these new 3 years ago. First year, it ran great. Right off the bat the wheels were a little wobbly(they were on tight too). Didn't bother me too much since they stayed on. The bottom of the deck would often get clogged up when mowing thick grass.

2nd year I hit a big rock and it bent the blade. Had a hard time trying to find a blade that fit without having to call the manufacture. Sam's doesn't sell replacement parts. Couldn't find a blade online either. Was shopping at Tractor Supply Co. and found a blade that matched. Put it on and the next day I hit a old piece of metal and bent my blade again...

It wasn't bent too bad so I just lived with the shaking. Overall quality is so-so. Deck and handle bar are very basic and not so sturdy as something on a Toro or Husky. But the motor makes up for the cheapish(creaks alot) deck. I did minimal maintenance to it and it still turned on easily. Left gas in it all winter and was able to start it on the 3rd pull.

Also the drive system stopped working but after messing with it a little it worked again.

I say this is a good mower if you are just looking for a no frills, basic and reliable light duty lawn mower. I have a few properties that I need to mow and this thing just wasn't durable/well designed enough. If it was just for my own house it would be more than enough. Don't recommend due to the fact that finding parts is a pain.

May 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Black Max Warranty
by: CAM81400

I purchased my Black Max from Sam's Club last year. Admittedly, I was at fault for my problem because I used old watered gas. But...before finding out that I was at fault, I contacted Sam's and was referred to the 800 number on the back of my warranty card. After trying both numbers, I finally found one that was working, but they said they didn't do warranty work on that brand. Luckily, he told me to bring it in anyway and they'd check it out. Turns out it was the carburetor, which was $80 to repair. Point is that the warranty is useless! And I might add that in addition to the manufacturers 2 year warranty, I also purchased and additional 2 years. The warranty is a joke.

Apr 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
mine has worked better than Toro
by: harrysamuel

Not sure why so many people are unhappy. My mower is made by Husqvarna Outdoor Products with its Honda engine (the reason I bought it) has worked perfectly for many years. The Toro I bought was a problem, brought it in for repair, which turned into a waste of money.

This Honda engine starts first time almost every time.

I am looking for a spare blade as the one installed needs sharpening, and a replacement can be done, then a spare sharp blade.

I have changed the oil once over the years, and am finally changing the air filter.

As I look at it the Honda engine makes this lawn mower.

I would buy this mower again if it ever fails.



Jan 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Partly dissatisified
by: Billyde

I have used this mower off and on for a year. I have switched back to my older Lawn Boy. The Black Max is hard to start and the height adjustment on the wheels is had to set. I have a hill in the back yard and is hard to cut with this heavy lawn mower.

Nov 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mower made by Husqvarna
by: Anonymous

This mower is made by Husqvarna Outdoor Products.(HOP). If you look at the mower deck, you will see HOP listed as the manufacturer. Husqvarna is a division of electrolux, and sells this mower under lots of names including Craftsman (Sears) and Husqvarna (Home Depot). The Sears version comes with the choice of either a Briggs engine or a Honda engine. All of the parts are identical. Parts are easily available. I get them them at the Sears Parts store by my house. Just tell them it is a Craftsman.

You should be easily able to arrange warranty service through HOP by calling them. They are a very large power equipment maker. Mine has run like a champ for 6 years. I did replace the front wheels once since the gears on the inside of the wheels are made to strip before ruining the self drive transmission so 5 years is about the max, and I replaced the frame for the rear bag.

No issue with the parts. Mower is sold under multiple brands. SAMs saves you about $75 vs Sears for same mower. HOP is kind of middle of the road. Not Honda, but pretty decent.

Good luck.

Jun 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cheap rear wheels
by: Anonymous

Rear wheels are very cheaply made (plastic over a bolt design w/no bearings) and "one wheel" is $32.00+S&H! It's a shame they used a Honda motor on such a horrible and cheap mower frame! And the self propelled drive belt is a royal pain in the AZZ to deal with!

Jun 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cheap rear wheels
by: Anonymous

Rear wheels are very cheaply made (plastic over a bolt design w/no bearings) and "one wheel" is $32.00+S&H! It's a shame they used a Honda motor on such a horrible and cheap mower frame! And the self propelled drive belt is a royal pain in the AZZ to deal with!

Jun 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cheap rear wheels
by: Anonymous

Rear wheels are very cheaply made (plastic over a bolt design w/no bearings) and "one wheel" is $32.00+S&H! It's a shame they used a Honda motor on such a horrible and cheap mower frame! And the self propelled drive belt is a royal pain in the AZZ to deal with!

May 14, 2014
Rating
star
don t buy
by: franck

no service

Mar 25, 2014
Rating
star
Cannot find anyone to honor warranty
by: Wayne Deroche

The 1-800 number on card that came with lawn mower is for a company named Magneto Power. I called the number because it is still under warranty.

Magneto Power told me they no longer handle these lawn mowers. They told me to call Engine Warehouse in Houston.

Engine Warehouse told me they do not do warranty and gave me numbers to two local shops. Called the first one and they do work on Black Max Lawn Mowers. Called second and they told me they would look at it. Did not sound too promising.

Called Sam's to get any contact information. After 90 days, cannot exchange it. Told me to go to manufacturer. I stated that's the problem I cannot find anyone who will claim they sell this product.

Sam's representative told me they only sell the lawn mowers. To say that I'm livid would be a major understatement.

Mar 25, 2014
Rating
star
Cannot find anyone to honor warranty
by: Wayne Deroche

The 1-800 number on card that came with lawn mower is for a company named Magneto Power. I called the number because it is still under warranty.

Magneto Power told me they no longer handle these lawn mowers. They told me to call Engine Warehouse in Houston.

Engine Warehouse told me they do not do warranty and gave me numbers to two local shops. Called the first one and they do work on Black Max Lawn Mowers. Called second and they told me they would look at it. Did not sound too promising.

Called Sam's to get any contact information. After 90 days, cannot exchange it. Told me to go to manufacturer. I stated that's the problem I cannot find anyone who will claim they sell this product.

Sam's representative told me they only sell the lawn mowers. To say that I'm livid would be a major understatement.

Mar 23, 2014
Rating
star
Drive wheel broke & only 9 months old
by: Wayne Deroche

Purchased Honda Black Max Lawn Mower at Sam's on June 22, 2013. Today, while mowing the lawn, the front left (drive wheel) on model 961440008 self-propelled broke. It is now dangling. Something broke loose in the gear box that drives the wheels. Since, today is Sunday, of course, there is no one to contact.

Until now, we have not had any problem with it. Will repost after contacting someone to see what our options are. It is still well within warranty. Only had it nine months.

Mar 23, 2014
Rating
star
Drive wheel broke & only 9 months old
by: Wayne Deroche

Purchased Honda Black Max Lawn Mower at Sam's on June 22, 2013. Today, while mowing the lawn, the front left (drive wheel) on model 961440008 self-propelled broke. It is now dangling. Something broke loose in the gear box that drives the wheels. Since, today is Sunday, of course, there is no one to contact.

Until now, we have not had any problem with it. Will repost after contacting someone to see what our options are. It is still well within warranty. Only had it nine months.

Dec 31, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
wheels/bent blades
by: Anonymous

I purchased my mower about 6 years ago, had to replace rear wheels, got new ones at lowes off shelf fits fine. I have bent 2 blades on small stumps, replacement blades at lowes and homedepot. Self-propel stopped one time, belt came off DIY easy fix. As you can tell I am rough on mowers, this thing just keeps cranking and cutting, I am very impressed with it. I am about to replace the front wheels wore quiet abit.
I have about 1/2 ac lot, mower has been great I cut the yard every week, and used it in the fall for mulching.

Aug 09, 2013
Rating
starstar
Great Engine...The Rest Is Junk
by: jhnichols

Used the mower 2 times. On the 3rd time a bole fell off the bracket holding the rear wheels. This caused the mower to hit a stump that it had cleared on the 2 other cuttings. Bent blade, bent deck, tore-up baffle plate. Engine still runs great, but it is practically impossible to get parts. I called the number in the manual and it connected to an operator at Husqvarna. She told me it would take THEM 3 to 4 weeks to get the parts and then they could send them to me. The deck was $159 before shipping. BTW Sears sells the same mower under the Craftsman name with a Honda or a Briggs and Stratton.
I would not buy this mower again. All I have now is a collection of parts, and am looking for another mower.

Aug 04, 2013
Rating
starstar
12 inch Rear Wheels Poor Design
by: Anonymous

The 12 inch plastic rear wheels are poor design and break where the axle goes through the half inch plastic wheel opening. I replaced the wheels with a steel universal wheel that has metal bearings and metal hub. This should have been the original design by the manufacturer instead of the plastic wheels. I didn't go with the manufacturer replacement part as they were plastic and the problem would just happen again.

Jul 30, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blackmax warranty?
by: Anonymous

Anyone know where you can take this mower for warranty work? Has it 3 month and the self propelled feature has froze up

Jul 25, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
blackmax mowere works good
by: Anonymous

I like it, easy start, no issues. I just can't understand all the negative comments from others.

Jul 11, 2013
Rating
star
Run from this mower!
by: Anonymous

Worse mower I have ever owned. Not even a close second. I bought the first one at Sams at the beginning of April. Couldn't get the thing to self propel. Half the time I wound up having to push it. Found that the drive transmission was bound up.

Took it back and exchanged it for another. In the nearly two months since I owned that one the underside front bracket popped loose and smashed into the rotating blade. Both wheels had their nylon teeth stripped out. The self-propelled drive shaft was not straight. The belt area clogs up with grass due to it's poor design. I don't know why they designed the body with front-wheel drive. The Honda motor worked well nut the body of the mower sucks. Fortunately Sams refunded the price and I bought another brand.

Jun 11, 2013
Rating
star
Blade flew off! Seriously...and literally
by: Annony-Mouse

So I got this POS when I let my mother in law borrow mine and she broke it. She bought this and I thought "damn she spent some cash and got me a Honda...better than my old Weedeater brand!" Well yeeeah less than 6 months later thewheel broke...then 3 more months later...last week. THE BLADE FLEW OFF. Like literally and truly, THE BLADE FLEW THE HECK OFF!!! Are you even kidding me?! I live in a residential neighborhood and have Burmuda grass...nothing more nothing less...AND THE BLADE FLEW OFF!! Be forward...if someone gets hurt and you read this...it's on you buddy!

Jun 06, 2013
Rating
star
Rear Wheel
by: Anonymous

Honda motor on a cheap parts

Jun 06, 2013
Rating
star
cracked rear wheel
by: Anonymous

It is a piece of junk, yes Honda engine but all the parts are crap

May 19, 2013
Rating
star
useless Drive
by: William

Too bad Honda placed their engine on this mower.
I am going to Home Depot tomorrow and
for $399.00 buy a genuine Honda with variable speed drive.
Do not expect the Black Max to propel the mower very long and attempting to use it as a "push" mower will wear you down. It doesn't move easily but it will cut the grass as the Honda engine is not the problem. It is an excellent engine.

Mar 17, 2013
Rating
star
Typical Sams Crap
by: Anthony BArrozo

I'm on my second Blackmax, I took my first one back because my arm nearly fell off from trying to start it, from day one it was hard to start. Got tired of it so I took it back after my first season and after a couple managers I finally got another one, oh!joy. To my amazement the second one started just fine and I figured I just got a bad one the first time. Pulled it out of the garage yesterday and damn if it wasn't the same old song and dance, it won't start at all. I'll never own another one, it's back to a TORO or a cheap Lawnboy.

Oct 13, 2012
Rating
starstar
Update from July Post
by: R

So, my Sam's clearence buy has been so-so. My previous comments on the need for a debris guard under the deck for the self-propelled belt has been proven correct. The grass clippings constantly gum up the whole area and cause the belt to slip, negating the self-propelled feature. I resorted to removing the black cover which helps a little, but it is still getting clogged with grass clippings. The Honda engine is great and mows through anything much better than my craftsman, but I am glad I did not pay full price. Wheels haave not broken......yet.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
Not a REAL Honda - a Sam's Excuse for a Honda
by: mason

I bought this mower new at Sam's less than 3 years ago thinking I had a real value - just like when I bought Goodyear tires there that proved to be defective as well(tires were made to lower standards than other tire stores). Sam's and Walmart force their vendors to make cheaper versions of their branded products - specifically for Sam's stores so that they can sell them cheaper but with the image of that manufacturer's brand behind it. When the products prove defective - they try to bank on you simply throwing away expensive equipment and buying new again - because of the costs to repair and the hassle. My advice is don't buy anything of significance at these stores - like a mower or tires or anything that you would expect to have the quality like you see elsewhere. It's not the same product you get at other stores. Toro won't sell mowers to Walmart or Sam's because the CEO of that company REFUSED to cheapen his products to the Sam's/Walmart standards. Or should I say substandards. This fuels a throwaway society.
I feel like I got screwed royally on the Honda Black Max from Sam's. I will never buy machinery or equipment or anything else from Sam's again. I didn't even get 3 seasons out of this Honda mower and I maintained it religiously. This is a crappy excuse of what a good Honda product should be. I will buy Toro in the future. I had one before that ran strong for over 10 years.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
Wheels are POC
by: Anonymous

Had my Black Max, less than a year, and the rear right wheel spoke shattered and the wheel fell of. Judging from the many other posts regarding wheels falling off this mower, the manufacturer (whoever it is) should issue a recall.

Jul 09, 2012
Rating
star
Piece of junmk
by: Anonymous

I used my black max for 6 months. started it this season and had self propelled issues.(it was always hard to push). It stopped running in the middle of a yard cut. Seeing that it was under warranty I tried to find someone to do the warranty work and I have not been able to do.

Jul 08, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Blackmax
by: R

Just purchased from Sam's from the returned clearance area. Stated it was not working. I took the gamble for $75.00 and Sam's said they did not alter or repair anything. I brought it home, changed the oil and air filter, checked and cleaned out the self-propelled pulley, pushed the spark plug boot on tight, new gas, and viola! Worked first time. Engine seemed to get better as I ran it. I thought the oil seemed to be low when I changed it, but I mowed the front and side yard without any issues. I am not sure what was wrong except that maybe the previous owner had the self-propelled feature quit from being jammed with grass. Seems to me that a debris guard is needed underneath the deck.

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
poc
by: Karen

Don't buy this! It is a piece of crap. First time, and every time, we use(d) this, it stops while mowing after about 5 minutes. When you go to restart it, the starter cord will pull for about 3 inches, then it freezes. Bought at Sam's in June 2011, only used it 3 times last year, due to drought. Same problems this year. Called Sam's, told to call Honda. It may not be a $500 machine, but for the price I paid, I expect it to work for many years. We'll see what Honda says....

May 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great mower
by: Anonymous

$299 four plus years ago. Filled with synthetic from day one and has started right up ever since. Stripped the front wheels once, big deal, sears wheels are $20! Killer engine and cuts great. Maintanence People! Clean your air filter, change the oil, clean or change the wheels! Stop bitching!!! Killer mower and killer price. Won't find a better deal for $299!!!!

May 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another spring, Another year with NO PROBLEMS!!
by: Kaptan

I don't understand how so many of you have trouble with this mower.. It starts every time. I replaced 1 front wheel, before I knew that you need to clean 'em out every 2 or 3 times you mow.. Really it's no harder than putting gas in the thing!.. Change the oil every year. Blow out the air filter, twice a season, pick up the front wheels when you turn the thing, and wash the deck out after every use. THIS MOWER WILL LAST A DECADE EASY!! that Honda engine is a jewel.

Apr 27, 2012
Rating
star
no replacement parts
by: Anonymous

looking for front wheels for my 3 year old lawn mower can not find them anywhere on the net great mower just unable to find the correct parts for this mower

Apr 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda engine
by: BoomerFT

I hit a stump and couldn't start again. Repair shop said Honda engines are tougher. Had it been Briggs&Stratton would probably been bent shaft and junked. $45 part and new blade all it took. Three years in service!

Apr 07, 2012
Rating
star
face full of dust
by: Robert

bought 3,15/12 mowed 30 seconds with rear bagger and had to stop because of dust , waited for grass to grow some and rain and no change tryed sidedischarge and that was ok will return today.

Apr 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best mower ever
by: Anonymous

It's a great mower. Best I've ever had. Why the bad reviews.....

Mar 30, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Drive Belt
by: THOMAS CHIPMAN

The belt is so long it won't pull when I go up the least litle incline in my yard. I don't see an adjustment on it.

Can you help?

Mar 24, 2012
Rating
starstar
Do not buy blackmax mower
by: Anonymous

I bought it from SAM 2 springs ago. Works great the first year. Could not get it to start last year. Have to do a complete tune-up. Took it out a day ago. Same thing, could not get it start-up. Have to do another complete tuning up.

Not worth the money! Or the hassle.

Mar 18, 2012
Rating
star
cheap plastic
by: Anonymous

The dust covers on the front wheels shatter ands allow crud to clog the drive gear in the front wheel.

The rear wheels are poorly designed and the hub breaks.

There are better options for the money.

Mar 14, 2012
Rating
starstar
Engine problems
by: Paul Machtolff

Bought the Black Max in june of 2011. No problems whatsoever last season. Cranked great, plenty of power.

At the end of the cutting season, I ran all of the gas out of the mower and emptied the tank.

Started this season with fresh gas. the mower started right away, with no problem, but when the choke went down to the run stage, the engine died. The engine would re-start right away, but would never keep running when the choke came off. I talked to a small engine man and told him the problem. He told me that the vacuum jet was probably clogged and needed to be cleaned out. I AM NOT AN ENGINE MAN. I did as he said, took the carburator (sp) off, but was unable to get it taken apart to clean the jets. I have just put clean gas in the tank, along with a couple of ounces of Sea Foam, to see if it will clean out the jets. (second suggestion from my engine man). It is running now (with a string holding the choke back to keep it running), and will let the entire tank of gas run through it.

I really hope this works..... i really like the mower, but I had hoped with the honda engine, that I would have it at least a few years before I started having trouble.....

Mar 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Parts for Blackmax mower from Sam's
by: BoomerFT

I bought this mower in 2010 from Sam's. Aside from some drive issues with it I have had no major warrantied problems. Lowes carries blades, etc for it. I did have trouble locating a parts supplier when my grasscatcher tore at a seam inside. I followed the same trail so many failed at and finally found results by searching for "AYP mower parts". This company has a lengthy parts list page for all AYP mowers... you just need the number from inside the parts book.
http://www.outdoordistributors.com/
This page will take a long time to load so be patient!

If you can't find your manual go to http://www.oscar-wilson.com/model_lookup.html and enter your model number.

Hope this helps... my wife was getting tired of my grumbling as I searched here & there. Parts ordered so I'm happy :-)

Feb 29, 2012
Rating
star
this mower suuuuuuuuuuuuuucks!!!!!
by: Anonymous

I bought this piece of crap at Sam's. Used it a few times, then it wouldn't start. Took it back, they gave me another. The second one ended up with a broken right rear wheel. Took it back after reading just how much a piece of crap this mower is. This time they wouldn't take it back. They gave me a number to call (602-774-2010) to get a replacement wheel. This was the wrong number (it was Husqvarna motorcycles) ?? The guy at Husqvarana said to go to norwalkpowerequipment.com to get help. Went there at got their number (562.868.5615). Some smart alic at that company ran his mouth but said that he couldn't go off of the model # of the mower to identify the wheel part number. I found the parts manual and gave him the part number of the wheel. He found a match and said that the mower was made by American Yard Products. I tried to find their web site but they don't have one. They must be too ashamed to have one. Anyway, I finally found a wheel at the local Sears store for less than what that smart alic at norwalk power equipment quoted me. Nowhere on this mower does it say "American Yard Products". I'm fed up with Sam's and the crap they sell.

Dec 02, 2011
Rating
star
cracked rear wheel
by: Anonymous

We just cleaned and stored our fairly new lawn mower and surprisely found rear wheels cracked. Then looking into the manual and tried to find a dealer nearby, no 1-800 number was found in user manual and repair book. Does anybody know if I could have warranty to cover the wheel replacement? I bought in the end of April and only used a few times. Very poor design as other users said.

Nov 05, 2011
Rating
star
DO NOT buy this crap
by: Anonymous

Bought the crap on April 2011 at Sam's Club. After less 10 times use, it completely stopped working. I tryied to restart it for over 40 minutes but no luck. DO NOT buy this crap. I learned my lessons.

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
Broken Wheel in less than 1 year
by: Anonymous

WEll, it seems that broken wheels on this lawn mower are not uncommon at all, and sure enough now mine is broke in less than a year and fewer than 10 uses.

But, fortunately, the recommendation here to get a replacement wheel from Craftsman at Sears... This was much appreciated

Sep 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
WHAT DO YOU WANT?
by: Anonymous

C'mon people. this is a $300 lawnmower. It's not a $500 Toro or $700 Snapper.. It has a Honda engine on a AYP body. Some of them are gonna have a few glitches.. Yeah the wheels have some flaws, but WITH CORRECT MAINTENANCE they should last a few years easy.. CLEAN OUT THE GEARS ON THE FRONT WHEELS! IT'S ONLY A COUPLE OF BOLTS!! clean 'em out at least twice a year, and DON'T GREASE THEM!! If you put grease on them they'll cake up with grass & dirt and they'll wear out faster.. The rear wheels? If your cracking the rears then your trying to turn the mower with the front wheels on the ground.. PICK 'EM UP! Use clean gas, from a good clean container. CHANGE THE BLEEMIN OIL, at least once a year. This is basic mower care. Buy a few extra front wheels. they're less than $20.. check the belt now and then..

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
return to Sams
by: MLB

Sams will take the Black Max back even after an extended period..Think these are lemons and they are getting a lot back...I went and got a nice Toro.

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Got rid of mine
by: MLB

Bought a Black Max at Sams April 2 this year.. used it five times (since we are in drought only have to cut grass every 3 or four weeks). During fifth use the mower quit and would not start again. Cleaned filter checked fuel lines finally disassembled and cleaned carb.. all did no good. Called Sams and they let me return it..(after 5 months use) no questions asked.. and gave me in store credit for entire purchase.. I certainly would not reccommend this mower..It is too heavy and self propel is hard to use. Thats my opinion

Sep 01, 2011
Rating
star
crap
by: Anonymous

Do not buy this. It's a piece of crap. My black max goes for a quarter acre then needs more gas and it gets clogged up every time.

Aug 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
rear wheel
by: Anonymous

u can use the sear's craftman rear wheels as a replacement

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
star
Back wheel fell off.
by: Anonymous

I bought this Honda at Sams in March 2011 and today the back wheel fell off. The wheel was cracked fell apart from the bolt. Cheaply made except for the Honda motor. Will never buy lawn equipment from Sams.

Aug 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
owner of lawnmower Black Max
by: Lee Dhouti

The front wheel of my Black Max Lawnmower froze after about one and a half years of use. It is a front wheel self propelled mower. I took the wheel off looked in the owners manual and found the part number. I find after calling that there's no way for me to purchase the wheel from Honda. Why have a part's guide with the number? I have to find some shop to take it i suppose. All you have to do is put the wheel back on the axle and tighten the nut no mystery no genius required.

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Faulty back wheels
by: Fred Wood

I purchased my Honda Black Max lawnmower at Sam's club about four (4) months ago. Easy handling, easy start; however, the back wheels have cracked at where they were bolted on. Today, one fell off. After looking at them, they were poorly built. I plan to try to get replacements from the manufacturer. If not for the wheels falling apart, everything else was great.

Aug 11, 2011
Rating
starstar
Honda- good name with Cheap parts
by: dan mercado

I purchased my blackmax in may 2011, the rear 12" wheels are very cheaply made. One wheel already broke off. I've only used it 11 times on a small (40' x 25') beautyfully manicured front yard.
WHAT A SHAME!!!!!

Aug 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Rear Wheels
by: perry

My Black Max has been used only 5 times to cut grass thsi summer,both rear wheels,made of a cheap plastic is cracked and wobbly..what a shame i was impressed because a friend has one thats just fine.

Aug 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You can adjust the drive speed...
by: Anonymous

For all the people saying It's too fast, you don't have to use it at max speed lol. There are 2 bars, the bar on the front of the handle is the safety handle, the bar on the back of the handle is the drive speed adjuster, if you want to go slower don't push it all the way to the handle and it will go much slower...

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

I bought this Lawnmower at Sam's and continue to have front wheel issues and cannot find where to get them at. Never again!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
ruint
by: Anonymous

my discharge shute has never stayed on, self propel wont stay adjusted, now sams says gone. does anyone know where i can buy a discharge chute for it?

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
black max mowers are not honda mowers
by: Anonymous

i read alot of these comment's people think that black max is a honda,, NO!!!! it is a ayp mower with a honda engine on it . i seen one guy said he is going to buy a john deere ,,lol ,just because it is green and yellow dont meen it was built by john deer ..john deere does not build any lawn mower AT ALL !!!!! they are made by MTD ,AYP and Murray and painted green and yellow so do not be fooled and think you are getting a true john deere it is a cheapo in desquise why pay more when you can go buy the cheapo for less but if you want to waste your money be my guest Toro makes there own mowers and honda makes mowers both are great machines my advice is find a dealer and purchase from them not big box stores or john deere fakes

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Wheels Are Junk
by: Anonymous

I bought the mower from Sam's Club in April. Liked the Honda engine and the price. After 3 months of use both rear wheels have cracked. What a mistake buying this mower. Deere will be my next purchase; no more cheap mowers from Sam's Club!

Jul 14, 2011
Rating
star
Returning this cheap mower!
by: Anonymous

We too have had the rear plastic wheel break on ly after about the 4th use!! Very hard to get a hold of anyone to talk to about the problem--Sam's club said they will give me a full refund!! Thanks goodness.....

Jul 04, 2011
Rating
starstar
Wheels break off
by: Scott

I had my Blackmax for 1 month and used it 3 times, on the 3rd time, the rear wheel broke completely off. I took it back to Sams and was refunded my money, but the kicker is, the girl at the register said that was the 3rd Blackmax that had been returned for a broken wheel. I took the money, went elsewhere and bought a Toro.

Jul 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hope this helps
by: Anonymous

parts diagram and listing---http://www.oscar-wilson.com/MANUALS/AYP/96144000500.PDF

a place to buy the parts-----http://www.doitbestparts.com/default.asp

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
Black Max Wheel
by: Tony T

Thornton,

Husqvarna is the maker of the mower. You can call them and order a wheel, although I would suggest ordering all four--you'll need them. You will need the model # and serial #. They may send you to a dealer, or they may ship it directly to you. Good luck. When I called to complain about the mower, they suggested that Sam's had made a mistake. I'm not sure anyone at Husqvarna has actually mowed a lawn. I just picture engineers sitting around a room trying to invent improvements.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
Black Max-Rear tire replacement
by: thornton@hscommercial.com

Can anybody tell me how i can find a replacement wheel (right rear) for this mower? The plastic wheels are the pits, but i need help!

Jun 11, 2011
Rating
starstar
disappointed
by: timothy.w.oleary@verizon.net

I'm unhappy with this mower.
Main problem is it very heavy and unable to pull itself on slight grades, much less hills. It seems power is not getting to both wheels.
Also it chokes and clogs so I do not use the bag. One of the clips on the side chute broke too. I think from hitting against bushes and other objects.
So I hold the back flap partially open with a bungee.
So weekends are spent wrestling with this piece of crap and getting covered with clippings.

It always starts though. I cannot recommend a better mower, do not recommend this one; but cannot get another one until this one dies. I logged on today to find out how to adjust the drive wheels and couldn't resist an opportunity to vent. It's a hundred out there.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
JUNK YARD DOG
by: MY JOHNSON

DRIVE IS FLAWED PLASTIC GEARS GARBAGE.....

May 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need manual for Honda Blackmax 961440005
by: Nels

Does anyone have a source for a manual for this lawnmower? Just bought the last one at Sam's today and it did not have the manual.

May 26, 2011
Rating
star
I hate this mower
by: Tony T

Just got this mower yesterday because Sam's offered it as a replacement for my 2-year old mower with the stripped front wheels. The wheels on the old mower stripped because there are no ball bearings or nylon sleeves on the shaft--only metal on metal. So if there is moisture, your wheels will rust and seize up.

Anyway, the bottom of the bag doesn't fit cleanly on the mower, so when I started it up, I got a face full of lawn dust. The bag is smaller than the old one, and when I tried to lift it out, the bag frame is wider than the mower handles!

I'm returning it!

May 25, 2011
Rating
star
didn't last a month
by: Steve Humleker

Purchased the BlackMax @ Sams Club, and the third time I used it, the left rear wheel cracked into pieces and fell over. The manual that came with it describing the Warranty says I have to pay to ship it to N.C.,( I'm in Northern VA) pay for the shipping costs, and they don't even supply a phone number or email for the warranty site.

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Blade Adapter
by: KB

Im looking for a Blade Adapter for a Honda Black Max GCV Self Propelled 22 in walk behind Mower....Its been a good mower but hard to find parts for, Did see a comment about a Sears Poulan brand that is the same as the Black Max....Thank you for your help

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
sticking valve
by: max thompson

bought new black max honda powered new run 10 min would not start valve stuck removed valve cover freed up valve cover back on run 20 min shut off same thing tryed to start valve stuck a honda engine made in china i think any one else having this prob. hope not

May 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BlackMax replacement drive wheels
by: Anonymous

Just bought front replacement wheels for BlackMax at Home Depot for 16.95 per wheel.Made for a Toro 22" mower.Had to buy two because replacements are 1/2 " taller

May 12, 2011
Rating
starstar
disappointed
by: Naperville, IL

I bought this mower late season 2010 specifically because it had a HONDA engine. I used the factory supplied oil for two cuts and then replaced it with synthetic oil that will hold up better to the heat. The engine is just plain WEAK. I bought to mulch with and it takes very little grass to bog it down and cause it to stall. Now I wish I had bought another brand. Shame on Honda for selling such a low powered motor. Shame on Sam's for pimping a piece of junk. It appears that Sam's and Honda win and the customer loses.

AVOID this mower.

May 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Are these wheels right for my mower?
by: Tom

I also have a 2 year old Blackmax Model Sm2155SP from Sam's club. The front drive wheel gears are stripped.
I started ordering the wheels Fikitin5minuts' listed and noticed the part number is different than the one listed in the parts manual. The manual lists part number 180769 which Sears shows as 8x2 wheel but out of stock. The part 193912X460 is in stock and cheaper but listed as 8x1.75. I want to make sure these wheels will interchange before I order them. Thanks.

May 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black Max SM2155SP
by: Richard

Apparently this mower is identical to Sears POULAN SM2155SP. Search the web using the latter name and you get two nice diagrams with all the parts. I followed Fikitin5minuts' advice and got new Sears drive wheels - the teeth on mine were completely worn through except for one small section on one wheel. Used the 10% discount code and the total cost was $39.47. The wheels were easy to put on. Started it up and got no drive. Tipped it over on the side opposite the fuel filler (be sure the oil cap is on tight) and removed the blade nut and the debris shield's two screws. Lo and behold the belt had risen up and departed the pulley which is part of the blade adapter. This had caused a loose belt. After removing the drive cover (one screw) I removed the belt from the drive pulley and then struggled to put the belt back onto the blade adapter pulley which will slide down about two inches. I can't tell you exactly how to do this because of the design of the debris shield which half-way encompasses the pulley. Somehow I did it. I then reinstalled the debris shield and the blade. Then, with my wife's help, put the belt back onto the drive pulley using a flat screwdriver to wedge the belt while turning the blade nut with a socket wrench in the same direction as tightening the nut. Started it up and it worked like new. Hopefully, this may be the problem experienced by those having a drive failure. The thing is that the belt may appear to be tight but it isn't.



May 09, 2011
Rating
star
HONDA?????
by: Anonymous

You people are so stupid... Its a BLACK MAX with a Honda on it ...Honda does not make that mower they just supply the engines! and you bought it where??? Sams? ok yes I forget they are the experts on out door power equipment and not an out door power equipmet dealer!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Crap
by: Anonymous

I though Honda made great things, Boy was i wrong Did anyone tell Honda that the wheels are a piece of crap. i give it two more weeks, if this does it again it goes back, And why???? does Sames buy surplus Crap anyway.. We should be getting good stuff We by into Sam's Club for a reason right, Stop it Sam's or we will go to Costco

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
Can You Help with Honda Blackmax?
by: Rick

I purchased a Honda Black Max from Sam's Club.
I have used it only 3 times and every time I have to pull a minimum of 8 times to get it started. I have tried pumping the choke but it doesn't seem to work. Also the rpms are so fast it often spins the front wheels and rubs the grass away. I really have to hustle to keep up - it is not fun!

Can anybody please help!

Apr 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Rear Wheels
by: Gary

Bought Black Max from Sam's on 3/10/2011. On 4/12/2011 (just over 30 days) after normal use cutting my lawn the rear wheel center hubs are cracked and the wheels are about to fall off. Called Sam's and they said they would take it back. Love the Honda engine though. Was skeptical about the design of the rear wheels when I purchased it.

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Self propel not propeling
by: Jack

self propel would not work. Found the drive belt was off the pulley wheel located between the blade and the engine. Using caution and good safety procedures, a must do. The black cover over the wheel pulley at the top front of the mower, loosen one screw and remove black cover. Tilt the mower on it's side with the gas cap up furthurest from the ground.
Then under the mower the Blade bolt and the blade has to come off and two screws holding the plastic cover the blade mount goes through. Now you have access to the drive belt. inspect the belt and if necessay repace it or remont it.

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Grass Bag Attach..
by: Kaptan

On mine, you lift the black plastic "deflector" and the wire on the "grass bag" hooks into the hinge of the black plastic deflector.. the deflector does NOT come off.. it just rides up out of the way so that the grass can enter the bag.

Mar 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
need help to attach the grass bag
by: Anonymous

I have a great mower I have been using over a year and praise it every day as it works real well. I find that I need to clean the area that has the pulley as the grass will collect there. Now I need help to attach the grass bag. I do not understand how to put it on. I do not have a manual and if someone has one that I could have I would love to get it.

Feb 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Who makes this mower??
by: CalTex

Looked at this mower at Sam's. The Sam's website lists an 800 number as a referral for questions and support. I called the number. They answer as "Husqvarna customer Service." The rep. I spoke with knew NOTHING about this mower, who makes it, etc. She said Husqvarna "owns Black Max" but doesn't make the mower. She put me on hold to find out more info., but eventually came back with ....NOTHING. This is wierd! I enjoyed reading all the comments about this Black Max powered by Honda mower sold at Sam's Club, but now am leery about buying one because of warranty support, parts hassles, etc. I think I'll stick with mowers rated highly by Consumer's Rerots, but may cost a few dollars more. Thanks for all the info.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Try this... can't hurt.
by: Anonymous

Sounds like you've got some trash in it.. This is very common.. there is no "fuel filter".. and you can get stuff from the gas can, or grass, dirt, and such from mowing, and taking the cap off.. if it's floating around in the tank, the motor will start, then the trash clogs the pick up, and it dies.. the suction then stops, and the trash floats away.. the motor starts again, and the process is repeated.. disconnect the line from the tank to the carb, and flush the tank out with gas, and/or alcohol.. a good bottle of rubbing alcohol will do fine.. reconnect the tube, fill with fresh gas, and try it again.

Nov 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starts..but won't stay running by: Joyce
by: Odell

Hey Joyce,

I ran into the same problem with mine. I tried using the warranty feature from the manufacturer and took it to a locally authorized Honda engine dealer. Well, they claimed it was a contaminated fuel issue and wanted to charge $75 to clean out the fuel system and rebuild the carburetor. I had already drained and filled the fuel system 3 times and couln't imagine my carb needed to be rebuilt, so I said no and had to pay them their $32 check out fee. They didn't reassemble my lawnmower before giving it back to me, which showed showed their customer service characteristics. I got it home and used a can of carburetor cleaner and thoroughly sprayed every piece of the carburetor after disassembling it, and put it all back together. After that the lawnmower started working just like new. So if you have a friend or neighbor who is able to thoroughly clean out the carb and gas tank, have them try that. Good Luck!!!

Nov 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Starts..but won't stay running
by: Joyce

I bought my lawnmower @ Sam's 4/2010....used for one summer which was hot dry & hardly used. Now that I want to mulch & bag leaves...why I bought the unit, it will start but due to a problem with the choke will not stay running. After all previous reviews about problems with the product...I'm gonna try to return it to Sams.

Oct 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Model number when ordering parts at Sears
by: David S.

This model just does not show up as a Black max or honda mower or HOP mower - but using this info they can find it -


states Mfg. id 96144000201 and model # SM2155SP.
-------------------------------------------------
Using that information Sears can find this model and order parts for it -

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
self propel stopped working by: Carl Rosby
by: Odell

Hey Carl,

I bought mine in April this year and needed some warranty work done on it. The manual that came with mine said it had a 2 year warranty with the mower. I had to call the Honda number to find the locally approved Honda work shops. So, if you still have your booklet that came with your mower, it should state the 2 year warranty span. You will need the proof of purchase when you take it in though. I hope this helps and good luck.

Odell

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Odells problem? by: Kaptan
by: Odell

Thank you Kaptan for your advice. I had taken it to a Honda approved shop and they told me that since I was using gasoline from my gas can and it was 2 weeks old, that the gas destroyed my carburetor and had to be rebuilt. Needless to say, I think that theory is all wrong. I pick it up today and will disassemble the carb and check it out. I did verify that plent of gas was available to the carb by disconnecting the hose to it. I will let you know what I find out.
Thanks again!!

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
self propel stopped working
by: Carl Rosby

I purchased a Honda Blackmax lawn mower at Sam's in
March 2009. A week ago the self propel stopped working. The mower is only 18 months old. I have small yard. Shouldn't there be some warranty on it?

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Odells problem?
by: Kaptan

Odell, it sounds like you have a problem getting fuel to the carb.. Choking it, or "partialy" choking it, helps suck fuel.. SO perhaps a fuel filter is clogged up, or there is trash in the carb?.. check for kinks in the fuel line as well.. It's just not getting enough gas.

Aug 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Won't stay running
by: Odell

My Blackmax is just a few months old and was doing great until yesterday. It wouldn't stay running unless I wedged something under the auto choke lever to keep it partially choked. Then after about 45 minutes, it quit running all together. It will run for a couple of seconds when choke starting it, then stop. I've removed all gas from it, in case it was contaminated and refilled. It still does the same thing. I even changed the spark plug, which looked good. Has anyone experienced this or have any suggestions? All is appreciated. Thank you

Aug 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starter Cord stuck
by: Anonymous

The engine is great but I experience the problem with starter cord. It happened couple times.

The engine ran out of gas and stop. After refilling the gas and tried to restart the engine the starter cord got stuck. I did make it it moving last time but not this time. It did not given in a bit.

Any advice? Thanks!!



Aug 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Black Max/ Honda Engine
by: Anonymous

The engine is great, quiet and powerful, as good as any engine, any good engine in the market, starts from first pull, never failed. The mower body is a cheap primitive design, like the ones in the seventies with poorly design front wheel drive (self-propelled). No innovation or sophistication there. You are paying for the engine. Would I buy one at full price, of course not. You can add may be $50 more or wait for a sale and get a better one.
Well you got a Honda engine, period. No website for the manufacturer, needed a manual.


Aug 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Engine surges
by: Anonymous

I bought a Black Max at Sams. It starts easy and runs fine for about two minutes then the engine starts to surge and then eventually dies. Minor adjustments to the carburetor didn't fix the problem.

Jul 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bagger leaks by.
by: Wayne

Had mine about one year. This is the best starting mower I've owned and I've had several. Recently, the rear plastic cover seems to have warped and the springs do not close the door well enough to prevent a lot of grass to be blown back into the driver. I have tied the door to the bag and that helps a little. I am disappointed in the bagger section. Wheels are still pulling but maybe I'll consider cleaning them internally as some have done.

Jul 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ONE MORE THING!
by: Kaptanj

I also have found that the gear doesn't line up with the teeth in the wheel real well.. This can be improved by removing the big washer on the axle and replace it with a thinner washer. The original washer is about 3/16" thick. If you replace it with a washer that has the same size hole, but only 1/16" thick, you allow the gear to seat further into the wheel. It also helps the dirt cover (black plastic) fit a little better on the wheel. It's not a cure, it just makes it better.. You'll stil have to clean out the gear tracks but maybe a little less often.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
New Wheels, Great Mower.
by: Kaptanj

New wheels on the way THANKS FIXITIN5MIN!! YOU DA MAN!! hell, the coupon discount code even works! I ordered 3 wheels. The one opisite the worn out one looks like brand new. One thing I think about this "weakness" of the drive, DON'T PULL BACKWARDS on the mower while the drive is engaged.. The metal gears don't engage the wheel "perfectly" and then grass and dirt kinda clogs up the space.. so when you pull back, and the wheel is already pushed away from the gear, riding on top of that grass in the gear, well, it doesn't take long to the the gear to slip some teeth, and then the wheel starts to wear.. These wheels come off real easy, so every two or three mowings, TAKE 'EM OFF AND CLEAN 'EM OUT!! Other than that, It's a fantastic mower. Starts first pull every time.. GOOD LUCK!! and thanks again for the link!!

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
star
Leaks More Oil Than The Deepwater Horizon
by: JS

Bought this mower at Sam's less than 30 days ago, used it 3 times, and is now leaking oil bad around the bottom of the front aluminum cam cover. Really disappointed as I bought this mover specifically for the Honda engine. I anticipated the quality to be much better.

Jul 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blackmax fix
by: LIMODAVE

Ok, I bought the new wheels. Ive owned my blackmax for three years now, and this is the only problem Ive had out of it. I love the mower. I dont think that a recall is in order, I think its routine maintenance. Ive changed the blade once, the spark plug once and the oil once. My initial fill of oil was with full synthetic. It has always started on the first pull every time! It even started on the first pull after being stored over the winter with the old gas, a bit shocking if you ask me. Ive never owned a more trouble free lawn mower. If youre looking for quality this is it. A little routine maintenance goes a long was! The new front wheels are available through sears as listed in this forum, mine were $40 for the pair shipped, and after three years I consider this a bargain as compared to the cost of a new mower. I love my Blackmax! I wouldnt trade it for the world. It gets my highest ratings all around! A+++++++++++++++ and then some!

Jul 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Fix Self Propelled Black Max
by: FIX IT in 5 Minutes!!!

The self propelled Black Max Honda mower from Sam's stops pulling effectively after about 1 year. The metal gear meshes with the plastic wheel. Replacement Black Max mower wheels are available from SEARS online under $40 including tax & shipping - Craftsman part #193912X460 for $15.94 each (you need to replace both).

http://www.searspartsdirect.com/partsdirect/showPart.pd?partNumber=193912X460&productGroupId=0071&supplierId=917

Add 2 wheels to cart & apply coupon code# 90064
(for 10% off)

Use std shipping - My wheels came in 4 days (Dallas TX to FL).

a 9/16" wrench is all you need - 5 minutes later & it pulls like new! (for another year)...

NOW GO FIX IT!

Jun 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Failed drive component
by: Dave in New Orleans

Like so many who have posted here, I love the engine but have trouble with the drive system since it barely spins the front wheels when lifted and won't budge the mower when lowered back to the ground. John in his May 18th response has hit the nail on the head with the plastic issue. Seems like planned part failure on the part of the manufacturer to get us to buy replacement parts or that some bean-counting accountant/contractor figured the company could save "thirty cents" or so per machine by not going with metal.
Anyway, maybe court action may be needed to get a recall or reparations. Also, it is time to notify Wal-Mart headquarters, the parent company of Sam's and let them put pressure on this shoddy drive system!

Jun 24, 2010
Rating
star
Self Propelled stinks
by: Anonymous

I just purchases the mower at sams club. it worked good the first two times and now the self propelled part does not work. if you are on flat surface and pick front up the wheels spin but when you put it down it does not pull at all. I am going to try to take it back. I love the engine but the self propelled is useless.

Jun 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Black Max
by: Anonymous

I bought a Black Max at Sam's. Have used for over 1 year now with out problems. Runs GREAT. Starts on first pull (with choke on). I, however, would recomend if you have the money, get the Honda.

Jun 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Out Doorsman
by: Charles

Just purchased the Honda Blackmaz today. My Craftman died on me so I was in dire need to get my lawn mowed. Went every where shopping for a new mower. Saw this one at Sams and liked the feature and price. I've had a self-propelled mower so this one appealed to me. Would not start on my first try then realized I forgot to move the choke lever. Started it again and walla! Away it went. I mowed my yard and loved the way it mulches. Washed it off with the hose and it's now sitting in my garage. Will use it again soon. I'll report back if I experience any problems.

May 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Poor workmanship on drive
by: Jesse Blanchard

I bought this unit at Sam's Club and the drive on the first one went out the first time I used it so I brought it back to Sam's. I ask for another thinking it was just the one unit defected but the second one went out a few weeks after. Too Late to return it. So I guess I'm stuck with it. The engine is great and runs smooth and is one reason I bought this mower the other is the self-propel feature. Not happy with the fact that I bought a new mower for it's propel feature and I can't do nothing about it. Sam's still sells the mower. I would not recommend this unit.

May 18, 2010
Rating
starstar
SELF PROPEL
by: JOHN

THIS UNIT HAS A METAL DRIVE GEAR WITH PLASTIC TEETH ON THE WHEELS OF THIS FRONT SELF PROPEL DRIVE LAWN MOWER. THERE IS NO UPGRADE AND IT IS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. I WOULD NOT SUGGEST ANYONE TO BUY THIS UNIT. I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE OF THE HANDA MOTOR. BUT IF I KNEW IT HAD PLASTIC TEETH, I WOULD HAVE TAKEN A PASS ON THIS. AS FOR FINDING PARTS. GOOD LUCK. HONDA PARTS OK. BUT NOT THE LAWN MOWER. I AM CONSIDERING SELLING OR TRADING IN THE UNIT FOR A DIFFERENT BRAND. HUSQURANA WHICH IS A SWEDEN COMPANY SHOULD REPLACE THESE WHELLS AT NO CHARGE FOR THEIR POOR JUDGEMENT AND MY TROUBLES. I AM NOT GETTING THE FULL BENEFIT OF THE SELF PROPEL FEATURE.

May 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Blackmax
by: Mike

Just purchased the Honda Blackmax from Sams Club. Ended up returning it. It has an automatic choke and prefer manual choke so that it stays in position and you change it when you want to. With this unit it was like beat the clock once you moved choke to start position to then go and pull starter cord. You have to be real fast. Unit started up once for me and then wouldn't start again. So back it went. Going to try a Honda or a lawnboy.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Honda Mower Consumer Reviews.