Honda HRR216 Lawn Mower

by Rusty
(Louisville KY)

Blade Brake Clutch known as BBC for short. That's the reason I buy Honda mowers. Release the safety bail and the blade stops turning but the engine continues to run. That's the way a mower should be. Kids toys, lawn adornments, bag emptying and all the other things that require a temporary halt of mowing operations won't make me restart the mower to resume. It's running and ready to go soon as I pull back the bail handle. I've been using that feature since my first Honda in 1992 with my HR216SMA. After 17 years, it gave up the ghost so I've replaced it with a 2009 model HRR216.


Then there's the Honda warranty. 3 years standard. If you'd bought before May 31 of 2009, they added another year. 4 year warranty. That's good. I bought from my local Honda mower dealer for the same price as Home Depot but since I bought from the dealer, he will provide a loaner mower while mine's in the shop if it needs warranty work.

The Honda self-propulsion mechanism is truly functional. Other brands don't come close.

Cheapest self-propelled mower I could find was $320. This Honda HRR216 cost me $500. For the extra $200 I got: (1) Blade Brake Clutch, (2) self-propulsion that's reliable, (3) local dealer with parts on hand when I need them, (4) a 4 year warranty. It's worth the extra money to me.

Comments for Honda HRR216 Lawn Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
mower will not back up
by: Hatwood

Florida mower you are exactly correct! Took the bushings out, cleaned and greased them, it works perfectly now. I sure all my times hosing it off after I am done contributed to the problem.
Pretty simple, you will just need a set of snap ring pliers and basic hand tools. Took me about an hour.

Thanks for the good info

Oct 22, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
PROBLEM SOLVED
by: Florida Mower

Can't believe all the misinformation on this!

My problem was the same ... And the solution was simple.

As long as both rear wheels ratchet .. The problem is farther in ... But NOT the transmission!

LUBE THE SHAFT BUSHINGS AT EACH REAR WHEEL.

They start to seize up, but will work forward becausr you are under power. Pulling back .. No go!

Lube once a season and they will be fine. It fixed my "can't pull backwards" problem.

EASY.

Sep 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
will not roll backwards and tanny not engaging.
by: Anonymous

Same here, my Honda walk behind mower transmission is trash, and after take it back to home depot for transmissions replacement. Yes you guess it, the transmission quit working again and won't roll or pull backwards. Now no warranty and can only push it fwd with lots of drag the motor on the other hand is working strong. Honda should not have ever made this mower a self propel, it is better off with out a transmission or rear wheels. I'm glade I kept my Ole Craftsman it a far better mower at 20 yrs old than this Honda was brand New.

Sep 11, 2014
Rating
star
Won't backup
by: Anonymous

Wheels won't turn in reverse after 2 years. Defective crap.

Oct 06, 2013
Rating
star
Mower can't be pulled backwards either
by: Anonymous

We purchased this mower in August of 2012. Problems started not long after that. Used it to the end of fall. I replaced the tranny oil myself, made adjustments, greased the gears in the rear rachet assembly.

this Spring we took it back to Home Depot where we bought it from. the mechanic there called Honda on the phone, made whatever adjustments there are to make and gave it back. Now it is all but useless.

I've never seen such a poor design from a reputable company.

Aug 06, 2013
Rating
star
Can't pull backwards
by: Ric

I'm another one of those Honda owners whose mower will not roll backwards. It has been in 2 different authorized Honda repair shops since March of this year (5 months) and no one can determine the cause. The ratchet assemblies in the wheels have been cleaned and lubed, the belt and even the transmission have been replaced, but it has not been fixed. I bought this mower last year and only got 1 season of use out of it before the problem started. Now for my $400, I have a non-functioning parts mower and had to buy a new (not Honda) mower to use this summer. I won't even get into the starting issue due to the auto-choke not closing properly. Don't believe the hype about Honda's "legendary" reliability.

Jul 11, 2013
Rating
star
can't pull backwards
by: Bob

My other Honda was great, had three speed trans. This new trans sucks. Smart Drive, yeah.

Jul 11, 2013
Rating
star
Garbage
by: Anonymous

Just bought one of these, and I'm returning it a.s.a.p. Weak engine can't manage 3" tall grass without bogging/killing. Tiny bag fills too quickly, and spews the rest. Forget about sucking up your clippings when your done from the sidewalk-this only blows them around for more mess. Utter disappointment. Weak, weak engine! For $400 at HD, they can keep it!

Apr 15, 2012
Rating
star
Mover won't back-up
by: Martin

Very disappointed... the mover wheels won't back-up. I can't find any way to repair it on the web. Only cleaning parts 2 to 7 do not work. The only solution I see is to replace the transmission.. .but I don't want to go there.

Apr 01, 2012
Rating
star
Surprising diissapointing
by: Anonymous

I am a life long user of Honda cars and still swear by them. Did some research to buy a new lawn mower when my 13 year old Craftsman died. The Home depot guy told me Honda mowers are the very best. So bought one yesterday. Added oil, gas etc and started in just one pull. The mower was lightweight compared to my older craftsman one.
But after a few minutes I heard a pop sound and the mower just stopped and would not restart. The starter cord became very tight. So returned that junk back to Home Depot.

Very dissappointed with the Honda mower quality.

Sep 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good lawn mower
by: Andrew

Overall, this is a good lawn mower. But Honda could transform this mower into the berst ever builded if the plastic wheels and brass transmission were replaced with light steel material, no matter if they have to increased the perice a little bit. Current materials make this lawn mower have trasmission problems

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
trans problems
by: Anonymous

Same reverse trouble with the trans. It was that way right out of the box. Can't find a cure on the net other than purchase another transmission. No warranty from our loser dealer here.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
pulls back hard
by: Anonymous

i'm ready to dump the sucker

May 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Honda self propelled mowers
by: Gary Alford

You need to find a better mechanic, when serviced right these mowers are unbeatable, but they do take preventive maint. to work right.

May 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Tranny
by: Anonymous

I have the same tranny problem...I came to the net this morning to try and find root cause.

Apr 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
trans problems
by: Anonymous

MY hrr216 IS Really hard to pull backwards
its been to the shop once to get the ratchets
serviced then back to get the trans replaced.
and to no avail. it skids the rear wheels on the garage floor...
Im at a loss, not willing to dump more money into it or pawn my problems on an innocent buyer..

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Honda Mower Consumer Reviews.