Honda HRS push type

by Anil
(Chantilly,VA USA)

I bought this Honda lawn mower three years back. The instruction manual is not clear due to which I have put motor oil in gasoline tank. Finally I have set it up with help of a handyman. The biggest problem with this lawn mower is it's start mechanism. Every weekend when I go to mow my lawn it is challenge to start the lawn mover.


Even if I follow all the instructions it takes me 15-30 minutes just to start. By the time it starts it has so much motor oil pushed into it that entire lawn is filled with smoke and looks like smoke chamber. Once it starts it works very well. The Honda should look into start mechanism and improve upon it. The engine is good and mower works just fine once it is started. In hundred odd dollars it is good deal and great machine if start mechanism is improved.

The plus point is the smoothness with which it cuts the grass. Even though my model is push type it does not really require extra effort to push it. Another area of improvement in this model can be to provide easy option to adjust grass cutting at different levels like deep cut vs shallow cut. I remember the manual talking something about height adjustment but I never could figure this out. Since this is designed to be used by house owners not professional mowers it needs to have easy way to configure and start mechanism.

Otherwise this model is work well for me so far. In past three years I have used it several times for my 20*20 lawn. It is perfectly fine, and it does not take a lot of gas also. The engine oil is required a lot due to deficiency in start mechanism but gas consumption is just fine. I will rate this to be two out of five.

Comments for Honda HRS push type

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
just need an opinion
by: Joanne

Sound's like people are more interested in Anil's mistake that giving a revue on a Honda mower? (people can be very hurtful) I'm not sure weather to go Honda or Toro? I need something well priced but good enough to cut 1/4 acre and mulch well? (and last for a few years!)

Feb 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Shear entertainment value...
by: Anonymous

I give this review a 5-star rating for shear entertainment value alone. Really, some people should just pay somebody to mow their yard (and take care of any other tasks requiring common sense and basic, fundamental knowledge) for them. People like this are a danger to themselves and others standing nearby.

I don't care if you speak English and can read the manual or not, there's a reason why there is a picture of a gas pump molded into the gas tank cap! Wait for it...IT'S BECAUSE THAT'S WHERE THE GAS GOES!

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
star
Really Man??
by: Anonymous

I'm not trying to hate or anything but the GAS tank is for GAS and OIL tank (the one with the dipstick) is for OIL. Just future reference!

May 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wow. Functional Literacy
by: Anonymous

Too bad manufacturers and retailers can't limits their sales to only the functionally literate. I suppose they couldn't sell enough product to say in business. To not know what a 4-stroke and a 2-stroke motor is and requires is a failure of the consumer. Knives are sharp. metal is heavy. Good coffee is hot coffee. Too much booze makes you drunk. Falling from high places causes injury. Ice is cold. Bears poop in the woods. It's garbage like this that makes manufacturers alter products so that people who know how to use them can't find what works anymore.

Oh, by the way, staring directly into the sun and holding your breath for 5 minuets is fun and harmless and makes you gloriously wealthy.

Aug 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
HRS Review
by: Lawnmowerkiller

Thanks for your input Anil, I apologize for the comments from the Ku Klux Klan members that escaped from the retard hospital above.
P.S. don't put oil in the gas tank.....

Jun 14, 2009
Rating
star
I once read about...
by: Anonymous

someone who successfully sued a mower manufacturer when they cut off all their fingers after picking up the mower by the deck and using it as a hedge trimmer. They prevailed because the manual did not warn against this practice. Some people should never be allowed near anything with moving parts.

May 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Five star Mower
by: Holy Cow

The HRS push type is my mower of choice...It has an Easy-Start mechanism, and runs very quietly and efficiently.

I had no trouble with it in slightly wet grass that was rather thick due to excessive rains in recent weeks.

I do recommend keeping the mower clean after use...especially after mowing in heavy wet grass...but the 6 HP engine had NO TROUBLE cutting the lawn to a nice manicure finish.

Great mower.

May 08, 2009
Rating
star
You've got to be kidding
by: gp15

So, you put oil in the gas tank...and it's the manual's fault? I think they should stop selling pieces of machinery to goofballs like yourself that simply have NO UNDERSTANDING of Machinery.

SHEESH!!

Apr 02, 2009
Rating
star
learn to read English
by: Craftsman4ME

I don't think the problem is the manual. I think the problem may be you were born somewhere besides the UNITED STATES and don'r comprehend the English language. Maybe they need to print the owners manual in Hindu. Maybe you should just buy a water buffalo to eat your grass/ thus cutting your lawn...of course you would have to have another manual to figure out how to pick up the water buffalo's poop....knucklehead

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Honda Mower Consumer Reviews.