Honda HRX217HXA

by Sarah S
(APO)

Begged for Honda HRX 217HXA Lawn Mower....Should Have Passed It Up


I enjoy landscaping and recently have taken on doing everything because my husband works very long hours. A neighbor had purchased a new mower and after using it one day, I decided it was the mower we needed. The Honda HRX217HXA is not a cheap mower and took a lot of begging and convincing to finally get.

The first few times I used it, I was very pleased. I hate noise and was always bothered in the past with mowers because they were so loud but our new Honda HRX was very quiet. I also was flattered at its mulching ability. It worked like a charm everytime. The bag size is very large and saves time not having to stop and empty after every so often. I was always able to finish quite a bit before having to empty the bag out.

I started hating the mower because it would always stop. It was previously good at mulching but by the 3rd time I used it, mulching was something that it did the worst job at. It started causing me to get frustrated and it was time to return it then. No questions asked. Next time I will check out a mower better. Just because it says Honda doesn't mean it is always quiality.

Not recommended.

Comments for Honda HRX217HXA

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 14, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reverse Problems
by: Anonymous

I have owned this mower since July,2014 it worked fine until after three mows and that's when my reverse got hard to pull back after 25 minutes into my mow.
I contact Honda Canada and they suggested I take it back to have the Mechs. look at it which I did.
Their answer was that they are all hard to pull in reverse.I knew it did have a drag on it at new but nothing like this.So they said I was weak and the answer to my it did it up to 25 minutes and worked fine after that was that the oil must have been cold.LOL.
I just mowed again today,like before still drags but worst when I pull it in reverse it drags the rear wheels over the grass.
After 25 minutes it work fine to the end.Clean the mower and it's hard to pull in reverse again.I use a 10 lb pull scale and it won't move ,looks like it might take 20 lbs. before it will reverse.
I checked all cables which appear to be loose when not engaged, but the symptom feels like the clutch is sticking which I assume is inside the hydrostatic.transmission.
Can any one shine some light on thios what the problem might be .
Thanks

Oct 29, 2013
Rating
starstar
Good engine, Poor quality mower
by: Stephen

Good engine and that is about it. Transmission will go out and a new transmission plus labor is more than the cost of a new one. Again transmission will fail! Mulching is poor at best and I kept the blades sharp and replaced them after 2 seasons. I cannot recommend this mower to anyone.

Sep 19, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

I bought this mower seven years ago when I retired and decided to do the lawn myself. The mower starts with only one pull. I suspect people who have starting problems may be using gas with ethanol. That will cause big problems.
Every three years I have the dealer service it. In between I change the oil, keep the filter clean, and sharpen the blades myself. I also am good about cleaning the underside and running it on dry grass whenever possible. I mainly mulch with it, but I do use the bad during the fall to aid in picking up and bagging leaves. I am expecting to get at least another seven years out of it. Best mower I ever had. Previous mowers were more difficult to start, difficult to clean, rusted easily, ran loud, and did not mulch nearly as well.

May 05, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent Mower
by: Walt

Purchased my Honda I 2007 from a Honda mower dealership.

Runs great, ALWAYS started on the first pull, never had problem until recently. Now it take two pulls to start. I think the problem is related to fuel I'm using. So, I'll change the filter, sparking plug and type of fuel, add some gum out and gas stabilizer and go from there.

I let you known how things work out.

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
Not worth the money
by: Keith

I waited a long time to purchase the mower of my dreams. I hoped this was the last lawn mower I would ever buy. I paid over $600.00 for my mower from Home Depot. Shortly after my purchase my mower had trouble starting . I took it back to Honda while it was under warranty. Honda could not find the problem or maybe they were too busy or lazy. After the warranty expired I took my mower to a independent repair man. He said I had a faulty valve and it would cost 250 to fix it. I should have stayed with my craftman. It never failed. Don't buy the HRX series and Honda doesn't stand behind their product . They gave me the run- a- round.

Apr 28, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hrx great mowers
by: prime

I've been using 2 of these commercially for 3 years now, 20 plus lawns per week. Other than adjustments to the cables its just been regular maintenance. I clean my mowers daily,deck air filter and blow out the engines. I installed hour meters on them and oil gets changed every 25 hours.
Thee mowers mulch better than any mower I have used.Bagging is really good even in wet grass. I find when its wet I have to leave the blade in gear to dump the bag or when you the blades stops all the grass suspended in the deck will drop,a real mess.But bags wet grass exceptionally well.
The mowers are a bit awkward at first,long handles ,blade clutch lever had to be held to remain in gear. Once I got used to the length it woks great. I make a pass or two around the perimeter of the lawn and turn the mower in the cut area. My solution to the blade clutch lever was to use industrial Velcro to hold the lever leaving just the drive lever to operate the mower,this works very well and makes the mower much easier to operate.
Versamow. Sounds good. What I found is this. Most times any setting tighter than 50/50 will result in the cute plugging with clippings and grass is being fully mulched. So for me there are only 2 settings, full mulch or full bag. Witch works very well. Some lawns have heavier growth in some area and lighter in others. Its real nice to switch from mulch to bag by simply flipping a lever, no plug to deal with.
Overall I'm very pleased with these mowers and plan to keep running the HRX A bit pricey but good value. I have considered other models,commercial and none seem to have the features that work well for my system of mowing.One mower has passed the 400 hr mark and has not had a trip to the dealer for repairs, not bad.

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
Not like the Honda's of the past
by: Matt in Northern California

This is the third Honda HRX I've owned. The prior two mowers got me through nearly 20 years. Not this one. After 3 years its ready to be junked. It lacks power. It's difficult to start. The blade control routinely pops out shutting the blade down. Simply put, it's not worth the money. I was told this past year that Honda no longer makes the mower. It contracts out and then slaps the Honda name on it. I'm not sure that's true but I can say, "this isn't the Honda I've know." Too bad.

May 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
follow up to slipping throttle issue
by: Anonymous

I had previously reported about a slipping throttle issue back in 2011. I have since fixed the problem. The issue seemed to the original throttle was made of too soft of plasic and wore a grove through the detents to the point of the choke posision or throttle setting wouldn't hold it's setting without slipping back to idle. The new handle, less than $2 appears to be made of a harder plastic so I'm hoping it's fixed for good now. It's a bit fiddly to fix but it's back working to no issues.

Apr 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda is the best!
by: Anonymous

My honda lawn mower is 10 years old and I just had to ring it into the dealer for repairs because the self propellant stopped working. I just purchased a snapper and I can't wait to get my honda back from the repair shop! I bought my Honda from Home Depot for $399. It has 3 speeds and is super "female friendly."

Sep 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best mower ever owned
by: DaveO

Bought the HRX217HXA from an authorized dealer. Best mower I've ever owned, having owned 6 or 7 now that I just turned 50. Last mower was a Toro super recycler, no comparison. The honda has all the same features as that machine and does everything better even rembering how the Toro performed when it was new. I could write a full page on how well the Honda works...but I'm keeping it short and sweet. It's the best lawnmower ever.

As for all the comments about mowers sputtering and dying, it's probably your gasoline. Gas contains 10% ethanol. ethanol separates from the gas, absorbs moisture from the air and and collects in the carb, or in your gas can at home. This is true for all small engines.

Add some gas stabilizer to your gas can and use some gumout.

Aug 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
hrx217hxa
by: Anonymous

I've had mine for about 6 years now and am real happy with it. It does need to have the bottom cleaned regularly for best performance more often when mulching which I must admit I'm not real good about doing. I started having a problem with the throttle not holding position and slipping back to idle which is a pain. Every thing seems real tight on the controls but not enough friction to keep the throttle from slipping. I've been using a clamp to hold it but that's also a pain. I couldn't find any info online about anyone else with this problem.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Perfect dealer svc
by: Anonymous

When my HRX217HXA stalled out for the third time I notified the dealer again via e-mail after 8pm that day. He corresponded later that evening and said he would come and pick it up the next day (60 mi rnd trip). By 10:30 the next morning my wife called and he had dropped off a brand new mower because he didn't want us to experience any further problems.

The new mower works and runs flawlessly. The dealer was such a professional I never second guessed my purchase. Problems can happen. I've learned to appreciate the people who make them go away.

Got a problem with a Honda mower? Work through it and you'll have a mower you will be proud of for a long, long time to come.

Jul 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HRX217 stalling out
by: Anonymous

Picked up my mower at a local Honda dealer yesterday 7-6-11. The dealer started it up there and in a couple of moments it bogged down and quit (almost sounding like the engine seized up). We checked the oil and restarted it. It ran fine.

I brought it home and went out to mow with it. Less than 2 minutes later it did the same thing. Restarted it in a minute or two after checking the oil again. It ran perfectly and I finished the rest of the yard.

Don't know what the problem was or is but notified the dealer of the second stall out. Got a response I was satisfied with and will continue to use the mower hoping it was something that will pass in time. Never had a mower quit like that before but it's running great now and I'm not giving up the Versamow and Roto Stop features.

I checked into or visited 3 dealers before finding one I was the most comfortable dealing with. The one I purchased from gives me every reason not to lose a minutes sleep over what might happen in the future.

Jun 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Reviews of reviews....(funny & sad)
by: Anonymous

My experience has been somewhere in the middle of the reviews written on this page. It is interesting to see the harsh comments from the critics of other reviewers. I wonder how it makes them feel? Hard to interpret if they don't want to admit they are also having issues with their mower or does it really make them feel better to be so critical of someone else's review and experience? I hope they resolve whatever is eating away at them on the inside.

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
Not up to the job
by: CC

Several years ago I bought one from Home Depot after previously using a neighbors and being impressed.
This one was very hard to start and low on power which combined with its heavy weight made mowing a real problem.
Sent it to an authorized service dealer and got it back six weeks later they said nothing was wrong.
Not trusting local service centers I marked select bolts with a paint drop, if the part had been checked there would be a broken paint splotch, none were broken and the mower ran the same,they had obviously never even looked at it, so back to Home Depot it went for a refund which was now past the refund date, wound up with an 800 dollar in store credit which sucked.


Jun 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No complaints in 19 years!!!
by: Anonymous

I just retired my first Honda after 19 years!!! Have now purchased a new HRX2172HXA. I only buy from an Authorized Honda dealer where they sell and service the mower. Not convinced Home Depot sales the same mowers. I know they done service them. Anyway all the folks that are having such drastic problems, sorry but I would passout if its not OPERATOR ERROR!!! There are 4 members of my family that only own Hondas and NONE of the issues that have been mentioned have ever happened to them. It is true maintenance is vital for the long term life of any machine. Hope things get better.

Jun 02, 2011
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

After two mows my $775 HRX mower also sputtered and died. I have a flat lush green lawn. The grass was not long nor wet. I had it dialed to 50/50 mulch/ bagging. The local dealer where I purchased it brand new has ideas of repairing the problem under warranty and returning it to me. Shouldn't I be entitled to a new mower? What else is wrong with it-who has time to deal with a defective lawnmower?

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Mower ever
by: Anonymous

I have owned this mower since they first came out, maybe 6+ years, I forget. I do remember it being expensive. It has been a dream. My worst problems are with the ethanol fuel causing problems. I would not own another mower and hopefully wont. i am getting ready to replace the bag after all this time and that is it. Cuts great, starts in one pull, easy to bag and dump. Honda definitelty means quality.

Feb 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
User Know-How Level
by: Pearlchaser

It's always a very good idea to provide your level of experience when rating products, something this young lady was thoughtful enough to do. Motorized equipment takes a little experience and maintenance for proper operation. Having said that, my experience with Honda's -- including everything from mowers to cars -- is that they required the least amount of maintenance and are the most reliable of any product out there!

I'm an aerospace engineer and one of those guys that can't help but tinker with things. I always find ways to improve, or sup-up, my motorized equipment - yes even my Honda mower.

Since your mower worked fine when you first used it, it's highly likely that you missed something in the maintenance or proper use of the unit. Going to another product will not fix this - you already bought the best!

P.S. I don't work for Honda nor do I have any stake in their companies. I'm just a fan of well engineered products and can spot them a mile away. As an American, I am in fact a little embarrassed that we don't have a product line to rival the reliability of Honda - and now they're making aircraft!

Oct 25, 2010
Rating
starstar
OVERPRICED AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
by: Nathan

I bought one and had to return it for another when the recoil broke before it was one month old.The second one had problems with starting. I took it to an authorized dealer and found my self out 75 dollars to clean the carb.My friend hasd the same issue and his dealer replaced the carb.

Now it is going back to for a broken clutch cable.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fuel prob
by: Scott

These mowers/engines may have come trough w/the wrong needle/float assembly installed.

Sep 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wet grass
by: Anonymous

The only time mine did this was with wet grass in the mulch mode. It clogged up the bottom of mower at the mulch outlet to the bagger. I now always run the gas empty with the shut off valve and hose spray under the deck after mowing to keep it free of stuck clippings. It works fine every time .Also check for clogged air filter.

Jul 03, 2010
Rating
star
Awful mower
by: Anonymous

I have the same issue. Once the lawnmower stops and I try to restart, it just idles very slowly for a few moments and eventually dies. It will restart after about 20 minutes, but it takes forever to mow my small lawn this way.

It's brand new and I paid way too much for the hassle.

Jun 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You never know...
by: Anonymous

Did you properly fill the engine with oil when you brought it home?

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Don't Know What the Problem is with yours!
by: Anonymous

I have been using my HRX217HXA professionally for over a year now. It mows 3 lawns a week and it does it flawlessly. Other than having to adjust the throttle cable once I haven't had any problems with mine! Who knows what the problem with yours is but mine still starts on the first pull!

Oct 29, 2009
Rating
star
broke straight away
by: Patti

My very expensive Honda lawnmower only worked for one cut. The second time we took it out, it cut three swipes of our back lawn, sputtered and died. It will not restart. Home Depot offered to send it out for repair!

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not mulching.. pfft
by: Anonymous

yea, did you ever clean out under the deck?

Dec 03, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Even HONDA's need maintenance
by: HRX owner

The first time you used the mower you loved the way it mulched, but by the third time you hated the way it mulched. ANY mower needs to have the underside of the deck cleaned of grass buildup, especially when cutting tall wet grass. As far as stopping all the time maybe you should have tried filling the gas tank.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Honda Mower Consumer Reviews.