Honda HT3813

by Danielle
(Connecticut)

We purchased our mower in 1988, and twenty years later, it's still going strong! Though it is a bit of a gas guzzler, it still cuts the grass just the way we like it. We were thinking about the Honda pushmower at the time, but decided on this sit-down mower instead.


It vibrates a lot, but I'm sure with the new models, they have improved this. It is fairly comfortable, as far as mowers go, and has the easy to use steering-wheel which was typical for all mowers back then. We've never had any major problems with it, and like I said, It has lasted twenty years, so overall we're pretty pleased with it. It has a 38" deck, and is a semi-automatic transmission, so it is big enough to mow a large lawn in a small amount of time, and is easy and fun to ride.

Also important is the fact that we have never felt unsafe or like the mower had any tendency to tip over, which is a concern with other mowers. We did have a slight problem as the engine would seize up, but after having a family friend look at it, and make a few tweaks, it never happened again, and has been working perfectly ever since.

I'm sure there are new models out there that are even more comfortable and don't eat up gas as much, but when its time to get a new one, I will definitely be in the market for a Honda.

Comments for Honda HT3813

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
honda blades
by: ron

I have a used 3813 that runs good after a new clutch ! can someone tell me why the blades vary in width ?

Aug 10, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
$ value of a HT3813 running
by: Anonymous

What is the value of a running HT3813. I have one I bought for $424 and it needs $525 (279 parts & 250 in labor) to REPLACE 2 PISTON RINGS, HEAD GASKET, & 4 VALUE SEALS, AT THAT POINT I WILL HAVE $954 IN IT. I HAVE BEEN OFFERED $500 FOR IT AS IS, IT RUNS PERFECT BUT BLOWES SOME OIL IN THE EXHAUST. My wife says If I can can find one for $954 or more out there then it is worth it. Trying to fine one to compare is hard. What do you think

Mar 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Honda Riding Mower
by: Anonymous

I recently got a HT 3813 and it runs good.. It could use a new deck, if I can locate one....

Feb 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HT 3813 - another great Honda Product
by: Charlie in Lutz Florida

We purchased our HT 3813 new in 1988 and had very minimal problems. Had to replace the mover deck after about 10 years when the sand and high lift mower blades eroded the deck down in the upper areas. We plan to keep on using it. Thank you Honda for the great quality.

Jan 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Interested on the Honda Snow Blower
by: Anonymous

Hello Minneapolis,

I am interested your honda 3813 snow blower. Let's discuss it, shoot me an email at barrera821@comcast.net (Wisconsin)

Dec 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
3813 snow blower
by: Anonymous

I have one for sale in the minneapolis area. It is complete and comes with the under carriage lifting arm shoot control etc. Looks like new and have not been used much. Asking $ 700 or best offer for everything. december 15 th 2011

Nov 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great lawnmower
by: Tonyvaldavid

I am looking for a snowblower souffleuse to fit it if anyone has one to sell.

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
3813 pride
by: vajensopn@aol.com

I have several 3813s and they were the best machines that you can buy. I sell parts for them as they are a little expensive from Honda, so I part out one or two a year. This machine is engineered like no other and if maintained it will outlast every mower around. It's just a hond. If you can ever get your hands on a 4518, then you will have the improved version. Love it.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Smoking 3813
by: Jordan

I just bought a 3813 to replace my 3810 because I can't seem to get the trans to work correctly. I almost bought a 4213 a couple years back too. Anyway, I got it for a great price because it smokes. Smokes a decent amount at startup, and under load(put it in 5th gear or mowing). at low speed, it barely smokes. Judging by the smell, it's gas. I assume by experience with this problem on a previous riding mower, I have to rebuild the carb. But I have never worked with a carb such as this one and don't want to screw anything up in attempting to remove it. I also know from my last mower and not being able to fix it's gas problem that if the oil was kept clean and the fuel was shut off after every use, the engine never smoked and ran fine. Will this work for the honda too? Because I know it already has a built in fuel shut off.I don't think it can be flooding out during use, because the engine purrs like the smoke isn't there.

May 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
# Hondas 2- 3813 and 1 -3810
by: Eric

1 mower is complete (3813) 1-3813 parts and a parts 3810.... I want $700.00 for the good one and will sell parts.
ericjohnson44@hotmail.com

Oct 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Stil Best on the Market
by: fromthenorth-Mtl

Fully agree with Danielle comments

Have a snowblower to sell in good conditions

Leave a message here with offering price

FTN-Mtl

Aug 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need brake parts
by: Anonymous

Still have not found used brake parts or a machine not running

Jan 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love That Honda
by: Bob

I bought mine new in 1985, the first year that they were introduced and it still runs like a top. Over the years I have purchased an excessive inventory of parts because I knew that someday the parts would no longer be available. Well, it looks like that day has arrived. RVB33@aol.com

Nov 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HT3813
by: Anonymous

Engine by Honda and body by John Deere.
Great combo!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Riding mowers main page.