John Deere 6.75 Torque JS35 21" Cut Self-Propelled Electric Start Gas Mower

by Rob

Having recently purchased my John Deere self-propelled mower, I can honestly say that I am exceptionally pleased with it. If you have never owned a self-propelled mower, you must buy one.


It's an absolute dream, as the mower basically does all the work for you as you hang on for the gentle ride! My mower came with the Electric Start feature, which is absolutely a must have for someone with a bad back like me.

No more yanking the start cord! I am extremely pleased that I decided to go with this model, as it offers 6.75 ft/lbs of torque, making it climb gentle inclines and slopes with ease (easier than me! Haha). The cutting deck is a solid 21” in diameter, meaning I can take quite a swath out of my yard. Saves me time by having to make less passes!

Another cool feature I am liking is the rear bagging. It’s not obtrusive or annoying like models I’ve had in the past that offered side bagging. That always used to bump into my trees and such. No more! I also love the fact that I can switch from mulching, to bagging, to side discharge without using any tools. Very convenient and well thought out.

Also, you can switch the height of the cutting deck with a simple lever. I think there are 9 different heights!

All in all I am very pleased with my purchase. From the moment you fire up this mower, you know that the phrase “nothing runs like a deere” is true!

Comments for John Deere 6.75 Torque JS35 21" Cut Self-Propelled Electric Start Gas Mower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
J D - was the BEST, joined the rest
by: Anonymous

J.D. - Joined the rest building GARBAGE. Those of you saying you got 15 years or so - must realize the products of the past were built very well - and with pride. Folks have lost their pride - are building products to break quickly or be replaced.
Products of the past were worth their weight in gold! Keep fixing them yourself - keep learning - it is cheaper than buying new or having them fix it.

Try to get (understand) it - this is the G. Bush Jr. 'Create Jobs' initiative. Do not flinch, when you spend good money - to discover your product needs costly repairs (so soon) or need a replacement, when the dealer says "We got to eat too". As if!!! YOUR pocket is bottomless!

I noticed the part (cable) that makes my JD walk behind 'move' is designed to break. The new cable installed lasted FOUR uses of 2 hours. I decided to jury rig a steel cable to the spring - that worked for a year. NOW the drive will not move. On a sloped property I am destined to a heart attack trying to move this unit around.

What is the difference between a greedy business executive and a Vulture? The Vulture picks your bones when you are dead - the Executive picks your bones while you are alive looking into your eyes!

Oct 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
J D - was the BEST, joined the rest
by: Anonymous

J.D. - Joined the rest building GARBAGE. Those of you saying you got 15 years or so - must realize the products of the past were built very well - and with pride. Folks have lost their pride - are building products to break quickly or be replaced.
Products of the past were worth their weight in gold! Keep fixing them yourself - keep learning - it is cheaper than buying new or having them fix it.

Try to get (understand) it - this is the G. Bush Jr. 'Create Jobs' initiative. Do not flinch, when you spend good money - to discover your product needs costly repairs (so soon) or need a replacement, when the dealer says "We got to eat too". As if!!! YOUR pocket is bottomless!

I noticed the part (cable) that makes my JD walk behind 'move' is designed to break. The new cable installed lasted FOUR uses of 2 hours. I decided to jury rig a steel cable to the spring - that worked for a year. NOW the drive will not move. On a sloped property I am destined to a heart attack trying to move this unit around.

What is the difference between a greedy business executive and a Vulture? The Vulture picks your bones when you are dead - the Executive picks your bones while you are alive looking into your eyes!

Sep 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CRAP!
by: DBuck

Have the mower not 3 years and this is the 2rd problem I've had. 1st was 3 mo.'s in-had a "lemon cable" for which the shop sent to the wrong (pieced out) Co.. Took 2 mo's. to get it back in mid-season. Last thing was 3 weeks ago. The front right wheel broke off. Same repair shop dosnt fix anymore so the only game in town was Deere Country (which sells Hondas). They charged me $60 + dollars an hour to fix/ wheel, replace the pull chord and check why the motor stalls some when the power stride bar is engaged. Got it home, pulled the chord, it came flying out, the stalling has become a shut off mechanism so I have to push the damn thing and it cost me $160 to fix. Hmmmmm. Gonna get a friggin $849 Honda next.

Sep 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
CRAP!
by: DBuck

Have the mower not 3 years and this is the 2rd problem I've had. 1st was 3 mo.'s in-had a "lemon cable" for which the shop sent to the wrong (pieced out) Co.. Took 2 mo's. to get it back in mid-season. Last thing was 3 weeks ago. The front right wheel broke off. Same repair shop dosnt fix anymore so the only game in town was Deere Country (which sells Hondas). They charged me $60 + dollars an hour to fix/ wheel, replace the pull chord and check why the motor stalls some when the power stride bar is engaged. Got it home, pulled the chord, it came flying out, the stalling has become a shut off mechanism so I have to push the damn thing and it cost me $160 to fix. Hmmmmm. Gonna get a friggin $849 Honda next.

Aug 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best mower I owned in 54 years of home ownership.
by: Ross's Dad

I have owned many lawn mowers over the last 54 years of home ownership. I bought a JS35 in March of 2008 and it finally needs some major service. We used it to cut our Bermuda grass and pick up the leaves in the fall, we have a lot of leaves on our property which blow down from our woods. I have never replaced the spark plug which I cleaned a checked the gap, installed it started in two pulls. I also cleaned the air filter which was really dirty. I use Castrol 10-30 Syntec Oil in it, it does not use any amount of oil. The belt was never replaced.
It does need the wheels replaced as the bearings are worn out due to amount of usage. The drive is locked up so I'm going to get an estimate on getting it repaired. One of the best features on this mower is the one lever height control. This the reason I would get it repaired for a couple of hundred $$$. We only used the electric start until the battery died, it normally starts on one pull. High recommended.


Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Junk Mower will not buy JD again
by: Anonymous

First, the mower price is too high for the quality. Battery only lasted 1 season, and replacement is way too expensive. Bought 3 year warranty but batt not covered. Second year wouldn't roll backwards, and mower would cut out. Took to local JD shop, and they repaired it, but charged a fee for tune-up (hadn't ran over a month, and I keep filters clean) Now same problems again, and I WILL NEVER BUY JD JUNK AGAIN !!! Had a Lawnboy that was self-propelled and electric start for over 15 years that was much better than this (deck rusted out, but still ran good). Guess I'll buy a Honda too, since they seem to be a much better mower for the money

Jun 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Slack?
by: Anonymous

What is the slack? Where can I find it?

Jul 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
no electric start
by: sw

just bought one used. battery @12.75v power goes to small relay ? at motor;doesn't come out to feed starter. can any one tell me if that's the problem. where can I get that (relay)?

May 07, 2012
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Bought one and loved it at first, till I had to start using the bagging function, the bag would only half fill, and then would back up, so you are always stopping to empty the bag. Then the bolt came off the arm that sets the cut height, allowing the front wheels to be free to move. This allowed the wheel to fall up under the deck and hit the blade. Needless to say it would be as much as a new one to fix. So I went back to what I grew up mowing with, a Toro.

Mar 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HAPPY SO FAR
by: BOB

I PURCHASED THE JOHN DEERE 3 YRS AGO AND HAVE BEEN PRETTY HAPPY. I DID HAVE TO ADJUST THE THROTTLE CABLE FOR THE SELF PROPELLED AFTER RESEARCHING ON LINE FOUND THE PROBLEM. I LOVE THE WAY THE HANDLE CONTROLS THE SPEED. I JUST PURCHASED A SNAPPER REACT FROM SEARS ON CLOSEOUT ONLY BECAUSE IT WAS TOO GOOD A DEAL TO PASS UP. I HAVEN'T USED IT AT ALL IT'S BRAND NEW WITHOUT OIL. I DON'T KNOW IF I WANT TO GIVE UP THE JOHN DEERE. THIS IS THE SECOND JOHN DEERE I OWNED SOLD MY OLD ONE TO A FRIEND WHO IS STILL USING IT. I PURCHASED BOTH FROM LOWES. I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN.

Dec 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Crappy customer service
by: Brandon

Bought in March 2010, was relatively pleased until engine blew up. Took it to John Deere tech, who proceeded to tell me that I was running it without oil and therefore couldn't cover the repair. Funny that when it blew, oil ran out on my grass killing it, was all over the deck and then all over my garage floor! "Nothing runs like a Deere" though......NOT! Save your money and buy a Honda

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
JS35 - Not a Bad Mower, but Finnicky
by: Russ

Actually, I love the mower, but quite honestly, it has been useless for the latter part of the summer. When I bought it from Lowes 3 or 4 years ago, it always started with the turn of a key or a simple pull of the rope. The battery died into the second year (don't expect it to last forever), but since Lowes didn't have replacement parts, I opted to pull the rope to get it started. There was a time when the kids could pull it once and it would fire right up. That deteriorated into 6-8 kid tugs before it would start. Eventually, they couldn't get it started and would always ask me to fire it up (It would usually take 4-6 hefty man tugs before it would run). This summer it virtually quit starting altogether. I would have to push the mower forward with my left hand (to get some momentum) and then twist my body and pull the cord in my right hand with everything I had. Sometimes it would start. Sometimes we borrowed the neighbor's mower. At the end of the summer, it wouldn't start at all, so we just quit using our mower and let it sit in the garage.

Today, I had a thought that it had to be some kind of safety mechanism or faulty oil pressure switch that was going bad. I got online to do some research and behold - BOB - hit the nail on the head. My safety cutoff mechanism cable had slipped and was not pulling back far enough to allow the motor to fire up. It seems that the additional bending in the top handle (when I would push the mower to start it...) put just enough extra pull on the cutoff safety cable that it was enough to allow the mower to start. Now it starts the first or second pull every time. In case Bob's post goes away, just:

Move the safety cutoff cable attached at the mower forward (towards the front of the engine). That was all it took for me, but Bob also recommends that you tie strap the cable down to the mower handle bar in several places to prevent it from creeping up and reintroducing the slack that was present. Hope this helps! Russ

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
star
NEVER AGAIN JOHN DEER
by: Anonymous

I BOUGHT JOHN DEER JS35 FOR $539 DOLLARS TAX INCLUDED FROM LOWES .FIRST YEAR IT WAS IN SHOP WONT START,HAD TO PAY $70DOLLARS FOR TUNE-UP, SECOND YEAR IT STOP SELF-PROPELLING ,PAID $65 DOLLARS FOR SELF-PROPELLED MECHANISM CLEAN-UP NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY.AFTER TWO YEAR NO WARRANTY LEFT NOT THAT IT MATTER LAWN MOWER DIES, IGNITION COIL BAD, TO HAVE THAT REPLACE THATS ABOUT $110.ONLY USED THE MOWER FEW TIMES IN TWO YEARS CAUSE I ALSO HAVE A CRAFTMAN TRACTOR.SO THATS $539+$70+$65+$110 AND A DEAD LAWN MOWER I AM THINKING TO HAVE SOMEONE PAID TO MOW MY LAWN NEVER AGAIN JOHN DEER!!

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
John Deer Reputation is Gone - Buyer Beware
by: Anonymous

I found this review section after I purchased my JS35. When I went shopping for mower, I wanted nothing but a John Deere as my last one was purchased 10 years ago and has been awesome. Only after mowing with it did I realize what a piece of junk this mower is. Deere must have outsourced the making of this model and I'll never buy another Deere mower again. After mowing about an hour the engine was stalling and losing power. Now it won't even start. I think it may be in the cable, but am taking it back to Lowe's to get my money back. I just feel cheap using it. Nothing last their earlier models.
I would suggest anyone thinking about buy a John Deere mower based upon the name to think again.

May 28, 2011
Rating
star
Really Crappy Junk!!!!!
by: Anonymous

Had a year. Trouble starting the whole darn time.A year later won't start at all. Front right wheel fell off three times and had to weld it back on.Started wondering how John Deere could have made such a piece of @#$% and then realized that it is some of that contracted out Briggs & Stratton garbage.....If I was John Deere I would pull my name off that crap so fast it would take the green paint off with it...have REAL JD products and have no trouble with them.

May 24, 2011
Rating
star
NURSE
by: Anonymous

ITS A PIECE OF CRAP. I AM NOW FIXING TO HAVE TO BUY ANOTHER STARTER WHICH WAS REPLACED A YEAR AND A HALF AGO. THEY AINT CHEAP EITHER. PLUS THE PULL STRING TO START MANUALLY HAS BROKE OFF AND IM A GIRL THAT AINT VERY STRONG IF THAT ANSWERS ANY QUESTIONS FOR YA. SO DONT WAIST YOUR MONEY CAUSE ITS A WASTE OF MONEY

May 18, 2011
Rating
star
JUNK!!!!
by: Anonymous

Mine is a hunk of junk as well....no primer bulb and if it runs out of gas good luck getting it started back....I haven't even gotten in one good season yet and the plastic wheels are falling apart. I too would like a refund....I guess I will take it for repairs keep them documented and file under the Lemon Law. BUYER BEWARE!!!!

May 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Battery dead...again
by: Ron

Love the mower but am disappointed with the battery(s). When I purchased the mower, the battery was installed and I was told I only needed to charge it up and start cutting. I charged it and found it was dead in the box. Returned to Loews and they directed me to a "local" (20 kilometers) farm distributor that handled JD. They said I wasn't the first to complain and JD had some supplier issues for that battery. The ordered me another (on back order) and, when I eventually received it ($80), I followed intructions and got it all charged up. Worked great for one summer then brought it into the house over winter and kept it hooked up to the charger but, at first use it was dead again. I'm looking for specs on the battery and hope to find my own alternate. Nothing runs like a Deere (but first you need to kick start it). JD should be following up with their supplier and replacing faulty batteries at their expense!

May 11, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

I have several John deere Products and this one by far is not up to the great green standards. I have had mine less than a yr and it now bogs out,is a pain in the ass to start, battery was junk, has numerous noises coming from engine when mowing. Pice of Dung......I want my money back
Brin King
Crossville TN
I also own a JD 955 and a JD 430 that have served me well....very happy with those.
go figure....

May 09, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of CRAP!!!!
by: Anonymous

This lawm mower may look jazzy but it is a piece of crap!!!. The front wheel bolt just sheared off and the only dealer in the Denver area (we are in Lakewood) is 20 miles away!!! My son bought this for me (I am 73 woman) and it has been nothing but trouble. Will go to Home Depot now and buy something ...anything!!! I hesitate to even give it one star!!! They ought to be ashamed of themselves putting that little bolt on there!!!!
If you buy one of these you are asking for trouble!!!!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
starstar
Quality Issues
by: Anonymous

I had the same problem with the slack in the cable. The suggestion with taking out the slack worked! Great Idea!

I just had the mower serviced and it ran and mowed great but just I was about to finish mowing the lawn...THE FRONT WHEEL AXLE BROKE!

I had a problem with the previous mower with the 2 front swivel wheels.
I bought it at Lowe's, brought it home, put gas in and started right up and cut about 5 rows and one of the wheels hit a small tree root and bent the support bar! John replaced with no charge but that should not have bent so easily.

I am not sure if I will buy another JD mower again. I had a craftsman which I had for 12 years and never had a problemm with it!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Buy something else
by: Anonymous

I have a nice piece of art that just sits in the shed. Nice color. Hit a piece of small branch from a maple tree and bent the crankshaft (only the 3rd time using the mower). A replacement engine is as cheap as replacing the shaft, but not as cheap as the construction of this mower. Do not buy John Deere walk behind mowers. They will not fix any problems with bent crankshafts. Search the web and see how many people have had the same problem. Nice green junk.

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Bob , you are the man !
by: Joan

Bob, after taking your advice, and pulling all the slack out of the cable, I have had no more problems with the self-propelled drive stalling out. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower, Maybe I Got Lucky
by: Anonymous

This is the best mower I have ever owned. The only draw back is the battery had to be replaced(Get a battery tender). As far as the rest of the items i have read about, Mine works and runs perfect. Even the neighbors that borrowed it loved it. This is 2 years old now and just went to mow the lawn and BAM perfect again. Are you sure that these other reviews are for the JS35?

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Anonymous

We bought the 35A and it is a piece of junk. We have had every problem listed here. I am presently searching for a battery replacement as we are going to give it one more try. If we keep having problems it is getting junked. $500 mower purchased at Lowe's and we didn't even get a full season out of it. The guy at the John Deere dealership even suggested we cut our losses and buy a different mower. He wasn't trying to sell me one of his either. If you are contemplating buying this mower, buy something else.

Jan 24, 2011
Rating
star
Poor Quality and Time Sensitive
by: Glenn--Prairieville, La

The John Deere JS 35 mower is not a good investment. First the cable that allows the mower to run is set so sensitive that a 1/4 inch movement on the handle will turn off the mower. Secondly, the air filter is located next to a leaking dishcarge shute that sends a large amount of the grass clippings into the intake of the air filter. If cutting with the mulching attachment, you will find that the filter will need to be cleaned at least twice to finish an average size yard. Save your money and purchas a mower that is not so time consuming to cut your lawn.
Glenn

Oct 30, 2010
Rating
star
Not happy
by: Anonymous

Was good for a few mows then started go down hill fast. I hope the trash man takes it

Jun 22, 2010
Rating
starstar
I wish I had bought a new Craftsman!
by: Anonymous

I bought it the middle of last summer. The beginning of this summer the key ignition fell out of the plastic control panel. When pull started it would run for less than 10 seconds then die. It is in the shop now repaired and waiting for me to pick up. They have cleaned the carburetor and changed the air filter and fixed the key ignition. So... is the air filter and carburetor cleaning going to be a yearly thing? Haven't had to do this with any other lawn mower. I paid so much for this thing. Anyone want to buy it?

May 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Brilliant, Bob!
by: Anonymous

Bob's suggestion worked! I pulled the slack from the cables toward the engine, put on three more tie wraps on the handle to hold the cables tight on the handle, and the mower hasn't stalled when pushing forward since.

This was the one and only problem I had with the mower. It seems like such a simple fix I wonder why JD wouldn't know to advise others to do the same?

May 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
JS35
by: Oh Deere!

I purchased a JS35 last Sep22. Immediatly the mower tried to choke off when I engaged the drive wheels. I called the JD dealer that I purchased the product from and they replaced the cable and said it was repaired. I continued having the same problem and they tried to repair again. When I went to pick up the mower it was still having the same problem. I requested a refund. The branch mgr. asked for one more opportunity to fix the problem. I said if I'am not satisfied will you give me a refund he said he would help me get a refund from JD customer service. I took me eight months to receive a refund. I only used the mower for perhaps 3 to 4 hrs. The mower is built by Briggs and Stratton and is not built by JD. Overpriced for the quality.

May 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not really John Deere engineering
by: Anonymous

This mower is not made by John Deere. They don't build small mowers like this, they hire out companies to build them. This one was made by Briggs and Stratton using old tooling from the Murray product line. (Briggs owns Murray) The deck is a murray deck as is the height ajdustment system, etc.

Apr 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

Guess I was lucky, but this mower has been great so far. Already into 2nd year of use. Left outside but covered all winter and started right up without even needing a charge.

Pros: Self propelled, tons of power, nice cut, electric battery start, uses regular gas not requiring any mixing, multiple hight adjustments for good cutting heights, bags grass when needed, mulches, side discharge when needed, rugged.

Cons: it is a bit heavy so cornering and turning is a bit harder when in tight spots, the handle to control the self propelled feature takes a bit of learning to get a proper speed otherwise it is a bit fast for me.

If i get a couple more good years without service out of it I will be well pleased.

Apr 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Disappointed in John Deere
by: Anonymous

I bought a JS35 from Lowe's one year ago. Since that time the right front wheel has fallen off two times while mowing because of a sheared bolt that holds the wheel on. This shouldn't happen with average lawn mowing which is what I do, especially not after only one year. Needless to say, I'm not real happy with this mower. If this is John Deere quality then I am going to look elsewhere. I thought John Deere engineering would be better than that. Apparently I was wrong.

Mar 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I need a Battery For My JS35 Mower
by: Anonymous

I have had a John Deere Js35 for just about a year and my Electric Start Battery is completely dead. I have charge it and it will not start the mower. I have used my friend's battery and it started right up. So I have been searching for a new battery online but I can't find one. I would like to get a brand new one not used. Does anyone have any suggestion to wear I could find the Battery. I would need it near the zip-code of 08080. Thks for your help in advance.

Aug 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Keeps dying
by: Anonymous

Just bought and used one time for about an hour. Starts ok, but as soon as I start pushing it, it dies. Waited 20 secs like it said, but then won't start. Forget about the forward momentum...dies with that too as soon as I bend the bar. Checked oil, gas, followed directions...worked fine first time. Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Last thing I want to do is have to take it back. 100 lbs!!!

May 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cut off switch cable on JS35
by: Bob

Keep all slack out of the Engine Cut Off Cable by pulling slack toward the engine and adding extra cable ties along the handle . . if any slack exists along the handle the Engine Cut Off Switch will make partial contact and cause Spark Plug fouling and engine stall when engaging the MowMentum feature.

May 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
rear bag not sealing
by: Anonymous

i just bought a js35 and the only thing I dont like is the grass is flying out from the corner of the bag

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to John Deere Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.