John Deere JS46 22 inch Walk-Behind Mower

Overall, I enjoy using my JS46 very much. It cuts very well and leaves my lawn looking superb. To name a few of the basic features, it allows you to adjust the deck height, has a 190cc (5HP) engine. And to think that it did not cost me an arm and a leg, which is clearly a plus.


I enjoy using this lawnmower so much, over my other two that I choose to use it when I mow other people?s lawns. This is because, when I am done, it looks so darn good. The other two lawn mowers have a tendency to tear up the grass and dig up dirt. Those two lawn mowers are John Deere?s as well, but they are much older and are clearly much more worn out and have less quality.

Two pros of the lawn mower are that it looks great when I am done and that it is for the most part, easy to use. My only concern is me hurting myself while using it. As much as I would like to get a riding lawn mower, I am afraid to let this lawn mower go, because I am afraid to lose the quality. I am trying to balance quality of the lawn and laziness of myself when I am cutting the lawn. Possibly in the future, when I get older, I will get a riding lawn mower, to save some stress on my bones and muscles.

Overall, this is the greatest lawn mower I have ever possessed and I will try and hold onto it for as long as I can. In the event that I have to get a new one, I will more than likely get a rider mower. All in all, I would highly recommend this lawn mower to anyone.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Comments for John Deere JS46 22 inch Walk-Behind Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 09, 2015
Rating
star
Blown head gasket, js46
by: Anonymous

Wow... All this reading just makes me sick. I also hav one of these mowers and paid $500 for it. I hear nothing but bad things about all JD mower. They are junk and have a high breakdown rate. Mine also needs a head gasket. It was mot work letting them fix it and the dealer was happy to see me take it. First it took them 2 weeks to look ar and tell me it had a blown gasket and possibly a cracked head. Well truthfully it only took them 10 minutes but they had it sit for weeks until I started bitching about it. They have too much work and it's because JD makes junk. I will never buy another one. My neighbor has a zero turn and is always under it and I have seen it go back for repairs as well. John Deere is not the way to go for lawn mowers. Maybe tractors some time ago, 50 years. Not so sure today....quality just means nothing to JD.

Sep 05, 2014
Rating
starstar
JS-46 Experience
by: DR

This is not a very good quality product. I have replaced the engine after two seasons. (Blown head gasket) Too expensive to have repaired by local dealer. Also, the crank is likely bent. This engine is know for soft crankshafts. Fortunately I was able to find a new engine on the internet.

The deck height adjustment handle broke off.

Nearly every time my wife uses it, it seems something goes wrong.

Poor quality. O would not recommend this product.

Aug 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere push or self-propelled mower
by: Anonymous

If you buy green be prepared to bleed green. Bought JS46
Mower. Cost $500. First small repair was over 100. It cost
20% of purchase price to repair once. That's way out of
Line. Must be the same rates as their big machines. I may
Have to sell it.

Jun 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Death by a thousand cuts
by: Anonymous

Bought mine (JS46) in 2011. Fourth season now. First year user presence safety cable frayed and broke. Did not replace, made a short bypass out of coat hanger. To shut mower off you have to fight the return spring pressure. Mower handle knobs and cables snag along fences. This season head gasket blew (UGH). Found an old home ceiling fan switch with chain and wood decorative pull. This sits on the mower deck and is the kill switch. Neighbors love it. When the self propelled cable breaks I will harness the pit bull to it and let him pull me around. Great PR for a JD.

Jul 07, 2013
Rating
starstar
Very sad right now
by: Jeremy

First off I'm NOT one of those people that just writes negative reviews for the heck of it. I'm usually one to write a positive review even if there are some major annoyances but overall a product is still working correctly.

Just recently I've major problems with my JS46 JD.. which it turns out is the same ones others are posting about. I started smelling burning coming from the mower the other day which made me worry it was overheating for some reason. So I checked the oil thinking maybe for some reason I was real low and the engine was starving for oil. It appeared to be ok but I added some just to make sure that wasn't the issue. That's when things got worse.

It started chucking out white smoke minutes after adding the extra oil and the engine just died 20 seconds later. Checked the oil again and found I had put too much in. Drained the extra oil down to safe levels and it started again but there continued to be white smoke after an expected white cloud when I first started it again. Turns out hot burning oil was coming out of the exhaust pipe and leaking out of many other places from the bottom of the engine.

Originally I loved the mower for the most part as it did cut well. But now that I pay attention to what other people are pointing out.. I'm very concerned that this is a major dud of a mower and I'm out $500. I suspect I also have the bent crankshaft that others are describing. Along with broken plastic handle, wheels starting to wobble among other things.

I'm giving this two stars instead of one because it may turn out I just had too much oil in there and it may still be fine. I'm doubting that excess oil should be causing this many problems and seeing others having the same exact problems makes it likely that the mower is faulty. What a shame.

Jul 05, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DOES NOT PULL ITS SELF......
by: Anonymous

MY JS46 IS DOING PRETTY GOOD EXCEPT IT DOES NOT SELF-PROPELL ANY MORE .I WONDER WHAT TO LOOK FOR TO SEE WHY IT DOES NOT. ANY IDEAS ANYONE.I APPRECIATE ANY HELP.I AM AN OLDER LADY OF 79 YEARS OLD . I STILL DO ALL MY YARD WORK AND LOVE IT.


Jul 01, 2013
Rating
star
Grass bag is worthless
by: PLF

I bought the JDJS46 push mower from a local John Deere dealer. While the mower runs well and cuts well, the bagging operation is very poorly designed and most disappointing, especially for a $450.00 mower. Much of the cut grass remains lying on the ground, never making it to the bag. Additionally, the rear discharge is too small causing continuous clogs long before the bag is even 1/3 full. My grass is mowed at least once a week so the grass is never tall, but after pushing the mower approximately 50 feet, clogging occurs and grass clumps are left on the ground. Such a poor design requires constant shutting off the mower and either emptying the 1/3 full bag or pulling the clogged grass out of the discharge area and pushing it into the rear of the bag. A small 1/2 acre yard requires this operation at least 40 – 50 times. I literally spend almost as much time dealing with the bagging issue as I do pushing the mower. Very very disappointed with this John Deer mower.

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
Final verdict - not a wise purchase
by: Anonymous

You will find my previous comments in this thread. I did (as most of us probably do) my best to justify and remain positive about purchasing what, on the surface, appears to be a good mower.

Mine has stopped starting. You will never start it using the electric starter (which works fine). You have to pull the rope, really hard many times, and don't bother until you have primed the carb and pulled off the air filter.

After it finally starts, will run fine. Just don't turn it off or stall it, because you will not start it again until the following day.

This is a very powerful machine, and I didn't have a big gripe with its self-propel setup. But there is definitely something wrong with the engine setup - the carb or something.

I've looked at new mowers and think I'm going to throw in the towel on this one.

My previous mower wasn't as fancy (Lawn Boy Commercial '87), but did its job without requiring any service for all those years.

This one cannot even start after a few.

It's probably too late to warn anyone else from purchasing this mower, but, I would be (and am) leery of anything JD at this point. Additionally, dealer service is scant in my area.

JC

Aug 20, 2012
Rating
star
grass height adjustment handle
by: Frank

I am not happy with my JS46. The handle is in a bad spot. If it comes in contact with anything while I am cutting it drops the mower all the down to the lowest level and cuts the grass right down to the ground. As a result on a hot summer day that patch of grass is burnt out and has to be replaced with new sod. That Handle is in the wrong location. They messed up when they engineered it that way. As a result I would not recommend that anyone buy the JS46.

Aug 04, 2012
Rating
star
Bent out of shape
by: JimmyCrackCorn

I bent the crank last week, ordered a new engine. The engine had no mounting holes tapped. I tapped the holes and mounted the engine. It started on the first pull ran great till I struck a rock the size of a tennis ball. Well needless to say yet another bent crank. Why in the world did they not use cast to manufacture a crank? This has to be a manufacturers defect.

Jul 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Bent out of shape
by: JimmyCrack Corn

Used this mower for a season and a half. Was lucky enough to have bent the crank. I've wailed many objects with many different makes of mowers. Never till today have I seen a bent crank shaft on a mower. The mower has plenty of power,but is pretty much useless till it gets rebuilt.

Jul 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not bad once you change the blade
by: Robert

Have had mind for a few seasons and now need to replace the drive cable. Not a big deal for me. I didn't like how much clippings were left behind and tried sharpening the blade. Still had tons of clippings on the lawn. Changed to a viper/gator mulching blade and love the results. Smaller shreds, more in the bag and zero on the lawn. Seems to be a better cut too.

I like to power and the power drive speed moves very fast if you want to speed walk.

Apr 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tip on cleaning
by: Satisfied

I have had my JS46 about 3 seasons and have had good results. The electric start is nice but if you can pull the rope ok save your money and get the model without. There is a belt cover underneath the mower held on by a star screw you get to from the top. Every so often take that cover off and get the debris out or it will foul how the belt operates MowMotion.

Apr 01, 2012
Rating
star
Displeased!
by: Anonymous

I am totally displeased with the JD46S lawnmower! I have mowed for 4 hours each week, 36 weeks in a year for 33 years with a self propelled lawnmower. This model has knobs that loosen constantly and get into way of fencing etc, doesn't bag consistantly if at all, battery life of one year, and wires and buttons that catch will catch on fencing. I prefer to walk my yard as I feel its great exercise and why sit mowing on my ass, then have to go to the gym for an hour? I need sturdy and long lasting machine, I haven't found one yet.

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Sambo

Have to agree with some on here if you treat your equipment like crap then what do you expect???
This mower is awesome and does a fantastic job but it is not built like yesteryears equipment but we all want cheaper and cheaper gear and expect things to be made the same!!
For 699 dollars this mower is great, runs well, lots of power, it does not leave any clippings on the lawn, it is not heavy and turns very easy (my small girlfriend uses it with ease), it is fantastic on fuel, easy to start (i use the pull start as it will last longer and my girlfriend uses the electric start)The 22inch cut has turned a 3.5 hour saga with the old victa into a 2 hour pleasant walk. We were going to get a ride on but went with the JS46 for excerise and it is a dream to use!
Do your self a favor and get one of these mowers but treat it with respect and it will last many years!

Dec 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
best mower
by: Anonymous

best mower much better than my old talon .
awesome dont now what other reviews a bout.

Oct 29, 2011
Rating
star
CRAP
by: jay z

Wrote a review one year ago. Said mower was a beast, well it is crap !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has boken self propelled cable 3 times !!!!!!! Gear box falling off and it is crap. Unbelievable I bought this JD. Junk Junk Junk Junk !!!! I only use it to cut my yard. Can you believe it has broke 3 times ? Going to burn it with deisel fuel and send pic to JD and tell them what I think of the JS 46.

Oct 10, 2011
Rating
starstar
Leaves clippings on the lawn
by: Doug from Oregon

I purchased the mower after returnign a Black and Decker chordless because it was gutless! I was very happy with the power that this mover delivers as well as the electric start.

However, even with the bag in place, it leaves an unacceptable amount of clipping on the lawn. I sharpened the blade and cleaned the under side of the deck and it is better but still not accemptable. I find myselft mowing very slowely but it still leaves clipping behind.

It is also very hard to turn as it is very heavy.

I read about people experiencing smoking out the exhaust. You need to run the mower low on oil (barely showing on the dip-stick) or it does smoke very badly and blows black oil all over the front of the mower.

I decide to give it a month to see if I can sort out the verious problems but have had little luck. Now I find that Lowe's will not take it back because it has been more than 30 days.

I wich I had read the reviews on this sigt before making the purchase.

I would not recomend this mower.

Doug from Roseburg.

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
starstar
soft metal crank, output shaft too long
by: Anonymous

I have a JS46, since spring 2010, now has bent crank. I have used mowers for 30 yrs & never had a crank bend from hitting yard items. This mower hit a small stump, hit many times with other cheap walmart mowers. The blade is so strong, with a 2 foot pipe wrench, I cannot bend it, as I have straightened many blades. The blade cannot bend so the force is transfered to the soft metal crank. $20 blade vs. $90 crank plus labor. I would not buy or recommend this mower for the fact of the weakest point on impact is the crank. Not so with cheaper mowers. should have been engineered with shear pin or design to protect the crank. Search the web, and find others with bent JS model cranks.

Aug 31, 2011
Rating
star
Dangerous, Unreliable, Poor performance.
by: Anonymous


My old "Personal-Pace" mower with and electric start ran nine years without a complaint. Then my wife ran over it with her car.

I got the JS46 because it had "Mow-Motion" and an electric starter.

I carefully followed the directions. Assembled, I moved the JS46 to my driveway and turned the key.

I wasn't prepared for what happened.

There was a little sand and pieces of pine cones the squirrels had dropped on the driveway. The JS46 sucked them up and fired them like a gun right at my face. I was struck in my left eye, turned my head away and covered the eye with my left hsnd. I glanced back at the mower to see two plumbs of sand and pieces of pine cones were spewing directly at my head from the edges of the bag door. My right eye filled with sand. I let go of the safety bail. There was a loud snap, but the mower kept running. I blindly tried to get away from the mower , and ran head-on into a pine tree. Fighting the pain in my left eye, I wiped the sand and the blood that was trickling down from my forehead out of my right eye and turned off the key on the still running mower.

Later, I inspected the mower. The safety bail had slammed into a cast metal stop in the handle, snapped it off and continuing all the way forward, putting a crimp in the control cable right where it entered the cable sleeve. That prevented the motor from turning off.

The plastic bag door has two channels molded into the edges of the door, but, there's nothing on the bag that fits them or block them in any way.

I returned the JS46 to the store. They offered to swap it for the display model. It also had the stop broken off the casting. At their other store, the only JS46 had a front wheel broken off. A few days later, Lowes swapped some parts around and delivered a complete working JS46.

I made a couple modifications. I sealed up the channels in the bag door with hot glue and foam rubber. I cut a piece of rubber hose and slipped it over the stop for the safety bail.

The new JS46 performed great going forward.

However, the wheels lock up at the end of any forward motion. You have to stop pushing the MowMotion bar before you get to the end of the strip you are mowing.
Then push the mower forward to unlock the wheels so you can back the mower up. Be careful when pushing on the plastic control panel. It will break.

It was the end of the growing season, I didn't use it again till spring.

This spring I mowed the front yard nine or ten times on a single filling of the tank. (It's small.)

Then it ran out of gas. I filled it with fresh gas. The engine turned over a few times then suddenly stopped. Thinking that the blade was jammed by clippings, I turned the blade by hand. A cup full of gas belched out the exhaust pipe.

I removed the plug, after 20 pulls it stopped pumping gas out the plug hole. The gas tank was again empty. I added more gas. Three pulls and the cylinder was once again full of gas.

I will put this mower on eBay and buy one that is not green.

Aug 09, 2011
Rating
starstar
aggravated
by: Joey

I purchased JS46 April of this year. within 2 weeks the front right wheel fell off, because the metal plate on the crossbar snapped in half. I purchased the replacement crossbar assembly at my local John Deere dealer. The new one had a larger metal plate than the original. After 4 uses it broke again. I called John Deere customer service and was told there had been no problems reported concerning the crossbar assembly. My local dealer said they had reported multiple problems regarding this part.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Dissappointed
by: Anonymous

Bought the JS46 about 6 weeks ago...Assembled per instructions and was please with everything for the first 7 times that I used it. The eighth time I started it smoke poured out of the exhaust and oil dripped out. I thought what the heck is going on. Called Lowes and they said since it was within 30 days, I could just exchange it for a new one. Kind of a hassle to have to take it back, but did not want my brand new mower to have to be repaired. Might as well bought a used mower. So got the new mower and went through the process of assembly and began mowing the lawn. Everything was great, but then the mower just stopped running. Are you kidding me I thought. How can a company like John Deere produce and let these faulty mowers get out. Well I will be looking to buy a new mower starting tomorrow.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
2nd One in a Year!!
by: Anonymous

Had to replace the mower after 2 months and one oil change. Started smoking like a mosquito killer. I guess it lost the piston rings. I have now at the 2nd unit for about year. It is ok but not what I expected from a Deere as far as quality. It has already broken the Bail cable that shuts the engine off when you release the bail handle. Never had to replace this cable on any other Snapper or Toro that I have owned in the past.

Jul 30, 2011
Rating
star
returned it to the store
by: Anonymous

an update on the leaking oil and smiking JS46...we returned it after having to pay someone to mow our lawn and the John Deere dealer not being able to fix it in 1 and half weeks of having it. They didn't know what was wrong with it and on top of that they wanted to charge us for diagnostic of what they "thought" was wrong with it. I don't think we'll be getting another John Deere....maybe will try Craftsman now...Don't buy your John Deere at LOWES they are really bad at fixing it if even finding a close by place to take it to. LOWES customer service extended plan warranty is horrible.

Jul 30, 2011
Rating
star
First review, we'll see from here...
by: 5Jacks&2Queens

Would love to tell you how great this thing mows, well, except for the fact it won't even start. Have it scheduled for repair monday, so we'll see what happens from there.

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
star
Going Back to Honda!
by: Anonymous

At first I was very proud of my new $500 mower. Looked and cut great, that is until last weekend. While mowing yard, the mower stopped running. After wheeling into the garage oil began to poor out of the bottom of mower/motor. John Deere service technician diagnosed the problem as a bent shaft. John Deere would not cover the product under the manufacturer warranty so I'm out $500. This is an over-priced piece of junk and I'll never buy a John Deere product again.

Nothing Runs worse than a Deere!!!

Jul 19, 2011
Rating
star
JS 46 leaking oil and smoking ....
by: Anonymous

We've had JS 46 for two moths but now it's leaking tons of black oil from below the exhaust and it spits it out too. It also smokes white smoke. We paid so much thinking this was going to be the best investment. Why would it leak? we already removed oil because we thought we had probably put too much but it's still doing it. LOWES is doing a horrible job at sending us to service our product. Very DISAPPOINTED. My grass is now very high and don't want the homeowner's ass. on my back!

Jun 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Poor ly engineered handle.
by: Anonymous

This mower is sturdy and cuts beautifully on the straight and level. However, after using the mower for less than 15 hours over two months, the polymer handle broke into on the right side next to the self-propelled control lever. The breakage occurred as I was pushing the mower on an upslope. The mower is heavy, so it takes some force to push it uphill, but the handle should be designed to take any normal usage. The dealer replaced the handle in one day, which tells me they keep these handles in stock. (I wonder why?)My problem now is that I feel I have to be very careful when I'm mowing so that I do not break it again.

May 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wheels locking up
by: Anonymous

I have a mower that does the same thing. I believe that it is a safety feature in case you are going up a hill and slip the mower will not roll backwards. If you let go of the drive handle and push it slightly forward it will unlock the drive wheels and allow you to pull it backwards. You will have to get into the habit of letting go of the drive handle before you are done going in a forward motion and you shouldnt have that problem. It takes a little practice...

May 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
wheels lock
by: Anonymous

i bought a js46 and the only problem is when i mow to a fence line and try to pull the mower back the wheels lock can any one help with this problem

Apr 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Love it
by: phill0329

First, I am pleased with my JS46, and very pleased with my John Deere service center. My 1 year old battery bought it (a little early). Called my dealer, who is about 15 miles away. He brought a new battery to my home, replaced it, ensured the fix was proper, left me two fuel mix cups, wiped down the engine, and sharpened the blade. He spent 30 minutes of HIS time, and I didn't even buy the mower from him. Some of the complaints I read hear are valid, but some of them read as if the owner doesn't grasp the use of the mower. It isn't a leaf blower, it isn't a leaf mulching machine, a weed eater, or a stick and branch and toy mulching machine. It's a lawn mower. I have a leaf blower, a leaf mulcher for those jobs, and a grandson to pick up his toys. Buy the $99 Walmart special, and do what you want with it, and your yard will look like you used a $99 Walmart special.

Apr 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Nice Mower!
by: Anonymous

My JS46 is a leftover 2010 model that I got from a full on John Deere dealer. I have read these reviews and find them kind of interesting. While the mower does not pick up leaves the way my X534 with the power bagger does it certainly is not bad! I love the way the wheels do not protrude beyond the edge of the deck so that you can mow right up to whatever you would like. The engine is smooth and powerfull. It starts incredibly easily and the mower does a nice job on my lawn. The drive takes a bit of time to get used to but it works fine and is dead simple. I love the John Deere colors and it looks cool sitting next to my X series. What is there to complain about? Nothing is perfect and for the price this is an awesome little mower! Don't forget it is made in the USA by an American company (even if it is not John Deere) and that certainly counts.

Apr 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
It blows!
by: Aaron

I've bought my JS46 mower in the summer of 2010 so it's only had a couple months of use. I haven't had any problems with the motor or the drive but my Biggest complaint is that it doesn't pick up leaves or debris very well, no matter what the height setting is. In addition the exhaust at the front of the engine will blow the leaves in my yard all over so it ensures I never get all of them! Bad design.

Mar 24, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Steven

Didn't even last for a year.......it's an over-priced piece of junk. I had a Honda that lasted for 10 years with no problems whatsoever.

My John Deere apparently has no throttle control and "runs at full bore" no matter what do. And yes, that same little "wimpy" spring popped off of mine as well.

I am heading back to Honda!

Mar 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
worked great
by: wonderboy

Bought the mower last April, used it several times and never any problems. I took care of it, blowing the mower off with an air compressor after each use and changed the oil according to manual specs. Left a half tank of gas in it all winter, went out yesterday and it fired up with no problem. I have owned it for a year and I think it still looks great and runs even better.

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I like it
by: Miwist

Got my mower last year at the beginning of the mowing season. Fantastic mower - and I thought the one I had before was good! Wated a self-propelled mower because we moved into a house with a steep hill for a front yard.
Only problem I've had is a cable that stretched - but not until the end of season. The cable was promptly replaced, with the dealer insisting I bring the mower so in they could replace the cable and get the mower cleaned up and ready for winter storage.
Great mower and great service after the sale. I like and appreciate that.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
damn it
by: Anonymous

damn it i just bought one today

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
js 46
by: jay z.

You all know this is a commercial mower right ? It is a beast. Yes if you run into something it can break ! Don't blame the mower. Check out the mower before you buy it . Know it's features and how to use them. Don't buy it then complain about it ! Know that only JD fixes there stuff. Not every mower is perfect but this one can handle any thing when it comes to cutting ! If you don't like it then go to Walmart and buy a $99 special ! I sell lawnmowers and no one is ever happy. They don't make things like they used to so stop comparing to your 1970 or 1980 products ! hONDA ENGINES BREAK TOO YOU KNOW THEY ARE NOT INDUSTRUCTABLE.

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
My John Deere is a pile
by: Anonymous

My John Deere is a pile. For $600 I should have got a Honda!

Nov 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another little naggin problem with wheel height adjuster
by: Anonymous

I have the front yard clear of leaves, the driveway, patio, and pool deck, also.

This morning, I wanted to just mulch that far back area of my lawn - it's more like a mini-woods than a lawn - too shady to allow a full stand of thick grass. But, I like to mulch the leaves back there each fall.

I set this mower to hits highest cutting level (and boy, that's really high) so as to just mulch a bit and avoid hitting any fallen branches or remains of those that I've sawed up over the years.

The clearance is excellent and the mulching, even at that extreme cutting height is fine. What became annoying is that, if you hit a bump or ran the wheels over a tree root, the wheel height adjuster lever would be jarred such that it would collapse to the very lowest setting. Obviously there isn't enough tension an the handle to keep it engaged with the bump-outs that stop it at each height setting.

I got annoyed after the third time and used a length of rope to tie really tension that lever against those bump-outs so that it cannot slip again while in use.

I'm guessing this tendency is exaggerated at the highest setting since there is more force against the rod/lever assembly that raises the four wheels all at one time.

Lowering the wheels back down again is as simple as loosening the rope and operating that lever in the normal manner.

. . . but it's really a pretty lame engineering job, if you ask me.

Do they not test these designs before putting them into production?

This is only a nagger of a problem, not what I would consider major, but still evidence of a design that was not well thought out. I'd be quite happy to go back to a four point adjustment scheme that was more hearty.

JC

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
First problem with this mower
by: JC

Started it using the electric starter and began blowing/collecting leaves in my driveway.

Mower just stopped, as though I had turned it off.
Would not start. Introduced fuel into the cylinder via the spark plug hole. Would fire but not run.

Took off the air cleaner to find a little spring hanging loose. The only available hole was some sort of rotating lever that I assume has to do with the governor. Tested this by moving the lever to its opposite travel distance. Mower wanted to run, but then died out.

Hooked that spring to the hole, and problem was solved.

I don't understand why this spring would come loose in the first place, but was glad I took the time to explore the problem before giving up on the mower.

JC

Nov 04, 2010
Rating
star
broke after 3 months/less than 10 hours of use
by: Anonymous

John Deere name will be ruined quickly if they keep putting out junk like this. Drive shaft broke with less than 10 hours of use. Been blowing lots of white smoke since day one.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointed with JS46
by: Joe

We have two issues with the John Deere JS46. First, when bagging, debris shoots up towards the operator from the top corners of the bag. We even brought it back to Lowes and after watching to make sure we put the bag on properly, they directed us to an authorized dealer. We're on our way there now. Bottom line, I think it's a bad design since the bag and rear cover don't form a tight enough seal.
Two, it doesn't do a good job mulching. Very disappointed in this mower.

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good mower, I think.
by: JC

Probably not as rock solid as my old 1987 2-cycle LawnBoy, but not nearly as bad as some of these reviews would seem to suggest.

I would guess that if you hit a stump (or other obstruction) such that you instantly stop the blade rotation then you cannot really complain about bent shafts, even if your mower is just out of the box.

As for all these snapped cables, I wonder if those who have experienced them were using the folding handle feature of this mower. If you don't watch as you fold or unfold the handle (when storing or before using the mower), the cables tend to want to go to a position where they can be scissored between the folding members of the handle. This can happen whether you are folding the handles down for storage or opening them up for use. The initial damage may only kink the cable, but eventually, it will likely snap. I would also bet that many of the complaints about the operation of that operator presence handle may be caused by kinking or stretching of the cable during folding/unfolding of the handle.

This is an obvious design flaw, but one you can live with if you know to take care when folding the handle.

So far, for me, this has been a good mower. It runs strong, cuts smoothly, goes through grass of any thickness.

It's not good at bagging and vacuuming, IMO, mainly, I believe, because the minimum cutting height is too high, and the rear opening of the mower is too small. I'd like to see an opening near the full width of the mower.

This causes the opening to clog, and the relatively high distance of the deck from the ground (even when set to its lowest cutting height) allows too much debris to escape around the bottom of the deck.

Other than those few issues, I believe this mower deserves a higher rating than what I've read in most reviews.

Happy cutting.

JC

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
star
Broken parts
by: Larry

My JS46 mower is not very good. The oil pump and its drive shaft broke along with the cam shaft gear. This after 4 months service. The self-porpell doesn't work all the time with the wheels staying engaged after being released. I have been adjusting on it the whole time. Hardest mower to use that i've ever seen. Regular cheap push mower is much better built and easier to use.

Sep 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
recall
by: Anonymous

Does anyone know if there has been a recall on this mower? Was reading where someone got a serious injury from debris shooting out the back. Thanks

Aug 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Seems good so far
by: MJ

My JS46 starts and runs great. The 8.75 torque Briggs engine has plenty of power. The drive system seems good. I'm speculating the reason the drive cables of some people's mowers broke is because people didn't bother to lock the drive handle when moving it to put away or whatever, reefing on the pivoting drive handle while the mower is not running. Nobody would ever admit to that however. The manual says to lock the handle.

I'm slightly disappointed in the build quality - a lot of plastic, including the wheels. Bagging is somewhat disappointing, the mower leaves little clumps of grass behind, mostly not noticable, but my old Craftsman never did that. The opening of the bag is quite large, great for dumping the clippings, however the opening of the discharge chute is quite small. I see wet grass clogging in my future.

The height adjustment is great, although requires some muscle to raise the cutting height. Electric start is excellent.

Overall, cutting the grass is uneventful and fast compared to my old mower. Best of all, it's easy enough for my son to use.

Jul 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Self-propel cause engine to shut off..
by: Anonymous

Ignition key worked for about 3 weeks then that died.

Now when I try to engage self-propel feature the engine pops and shuts off.

Replaced the spark plug. Still not fixed.

Any suggestions?

Jul 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Plastic front axle bushings
by: Anonymous

I bumped a landscape timber and broke both bushings. That is a dangerous condition because the fromt of the mower drops, the blade digs in.

To complete the mowing I made hardwood split pillow block bearings shaped to fit under the deck. The plastic is really a retainer and not a bearing. I cut sections of an old water hose five eights inches long, split them lengthwise abd pot them over the axle between the mower deck and the wheel mounting bracke. Maybe i lucked out, bur the mower runs true and my temporary fix is better than original. I intend to do a more professional fabrication but for nor this works.

The best mower I ever had was a 18 inck piush mower, off-brand name from the hardware store. I used it 11 years, and the last year used 90W gear oil. Totally worn out! But it cost $30 in 1967. I am partially disabled and wanted something easy to use, so Im bought a "John Deere." Never again. The JS46 is a piece of junk.






Jul 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HOW TO AJUST THE HIGHTH
by: MARY WILSON

I FOUND OUT HOW TO ADJUST THE HIGHTH ON MY NEW JS46 JOHN DEER SELF PROPELLED LAWN MOWER.I GOT A PIECE OF PIPE THAT WILL FIT OVER THE TOP OF THE HANDLE(YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE RUBBER COVER OFF FIRST)THAT GIVES YOU MORE LEVERAGE AND BINGO . I NOW CAN MOVE IT UP AND DOWN WITH NO PROBLEMS.I FIGURED IT OUT ON MY OWN. I DO NOT GIVE UP EASY. PLEASE PASS THIS ON TO OTHER WOMEN THAT MAY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AS I DID.

Jul 17, 2010
Rating
star
Very Unhappy
by: TBalls

Ive owned this mower for about 4 months now and have had nothing but problems. First, the drive cable snapped during normal use. The operator presence lever has to be taped down super tight or the mower will die with the slightest movement of the lever. Had the cable replaced and the lever adjusted by the dealer. Now, only two weeks later, every time I try to use the self propel the mower pops and dies. I dont get it, you spend big money hoping that you are buying something that will last and have nothing but problems. Very Very Unimpressed John Deere. Try Again.

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
HIGTH ADJUSTMENT
by: Anonymous

I JUST PURCHASED A J S 46 WALK BEHIND LAWN MOWER. I HAVE ONLY USED ONE TIME. THE ONLY COMPLAIN THAT I HAVE IS THE HANDLE FOR THE HIGTH IS TO HARD FOR ME TO ADJUST. I AM A 75 YEAR OLD WOMAN AND MY HANDS ARE NOT AS STRONG AS THEY USED TO BE. CAN YOU GIVE ME ANY IDEAS ON THIS MATTER?

Jun 26, 2010
Rating
star
Unhappy
by: EverettAnonymous

Not happy with the js 46 mower. It does not mulch very good it leaves bunches of grass along one side, also it doesn't pick up the grass very good when trying to bag. Very disappointed in this mower compared with my old sb 14.

Jun 24, 2010
Rating
star
demotion!
by: Tall Grass '10

A follow-up to my previous review: I've had to lower the JS46 to one star. Stopped by to pick up the aforementioned drive cable today -- the dealer had said 3-5 business days, this was day 6. Was told it won't SHIP for 5 MORE days! This is a fairly regular part for a NEW mower from a John Deere DEALER! If and when it gets fixed it will have spent about 3 of its FIRST 5 weeks unusably broken!!!

Jun 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Good when it runs, which is rare
by: Tall Grass '10

I've owned my new JS46 for a month and it's been down for a week twice due to unrelated breakdowns: first, the plastic (!!!) bushing on the front wheel broke. True, I bumped into a stump. But a pricey mower should withstand that. A week later, the drive cable snapped during, so far as I can tell, normal use. Both required trips to the dealer who does not stock this stuff and has to order it. The mower does a terrific job quickly when it's running but that's been a rare occasion here. My sense is that for $500 you get a $250 mower and a $250 name.

Jun 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JS46
by: Ron

I have only used it once...but in my opinion it is the best lawn mower I have ever used. The power of that engine is amazing. I had a JS20, did not like it, the engine burned oil and the bagging system sucked. The JS46 bagging system is greatly improved, no clogging. Recommend it highly.

Jun 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What a mower
by: glw1973

I bought this mower after reading reviews thinking that something, maybe one little thing would be wrong with it. Not the case. This is the best walk-behind mower I have ever owned. First, out of the box. Set up out of the box was so easy. John Deere included simple instructions on how to set the mower up for use. So any people that had trouble with this must be learning impared. Once eveything was done (gas, oil, etc.) I knew I wouldn't be able to use the electric start because the battery would not be charged enough, I pull started the mower. Fired up on the very first pull, wow I couldn't believe it. Then I proceded mowing the yard with the mulch setup while the grass was wet. No clumping at all. I was amased. So to put it in a nutshell. Buy this mower if you are looking for a good walk-behind self-propelled mower.

Jun 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good Mower!
by: Thomas J

I have to agree with the previous reviewers post!! I had a snapper push mowers for 30 years and only change the oil every two or three years with minimal maintenance cost!. Had to get rid of because I couldn't find one part for it :( After owning a Snapper push mower I was hesitant to purchase any lawn mower from a Lawn & Garden Big Box store since the quality is SO GREATLY reduced to offer push behinds in the 100-500 range.Since taxes continue to sky rocket with every bill passed. My budget was 500. I have had it for two months and love it! Once you get used to it you will like it! It cuts grass like my 30 year old Snapper! It's not made as well, but for the price it's not a bad mower.

Apr 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Super Mower
by: Anonymous

Awesome

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to John Deere Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.