John Deere L130 Automatic 48"

My husband owned this lawn mower when I married him four years ago, but I am the one who uses it regularly. He works six days a week, so I mow the yard. We live on a farm and I mow about three acres per week during the summer with this mower. It takes about two hours normally. The new zero turn lawn mowers are faster and easier I believe, but this mower is durable and is in great shape, and I have time, so I continue to use it. It has a very comfortable seat, a drink holder and an additional pocket for gloves, etc. it rides pretty smoothly and rarely does my back or legs or anything hurt after riding it.


It steers well although it does have a wide turn radius, and often you have to back up to get a 90 degree turn correct. When the blades are new, the mower cuts very well, but after they begin to get older, it leaves lots of holidays or uncut grass. I live in southeastern Mississippi, so our summer is long and hot and rainy, so grass grows tall and thick quickly. I go through three sets of blades per summer typically. I am satisfied with the mower--it runs well, has never cut off on me and has only been stuck once in mud.

The only other bad thing I could say about the mower is that the belt comes off if anything gets thrown up on top of the deck and it is DIFFICULT to put back on. I have tried but normally my husband has to drop the deck or undo one of the pulleys to get it back on. Otherwise it is a good mower and does not use much gas at all.

Pros
- Lots of power,
- Wide cut

Cons
- Belt comes off and is hard to get back on,
- Blades get dull too fast

Ratings 3.5 out of 5

Comments for John Deere L130 Automatic 48"

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
Stay Away
by: Anonymous

I've gone through 3 broken front axles this unit is junk.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
trans burn out
by: rick

I bought a L 130 new, its about 6 years old and the cooling fan keeps getting broke, which in turn overheats the trans and the mower will not pull up a small hill, I will never buy another Deere

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
AFTER 20 MINUTE
by: Anonymous

WHEN I BEGIN TO CUT THE GRASS THE DEER STOP I DONT NO WHY AFTER 20 MINUTES I RESTART AND HARD TO START ONLY 5 YEARS I CHAGE 3 BEARING ALL CUTTER VACUM OSE ALL STOCK. JOHN DEER IS MY LAST TRACTOR FOR THE LIFE NEVER A BUY ATHOR ONE SORRY FOR MY ENGLISH

Aug 08, 2011
Rating
starstar
Many problems
by: Anonymous

Bought the Deere new about 8 yrs ago. After 2 summers of cutting grass, the front axle broke. Company said it's my problem. Last year it caught on fire, had the harness replaced etc.. Noticed it had been acting funny and slower on small inclines, thought maybe the drive belt was slipping / worn, contacted the John Deere dealer. Right away he said not a belt slipping. Your transmission is shot!
After reading some of the other reviews on the L130, seems transmission is a very common problem in this series? There is even talk of a another class action lawsuit. I'm replacing the Deere with another unit "NOT" a Deere that is for sure!!!

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere Riders Cutting Out
by: Anonymous

On my L130 the mower would shut down... Found out that it is the gas cap creating a vacuum which stops the flow of gas... Clean it completely or just loosen and tighten it if it happens....

Aug 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
cutting out and trying to die
by: Anonymous


l130 cutting out after 30 minutes, turns out the gas cap is not vented, loosen gas cap and see if it runs better, mine runs great now

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Not so Lucky with My L130
by: Anonymous

I bought my L130 about 4 years ago and the first two years it was great but the last two years I have had it at the shop more than I did my 25 year old Deere that this one replaced. I now have 2 acres to cut and it takes all day because, After about 30 minutes of cutting it starts cutting out and trying to die. I had it at the dealership 3 times last year and they could not find anything wrong, could not duplicate the problem and so it has not been fixed. The belt comes off real easy and is a pain to put back on. I have been very unhappy with this mower and swear I will never by another John Deere.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.