John Deere LA105 Lawn Tractor

by Erin Ward
(Hilton, NY, USA)

This is a really great lawn mower. With the adjustable cutting length and speeds, it makes mowing the lawn a breeze. Even with a back yard as uneven as mine, mowing it is an easy task with this lawn mower, since it's no trouble at all to switch the cutting length and speed mid-mow.


The high back seat makes mowing even the biggest lawn nice and comfortable. It even came with a great promotion- Drive it at no cost for a year with no interest! Qualified buyers got no money down, no payments and no interest for one full year. John Deere tractors also come with a great warranty! The headlights are a great feature on a lawn mower, I prefer to mow my lawn later at night when it's cooler, and often times the sun is on its way down.

I have had a couple of problems with the headlights blowing and shorting out, but the repair folks from John Deere were extremely nice and did all the repairs for free. Even though I've had this lawn mower for quite awhile, I've never had any problems with rust, even though it's not always stored in the driest places!

I still haven't even replaced the blades several years later- they show absolutely no signs of dulling. The mower still turns as sharp as it did the day I first used it, and cuts just as well too! I've even managed to tip the mower over a few times, and it hasn't even dented or stopped working.

Even though I replace the tires on my cars every year or so, I still haven't had to replace the tires on my lawn mower! Everyone needs one of these mowers!

Comments for John Deere LA105 Lawn Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 22, 2015
Rating
star
Never Again
by: Anonymous

Purchased new in May 2009.

Stopped mowing about a month ago. Repair shop adjusted valves for $85.

Engine blew up two weeks later. Wanted $500 to repair. Purchased a Cub Cadet instead.

Will never buy another John Deere.

Oct 08, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JUNK
by: Anonymous

Less than 200 hours and engine froze up. Cuts less than 3/4 of an acre of smooth lawn.Also clutch slips often requiring not only belt replacement but the two idler pulleys (plastic). This requires pulling the mower and the main pulley from the shaft. Was ready for a third replacement when engine let go.

Jul 14, 2015
Rating
star
Junk - It ain't a Honda
by: Anonymous

I've had the mower in for repair 3 times and the repair shop installed a cut-off because the gasoline fowls the Carb. If I leave the key in it the battery runs out - they can't tell my why this happens or fix it. So I pull the key. The brakes are completely out and have none at this point. The D105 had the brakes recalled but no mention of the LA105 - although many have issues with them and there is an adjustment online posted by an operator. Belt blew last weekend and need to replace that now... I believe I can do this myself but no reason to without brakes. Fortunately... I have A 15 y/o Lawnboy self propelled mower which has filled in nicely... it runs like a Honda - not a Deere (JD that is) thank god! Saving money and having the LAWNBOY serviced.

May 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good unit
by: T. Anderson

Five years and 126 hrs, (in service July 2010)
No problems , just regular service. Replaced the battery in the third year.

Apr 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Get your shit together
by: Anonymous

I love these do it yourself Bullshit Comments. The comments are good, but, what pisses me off is when I ask how to fix the brakes on my John Deere LA105, I want to see instructions on a LA105, not a L100, or any other type. Get your shit together. If you don't know, Don't show another model.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
star
LA 105 Tractor To Avoid
by: Victor

I purchased two LA 105's three years ago. One was in the shop in a year with transmission trouble, and just today, the Homestead Tractor people called and said it would take a new transmission for basically the cost of a new mower. Feel pretty sick. And poorer. The other John Deere quit this week -- seems like carburetor trouble. Very disappointed with John Deere. They are right: nothing runs like a Deere, and who knows where we would be if everything did.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
star
LA 105 Tractor To Avoid
by: Anonymous

I purchased two LA 105's three years ago. One was in the shop in a year with transmission trouble, and just today, the Homestead Tractor people called and said it would take a new transmission for basically the cost of a new mower. Feel pretty sick. And poorer. The other John Deere quit this week -- seems like carburetor trouble. Very disappointed with John Deere. They are right: nothing runs like a Deere, and who knows where we would be if everything did.

Aug 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
la 105
by: leeotis

got a la 105 sorriest junk i ever owned 3 transmissions reworked the deck 2 times redone the steering and put bushings in the front wheels wont ever own another one .

Aug 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Poor performance
by: Lew

My Deere LA 105 is not worth the price paid. It is not even 3 years old and will not start. It always floods and won't start. The PTO cable is a poorly designed sytem that has to have the cable replaced yesterday for the 5th time. It broke in the fist 3 months, replaced and broke again 3 days later, replaced and lasted one year now busted again. The spring at the idle pulley just snaps off. MTD lasted 15 years and this hasn't made it to 3 summers. Really regret the choice of a Deere. Regretted it since.

Jul 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
laster 50 hours
by: Anonymous

My La115 seems to have blow up with only 45 hours on it. It is no blowing exhaust out of the intake and will not run or idle..

Jul 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
john deere 105
by: Ronald

I had a John Deere rx75 for 15years it ran great was going to keep it for for a few more years until i stop at Home Deport and saw the price on the 105 almost bought one but didn't. then in may Iwent to my local John Deere Dealer just too look they had the same price as Home Deport talk to the salemen I bought one very smooth ride easy to handle great on gas took me 3hours and 45 min. to mow with the Rx75 now it take 2 hours. Thank- Johm Deere

Jun 12, 2014
Rating
star
Seem to be good ones and bad ones
by: Anonymous

I will be returning mine today...with a whole one hour on it. I have a hill that is a 22° grade. The mower can't climb it. It isn't the wheels spinning and it certainly isn't for lack of horse power. The transmission or drive belt will just slip. The sales people claim it is good up to 30° though, later I see in the manual it says not to use it over 13°. That's actually the only reason I can actually return this piece of junk.

Mine will also back fire when you shut it down about 30% of the time...with a very loud bang.

Sounds like some people are having good luck with this mower...I might try to exchange it for a different one...but I don't know. Hard to trust it now. This looked like it should be a good hill mower. It hangs it weight low, has a really heavy front axle, and 17 horses aren't no joke on a mower this size. However, if the drive assembly and transmission can't take advantage of it...it is all for nothing.

Jan 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
trusty
by: Anonymous

I have 20 acres of pasture and I bought a L105.. It now has over 550 hours on it.. I have always changed the oil on time and greased the joints. I mow 20 acres of PASTURE with it at 4". and mow the 1 1/2 acre of yard..
I have treated it like a bushhog many many times and I have used the deck to level horse manure and sand sometimes. I am always pulling the wagon for picking up manure and I made myself a 4' drag to use on the sand around the barn. It had never been to the dealership for anything until hour 535... I slung the left side mower pulley and lost the nut. I tried to take the
nut off the right side pulley, and sheared the bolt. I took it in to the john deere folks to get the pulley and bolt changed. Asked them to check it out..... they told me it could cost 800 dollars to fix everything like new (engine was still)fine... I bought the 6 dollar bolt for the right side pulley and the spare nut. Replaced the items for less than 10 dollars and brought it home .... I also bought a 300X that day and it is now my main mower. but I still use the 105 for dragging and pulling the manure wagon and mowing as needed. I love the new 300X, but I also really appreciate my L105. If I would have paid someone for the hours that I used my 105, It would have rated out at $3.25 per hour!!!! Saved me an awful lot of muscle time.....thanks John Deere....

Jan 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
trusty
by: Anonymous

I have 20 acres of pasture and I bought a L105.. It now has over 550 hours on it.. I have always changed the oil on time and greased the joints. I mow 20 acres of PASTURE with it at 4". and mow the 1 1/2 acre of yard..
I have treated it like a bushhog many many times and I have used the deck to level horse manure and sand sometimes. I am always pulling the wagon for picking up manure and I made myself a 4' drag to use on the sand around the barn. It had never been to the dealership for anything until hour 535... I slung the left side mower pulley and lost the nut. I tried to take the
nut off the right side pulley, and sheared the bolt. I took it in to the john deere folks to get the pulley and bolt changed. Asked them to check it out..... they told me it could cost 800 dollars to fix everything like new (engine was still)fine... I bought the 6 dollar bolt for the right side pulley and the spare nut. Replaced the items for less than 10 dollars and brought it home .... I also bought a 300X that day and it is now my main mower. but I still use the 105 for dragging and pulling the manure wagon and mowing as needed. I love the new 300X, but I also really appreciate my L105. If I would have paid someone for the hours that I used my 105, It would have rated out at $3.25 per hour!!!! Saved me an awful lot of muscle time.....thanks John Deere....

Nov 13, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
JD 105 mower
by: parkman23

This is a ok tractor for the money, not meant for hard use. Had ones trans replaced under warranty for being noisy in neutal and reverse. Second one is now doing the same at 150 hrs.Will use it till it dies this time as there is no fix but a new trans. Had to add a couple extra springs to brake so it always releases as it should. This next year I will adjust the valves, if you don't it will cause the motor to lock like a bad starter solenoid when they get loose. All in all my wife does all the mowing and is not the easiest on it so it has done pretty good other then the trans, it will be on its fourth season of mowing. If you do the suggested maint. these mowers are ok, I haven't mentioned I was a heavy equip. mech. for over 30 yrs,which makes things a little easier for me.

Aug 06, 2012
Rating
star
LA 105
by: K. Stepp

This is absolutely, the worst piece of junk, the brakes always stick,(300.00), the grass cut is always uneven. You would think John Deere ment quality...It doesn't. Getting it serviced is worse, no matter what, they always tell you the blades are bent and needs replacing. They are always glad to get your money, after you wait for 3 weeks to get it fixed. Warranties are worthless. Do yourself a favor and buy something else....HOUAH

Jul 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
why buy a deere
by: Anonymous

i bought a used craftsman 19.5 horse about ten years ago never changed a belt bearing tie rods etc paid 500 bucks bought a double bagger set up about 300 bucks love this tractor. changed the oil once greased the tie rods once changed the battery once. my property is mostly a hill and this baby tears it up. my brother in law was looking for a john deere but after all these bad reviews i think ill steer him away from a deere.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
John Deere LA 105
by: Lori

I have owned this lawn tractor for 3tys now, nothing but problems..paid almost 1700.00 for it and got it out to mow for the first time, and guess of course won't start! Turns over, but won't run..I hate this lawn mower nothing but junk.

May 22, 2012
Rating
star
Piece of Crap
by: Barbara

It's back to Craftsman next time. Tractor is worthless and so are the people at our JD store.

May 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
A decent tractor for the money
by: Roger,,Maryland.

I bought my jd la 105 in 2010,,overall no complaints I have about 80 hrs on it and I cut 1.5 acres of unlevel ground with it,,the only probs I had were the tie rods got bent and I changed them out along with a sector plate,,but it was very difficult to get the wheels straight after the change outs but finally did,,,along with that the deck belt has been changed twice now,,which I think is very excessive,,,but the machine is very reliable now,,,I wish they would of put a floating deck on it for people like me that have uneven ground,,instead it leaves low and high marks,,,but that's not a major prob.I gave $1800.00 for the jd and I would give it a 4 out of 5 rating,,Im satisfied for the most part and would recommend it to anyone.

May 11, 2012
Rating
star
Brake problems
by: Anonymous

Anyone know how to fix brakes that keep sticking???

Apr 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Ugghh piece of crap
by: Anonymous

I bought from Lowe's in 2006 a new JD 125. The steering has been hard since day 1. I had to take it to JD to be worked on less than 6 months after I had it bc the steering wheel wouldn't turn to the right without clicking noises. That was 500$. I have since had to replace the gears that does the steering bc the same thing keeps happening, it works fine for 2 or 3 mows then the gear is ruined again. Is there a reason for this, is there a recall on something I don't know about? I gave 1700 for it new and have already spent over half as much as it is worth for parts. I will never buy another john deere, I bought a old cheap kgro from kmart back in 97 for 800 that lasted til 2006 when i bought my jd. and the kgro was not kept in a shed as the jd is shed kept and all. Anyone know what could be causing this??

Apr 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
the decks are a bit cheesy
by: Kathy

The decks on these are a bit cheesy. The deck broke completely off where two bolts hold the mower blade assembly on. Now I will have to replace the entire deck shell or try to fabricate a metal plate to attach to the deck. There should be some kind of metal plate to reinforce it.

Mar 19, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent value
by: Bob M

I have owned a large number of tractors since 1964. The LA-105 is the best and most well made tractor I have owned. It's comfortable and easy to operate. If taken care of it should last a life time. The LA-105 has grease fittings on the mower blade spindles which is an improvement from the L series John Deere tractors. I highly recommend this tractor over many of the inferior brands available today. Buy from an authorized John Deere dealer who will honor the full 2 year warrant. The big box stores will refer you to an authorized John Deere dealer because they can not work on the products they sell. Also the dealer offers free delivery whereas the big box stores will rent you their truck for $40.00.

Feb 27, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Nothing Runs like a Deer
by: Happy JD Owner

My LA 105 has 79Hrs on it and is still running great. Had to fix the Idler pulley, but that's a common issue with any brand. I've been Selling and Repairing mowers for some time now. All Brands of Home Owner level riders has some higher percentage of needed repairs in comparrison to the commercial lines. I see some stating that Craftsman is the best....hate to burst your bubble, but I have had Craftsman (Made by AYP..American Yard Products, same company that makes Husqvarna) and have seen more problems out of both lines with deck and drive issues than any other residential line. Don't point your finger at a brand just because you've had a little luck with another. None of them are perfect.

Nov 27, 2011
Rating
star
Junk is right
by: Anonymous

I have had problems with brakes sticking, carb butterfly sticking would not run, brakes sticking, seat safety switch went bad, brakes sticking, brake switch, did I mention the brakes stick all the time. Dealership not close and warranty is only good for 12 months. Never again will I but JD junk, My craftsman was purchased used and lasted 12 years. This JD junk has less than 25 hrs on it.

Nov 03, 2011
Rating
starstar
Very cheap made tie rods
by: Anonymous

I have about 50 hrs on my la 105,,,I have had some problems with it of late,,such as the tie rod got bent and the deck belt broke,,all in the same day,,so I replaced the deck belt,,and got another tie rod and a sector plate as well,,even though the tie rod is adjustable,I can't seem to get the tires straight on it,,if you turn the steering wheel straight the right wheel is pointing out,,btw that's the side I changed the tie rod on,,but the left wheel stays true,,,the adjustment doesn't seem to help at all,,I can't drive it with the right tire pointing out,,not sure what my next move is,,any input from anyone would be thankful,,,,

Oct 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hasn't let me down
by: tgzzzz

I have an LA105 that I use in a modest commercial operation. This is the end of the 3rd season and I have 245 hours on the clock. While I have had many of the issues that others have (decompression gizmo failed under warranty, poor braking, grass clippings in beer can while mowing), I love the machine and can't imagine a handy homeowner not getting 20+ years out of it.

I don't set out to mow sticks, pinecones, plastic and metal objects but I have many times. I'd rather sharpen blades than pick everything up. I have jammed it up repeatedly,and bent a couple of blades on hidden tree roots and it has always restarted. I have the 19.5 engine and it is tough. I don't like to weedeat so I cut as close as possible to everything and have beaten up the deck some and had it rewelded twice. So what? I have a 6 buck can of JD yellow paint from Ace. I replaced a spindle only to find the noisy part was the larger idler pulley. $12 part. If you can't change these simple items, or adjust the deck level, or change oil per schedule, you may not be happy with any lawn tractor.

A couple of tips: the belt adjustment is on the short side. By removing one of the bolts, you can get more adj range. The braking issues are caused by dirt getting packed into the pad retainers to the point it overpowers the small springs. This is a 15 min job to pull, and clean. I've found the factory blades with the mulch cover work great at mulching a maintained yard. I tried a set of gator blades that looked mean but didn't mulch as well. I have grossed about 20k part-time for my $1500 investment. I love my JD!

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
My new 105
by: bill

Had craftsman mowers for years and years(33) My son talked me into buying a JD 105.. Bought it in the winter and never cut the grass until mid may (mich) Cut very nice nothing like the Craftsman, than one evening AFTER CUTTING THE GRASS I SAW SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE SEAT. STOPPED AND THE SMOKE STOPPED ALSO. CALLED THE JOHN DEERE DEALER HERE IN MID MICHIGAN AND THEY SAID IT IS UNDER WARRENTY AND BRING IT IN, 20 MILES. lEFT IT THERE OVER NIGHT AND WENT TO PICK IT UP WHEN THEY CALLED. NOTHING WRONG WITH IT AND THEY USED IT TO CUT THIER OWN GRASS TO CHECK IT OUT. THEY ALSO TOLD ME IT NEEDED AN OIL CHANGE WHEN I DROPPED IT OFF. THE OUR CLOCK SHOWED very few hors on it, less than 18. When I picked it up the said they changed a SHORT filter and 1 Quart of bulk oil. Seventy dollars.. I freaked and told them I can and do get our three GM vehicles oil changed at the GM dealer for less than that.. Now the mower sits here in mid Michigan waiting for winter and I have my grass cut.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent quality LA-105
by: Bob M

On August 20, 2011 I bought a used John Deere LA-105 from a dealer. The tractor had been won in a raffle and the winner already had a tractor so he left it with an authorized dealer to sell it for him.. I bought this $1500.00 tractor with 3 hours on it for $1000.00 with free delivery from the dealer. The first week the carburetor would not idle right. The dealer picked it up the next Monday and returned it to me Thursday with a new carburetor installed for free under warranty. It runs perfect and mulches grass better than any tractor I've owned in the past 48 years. For best factory service, buy from a dealer and not from Lowes or Home Depot.

Sep 13, 2011
Rating
star
Total Garbage
by: P.Webber

Dont Buy
Have had La 105 for a couple of years . Cutter deck was repaired twice under warranty. Now cutter deck need full replacement. $500.00 thankyou. Brakes barely work. Eats belts for breakfast. Peice of crap.

Aug 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
It does the job.
by: A. A. A. (seriously)

I purchased an LA105 3 years ago, and so far it has run as well as one would hope. It is a little slow to crank, having to turn it over a good bit. also, the battery died after the first year. Another problem that i have is that the linkage from the brake clatters louder than the motor but seems to be in proper working order. I'm guessing a bushing or washer may fix the problem, however, I have not assessed the issue with certainty. With that said, the lawnmower has performed well on my 1.5 acre grounds, despite the rough, uneven terrain.

I will not be able to compare its abilities to any other riding mower since it's my first. I purchased it from Lowe's. After sitting on 3 other models in its price range, I was sold. It felt the most sturdy to mount and dismount. Most of the Deere's materials felt superior, honestly. I guess wanting a Deere helped it along, but it sold itself in my opinion.

Aug 26, 2011
Rating
star
Sucks
by: Anonymous

I thought I was upgrading from my Sears Craftsman but not the case. The mulching has never been like the Sears and large grass clippings collect everywhere on the mower deck (more than you would expect). Cheap piece-o-crap.

Aug 23, 2011
Rating
starstar
Miss My Murray
by: John

I've had my JD LA105 for over a year now. Wish I had saved my money and replaced the engine on my 12 year old Murray. This mower runs good, other than it jerks your neck out of place when you take off.
My biggest problem is, I can't get it to quit scalping my yard. It cuts uneven , can't get the deck level. I even had a friend of mine come over from a JD dealer and set it up for me--never setup from store ---. He now tells me, I should not have bought from Home Depot and bought a more expensive one from the dealer. Said if I buy the $3,000.00 one, it will cut like it should. That's bull, $1500.00 ain't cheap to me. Never own another one!!!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
JUNK - john deere LA105
by: Anonymous

I bought LA 105 less than 15 months ago - have 50 hours on it and supposedly trans Idler bad. Took to Atlantic tractor for repair - was not covered under warrenty and came home making the same noise - metal on metal as when I dropped it off $ 192.60 for What? Back again for the second time - will be fixed I hope and then sold to the highest offer - Will never own another piece of John Deere Junk ever!!!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Never should have bought Green
by: Anonymous

Have a John Deere LA 105 and have owned it 7 weeks. Was mowing the yard last night and it stopped. Fuel pump probably went out. Called the dealer and was told to fix it myself they didn't have time. You have to love that Deere service after the sale.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
does not move forwards or backwards
by: Anonymous

I have a LA105 only owned my mower three months it worked fine until my dog ate the wiring. I have put in 200 dollars in wire harnesses and now I can crank it but I can not get it to move or run blades if this is related to a safety switch can someone advise I am frustrated in putting more money into a machine that will not move.


Aug 02, 2011
Rating
starstar
Needs better braking system
by: Pepawrick

I have read comments from others below but I find my JD LA105 to be gutless when trying to mow up hills (rear tires slip) and brakes WILL NOT HOLD when on an incline. I have looked at adjustments and adjusted per manual - guess what - IT DOESN'T CHANGE ANYTHING!!!!

JD R&D needs to go back to 1 clutch pedal and 1 brake pedal (with brakes that actually work).

Thank you

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
starstar
Ratings
by: Anonymous

These ratings appear to be off the average is closer to 2 1/2 stars

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
LA 105 Break Adjustment
by: Anonymous

I have a JD LA 105 with less than 40 hours on it and have no breaks left. Can someone tell me how the heck to adjust them. I have searched the internet and called the local dealer with no response. I would appreciate any help.
Tim
mh47driver@yahoo.com

Jun 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MAINTENCE
by: Anonymous

Mabey if you check your owners manual you would see the break in oil chanch is 8 hrs.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy one
by: Anonymous

I have a John Deere LA105 with 19 hours on it. Went to change the filter and it's stuck. Clearly whoever installed this oil flter at the factory made it way too tight. Also the transmission is already failing to connect in 4th gear. Also the spring at the end of the PTO cable, where it hooks to the lever which engages the blades, broke after just a few hours of use. Poor quality metal. All in all I would say this mower is a piece of SH*t and I advise against buying one.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere LA105 mover problem
by: Steve Lovasic

My John Deere LA105 is just one year and one month old. I have 31.5 hours of run time on it. The mower clutch/brake pedal has to be let out to approx 90 percxent befor the mower will move. It will not free roll in neutral gear position. I have called the John Deere dealer two time to have it looked at to get it repaired. No response from the dealer and he has not returned my calls.
This is the first J Deere that I have owned. All my other riders were Craftsmen bought at sears and never has any problems. All have lasted at leat 10 to 12 years. In the owners manual, there is no instructions as to how I can check out this problem.
Can you advise me as to how I may be able to fix this problem since the John Deere dealer has not returned my calls. My e-mail address is "bv643@yahoo.com"

May 22, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA105 is great!
by: Anonymous

Hi everyone,

I came to this site to figure out how to tighten my brakes, info seems good and this la105 is superb!

I am approaching 300 hours and use it for lawn mowing contracting, this machine is now 2 years old.

The only real repairs that I've had to do is replace the front 2 tires which went flat, and I had to have the deck welded from hitting to many gravestones, other than that...suberb!

On a funny note (and i understand if you want to call me the idiot that likes the 105 from this) I actually put on one blade BACKWARDS last year and it still cut...so really? la105 is great

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Rust bucket
by: Anonymous

I bought a new John Deere 125 lawn tractor from Lowes in 2006. Now with 130 hours on it, the right side of the tractor is rusting all the way through. It is the area where you put your right foot and the lower dash area. John Deere says it is my problem and not theirs. There is no reason why a 4 year old tractor shod be rusting through like a 15 year old car. NONE! It is kept in a dry garage and stored in the winter. I will never by a John Deere again!!

Darrel W. Bruck Jr.
Bourbonnais, Illinois

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Never Again!
by: Anonymous

After only 6 hours of use, my LA105 stopped running. Took it to the dealer and they tried to charge me or a WARRANTY repair. Valves were already out of adjustment. At 15 hours, the belt broke. They replaced it, but said they SHOULD charge me. Shortly after, the pully broke right out of the deck. John Deere would not repair. I had to take it to a welding shope. Now, at only 56 hours of service, it will not start. Changed fuel filter, oil, spark plug....no start. Now the batter is weak and when attempting to jump it, it turns over, but still will not start. We tried to make them replace the mower right after we bought it, but thy said that we didn't qualify unless we had it in the shop 3 times, WITH RECEIPTS in 3 months. What happened to people standing behind what they manufaturer? Do they seriously expect me to pay $1500.00 dollars every 2 or 3 years for a lawn mower??? Get real people. Figure out what your manufacturing problem is and correct it!

May 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD 105
by: Dann

We have a Jd 105 and mow a lot with it and I dont mean little city yards Were in the country and I have several 1 to 2 acre places to mow, My son drove it off a 6 ft cliff in to the lake, change the oil, gas, and spark plud and Im mowing again, only bad thing on these mower is the mower deck, Im on my 2nd deck, mowing bardicth's and the attachment point break off you can only weld them so many times, But in its been great over the last four or five years

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

LA 105...Just JUNK..Just JUNK save your money!

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Mark M

I have read all the haters and their pathetic whining about how bad John Deere is and all I have to say to them is GROW UP, take responisbility for your own actions. I have a LA 105 that I share with my dad. It is 4 years old climbs hills and cuts going up hill and have had no issues whatsoever with it. I will be honest and say I have not been kind to this little tractor but it takes the beating and keeps right on going! Yes it has the Briggs and Stratton 17.5 HP engine and it does not sling oil nor throw rods like one person said. I have had Briggs and Stratton motors for years and now full well the qauilty that goes into them. I also owned a small engine reapir shop and was a Briggs Dealer and had to perform warranty work. When they came in for warranty work say for example a guy complained about it threw a rod after 1 use. I would contact Briggs and get authorization for tear down. Once it was torn down I woould tell Briggs exactly what I saw on the inside and would tell them what I thought happened. If it was a defect from the factory then no probelm Briggs paid the bill. However if it was owner stupidity then I explained to the owner why it was not covered. Of course they would always call me a name and swear they would never buy another Briggs motor and were going to sue the pants off Briggs. I just let the name roll off my back and considered the source and just laughed to myslef as they drove off at just how dumb people could be.

As for the LA 105 it is a great tractor that came from the John Deere Dealer. I now work for Lowe's and you can buy the same tractors at Lowe's and yes they are made by MTD but to John Deere Specifications. When these tractors arrive at Lowe's they can't do anything but sit the crate off to the side as they are not allowed to uncrate or PDI (pre delivery inspection). This is handled 100% by the local John Deere dealer. This is the only way that you can get the John Deere Warranty. Needless to say if the tractor does not meet John Deere specs during PDI it can't be sold!

Love my tractor and I do agree with the one person about the brakes on steep hills. They need a better system. Since I am not cutting huge embankments I am good with what I have.

John Deere is NOT for everyone. A word to the wise though, it does not matter if you buy a Cub Cadet, Toro, Troy Built or Husqvarna if you buy them at other than the Dealers then you are getting the MTD made equivalent.

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Dont buy
by: Anonymous

I have owned my LA105 for a year now. It has its pro's, and of course its cons...

I mow about 50 hours a year. In he past year, I have had all 4 tires go flat from pinching them loading it in the trailer. Never had this problem with any of the older Deere stuff. I ended up tubing all the tires.

The drive belt stretched out. Let me tell you this: The dealer I called (CHAD LITTLE IN BRUNSWICK MAINE)are a bunch of ignorant meat sticks. I have a mower lift, had the mower in the air as was checking out why that while in drive, the MOWER WOULD NOT MOVE. Mind you, I am an electrical engineer and have a lot of experience working on trucks, cars, etc, so I know how stuff works.
The guy on the phone kept saying "something is un hooked, or not right." My response was "Listen, there is not much here to look at. 2 pulleys, 2 idlers, and a spring. Its hooked up right." "well theres no way the belt is worn, so bring it in."

I went to another JD dealer and bought the drive belt from the motor to transmission. It works fine so far, so it looks like Ill add that 25$ on to the yearly cost to run.

The wheels on the deck are bent outwards somehow.
The tires are aligned with the toe in. All of them are. It sucks and whoever designed this in CAD should go back to pre-school.
They come factory with the wheels on the deck raised up. If you dont want to dig to china with the blades when you turn, you need to lower the wheels down to the bottom hole.

The steering is sloppy. Why? Because they did not use a thick enough washer on the plate that turns the steering rods. I put a washer in and that tightened things up a bit and made a lot less racket.

Its a 20hp single. Really guys? You couldn't make it a twin?

Shifting sucks, stopping sucks, and getting going sucks. If I want the wife, or in-competent friend to drive the mower, its like showing someone how to drive a standard car. Its very jerky, especially to start off in the gear you want to be in.

The seat does not offer enough back support..

The good things:
It runs good
It cuts grass
It looks like a John deere

I give this 3 starts because for me, Its still cutting grass and working great, I havn't had to sink to much money in it because I can do the repairs myself. I mow hard with this machine and it is still like new by keeping it maintained.

If you dont know how to turn a bolt, or hit something back in to place with a hammer, don't buy this. You will be paying people to change the tires, paying them to level the deck, and paying them to change the belts.

I knew I should have went with the Cub Cadet. Much better built machine!!

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere is crap
by: Anonymous

"I'm a lawn mowing contractor, and wish I'd never bought an LA 105. Problem after problem with the deck, vibration bearings etc"Could you please tell me what mower you would recommend if not this la105

Apr 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NO PROBLEMS
by: Anonymous

Beginning my fourth season with this mower. Being used on a 1/2 acre lot with steep inclines. I have had no issues so far. I complete the annual service myself and purchase the parts through Lowes. It is garaged over the winter.

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
LA105
by: Anonymous

50.1 hours have had to change deck belt and drive belt
Changed oil at 8 hours and at 49.8 hours
now no startpops thru carb and got to the point no turn over
valve problem or compression release
dealer says i should have adjusted valves at 25 hours
book says 200 hours
they want 400.00 to fix no warranty
did i do somthing wrong?
why yes i bought a johndeere

it will be a topic of conversation in our small town

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere is crap
by: Anonymous

I'm a lawn mowing contractor, and wish I'd never bought an LA 105. Problem after problem with the deck, vibration bearings etc

Mar 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere
by: Anonymous

For everyone who does not do the proper maintance on any tractor/car/truck etc. Of course your going to hate it. Read the owners manual and change the oil and filters. I have had mine for 3 years and it starts and runs like a top. I DO THE MAINTANCE, I use stabil in the winter and change the fluids every 5-7 hours.

John Deere from Lowes is not John Deere from a tractor supply store. B & S does not make an engine for a full soze John Deere Tractor. Do your homework and I think you will find for all the weekend warriors this mower is above average.

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Why I wrote my comment
by: GP

I was less interested in carping about John Deere's low end tractor than I was in informing you who read this forum about the reality I have encountered with my tractor. A kind of warning...

Of course, one gets what one pays for. However, putting a product on the market under a well respected name to entice buyers to purchase carries with it the comany's obligation to live up to its reputation. While John Deere Co in my case did make an attempt to assist with the engine problem, the company refused to put any pressure on Briggs & Stratton to do anything about its defective product.

The outcome of this experience is obvious, is it not?

Having experienced John Deere's branding of a product not made in their factories but marketed under John Deere's name to entice buyers to buy based on reputation then having the product fail catastrophically makes me conclude that I cannot trust the company in its future products. I won't be buying any John Deere products henceforth.

I am not punishing John Deere as much as I amd protecting my investment in equipment.

I certainly wish all the best with your tractors- may they give you no problems.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
You get what you pay for
by: Anonymous

JOHN DEERE wanted to get into the box store rider mower market so they hired MTD to put a John Deere paint on plastic. These machines (LA series) are cheap for a reason. They use the cheapest parts possible. Any stress and they break.

The answer is invest in a real tractor, keep it for ten years, buy a diesel - keep it for 20 years. Do the math $5,000 / 10 years = $500/yr.

Or put $500 a year into cheap plastic for 6 years and throw it away and be unhappy. ($1,500 + $3000 in repairs = $4,500) You get what you pay in the case of tractors.

Anser: buy a real tractor. They start at $2,500.

John Deere (not MTD with green plastic) makes the following:
X300 Tractor, 42-inch deck - $2,500
X340 Tractor 54-inch deck - $4,300

I have several tractors (CAT, Oliver, JD) I have a John Deere tractor that is older than I am (50 years).

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
B & S engine starting fault
by: GP

My LA 105 lawn tractor is NOT made by JOHN DEERE but by MTD, the same company which makes YARDMAN and other low end lawn tractors.

Its engine is a Briggs and Stratton 17.5 HP vertical electric start. It had a major issue starting- the compression relief valve failed, was replaced at my expense and failed again. The compression relief valve enables the starter to overcome the engine compression to start. When it doesn't work, the starter can't throw the piston through TDC to start. Manually pulling the assembly around beyond the TDC compression point helps but isn't the total answer. B&S knows the problem exists, settled a class action suit some time ago but will not discuss the problem now (once the suit is settled everyone who missed it are out of luck and future problems are not addressable- a legal system outcome of great value to the lawyers but little use to the consumer stuck with the problem.) Tough Stuff is their attitude.
John Deere offered to pay half to redo the fix- $300 and generous. But to what end? No guarantee it wouldn't reoccur. Engine solved the problem by self-destructing. Probably had 350-400 hours on the engine. Now it is junk. No solution to this issue because the engine is half the value of the tractor and I will have to buy a replacement- another B&S engine with the same design problem. Anyone with a positive suggestion please write it up.

Jan 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good mower
by: tomas gomez

i bought my john deer 105 in mid summer. it's great! no complaints at all. i love it.

Nov 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA105
by: Pokerman

Reading some of your comments make me edgy, but I have had no problems with my LA105 after one season. Runs like a champ and now I am going to buy a blade so it can push snow. It kicks into gear smoothly and takes care of my yard easily, though I only have a quarter acre. Makes life easier so I can go forth and golf. Agree with the comment on the grass catcher, what a piece of junk, though one of my friends say they are all very non functional. I found by taking it slower it will not clog up the tube to the bags but if your grass is at all wet, it will continute to clog up. Kinda a pain in the a**.

Nov 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lovely Mower
by: Anonymous

I have a John Deere LA105, I was concerned that when we bought it, it wouldn't cope with what we wanted it to do, but we've nearly had it for a year and it's been through hell and back. I only had one problem and that was a bent blade (through my own sillyness) but other than that we've only followed the routine procedure of servicing and it runs like a deere!! Best mower you could buy for the price!

Oct 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Drive belt
by: Anonymous

I used my JD LA105 about 3 times, less then 15 hours and the drive belt stretched out quite a way.

Now when I try to engage the drive(clutch) it catches all the way at the top. There is no adjustment at all for this belt. If I replace it, it will probably do the same thing and I'll still have no moving power!!

Oct 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love it
by: Anonymous

I've had my LA105 for a little over 2 yrs, 155 hours, using it on a 2 acre lot. I've changed the oil myself and replaced the battery once, easy to do. I had an vintage Snapper prior to this and it was a constant battle, pouring $100 to $200 into it with each season. So when I got the LA105, it was a breeze compared to that. I recommend it.

Oct 21, 2010
Rating
star
Recall and re-design bagging system needed
by: Anonymous

Mower doesn't seem bad so far. Rattles a lot though.

The only bagging system available for it is the most non-functioning, poorly designed piece of junk I have ever seen so overall as a lawn cutting system, it sucks balls.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not one Problem
by: Anonymous

Have own the John Deere LA 105 since April 2010. I use it every other week on a very large lawn. I have had no problems at all. Love it

Sep 15, 2010
Rating
star
PLEASE NEVER BUY A DEERE! PLEASE!
by: Anonymous

Anyone reading this i would first like to say John Deere makes the worst machines available known to man. I have owned my John Deere LA 105 for three months, I bought it for $1,300, it has 57.7 hours on it currently and I have spent over $1,000 dollars on repairs only since i bought it a few months ago($2,300 total). I still have a warranty but deere tells me i caused the problems so i have had to replace a head casket in the engine, the butterfly clip for gas control in the engine, and the entire deck after the spindle ripped of in the middle of my mowing(without hitting anything. They are the slowest most non caring people I have ever met, there customer service hotline peole are very rude, and it took them three and a half weeks to get my new deck on and it only takes about an hour to replace. I just want to say to anyone thinking about buying a John Deere "DON'T", if you want to pay $1,500 for a mower that will break everytime you use it go ahead, if not I would definantly go with anyone other than John Deere. Im going to TORO!!!

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
star
worst lawn tractor made today
by: Anonymous

I can not begin to mention all the problems I've had with John Deere, from broken seat springs to broken axles and now recently it just doesn't run when the blades are engaged. JD service is horrible. Its a crime to pay close to $400 just to have it break down again 3 weeks later. After the JD service man came to the house two weeks in a row I decided to call it quits. I plan to get something better than a JD, maybe a Tonka tractor.

Aug 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Awesome!
by: Mowing MD

Just put my first 10 hours on this baby and it rolls perfect, no vibrations, and is crisp shifting in and out of gear. The design is simple and the cutting is perfect. Yea, only ten hours but so far so good!!!!!

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
My LA105 won't pull some grades
by: Phil

Are there any tire enhancements that would allow my LA105 to pull what you might call a "steep" grade/ -- something like snow chains (for grass/dirt, course)or cleated tires?

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Brakes fail on steep grade
by: Phil

At one place in my lawn, I mow a somewhat steep grade, but my John Deere LA105 mower's brakes tend to fail on that grade. There's no traction at all when they fail; I just roll down hill out of control -- frontwards when I'm descending, and backwards when I'm ascending and have to stop for some reason.

Jul 31, 2010
Rating
star
bad buy
by: Chaparral

Had this mower less than an hour and it threw a rod, had it repaired after a lot of hassle. Now after 2 hours of running it is spraying oil out of the front of the engine and im told it may be a cracked block. Do not buy this mower. Lowe's stopped carrying John Deere in my area due to the problems occuring

Jul 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Lawn Tractor!
by: Anonymous

It had an older John Deere L170 tractor and decided to upgrade. Tried to save a little money so I decided to purchase a new Sears Craftsman for $1250 (on sale) with a 21hp Briggs. It was a loaded tractor and thought I had done good. I started to cut my 3/4 acre yard and it felt like the think was going to come apart... terrible.

Took the dumb thing back and went to John Deere dealer (should have just done that the first time) and bought the JD 105 for $1499. Set the deck and wheels and started to cut... wow, it cut just like a John Deere. It was awesome.... it has great power, good turning radius, no vibration, and a smooth ride. The JD just feels good and I highly recommend it. Go JD!!!

Jul 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
move
by: Anonymous

I have a JD LA 105 I put it in gear dosent go.

Jul 28, 2010
Rating
starstar
Bent mower deck
by: Ed Ritter

I bought the LA105 a couple months ago and it only has 11 hours on it now. It never cut right from the begining scalping the grass on the left and would miss grass on the right. I went to a John Deere dealer and they said it sounds like its not level so they sold me a deck leveler for an bout 10 bucks. I went and an could not get it level. So I took the tractor to the dealer and they said it would cost about 500 bucks to fix because the deck is bent in two places and John Deere does not cover this. I called John Deere and they said they would make a customer complaint but offered no help on getting it fixed. I have hit pine cones and small sticks with this machine thats it.I am pissed off because I spent 1600 on a new machine that has never cut right from the beginning and John Deere has turned their backs on me. I thought I was getting the best machine with my money.

Jul 23, 2010
Rating
star
Wish I had NOT bought this mower!
by: Anonymous

Wish that I had bought another mower instead of this John Deere 105. About two weeks after I first purchased it, the mower started making a sound as if two parts were clanging together.

The sound does not occur when the brake is slightly depressed. After taking the battery out (and the piece of "U" shaped metal that it sets on), I saw a hole where a spring might have been.

Looking from the front of the mower, the small hole I am talking about is on the right side just below where the battery sits. There is a spring on the left side, and I just wonder if the spring I'm thinking is missing is causing two parts to clank together.

I'm very disappointed. The noise drives me batty.

It's still under warranty, but I don't have a truck to take it to the dealer, which is 60 miles away. I'm stuck wit this!

Jun 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
git r done
by: Anonymous

52 hours on it, only problem is all the yard sharks but the lawn tractor is great.

May 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just get one
by: RS of AUS

Hi All, I have an LA105 and have done 130 hours on it and absolutly love it! Have not had to touch it other than regular maintenance and common sense.Have 3.5 acres of lawn so the Beer holder comes in handy:)) Have previously owned a Murray and an MTD and had nothing but problems,highly recommend it to anyone-cheers!

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
40 hours
by: j

Just hit the forty hour mark with my little green machine and i have not had any problems. To all the winers crying about hitting stuff and having to replace vital pieces of the machine, your supposed to walk your yard and look for things that can cause damage to your equipment. If you want a lawn tractor that is built for the responseable adult operator i recomend john deere green.

Apr 11, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible quality
by: Anonymous

Biggest peice of junk Ive ever owned. Problem after problem. This was my first john deere and it will be my last.

Apr 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Toe-in of the Front tires??????
by: Anonymous

I paid for a 105 today and when loading it I noticed the toe-in is way too much. Looked at many other models and the 105 has, by far, the worst problem with both front tires pointing inward. Non adjustable tie rods do not provide any adjustment.

Does any one else have this problem??

I refused to take delivery until Home Depo gets an answer from JD.

I love JD products but why this problem????


Mar 25, 2010
Rating
star
JUNK MOWER
by: Anonymous

JOHN DEERE LA 105 IS A PIECE OF JUNK.....

Mar 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
one of the lowest John Deere Tractors
by: Anonymous

This classic looking green John Deere has saved me hours of time. I am able to cut my acre in about an hour with this practical and efficient mower. This tractor is very user friendly. My 12 year old son learned how to use it in about 15 minutes. The safety features on this machine are top of the line - it would be difficult to hurt yourself on this tractor. It would be more convenient oif you could hop off the mower to collect a dog toy or other lawn debris, but safety prevails.

This is one of the lowest priced John Deere Tractors and is well worth the money. The clippings from this model are a bit large, making me wish I had a collection attachment. It would be nice if the blade produced fine mulch. I am very happy with my this purchase!

Feb 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
just bought a la105
by: Anonymous

well all I have just purchased my first John Deer LA105 and apon reading the reviews I hope to get alot of use out of this mower. Last year I used a craftsman LT1000 and had nothing but problems so I hope to get as much mowimg time as you all have had....thanx for the reveiws.

Feb 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Makes grass cutting fun
by: Wayne

I got my tractor at the end of summer but managed to drive it every weekend whether the grass needing cutting or not! I love it! I had a Craftsman before which gave me 19 years of good service ... I gave it to my brother when I got the new one and it's still running great. I can only hope this new tractor gives me as good of service.

It just feels and sounds like more a more muscular machine than my old lawn tractor did. Under power with the blacdes engaged it just sounds great! Hard to describe but if you drive one you'll know what I mean. For the first time in years I can't wait for spring and cutting the grass again!!

Feb 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA105 Tractor
by: Steve E Dee

I moved into a new home a few months back and made a big jump in yard acreage. I knew ahead of time that I would be getting a yard tractor, but after my 1 cut using a self-propelled push mower, I knew it would be sooner then later!

I ended up getting a John Deere LA105 Tractor and the rear bagger assemble attachment I had heard that the Deere products were the best, and I can not be happier with my selection. The selectable cut height is nice and the power is more then enough for my needs. I get a clean cut throughout the yard. I also utilize the bagging system in the fall. I have lots of mature trees and back up to the woods. The bagging system gets clogged regularly, but nothing that is not a 30 second fix/clear.

I am online pricing the snow plow so I can get year round use from this impressive little tractor.

I would recommend this entry level tractor for any lawn.

Nov 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA105 lawn tractor
by: Dick in Michigan

When it came time to replace my very tired Murry lawn tractor,we looked at every tractor the big stores had to offer.We saw one tractor with a gas tank held in place by one plastic zip tie,right over the engine,can we say boom? The price of this unit was $139 less than an LA105,so much for big discount stores.We went with John Deere and could not be more pleased. Had the tractor 4 days
and the left front wheel was replaced by the Dealer.The grease fitting threads were bad.There is water main work going on and I hit the top of my water shut off pipe in my lawn,it had come up a couple of inches do to construction.The blades were wasted but not a bit of damaged to the deck.I read bad reports about the LA tractors but if you read close,it comes to one thing.Choose your Dealer with care.

Sep 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GREAT RIDING MOWER
by: Anonymous

I too, like many others , have had a great experience with my product, the LA105. I'm ready to embark on purchasing an attachment, as it's that time of year where leaves begin to fall and I'll need to either rake them up or use the 42" rear bagger John Deere offers. As for my tractor/mower, I couldn't be happier. I read that someone here had rolled their mower... I too have done so. The roll-over occurred on a grade I'd mowed over several times without incident. This particular time the ground was just too soft from rain occurring so frequently over the course of the prior days and weeks to allow for the angle to be safe. The mower ended its roll on its side and, to my astonishment, the engine was still running. Oil seemed to be gravitating towards the exhaust and started to flow from the muffler. After righting the mower, there was a tremendous amount of white smoke billowing out of the exhaust (it looked as if I was burning a large amount of leaves). As the tractor kept running, I slowed the idle to allow for the right combination of fuel and air to take place while the white smoke continued to flow. After a couple of minutes everything was back to normal. Even though the hood required putting back some of the components that became dislodged due to the roll, once they were all put back in place, to my amazement, I finished the lawn (about 2 acres). However, it seems there may be permanent damage to the mower. My right front tire wobbles slightly and I feel as if I somehow damaged the way the deck is engaged and powered through the lever above the steering wheel; when I engage the deck's blades I feel a rumble or rattle from that area. I'm contemplating bringing the mower in for John Deere's professional staff to have a thorough going over before I prepare it for winter plowing duty. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated. One last item to add: I'm so fortunate to have had the opportunity to acquire my LA105 as it has allowed me to keep my lawn in great shape without taking a complete day to achieve this. I almost wish I would have bought the LA145. Unfortunately with a steep driveway and the hopes to plow it, I was told an automatic transmission was without a doubt the wrong way to go, as the power you may require to plow on such a steep incline could only be attained by first or second gear, and the auto-trans would never allow for that to happen. The best of luck to all fellow owners of the great LA 105...



l

Apr 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Could not ask for more...
by: Anonymous

On the day I purchased my new wonderful lawn tractor, I got home and began to mow. I had to kill the engine to remove some debris from the yard (I live in the country with kids/dogs). When I tried to restart the mower, it would not start. I called John Deere and talked with them (even though I bought the mower at my local Home Depot). John Deere was very nice, and told me what to try. I guess they could hear the panic in my voice regarding this situation (just spending $1500 on my very first John Deere product)when I asked about bringing it in to them to check over or to trade out with another new one. He told me to drive it; in fact, he said TRY and tear it up. After all, (he said) it was under warranty and if it was going to tear up now should be the time to find out. He gave his CELL PHONE NUMBER and told me not to worry. GO MOW! Unbelievable! So I did (go mow) and I am still mowing, almost a year later. It continued to start and work fine after that. I have never forgotten that saleman and his confidence in his product. I reccommend John Deere to everyone! Wouldn't you?

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Powerful motor and excellent traction
by: Anonymous

I Love My New John Deere!!! I am so happy with my new John Deere 19.5-HP Manual 42" Cut LA105 Lawn Tractor.

About a year and a half ago, I seriously injured my back working on the carburetor on my Ford Expedition.

My days of working on my car were over and I also believed that my days of caring for my lawn were over as well. I at the time I had a push mover and there was no possible way that I could mow the grass without seriously reinjuring my back.

I was very upset, as lawn care and yard work were things that I had enjoyed since childhood. Ultimately, I was forced to hire neighborhood kids to mow my lawn.

Then, on Christmas Day my wife presented me with a beautiful, new John Deere lawn tractor. The first time I used it to cut my lawn; I knew it was the one for me.

The tractor has such a powerful motor and such excellent traction, that when you use it feels like it can drive itself.

I am so happy that I can once again enjoy the outdoors and take care of my lawn, and moreover so happy with my new John Deere lawn tractor.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
shop manual for la105 johndeere
by: Anonymous

I love my john deere la 105, but i would like to find a shop manual. It recommends tightening the blade belt after so many hours. the operators manual dosen't tell you how.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Expensive initially but will pay for itself
by: Allison

The John Deere tractor lawn mower is great for people who have large yards. When I first moved into my home, I only had a small push lawn mower, and doing the lawn was an all day affair. I invested in the John Deere mower because it could handle more grass and was much more convenient for hot days.

It cut my mowing time down to about a third of the time I was spending and the clean up and disposal of grass is easy because of the containers on the back of the mower. It is also great for yard projects because you can get an extra trailer to attach to the back of the mower that can be pulled around the yard and filled with materials or yard tools.

The problems with the mower are that it is expensive initially, and it takes up much more space than a smaller push lawn mower. It can also be hard to maneuver if your yard is rocky or has a lot of odd angles and small places - you will likely have to go back with a trimmer or a small push mower to get the rest of the grass.

However, if you take care of it, the lawn mower will last a long time and probably pay for itself with the time you save on lawn care. If you are enthusiastic about making your yard look great but have a lot of grass to cut, this mower is probably the one for you.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstar
I hope my problems with this mower are over
by: William White

I recently purchased the John Deere LA 105 lawn tractor and I got to say, I hope the worst is over.

I've used the tractor 3 times so far and have had problems 2 out of the 3 times. The first time I ran over a small piece of carpet partially buried in the yard. Doing so sheared off the idling pulley.

I had to take it in to be repaired. At the time there was less than 15 minutes on the mower. It was my first mow. To John Deere's credit, they repaired it under warranty, didn't charge me a cent or ask any questions. It was however a hassle.

My third mow was yesterday. I finished the mow, now having 2.5 hours on the tractor. I was starting to feel the pride again of owning a Deere. I let the tractor cool off for awhile, then I washed it. After washing it I let it sit for awhile to dry.

When I went to park it, it barely moved in any gear. I just kept driving it around, trying different gears. Finally, after a couple of minutes it seemed to return to normal.

Perhaps I got something wet that I wasn't supposed to, but I didn't hose down under the hood. The manual says nothing about keeping water away from any areas of the mower. Now I'm paranoid about having problems with it. It sucks because I was really proud to have bought a John Deere.

Feb 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Durable and Dependable
by: Curt

I have owned my John Deere LA105 Tractor for approximately 18 months. It uses a 1-cylinder, 19.5 horsepower Briggs & Stratton engine with a 42 inch cutting radius.

I generally use the tractor at least once a week between April and October, and have yet to have an issue with it. The tractor has plenty of power and a reasonable cutting width, and works perfectly to get my 1.5 acre lawn mowed in a reasonable amount of time.

So far, my Deere has been relatively maintenance free, and feels very durable. The oil drain plug is extremely easy to use, and allows for the changing of oil without any extra tools. The level of fit and finish is impressive, and the body feels strong and well made.

I also purchased the optional rear bagger to collect my grass clippings. While it does work well, the installation and removal of the bagging system is somewhat complicated and time consuming.

The controls are simple as well, and I was able to get the tractor going without any instruction. For an entry level mower (I paid $1,299), the LA105 is a very dependable machine with a decent list of features.

John Deere also offers a variety of attachments for the 100 Series mowers, from snow plows to two-behind tools. Overall, I would recommend this tractor to anybody who has a lawn that is too big for a regular push mower.

The John Deere LA105 is a great entry level tractor with a decent amount of power, great cutting ability, and easy to use controls.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.