John Deere LA115 Riding Mower

by A. Racha Prasavi
(India)

Our lawn mower is a John Deere LA115, riding tractor model with 19.5 HP engine.


Before this mower, we had a Stiga Villa "zero turn-around" mower, so this review will be mostly a comparison of the two.

In general the John Deere LA115 is very simple to operate. The gears and up/down controls are placed very logically, so it does not take long time to get started driving and mowing. The engine is strong enough to handle also high thick grass, even at fast speeds. We have had this mower for 2 years now, and we have still not needed to change or sharpen the knives, nor any maintenance on the rest of the vehicle (except changing oil, which is factory recommended). Very reliable is our impression.

Steering is more natural with this mower than our old Stiga Villa. The front-placed knives were more easy to keep an overview of, and put into corners, but when driving normally, it took some more concentration to steer the vehicle in a straight line.

The tractor-type mower is also very useful for other purposes, it can be used for what any small tractor can do. While we have not tried to remove the knives yet, the manual states that this is possible. Without knives, it comes as a general purpose home-tractor.

One slight annoyance, which I suspect is general for all tractor-type mowers, that you have to speed down while taking corners. If you do not slow down, the two knifes do do not meet, and they make a small line standing in the middle. This was not a problem with the Stiga Villa, where knives were placed so they overlap directly instead of slightly front/behind each other as on the John Deere LA115.

To conclude: We are very happy with the John Deere LA115. It serves good as a strong lawn mower, and can also be used for other home purposes.

Comments for John Deere LA115 Riding Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 28, 2015
Rating
starstar
Unhappy with this JD - liked my old one
by: Sharol

My machine came coughing and they told me it was nothing and to ignore it, that it was OK since it was just when it started up. I don't use it much and it is kept covered. End of second year it needed a new fuel pump as it was leaking oil. Then in the spring of this third year it needed another fuel pump as leaking oil. The guy who fixed it told me they attached it loosely which causes the machine to bang it around enough to break it. So , he fixed it so that would not happen again. Seemed OK, until I used it for 45 minutes. Still leaking oil and I have the repair guy coming out to look at it again. Probably needs a head gasket. I am not sure.
I rated this machine with a 2 as it does run but poorly. This machine seems to be made to break down and fall apart early.

Aug 08, 2014
Rating
star
Paint
by: Anonymous

I have a Deere 110.....paint peeled off within 2 years after being inside it's entire life.Waxed every couple months.Looks like paint never adhered to metal...probably just dipped.Seat cracked.....never in rain or left in sunshine.Be last of these I buy.

Jul 01, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Deck
by: Anonymous

My deck is rusting and separating, and probably won't last the rest of summer. As all others comment, paint is peeling off like crazy, rust, rust, rust!!!
Won't buy another dud-Deere!










Jun 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere L118B
by: Mike

I have 99 hours on my L118B John Deere Mower/Lawn Tractor. This $2200.00 tractor has been a NIGHTMARE! Paint peels in 1foot sheets and is totally covered in rust under the paint. I have had to buy a carb on Ebay because the dealer was unable to tell me what the hell was wrong with it but he wanted 250.00 for a new carb I paid 60.00 on eBay. Tires won't keep pressure up, deck bearings on left self destructed, Fuel line falls out of tank, Fuel pump went bad, wheel bearing on left went bad. I serviced this tractor all the time. wish I would have never sold my snapper mower for this piece of shit john deere! My snapper was 15 to 20 years old and all I had to do was sit in the seat turn the key the lawn was done. I can't even get 2 or 3 cuts and I'm having to fix this junk John Deere. If any of you purchased from lowes they will replace the mower that's their guarantee my dads was 4 years old they gave him a brand new mower all he had to do was pay taxes shipping and stuff it was like 400.00. I bought mine at home depot they suck just as bad as the mower. My email is jkasza1@tampabay.rr.com

May 09, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L115
by: Anonymous

hey john deere if you are reading this, why did you stop making L115? was there something wrong outside of the paint job?

Apr 10, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
Bad paint
by: Anonymously

Good motor ! Can't. Say as much for paint
On deck! Coming off in sheets large as my hand.
Only have 130 hrs. On the la 115. Paint
Should last a lot longer! The paint is not
Bounded to medal of deck!
John Deere has a problem with paint on
Decks! If there is anyone out there that can
Fix this problem it will surely help sales!
Email me at
66ssrolltide@gmail.com
Thank you ! Have a great day!


Apr 10, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
Bad paint
by: Anonymously

Good motor ! Can't. Say as much for paint
On deck! Coming off in sheets large as my hand.
Only have 130 hrs. On the la 115. Paint
Should last a lot longer! The paint is not
Bounded to medal of deck!
John Deere has a problem with paint on
Decks! If there is anyone out there that can
Fix this problem it will surely help sales!
Email me at
66ssrolltide@gmail.com
Thank you ! Have a great day!


Mar 31, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
paint peeling
by: Anonymous

Bought a LA115 new from Lowes. Works ok but only 4 years in and large areas of paint on the deck are coming off. No rust under missing paint? Kept inside so it is not a weather related issue. Won't buy another JD as others I have owned did not do this. John Deere does not have customer care that I can find, they want you to go back where you got it. Too much hassle, faulty product.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Paint peeling in sheets
by: Anonymous

For years I wanted a John Deere. Moved to rural Pennsylvania several years ago and first thing I did was to buy a JD lawn tractor. First the dealer delivered the floor model I said I didn't want; then the anti-backfire mechanism went in the middle of cutting; then the steering gear broke allowing me to only turn in one direction. For past two years the paint has bubbled and now it is coming off in sheets. Very disappointed given the price of the mower. Won't buy another one. "Burn me once, shame on you. Burn me twice, shame on me!"

Jul 04, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA115 mower
by: mary

Mower
Bought my LA115 in 2008. Runs great no pait pealing off yet but keep it in Garage. Regular oil and filter change. Very pleased with performance.

May 12, 2013
Rating
star
recall it
by: Anonymous

Paint peeling off in sheets after a couple of years. Seems like a pattern that shows a defect in material and workmenship.

Jul 26, 2012
Rating
star
Weak performance
by: Anonymous

I have had my LA115 for 2 years and 2mo and now I have problems that just started after the warrenty ran out, it floods out regularly the belts are noisey and the blades vibrate really bad. I have to mow over where I have already mowed to get it to mow evenly and mulch what was just cut. Not enough power to give the blades the rpms to cut efficiently. My mower deck paint is also coming off in sheets. My old murray that I had foe 12 years was a better cutting, more power, less hastle mower than what this supposed top of the line mower company is selling. Never Again!!!! To much problems for the price.

Jul 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
bad paint
by: Anonymous

my paints bad 2

Jun 08, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
My LA115
by: denny

I purchased my LA115 sept.2011. I have 200 hours on it as of june 2012.When you make a turn while mowing sometimes I have to go back over it again. The deck needs 4 wheels instead of 2. The front wheels were toed in too far. Iput 200 hrs on it and had to buy new tires. Took it to the dealer. They put new spindles and bushings on it. that don't fix the oroblem. I went to a cub cadet dealer purchased an adjuster.Went to a welding shop.He welded the adjuster on the tie rod end. I put it together adjusted it now the wheels are good. The fuel tank is small. I have a cub cadet I purchased April 2009. I love it. My next mower will not be a JD.

Mar 10, 2012
Rating
star
Blown engine
by: Anonymous

I have a LA 115 three yrs old, 120 hrs. I have changed the oil and filter as recommended. Today I was mowing for the second time this year, and as I was finishing the back yard I heard a loud POP, saw metal flying and the engine quit. The engine had blown, a big hole in the side and oil pouring out. I am going to have to decide what to do, replace the engine or sell as is and buy another brand.

Feb 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA115
by: Steve

Bought mower 2008 and it has been a fine mower exept the paint peeling off layers. My first and las Jon Deere

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
star
JD L118 rust problems
by: Maurice

In May of 2006 I purchased a brand new model L118 from my John Deere dealor. I perform all the required maintenance and keep this machine in my barn. Unfortunately, it has been showing paint lifting and rust underneath (the paint) for the last couple of years. I'm talking areas such as on the lip directly behind the seat; the foot boards; and on the sides of the fenders. It lifts off in small sheets. I contacted JOHN DEERE. Their response was "no idea, maybe you should speak to the dealor." The dealor said he would get back to me....that was months ago. I will not buy another John Deere. A $2600 machine, just five years old, and it looks like it has sat outside the whole time.

Nov 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
belt jumped off
by: Anonymous

I HAVE A JD LA 115. THE BELT JUMPED OFF THE REAR PULLY OVER THE REAR AXEL. AND IDEAS ON GETTING IT BACK ON?? THANKS TC..:)

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
star
Paint Peeling
by: Steve

Three summers, and the paint is peeling off. I'll never own another John Deere!

Sep 06, 2011
Rating
starstar
LA115
by: Anonymous

After 5 years the paint on the body is either gone or ready to peel off in large sheets although the paint on the mower section is fine. I just recently replace the battery which was to be expected.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
Paint job
by: Steve

I bought an LA115 in 2008. It is a tough mower and I've had no problems with the machine, but the other evening I noticed the paint chipping on a spot.

May 31, 2011
Rating
star
Won't start
by: Anonymous

A couple of years ago I bought a new John Deere La115 (plastic hood & all) from a local dealer in Columbia, MO. By the time the mower had 62 hours on it labored trying to start but wouldn't. Checked the battery,spark plug, put in new gas, but there was no improvement. I don't think much of this model.

Mar 16, 2011
Rating
starstar
LA 135 Rusting
by: Jon

Overall satisfied with performance, but after only 2 years after purchase every factory hole that was placed in the body of this mower is rusting and paint is now coming off in sheets.My father has same mower and has done same thing as well. I know rust is somewhat normal,but after what i paid for this thing and only 2 years before whole thing is going to have to be repainted, i'm really disappointed with it. I also have a Huskee that is 10 years old and shows no sign of rust at all,a little wax twice a year and shines like new. As for this family ,i think we are done with John Deere! You can get better quality for alot less money,especially in this economy!

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
JD LA 115 want start
by: B. Bryant

My John Deere LA115 is 2 yrs. old. Replaced battery yesterday but engine still will not turn
over. Any suggestions on what may be wrong.
B. Bryant

Jan 27, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere Warranty denied
by: Anonymous

I got a LA115 2 years and 3 days ago. Right at 6 months the paint was peeling off in sheets and they said it was enviromental corrosion and would not do anything about it. This mower is garage kept and now I have started the restoration of it because it is rusting so severly that the only way to save it is to take it all apart and grind it down to metal and repaint everything. It is a big mess and you can bet that I will never own another JD product again!.

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent! I'm Very Happy!
by: Nathan

I just bought a used John Deere LA 115 from the local John Deere dealer. I got a heck of a deal on it, as it was traded in. I paid $500.00 for it. Lowe's and Home Depot sell this exact same mower for close to $1700.00. I mowed with it this weekend and it runs and mows like a dream--Absolutely no problems! Starts right up. The mower is a 2008 model, with less than 50 hours on it. Needless to say I'm very happy, and very pleased. It mows nice and evenly, and runs excellent! I have nothing but good things to say about this mower--I absolutely LOVE it!

May 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
new 2 me
by: Ray

After wanting one for 25 years I finally bought my first John Deere today. I purchased it from a local dealer, who was very competitive in price with the big box stores. He also delivered it for free, and I felt secure to know that my LA115 was serviced by the guys who work on the John Deere farm equipment too.
Being from a small farming town, my tractor was delivered to my home about an hour after purchase. On delivery I not only received full operating instructions by the tech that delivered it, but he stood around to watch while I mowed the lawn, to make sure that everything was working fine and that I was operating correctly. The tractor drove like a dream, no chugging or bogging like I was used to from day one with my old tractor. Everything appears to be solid, and I'm really impressed with the smooth even cut. Glad I bought it!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.