John Deere LA140

by Kelly Davis
(Rochester, NY)

The John Deere LA140 was designed for sale at Home Depot. This is a lawn mower not a garden tractor so it is sold at a much lower price, but if you are not using is for heavy yard work, just mowing it does the trick and you can actually afford the green paint.


This model is a 2007 it is the same as the LA145- 2008 model. It comes with the front bumper that is an upgrade from the other models.

It has five cutting heights and built in cup holder. It has a place on the mower deck to attach a garden hose for easy cleaning.

I also purchased the lawn bagger which works great. I have had no problems with this machine and would recommend it. I mow one acre and it does a great job.

Comments for John Deere LA140

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 20, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD LA140
by: Anonymous

I boughtmy la140fromaJD dealer;which has gone out of busines.My steering is awful replaced bushings didn't help a bit,Replaced all spindles first yearthen PTOclutch and switch Two years later clutch went out.Dont think I will buy any more JDfrom DoninFL

Nov 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Fair to Good
by: C. Phillips

PROS: I've been using my JD LA140 to not only cut my 2/3 acre lawn but also to pull my Cyclone Garden Rake. The rake is VERY heavy when filled with grass clippings and my JD has performed very well. I'm no motorhead (I'm a 60 year old grandmother) but I do change the oil, oil filter, fuel filter, and air filter yearly. I also use additives in every tank of gas due to the use of ethylene gas here in Texas.
Only recently have I replaced the grease in the axle ends when it got hard to steer.

CONS: adjusting the height of mower deck doesn't work well. I must replace the wheels on the deck.
Lights don't work - I've no idea how hard that will be to fix.

Would I recommend this to another buyer. I'd have to give it a qualified "yes".

Nov 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Fair to Good
by: C. Phillips

PROS: I've been using my JD LA140 to not only cut my 2/3 acre lawn but also to pull my Cyclone Garden Rake. The rake is VERY heavy when filled with grass clippings and my JD has performed very well. I'm no motorhead (I'm a 60 year old grandmother) but I do change the oil, oil filter, fuel filter, and air filter yearly. I also use additives in every tank of gas due to the use of ethylene gas here in Texas.
Only recently have I replaced the grease in the axle ends when it got hard to steer.

CONS: adjusting the height of mower deck doesn't work well. I must replace the wheels on the deck.
Lights don't work - I've no idea how hard that will be to fix.

Would I recommend this to another buyer. I'd have to give it a qualified "yes".

Aug 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L120 600 hours
by: Anonymous

Look at the transmission. There's a cooling fan driven by the drive belt. The faster the engine runs the faster the fan turns. If you don't run the engine full speed the transmission gets hot and eventually fails.
600 hours+ on my 2004 L120. We mow a lot of grass several acres. Still on original transmission.

Jun 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Jerry

I have 2004 JD L 120. I cut about 1.5 acres. Outside of regular maintenance, the only things replaced have been, blades and deck wheels. After ten years of use it looks great and runs great.

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
Will be selling my LA140!
by: Bill

Home Depot had to deliver THREE LA140's before I got one that actually worked. Then the third one needed engine work while still under warranty to get it started. The first JD dealer did nothing, yet charged me $133 for his "repair". The second at least adjusted the timing and it worked better. JD would not pay any of the dealers' cost to pick up the mower. They finally forced the first guy to refund my money, but I am still out #207! JD implies it was my fault for taking a mower from Home Depot without PDI ...MY fault!? JD has done NOTHing but try to deflect blame. If you believe them, NONE of this is their fault!! Never again a John Deere!

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
BAD BUSINESS
by: Anonymous

ANY MACHINE SOLD BY HOME DEPOT IS CHEEP. WHY WOULD JOHN DEERE PUT THERE NAME ON SOMETHING SO CHEEP.

Jul 03, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
265 hours
by: Anonymous

At 265 hours my tranny started slipping, so I removed it and changed the oil to 5/50 synthetic with a little lucas additive. seems to be working as good as new. in the future I will do this at every 100 hrs.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
LA140 Junk
by: Anonymous

We also purchased this mower and transmission went with less then 40 hrs. Yes! Warranty has expired and the part alone is in the area of $600. After reading all the reviews very concerned about replacing the transmission to only have this done again. WILL NOT! be purchasing another JD mower in the future. CUB CADET!!!!may be the way to go.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
LA140 JUNK
by: MJF

In May of 2007, I went to Home Depot to buy at the time the new John Deere LA140 Tractor. I wanted a larger tractor with a 48”mower deck. I always heard John Deere made good quality equipment that last a lifetime. So I spent over $2000 for this tractor figuring it would last a lifetime. The first week I had it, while cutting my lawn the tractors engine didn’t sound right and didn’t have much power. I stopped the tractor and called John Deere to come over and take a look at it. The tractor was still under warranty and they found that the rocker arm was off the push rod. They fixed it. No charge.

Then small things started to go on it, springs, the arm to raise the mower deck, one of the mower decks pulley wheel ball bearings came out, had to replace that. Last year I had to replace the middle mower decks spindle. Now I’m saying to myself, this thing isn’t going to last a lifetime and if it does I’ll go broke.

Now, all the transmission fluid has leaked out of the axle. Called John Deere and they said that the entire transmission has to be replaced as a unit, that they can’t just put in a new seal and add fluid. The transmission alone is about $700 with labor to install it about $1000. John Deere is aware that there are serious problems with the K36, K46 Transmissions that are in many of their tractors. You can read some of the complaints at: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/homeowners/deere.html . You can buy an upgrade K66 transmission between $1500 to $1800., but you have to put it in yourself.

That’s it, after 5 years my imitation John Deere is useless, who is going to spend $1000 to fix something that’s was $2000 5 years ago. So I did some investigating and found out that the LA140 tractor may not be made by John Deere. It may be made by MTD for John Deere. That’s not what I paid over $2000 for. I paid for a product that was supposed to be made by John Deere. I was never told this when I purchased it at Home Depot. I was misled. I would not have purchased this tractor knowing this, nor would anybody else if they knew.



Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
John Deere Junk
by: Fred

I havea L120 and a LA140. Both are junk.

May 21, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They ARE NOT MADE BY MTD
by: Anonymous

Just to clarify for all those who think otherwise, no tractor with a John Deere green paint job and the official John Deere branding on it has EVER been made by MTD. The 100 Series is the light duty lawn tractor series that is manufactured by John Deere to give them a product in the entry level market for riding mowers. They may not be lifetime lasting machines but please don't go spreading false rumors.

Apr 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA140 Transmission Problems
by: Western New York

We bought the LA140 John Deere unit in 2007 from Home Depot. In the 4th year with 200 hours, the transmission went. Tried replacing the traction belt to no avail. I thought in 2007 that I was upgrading from the Craftsmen to John Deere. Looks like I got that wrong.

Apr 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA140 - Great Product
by: Land

I just wanted to say my luck with the John Deere LA140 has been outstanding. I've had this machine since May 2007 bought from Home Depot and it mows a 5 acre lot at least 5 times a year plus my residential home. Noting the 5 acre lot has tall grass, thorns bushes, stumps etc. and it continues to push through each year. Obviously, I have completed the annual maintenance which, I feel has help the life of this product.

Mar 15, 2012
Rating
starstar
GOOD TRACTOR CONSTRUCTED POORLY
by: Anonymous

Puchased from Home Depot in 2007, worked fine for roughly 2 years than in late 2010 and throughout 2011, something went on with the steering system and the wheels now only turn to the right, forget about the left. Have to use someone else's tractor since this one is a piece of shit. Ask dealer about fixing it, it would cost almost $1,000 to fix it! Thats bullshit! I will be buying another soon. DON'T CONSIDER. These tractors are made cheap for home depot, lowes, etc.. Go to a dealer for a well made one, costing roughly the same.

Feb 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great lawnmower
by: Anonymous

Bought in 2007. 173 hours cutting 2 acres. Outstanding. Do the scheduled maintenance, keep the valve clearance adjusted (otherwise hard starting) and have not had a lick of problems. Love my Deere.

Feb 07, 2012
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Third transmission has gone bad now on my 140. Biggest waste of money ever. Only 1 acre of grass. John Deer said not there problem.

Oct 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
PROBLEM IMMEDIATELY
by: CJR

WELL, LET'S SEE. AFTER 5 HRS. OF USE THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND COULD NOT EVEN PULL ITS OWN SELF. DEALER SAID A LOT OF THESE ENGINES HAD THE WRONG LENGTH VALVE STEMS. HE FIXED THAT. MY ONLY OTHER REAL COMPLAINT IS THAT MY ENGINE USES MORE GAS THAN OTHER OWNERS.

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Been good to me
by: Anonymous

I bought this in 2007 been just fine , I change the oil and filter every year ,along with just cleaning the air filter ,Just changed the plugs , clean it up and dont beat it, just fine, some people dont do that and along come the problems, beat your car I guarrantee it will end up junk.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
80 hrs and tranny quit
by: Jeff in Ga.

Bought this mower at Lowes 3 1/2 yrs ago. The transmission just went out after 80 hrs. I have L
owes 5yr extended warranty. Heading to the dealer this week. Wish me luck.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Horrible Mower
by: Carmel NY

A waste of $2500.
You need to spend $3500 for a decent Deere mower.
This has a Briggs engine, I've replaced the fuel filter every year.
The electrical failed 1 week after delivery!
I tried to return it to dealer and they wouldn't take an exchange.

May 08, 2011
Rating
star
Thought they were the best...SAD
by: Kdf

Have a 140 with 135 hrs on it.Lost power while mowing.Took it back to JD dealer where I bought it.They changed the drive belt for 116 bucks.Took it home the pulley fell off 5 min after mowing.Took it back they said the trans was bad.800 bucks more...Very sad

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Dont buy JD L series
by: Anonymous

I have a la140 with most of the same problems mentioned here. Also cant find a reputable John Deere service place near me. Circle tractor has screwed me with this one and a toro I had previously.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Jd La140 is a piece of #&!*
by: Anonymous

Multiple problems most of what other people Blog as problems I have to. My wheels also pivot out after $500.00 in repairs with circle tractor it still has the same problem. Dont even think about buying or servicing your tractor at circle tractor JD authorized service did not know how to fix this one.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Transmission went out at 80 Hours. No hills.
by: John A.

I can not believe I actually thought I was buying a quality product. The whole reason I paid twice as much for it was because it was a John Deere. I guess that actually doesnt mean anything. I will take a MTD any day, and get 5 or 6 more years out of it too. I will never buy a John Deere product again.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Transmission
by: shawn

Transmission just went with 112 hrs. Enough said

Apr 06, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy John Deere
by: Anonymous

Check out problems with transmissions, dealerships and with John Deere Corp. itself.
Go elsewhere. They know they are selling problems and are nowhere to be seen to correct them.
Save your money

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
la 140
by: Anonymous

first the belt wont quit breaking .then it pops everytime you shut it off.the beer can holder is too sloppy ,makes your extra beer shake flat.then the clutch goes out twice .the pto switch melts ...what is next 135hrs..1 acre

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You get what you pay for
by: Anonymous

Go to a John Deere dealer and buy a real mower, not Lowes or Home Depot, which are kind of like a real mower.

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
star
check out their transmission problems and service
by: Anonymous

I bought a brand new LA140 from the JD dealership in Longmont, CO. Transmission failed in under 150 hours with light-med work. The dealership there tried to sell me a new transmission for $1000. They lied about the old one, said they checked the fluid an it was full. I pulled it on my own and it was less than 1/2. And its a sealed transmission. No indication they touched it. Escalated to corporate an they regional manager lied to them. Basically have to sue them to get it paid for.

But don't take my word only on these,, search the web for all the other people ripped off by JD.


Feb 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I'm not buying the bad reviews.
by: Anonymous

Have the LA140 in service for the last two years. Problem free.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
Do some research first before deciding on JD
by: Anonymous

There are several websites and consumer reporting agencies that warn people against problems with John Deere. I can personally testify that these people flat out lie about their product and service. Especially the ones here in Northern Colorado. I've caught them several times on lies.
Their products, especially their transmissions don't last. Theres toms of people from all over with the same problems. Some with less 50-85 hours on them. And your looking at replacement at $600 if you can do it yourself to $1000 at the dealer,

Don't buy!

Dec 15, 2010
Rating
star
I'll never own any JD product again
by: Anonymous

I bought a new JD from a dealership in Longmont Colorado. What a complete rip off. These guys got caught in lie after lie. the corporate level at JD is no better. Save yourself time, money and buy something else.

Dec 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love mine!
by: Anonymous

The LA140 had a recall on the valves needing adjustment...symptoms included running rough and hard starting (which mine did). After getting it fixed mine has run like a deer. I am over 300 hours, have always run synthetic oil in mine. I cut 2 acres and frequently pull carts full of soil and rock. Currently working on putting a 44" blower on it. I bought mine from an actual John Deere dealer.

Nov 17, 2010
Rating
star
Alignment
by: Pops90

My front wheels turn away from each other. I check and checked and can see no bending or broken welds. there is no adjustment for the alignment. This spring I took it to a dealer and was told I need $900 in repairs to the mower deck. I asked them then what kind of junk are you putting your name too! If you want 2x 4's go to Home Depot. If you want a lawn mower go to the dealer. This La140 John Deere, (made in China I'm guessing.) is a piece of junk!

Nov 17, 2010
Rating
star
LA140
by: Anonymous

I purchased a JD LA140 August 2007. Today while cutting the grass, I heard a pop sound then the engine starting making a loud ticking noise. The engine was smoking from oil that was leaking. I finished cutting the grass but lost power. I thought John Deere might be one of the last good American products. What a piece of junk. I shoud have bought a Cub Cadet.

Nov 17, 2010
Rating
star
Deere is Junk
by: Brian O.

I also will not buy another Deere, after this one, LA140. It is junk! I purchased it from a mom and pop Deere sales store but they don't/won't stand by their own equiptment. It always needs a charge or battery. Thank God I also own a KUBOTO. I've already joined 1 class action vs. J. Deere and I'm sure there will soon be one for this problem also! Remember when buying American really meant something positive!

Nov 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
will only buy John Deere mowers
by: Anonymous

I have owned this model for around two years at the present time. Overall, the mower has been an exceptional mower. I do light commercial and personal mowing with it and I have not had too many problems with this model. Regarding a couple of pros for this mower, it is heavy duty enough to handle tall grass without bogging down too much. While you have to go over some tall weeds repetitively, it generally does a pretty good job. I can also say that considering all of the work I have put it through, the mower's actual body has held up pretty well without any rust or major problems. Considering that I have almost 300 hours on the machine, it still runs like a champ.

There are a couple of cons about this particular model, though. First of all, on the deck, there is a faucet nozzle so you can hook it up to your water hose to clean out the debris, dirt, and decaying grass. However, this nozzle does not work well at all and you might as well clean out the deck yourself by hand. The water pressure supplied by your garden hose is not enough to really make much of an impact on how clean the deck will get afterwards. A second con of the mower is deck guards fill up quickly with old grass/weeds and requires constant cleanout so that the mower will run properly and not throw the deck belt. I eventually just ended taking off these deck guards, as I got overly tired of always having to remove them in order to clean out the debris.

I guess some of my work is a little too commercial and they fill up quickly. I have and always will only buy John Deere mowers, as they seem to hold up much longer than other brands I have used in the past.

Nov 09, 2010
Rating
star
dont buy John Deere
by: Anonymous

Mine lasted less than 150 hours. The transmission went bad and the dealer wants $1000 to replace. This after mis-diagnostics were done. My old tractor/Toro was 1/3 the size and did the same job for 7 years. Only replaced it to get what I thought was faster. I pulled the transmission and found the fluid was extremely low. The dealeship said they had checked it and it was fine just before I brought it home.

I complained to John Deere and they had a district manager call my home. He would not leave a last name or call back number and he said he'd call back the next morning. He never did. John Deere sent a letter then and said they had tried "numerous times" to contact me.. lie after lie after lie.

don't do what I did,,go to another brand.

Dec 31, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Impressive Lawn Tractor
by: MikeND

I bought my LA140 brand new in 2007. I live on an acre lot with lots of hills and rough terrain. I also purchased the snow-blower attachment and cart. I have been very pleased with my purchase to date.

I have been most impressed with the tractor blowing snow from our lot. Where I live, winters are pretty harsh with lots of snowfall. I have never had an issue getting the tractor started in the sub-zero weather. The tractor has also proven more than capable of handling large amounts of snow.

I have never had any issues with the tractor for mowing or general yard work either. The tractor easily handles difficult mowing terrain. I also use the tractor for hauling material such as sand and landscape blocks.

After three seasons of heavy use, I am still a very happy owner of this lawn tractor. If I had it to do over, I probably would have spent the extra money on the LA150 (26 hp vs 23 hp) given my heavy usage, especially during the winter. However, the LA140 has proven more than capable of anything I've thrown at it and I anticipate many more years of usage.

Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Perfect solution
by: Anonymous

I bought my JD LA140 in 2007 new from The Home Depot and it has been an excellent Lawn Mower. My property is one acre and it is perfect. I even take it over to my father in laws home and mow 6 acres with no problem. My only recomendation is to take it to the John Deere Dealership for scheduled maintenance which can be found on the bottom of seat. It runs about $70.00 to have them do it but I can guarantee you will not have any worrys and will get many many years of use out of it.

May 21, 2009
Rating
star
Not buying a JD
by: Okie

After reading this post and countless others across the web over the past two years, I won't be buying a John Deere. Even their own dealership sales/mechanic staff say don't buy a L series JD mower. They're Junk!

Dec 04, 2008
Rating
star
STAY AWAY FROM JOHN DEERE
by: Anonymous

Hello,

I wanted to tell anyone who is listening about my experience with my John Deere LA140. I bought it at Home Depot brand new in July of 07 because of the name and the 2 year warranty.

The very first day I bought it I read the manuel and it states you must engage and disengage the mower blades several times to break it in. Well, I did this and the belt snapped immediately. I called Home Depot and I had to wait over a week for someone to come and repair it. Since then I washed and waxed it, changed the oil, sharpened the blades, and garaged it. I bought the "Cyclone Rake attachment for as much as I paid for the tractor.

A year later with a year left on the warranty the engine started up and ran rough...THE ENGINE TURNED OUT TO BE BLOWN! There was water in the oil , i'm guessing because of condensation somehow. I took it too the dealer since it was under warranty and was told it is not covered because there is water in the oil...OBVIOUSLY THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH IT!

They told me they had to change the oil (1 hours labor) I had to pay for this. They told me I had pay for a new motor...$1900.00 without labor, the tractor cost me $1899.00. They gave me the option of breaking down the motor to investigate further to see if they could find the cause BUT I had to pay up front for the labor with no guarantee!

I put up a fuss about this and got them to do it without paying up front. It has been over a month and have been getting the run around ever since. THIS COMPANY DOES NOT BACK THERE WARRANTY AND CONTINUES TO LOOK FOR EVERY LOOP HOLE NOT TO HONOR THEIR PRODUCT! I am still waiting for my tractor to come back running like I paid for. I hate this company, the service, and their product.

You would think in this aweful economy when times are tough a big company like John Deere would take care of the little guy. Instead they look for loop holes and send me a "Dear John". Stay away from this company. I am in the right and bought a defective product that they turn their backs on!

Now I am stuck with the "Cyclone Rake that is useless to me and a shiny green peice of junk...PLEASE PASS THE WORD ON!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.