John Deere LA/150 26HP Lawn Tractor with 54 In. Deck

This is my second Deere. My first was a a Commerical which was very good, sold me on the Deere. It lasted from 1992 until 2007. It did more than cut grass, it cut, mulched and moved even pine straw.I ran over anything I could get between the wheels. Service was vital. If you use, but don't abuse the maintence.


My Second Deere was a LA/150. I bought in 2007. It was not a Commerical. First The tires keep going down, mainly the front tires. Then the right front tire acted like it was pidgon toed to the outside. Ask the dealer he said it could be a steering rod or a bent axel,(OK)Wanted me to bring it in or break it down and we could compare parts. His new to my old.

Then it wore my other front tire out. Of course, I bought new ones. Got up this morning to see if I could get one last cutting before break down, that was a joke. After only about 8 or 9 passes, the right tire squated like an axel had broke, further inspection revieled, not so lucky, the front center cross beam had broken in half. Deere you have cheated on me enough.I will not mate with a deere anymore.

Comments for John Deere LA/150 26HP Lawn Tractor with 54 In. Deck

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 17, 2015
Rating
star
Junk, no more John Deere
by: Bill

LA150 rusted out, stored inside
Paint came off in sheets
Transmission went
Steering went
Deck disintegrated

Absolute junk


Nothing rusts like a Deere

Aug 31, 2014
Rating
star
cub come back
by: lost a friend

I've had a cub cadet for bout 9 yrs replaced drive belt & normal maintenance I mow about 2 acres 75% very steep .mower did great.finally the hydro went.I expected this cause that's normal.I borrowed a hhmmm...Jon dead(john Deere) just til I get my cub back....got less than half thru mowing(starter with the most level part) soon as I was getting confident it started whining loud and had to get my son and neighbor to help push up hill of shame....ive been out of work for 1&1/2 yes due to accident.dont have $ to fix it & haven't got the nerve yet to tell my friend(which is a widow of a friend that passed)by the way her dead john is only few yes old.after reading reviews of LA150 automatic I bout got sick(.I forgot to add it wouldn't move is why we pushed)just saying. What to do

Aug 31, 2014
Rating
star
cub come back
by: lost a friend

I've had a cub cadet for bout 9 yrs replaced drive belt & normal maintenance I mow about 2 acres 75% very steep .mower did great.finally the hydro went.I expected this cause that's normal.I borrowed a hhmmm...Jon dead(john Deere) just til I get my cub back....got less than half thru mowing(starter with the most level part) soon as I was getting confident it started whining loud and had to get my son and neighbor to help push up hill of shame....ive been out of work for 1&1/2 yes due to accident.dont have $ to fix it & haven't got the nerve yet to tell my friend(which is a widow of a friend that passed)by the way her dead john is only few yes old.after reading reviews of LA150 automatic I bout got sick(.I forgot to add it wouldn't move is why we pushed)just saying. What to do

Apr 07, 2014
Rating
star
front end squats
by: Anonymous

I've had my la150 since 2006. The big problem I've had is the front tires go in the direction they want. I've replaced all the parts from the steering rod gear to the tires themselves, no luck.

Sep 12, 2013
Rating
star
worthless
by: Anonymous

bought a 150 3 years ago and it is worthless---never buy another

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
same problem
by: Anonymous

I have the same model and the same front-end problems. The front tires splay out. What a shoddy product with the John Deere name on it!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.