John Deere Model LA145

by Jeredshoop. MTURK
(Ilinois)

The John Deere Model LA145 riding lawn mower is an exceptional piece of equipment. With a 48-inch deck and 22 horsepower, the model LA145 is a great lawnmower, especially for the price at which it can be purchased. The engine for this riding lawnmower, made by Briggs and Stratton is a smooth running engine which require little maintenance or care.


One of the main things to key on about this lawn mower is the ease of use. The hydrostatic 2-pedal transmission seems to make the machine shift well, and the blades seem to give one of the smoothest cuts around. I have actually received a magnitude of compliments on the looks of my yard, generally right after it has been cut with my model LA145.

Another great thing about the LA145 is the ease of adding and removing attachments. John Deere has really done a great job on this ‘Cargo Mount’ making it extremely easy to add on lawn rollers, lawn bags, and even rakes. Without the Cargo mount, it is a true pain to add or remove attachments.

One of the other great things with buying John Deere is the warranty that comes standard on all models. On this particular model a two year, 120 hour warranty is standard. With this warranty, anything that goes wrong with your lawnmower within the first two years or 120 hours will be covered directly by John Deere!

Also, when buying John Deere, you always know that if anything problematic occurs with your lawnmower, John Deere will always be there to back it. This is not my first John Deere mower, and will probably not be my last, due to the exceptional customer support from John Deere, and the exceptional ‘rideability’ from their mowers. Another great deal with this specific model is if you are to buy it before April 26, you receive a free Double bar bumper, and tractor cover.

Now you know, if you are looking for a mower with a great rideability, great customer support, and for a reasonable price, buy the model LA145 John Deere.

Comments for John Deere Model LA145

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
300 hrs status
by: Anonymous

I have 300 hours on my LA 145 I bought in 2009. I find myself using it like a bush hog some days. So yeah, I have replaced the blades, deck belt and spindles and the steering gear. But I have abused this thing and have not had any issues with the drive train or carb. When I get a limb or pine cone between the belt and pulley, the belt comes off. I clear the object, put the belt back on and keep going. I have a hitch ball on the back and pull a 5 by 8 trailer for moving limbs, wood, concrete, etc. I store it under an open sided tin roof lean-to. The deck paint is peeling, but I don't care. I think I'll keep it a while longer.

Apr 11, 2015
Rating
star
exceptional piece of junk
by: Anonymous

The nose has under 200 hours on it, and we have had to replace several belts, axle, tires, starter...twice!, battery, and now the steering is shot. The mower doesn't have enough power to now and go up a gentle hill at the same time. It's garage kept during the winter, and serviced twice a year and cleaned after every other Mow. Well...it was. Now it's out at the curb with a "Free...barely works" sign.


Oh, also, what's up with the paint that chips and fades SO fast?

Sep 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA145
by: Lester

I have 267 hrs on mower. So far have replaced both belts. ! spindle and 1 set of hub inserts. Very happy with mower overall. Gave over 2,000.00 for it and I wouldn't have any other brand. Thanks JD for making a mower so easy to work on.

May 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA 145 tranny problems.
by: Anonymous

Bought this mower 4 years ago and has been decent up to this point. However the tranny wont pull a hill as soon as it gets warmed up, 182 hours on the mower and just changed the drive belt and tested it. It`s funny, I never had tranny issues with my old Murrays...hydrostatic or manual. The steering I noticed sometime back is a bit cheesey. What`s sad is these are manufactured 20 miles from me in Greenville, TN.

Apr 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA145 experience
by: Kelly

2009 LA145. 225 hours. Nothing major has broken. I do my own service work. Retired, mid 50’s. I mow 2 acres rural. I help out 4-5 aged couples/widows with their large lawns. I have a 6000 square ft garden and 57 acres. I occasionally drive around my acreage with the JD. It was mostly stored in a garage the first 2 years. I will put 100 hours on it this year.

This winter the front tires were running sloppy, I did a bearing check. With online research, I found out it has bushings. I took the wheels off and found the axles were ½ eaten through. I replaced the axles and bearings. www.greenpartstore.com has a retro kit to convert to bearings. I used two new outer washers that came with the kit as bottom spacers on the spindle that goes up into the front axle. This takes the extra slack out of that fit.

The cutting head center spindle was howling. I replaced one spindle $20 and one $8 bearing in another. Disassembling the spindles, I washed them with diesel; removing all old grease and grit, then washed with dawn dish soap and left to dry. I reassemble them, filled them with lithium based grease and reattached to deck.

On the internet, I read about the transaxle problems. To this date I have no problems with my tranny the T40. It is made by www.tufftorqservices.com. This tranny is in fact serviceable. JD puts 10W-30 motor oil in them. The manufacturer recommends a fully synthetic 5W-50. Recommend changing every 100 hours. That was my next project. 30 mins to take the tranny off. 2 hours cleaning, inspecting and thinking. Take the fan and pulley off and find a black plug, it is easy to pop out. Under the plug is a magnet that collects metal shavings. Remove it. Turn the tranny over, in 30 min the oil will drain out. Two quarts of synthetic will refill it. The entire job took about 3 hrs. Next time, I expect to do in 1.5 hr.

The Tuff Torq website has full diagrams of their transmissions and awesome information. A drop in repair unit to rebuild the tranny, $370. Or you can buy individual parts, pump, torque converter, etc. There are several good videos on utube showing the entire rebuild process. A new tranny is $650.

LA145 was $2000. I’ve replaced one spindle, $20.00. Amazon, Silver Streak # 285851. It appears to be OEM equivalent. I spent $145 on a front end kit. I expect the front end with bearings will last and only require bearings. $9 each. I filled the tires with green slime. I do this with all small air fill tires around the place. I use a WIX oil filter, $3. I have a replacement cutting belt, Amazon, Stens 265-238, still on the shelf. Other than oil (motor 10W-30 synthetic, and tranny), filters (air, Stens 100-153, 100153), oil, and blades, I have spent $2175 on the purchase and parts (plus any shipping).

BTW on today’s small engines use nothing but premium fuel.

Apr 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
LA145 experience
by: Anonymous

2009 LA145. 225 hours. Nothing major has broken. I do my own service work. Retired, mid 50’s. I mow 2 acres rural. I help out 4-5 aged couples/widows with their large lawns. I have a 6000 square ft garden and 57 acres. I occasionally drive around my acreage with the JD. It was mostly stored in a garage the first 2 years. I will put 100 hours on it this year.

This winter the front tires were running sloppy, I did a bearing check. With online research, I found out it has bushings. I took the wheels off and found the axles were ½ eaten through. I replaced the axles and bearings. www.greenpartstore.com has a retro kit to convert to bearings. I used two new outer washers that came with the kit as bottom spacers on the spindle that goes up into the front axle. This takes the extra slack out of that fit.

The cutting head center spindle was howling. I replaced one spindle $20 and one $8 bearing in another. Disassembling the spindles, I washed them with diesel; removing all old grease and grit, then washed with dawn dish soap and left to dry. I reassemble them, filled them with lithium based grease and reattached to deck.

On the internet, I read about the transaxle problems. To this date I have no problems with my tranny the T40. It is made by www.tufftorqservices.com. This tranny is in fact serviceable. JD puts 10W-30 motor oil in them. The manufacturer recommends a fully synthetic 5W-50. Recommend changing every 100 hours. That was my next project. 30 mins to take the tranny off. 2 hours cleaning, inspecting and thinking. Take the fan and pulley off and find a black plug, it is easy to pop out. Under the plug is a magnet that collects metal shavings. Remove it. Turn the tranny over, in 30 min the oil will drain out. Two quarts of synthetic will refill it. The entire job took about 3 hrs. Next time, I expect to do in 1.5 hr.

The Tuff Torq website has full diagrams of their transmissions and awesome information. A drop in repair unit to rebuild the tranny, $370. Or you can buy individual parts, pump, torque converter, etc. There are several good videos on utube showing the entire rebuild process. A new tranny is $650.

LA145 was $2000. I’ve replaced one spindle, $20.00. Amazon, Silver Streak # 285851. It appears to be OEM equivalent. I spent $145 on a front end kit. I expect the front end with bearings will last and only require bearings. $9 each. I filled the tires with green slime. I do this with all small air fill tires around the place. I use a WIX oil filter, $3. I have a replacement cutting belt, Amazon, Stens 265-238, still on the shelf. Other than oil (motor 10W-30 synthetic, and tranny), filters (air, Stens 100-153, 100153), oil, and blades, I have spent $2175 on the purchase and parts (plus any shipping).

BTW on today’s small engines use nothing but premium fuel.

Dec 17, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Grief
by: Gary

I have a 1997 Toro HXL14-38. Due to the age I have been reading up on new John Deere mowers and I have seen nothing but complaints about how cheap they are! I've never replaced a pulley on
my Toro. 2 years ago I replaced the bearings in the blade rotors. The hydraulic transmission has had zero service and the engine just normal service. In all that time I've replaced the carb. once for 125.00 because the new gas ate up the rubber gaskets and it was almost as cheap to buy a new one than rebuilding the old one. After what I've been reading I'll stay with old tried and true!

Nov 12, 2013
Rating
star
Garbage!
by: Anonymous

Bought the LA145 junk pile 2 years ago. Was advised today by the John Deere dealer that it was not designed to repair, it is a throw away. So I spent $2000.00 for 2 years of lawn service? 150 hours and the transmission is shot. Estimated repair is the same as the new model and the dealer will give no value for trade! None! None at all! I was told by the dealer I should have bought the higher priced model from him and it would have been under warranty. Called JD and they had no interest in helping me resolve the problem. I will never buy JD anything again and will tell everyone I know about the garbage they make.

Aug 22, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how to change tranny fluid
by: Anonymous

Maybe you can tell everyone how to change the tranny fluid,because JD says you cant.

Aug 22, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Silly people
by: Anonymous

For all of you whining crying babies out there, have you done maintenance in it when it's supposed to be done? John Deere's are great mowers. If you don't know how to take care of them don't buy one!!!

Jul 17, 2013
Rating
star
transaxle
by: Anonymous

Have a la 145 after 145 hrs the transmission is bad. $1100 to fix at JD Dealer. I won't buy another JD. They think to highly of there to expensive to fix machines. LOL They are disposable. If you got one. Get rid of it.

Jun 01, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how to change tranny fluid
by: nomoredeeres

Bob-you cant change the fluid,when it fails,and it will,you buy a new Kubota.

Jun 01, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
transmission
by: bob

how do i change trany fluid in a la 145

Oct 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere LA145 Riding Mower
by: Dale C

I bought my JD145 at my local Lowes store in 2008. I routinely perform preventive maintenance including adding grease to each location that has a grease fitting. I change the engine oil and air filters when needed. I have done some minor replacement of parts and found the mower easy to work on. I have read many of the whining and complaints of other reviews and my only question is whether or not they are performing reasonable and expected preventative maintenance. My John Deere LA145 has never failed performing the tasks for which it was designed. My John Deere runs like a top and I would have no hesitation to purchase another John Deere if and when that becomes necessary. I have a riding mower that has not given me any problems and I am proud to own it.

Oct 01, 2012
Rating
starstar
cheap steering
by: Anonymous

got an 08 model with 200 hrs. on it. mows good. lawn looks good, just can't hardly steer the darn thing. they do have very weak steering.

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
John Deere LA145 is a piece of junk
by: Gary Cunningham

Do not buy a John Deere riding lawnmower! They are junk and VERY expensive to repair. I have replaced so many parts (spindles, wheel bushings,steering gear...multiple times) and now the transaxle is out. JUNK JUNK JUNK

Jul 02, 2012
Rating
star
x320
by: Stine

I am on my 3rd John Deere riding mower, the first 2 were great lasted at least 5 years without having to replace parts. My last one is 2 years old and the drive belt pully broke and chewed the belt up before it went out. Now since this pulley is the hardest one to replance why did they not put a metal pulley in it, they dont even sell a metal for it, I always buy the best mower so I dont have to do all this labor to them, but will never buy another one, my warranty just went out 2 months ago, I paid 4 grand for this mower, and am starting to find out they are not the best mowers anymore. Wil be shopping for different brand next time.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
Front End Built like CRAP
by: Anonymous

Mower is 4 yrs old and 2 weeks ago and $250.00 later replaced entire front end and bearings in the front wheels. This weekend the FRONT AXLE BROKE IN HALF. Will never own another JD!!!!

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
DONT BUY A DEERE
by: CanadaMower

This mower is crap - its in my 4th year and the transmission needs to be replaced. 170 Hours. It would have been cheaper to pay some to cut the lawn instead.

I miss my old SEARS craftsman - it worked for 17 years and was still cutting lawns when I sold it for $400!

The Deere will put on the street for trash pick up - the transmission replacement is 1/2 the price of new JD.

Jun 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
OK, so far
by: Toastmatt

I have an LA-155, currently with 100 Hours. I have had no issues and have had this mower for nearly 2 years. So far, so good. I have done maintenance as suggested nearly exactly on the intervals suggested. Bought from a JD Dealer and have done my own maintenance. Mowing 2.4 acres for 2 years.

Apr 11, 2012
Rating
star
200 hrs - and SHOT!
by: Anonymous

Just changed the battery, spindles and belts last year after 100 hours, now the engine is throwing oil and kaput. No abuse or neglect, just junk.

Aug 21, 2011
Rating
star
lowes and jd suck
by: robert perry

bad carb 22 hp eng dealer said. carb was $434.00 only 37 hrs on mower.

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
star
never again
by: nomoredeeres

my first jd was a 165 hydro with a kawasaki engine-it still runs perfect sold it too a friend,cause i wanted to upgrade.all the negative comments you read are VERY TRUE,especially the transmission problems.this is a 2100.00 piece of crap.when the transmission finally goes i will shoot it full of buckshot burn it and have my neighbor bury it with his case backhoe .not sure what i will buy but it WONT BE A JOHN DEERE.

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of garbage!
by: john from front royal va.

I've had similar problems as the other reviews,such as the spindals going bad, the play in the steering, no power, and it's hard to start. The play in the steering has caused me to have to replace the rack and pinion gear 3 times and now the plastic bushings on the steering column all this season.{2011} I guess I should feel fortunate I've gotten the 200 hours of use out of this ridiculous piece of trash after some of the reviews I've just read. I have done all the required service for all the good it's done me. I strongly urge people not to buy a John Deere. I am really disappointed with mine. No wonder this country is going down the toilet when you can't even make a simple lawn tractor last more than 3 years!

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere LA145
by: Robert

MY John Deere LA145 is two years old (just out of warranty) and last summer I had to replace two of the pulleys and the belt. It has 120 hrs of operation on it and the transmission just went out this afternoon. When I bought this thing from Lowes I researched it on the web and didn't find anything negative on it...maybe cause it was too new, I'm not sure. But anyway this will be the last John Deere I ever own. This is my third mower, my first was the big yardman in 1996 and it's still cutting grass, my second a craftman's 5000 garden tractor and it's still cutting grass.
No complaints with the Yardman, a few complaints with the craftman, but at least they are still cutting grass. After reading all the negative reviews on this John Deere piece of crap I guess I'll be buying a Chinese or Japanese riding mower from this point forward. So much for American craftmanship.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
john deere la145
by: kenny alger

this mower is the biggest piece of garbage that
i have ever owned.transaxle goes out at about
140 hours.left front wheel fell off.sterring
is full of play.talk about a waste of time
and money.f.u. john deere...

May 22, 2011
Rating
star
Been Screwed !!!!!! for the last time by Deere
by: Dave Brickey Bowie, Tx

Had a 130 JD with a Kawasaki engine, could not beat this mower. Decided after I couldnt rebuild the trans after about 15 years of use to upgrade. Well WRONG decision !!!! DO NOT BUY john deere piece of CRAP. Briggs and Stratten run away from it. Had to have a rebuild at about 130 hours valves stuck and bent pushrods. Warranty covered 1st time OK Good I thought. Now about 100 hrs later doing the same thing...No warranty. Shame on you John Deere for doing this to your customer base. If something is not broke dont fix it. Sounds like some youngster took over the decision making process to boost profits. DUMB decision.
Youve run me off from anything built by Deere. I was considering a tractor pkg with a bucket , blade and trailer. Not now Ill stay with my old Massy 245. PS: Oh one note you can still buy a Kawasaki engine mower, but it'll cost you dearly.
Remember NOTHING with Briggs power ever. Go Honda or Kawasaki or Kubota. Again Shame on you John Deere. db Bowie, Tx America

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Lawn tractor
by: Steveo Equis

Hey my LA145 tractor is a super mower. Tons and way better then the Sears Craftmans tractor that I hand before. The dam thing was always in the shop for warranty work. That was one piece of crap. The JD LA145 Nothing but quality here. Get this lawn tractor............. Stay Thursty My Friends !!! Steveo

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
DONT BUY THE LA145
by: Mark

After speaking to several John Deere repair technicians, they all say the same.

The LA series was John Deere's way of being competative with other low end ($2,000) lawn tractors...(IE:Cub Cadet, etc...) Their idea turned out to be unsuccessful due to inferior parts to try to keep production costs low.

My LA145 was 2 yrs and 3 Months old with 127 Hrs.

The mower deck spindles, belts, and blades broke down.

In pleading my case to a John Deere Rep., 3 Months, and 7 Hrs out of warranty-I only got 50 percent of my costs covered.

It cost me 170 bucks to correct a problem that never should have happened.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
la 145 junk
by: robert perry

the la 145 is junk will not start only 34 hrs

Apr 10, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

The transmission went out after 30 hours. The local John Deere dealer said that they always go out.

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Dont Buy an LA series
by: I agree with Mark

After paying $2,000.00, I had the same experience and was quite dissatisfied after a dealer told me the same thing.

John Deere made CHEAP 2000.00 lawn tractors to compete with Cub Cadet

Apr 06, 2011
Rating
starstar
DONT BUY THE LA SERIES
by: Mark

Dont buy the LA series. It was a series that John Deere put out to compete with the other LOW END priced lawn tractors.

After 120 Hours, attentive to service, and 6 months out of warranty, my LA145 cutting deck now needs to be rebuit due to bad pullys - spindles and other things.

When calling the John Deere consumer help line, (as most help lines) I spoke to a kid who tried to give me a "canned" answer.

Do yourself a favor, Explore the other Low Priced $2000.00 models.


Feb 23, 2011
Rating
star
Terrible
by: Anonymous

Do not buy this. It is a piece of junk. If you weigh over 145 lbs, it will not pull you up a small hill. The 145 must be the weight limit. I have had two of these mowers and both of these mowers have been returned to the shop.

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
starstar
LA145 done after 70 hours
by: Anonymous

My LA145 has lost all power and blows white smoke all the time after 70 hours of use. I have done all recommended service and take very good care of my yard tractors. I enjoy having the nicest lawn on the street but am now embarrassed to ride this green tracker that blows smoke all the time. I contacted JD and they said I was 3 months past my 2 year warranty yet I was 30 hours under the 100 hour warranty. Talked to local shop and they said they have seen it with these Briggs engines. I will rebuild and sell unless JD steps up and helps out here. Looks like it's time for a gravely zero turn....

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
Service problems
by: Anonymous

Be careful where you buy your mower I bought the LA145 at Lowes.
10 hours of use and the idler pulleys are going out, won't start and has no power.
Called local dealer 15 miles from me and was told they would not work on it even under warranty. Called JD corporate and they confirmed it! So I have to take it to the original servicing dealer, the next state over and 90 miles away!!! BS.
Buy a Husqvarna instead where the neighborhood dealer will do the work.
Once fixed I am selling this and buying a Husky.
I'm through with JD products.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
Transaxle and Engine
by: Anonymous

I bought a LA145 in January 2009.I've changed all idler pulleys on the cutting deck. I raised the front end of the mower to change the cutting blades. I noticed transmission oil on the floor when I lowered the mower front end. The mower will not pull a lawn sweeper now.
John Deere informed me there was no filler cap for the transmission. This is a sealed unit and should not leak ( a throw away). I also have an oil leak on the left cylinder head.
My two year or 120 hour warranty is void. I have 160 hours on the machine.
I was also told at the dealership this was a bottom of the line unit for this series.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
Transaxle and Engine
by: Anonymous

I bought a LA145 in January 2009.I've changed all idler pulleys on the cutting deck. I raised the front end of the mower to change the cutting blades. I noticed transmission oil on the floor when I lowered the mower front end. The mower will not pull a lawn sweeper now.
John Deere informed me there was no filler cap for the transmission. This is a sealed unit and should not leak ( a throw away). I also have an oil leak on the left cylinder head.
My two year or 120 hour warranty is void. I have 160 hours on the machine.
I was also told at the dealership this was a bottom of the line unit for this series.

Jun 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
transaxle
by: Anonymous

LA 145 transaxle started to give up after 225 hrs on moderate hills with TurfTorq TT40 trans. I suggest you move to a model with larger/stronger transaxle if you have hills, pull a cart or pull implements.

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA 145 Rocks!
by: Bones58gdi

I have had a JD Sabre mower for 13 years. It had a single Cyl 16hp Briggs IC eng, 38"deck. Very service-able unit. Avg Quality Cut with 1/2 width overlap. Just got the LA145 - the 48" deck with three blades and the mulching - awesome.
First cut was over long grass with extra clippings piled in - Just over an acre. The mower was SWEET. Did not overlap but about 12" the three blade system is very tight.
I was concerned prior to buying about Electronic Engagement and RIO. The electonic blade engage is awesome. The RIO safety feature easy to use. I used the Cruise Control - liked it.
Then my wife mowed with it. She was like a kid on a new go kart - she loved it.
The transmission is a TuffTorq T40 - made just for deere. The LA155 jumps to a K46. Similar but with an easy access plug. If you have lots of hills or rough terrain - I would make the jump to the LA155 - if you have concerns. Or get the LA145 and switch out to synthetic fluid.
The 22HP engine has power to spare. The Twin is very smooth and not overly loud - but I always mow with my muffs on. Quiter than the 16hp single.

I plan to switch the transmission fluid to synthetic at end of the season. The mulch kit is heavy plastic/ rubber guard. Fits in nicely under the chute - Looks like a consumable part. Should last 3-5 years. I removerd the chute cover and put a brace to hold the mulch cover down.

After day one - we love this mower. Rides great - cuts better. Bought it big box store. JD dealer staff poo-poo's these to sell in to 300 series. My nieghbor bought that - we can do side by side to see how they last!

Mar 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
oil drain plug
by: Anonymous

I just purchased a John Deere la145 lawn tractor,and so far very pleased with 1 exception,and that is the drain plug for the engine oil. I can't believe they would use a cheap ,flimsy piece of plastic as a plug to hold the valueable engine oil in the crankcase. It looks like a very potential and hazardous condition for the engine.why not use a threaded plug, much more safe.

Mar 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
super quiet
by: Anonymous

I am very much fond of gardening and farming. Last year I went to my friend's home where I saw his recently bought JOHN DEERE LA145 riding Lawn mower. It was a wonderful and an amazing product and I was very much impressed by its efficiency and performance. It works quickly and helps me in saving a lot of time. I was so much impressed by the product that I decided to order the one of same model for my own lawn. The performance of the products is great and it works quite efficiently.

This lawn mower does not make much noise while working. This is what I love the most about this wonderful product. Secondly, you do not have to worry about its maintenance and repair cost. You can bring it to the agency or store of JOHN DEERE where they will always be ready to help you. The lawn mower has become the users favorite because of its ease of use. The product is so easy to use that even a seven years old child can use it easily. The smoothest blades of this lawn mower help you in giving fine cuts in your lawn. The regular use of this product will help you in enhancing the beauty of your lawn. I have been using this product for about an year. I am very much satisfied with its performance and I do not have any problem with this product. Besides so many advantages and positive points, there are a few negative points and cons related to it. The first and the main drawback is its high cost. According to me, many people will not be willing to pay this high cost only for a lawn mower. The other drawback is that it doe not comes along with much attachments. If you need more attachments, then you will have to buy these from the market. But besides this, I really love this product because of its smooth running engine, ease of use and efficiency and I highly recommend to others. I rate this product 4 out of five stars.

Feb 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
John Deere Transaxil problems
by: Anonymous

How does the trans axil hold up if you mow up & down inclines. John Deere's record on these smaller mowers is not good and there is no notification as to such

May 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lean Green Cutting machine
by: Anonymous

I picked up the John Deere LA145 to replace the 3 year old Craftsman in the garage. Wow, what a great machine. I mow just over 2 acres with a couple hills and a bunche of mature trees to steer around. The john Deere really makes the Craftsman seem like a tinker toy. The smooth ride, beautiful cut, and power of the twin 22HP makes comparing the two like apples and oranges. It's been made pretty clear what brand of lawn tractor I will be buying from here on out. Good work John Deere! I wouldn't expect anything else.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.