John Deere Riding Mower Model LA125

by Karen
(Florida)

This riding lawn mower is a dream!! I cannot wait to get out into the yard and mow the grass. This riding mower was purchased in April of 2006 and still looks and operates like brand new! The turning radius is wonderful, the ride is extremely comfortable and the maintenance is relatively low. I enjoy taking my grandson for a ride which he absolutely adores doing.


This is definitely one outdoor chore which is extremely high on my list. Living in Florida, during the summer it is not uncommon to have to mow your lawn at least twice a week. In the past, this has been a difficulty for me especially with property of any degree of size using a push mower was not something very high on my to do list.

Well now, it is number one!! This model handles turns, hills, obstacles all with ease. I have a one-half acre piece of property and this dream machine makes cutting the grass a pleasure and no longer a chore.

Sure I could have purchased a much cheaper riding mower but decided that the term "you get what you pay for" definitely pervails. I did check out the Sears line of riders but was not happy with the ratings, feedback or consumer report findings. One of my neighbors purchased a MTD Yardman from Walmart and suggested I try it out since the cost was so much less than any John Deere rider.

Well I can tell you I was not impressed and after my neighbor tried my John Deere, she definitely is a reformed lawn mower owner! She is green with envy every time I hop on my rider. She is most anxious for hers to die so she can justify purchasing a John Deere!

Comments for John Deere Riding Mower Model LA125

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
blades looks
by: Anonymous

I would like to know how the blades should look after being put on cutting.

Aug 23, 2014
Rating
star
Blown head gasket
by: RTH minnesota

My mower has 117 hrs on it the head gasket failed after 13 Months the first time 31 hrs , one month out of warranty !! I just replaced it a second time this weekend ! I live in minnesota and only have to mow 6 months a year , wish I had bought something else! Definitely spray gasket I hope it lasts longer.still junk tho in my opinion !

Aug 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
oilseeping from rear wheel of L125
by: Anonymous

I have a 2006 JD L125 purchased new. Oil or what appears to be oil is seeping out of the rear wheel. Is this something that can be easily and inexpensively ixed. Thank you.

Jul 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
george david morris-Florida
by: Anonymous

My deere riding mower keeps throwing the belt Repared 5x.The J.D. is a pc:of crap.Never again.Sears good mower.Husky$$$$$.But great if you have $1,800.00.I dont.I will buy a high wheel push mower.No damn belt to throw.3 Acres will take me 5 hours because i am 67.John Deere Kiss my ass.

Jul 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
my head gasket went 125 hours
by: Anonymous

my tractor is only 2 years old and just started blowing smoke. I can see others have had the same thing happen. John Deere needs to recall

Jul 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
my head gasket went 125 hours
by: Anonymous

my tractor is only 2 years old and just started blowing smoke. I can see others have had the same thing happen. John Deere needs to recall

Jul 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bolt gap
by: Randy

Jeff when you take the head off you will notice one heck of a gap between the bolts on the head, thus you need to use the spray adhesive on your new gasket when you install it, so it doesn't blow again, Engineering flaw I guess, also use 5-30 weight synthetic oil in it, was recommended by the briggs rep. I've had no problem with mine since it was changed, and it runs better than when new.

Jul 02, 2014
Rating
star
Should have been a recall paid for by Briggs and Stratton.
by: Anonymous

I have 101 hours on my LA 125 and it just (suddenly) started blowing blue smoke out of the exhaust. It smokes more when under load. So, I guess I will replace the head gasket as mentioned by others. I hope that fixes the Briggs and Stratton problem. I looked in my John Deere Technical Manual and it calls out 18 Foot Pounds final torque. Naturally I will ease it up to that with lower initial torque using a center to outward cross pattern as is typical on any gasoline engine.

Briggs and Stratton has always been my preferred manufacturer. The same goes for John Deere. This really should have been recalled to prevent the negative impact to John Deere's and Briggs and Stratton's reputations.

Jeff

Jun 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
after head gasket replacement
by: Anonymous

yeah I had my head gasket replaced by a friend of mine who used a spray sealant on the head gasket, I upwards of 200 hours now, no problems, it was a flaw from briggs, they didn't torque the heads correctly.

Jun 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA125
by: Anonymous

Once you have the dealer replace the head gasket is the mower good to go for a long period of time or can I expect to have it happen again in 150 hours?

Jun 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
@noreverse
by: craiglb

Hi,
on the left side of the mower, below the choke lever, is a yellow button. Push it in when you start to back up. That over rides the shut down. Once you start to back up, you can let off the button and it will mow in reverse.

Jun 01, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
La 125
by: no reverse

have a john deere LA 125 and when I engage blades it will run on forward pedal but shuts down on reverse pedal. any one have an idea what I can check to fix this problem,

Apr 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Riding Mower as i see!
by: RickS

I've had my LA 125 since the spring 2008 - My only two complaints - 1. after the first year the battery was bad. 2. when it was delivered the mower deck was uneven had to buy a plastic deck (blade)leveler and adjust it. I buy the tuneup kit every year and change the blades. I have no complaints with this mower at all, other than the two I mentioned. I now have over 1,000 hours of trouble free mowing - and it still runs strong - just did the maintenance on it today ready for spring. I hope it comes soon.....

Oct 20, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hey Mingo
by: Anonymous

Hey Mingo,
I just finished another year with this mower. I've no problems except for the little ones I mentioned in my prior posts.
I don't work for JD.
I guess you just come here to troll. If you had a bad mower, comment and go home. What are you, 12 years old?

Oct 12, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA 125
by: Randy in PA

Ok in this engine on this model. LA125 the briggs rep told me to run synthetic oil in it 5w-30 to be exact, hope this helps, and if it starts puffing smoke using oil or blowing oil out yer fuel pump, its the head gasket, change it, replace it, seems they never torqued the heads right on these, so I hope this answers any of your questions.

Oct 11, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ass kisser
by: jas

im not an ass kisser if I had a problem id admit it maybe u got a lemon some people have problems some people don't you find me one manufacture that doesn't have problems don't lie

Aug 05, 2013
Rating
star
John Deere LA125
by: Mingo

Who ever rate this mower more than 2 stars he or she must JD ass kisser and did not tell a true!!
Because I had the LA125 under 90 hours of uses and had problem with oil leak from the fuel pump so I have to add oil after every I cut my yard (1/4 of are).
So my suggestion are:
1) John Deerer company, you should listen to end users and fix these problems and improve quality of your products if you want to sale them in future.
2) for those of whom are JD ass kissers should save yourself, your dignity to tell a true the quality of John Deere LA125.

Jun 03, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
oil makes the difference
by: jas

don't know why people have so many problems with john deere I have one never had a thing go wrong people saying it smokes when they start them up they all do from the manufacture switch to 5w30 synthetic you will notice a difference brigs manufacture told me to use it instead of 10 w 30 one more thing batteries usually don't last more than 2 years its not like a car battery

Jun 01, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
no problems
by: jp

I never had a problem with mine I love it the bad reviews must be people from other manufacturers

May 01, 2013
Rating
star
John Deere Riding Mower Model LA125
by: Anonymous

problem with this mower is the head wasn't torqued right thus blowing the head gasket, so if you mower starts smoking on high and low idle or if you put strain on the engine, and it blows oil out of the fuel pump on the side of the engine its your head gasket, took mine to the local mechanic, he sprayed it with some kind of adhesive slapped a new head gasket in it and it has never run better, came from the factory messed up, would I buy another one? hell no id buy a simplicity, but ive had my eye on an allis chalmers, things built like a tank, the hell with john deere.

Apr 11, 2013
Rating
star
john deere LA125 riding mower
by: Anonymous

I;VE OWNED THIS MOWER FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS,KEPT IT MATENENCED, THEN COME LAST SPRING ,STARTED MOWING YARD,HEARD A BIG CLUNK NOISE,HAD OIL RUNNING OUT THE SIDE OF THE MOWER.Finaaly got it back to the garage and found it had a big crack in the side of the motor.now i;m stuck with nothing to mow my yard withand no funds to replace the motor.can anyone help me .please

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
LA125 DON'T BUY IT
by: Bill from central fl

I purchased a John Deere la 125 in oct of 2008, the engine started puffing smoke at 37 hrs, john deere replaced the engine after tearing the engine down at one of their facilities,, and finding problems,,now after 100 hrs on a new engine , I am pushing oil once again..thank god for buying and extended service plan, however that does not negate the fact that this briggs and stratton engine is junk, plus the paint has been peeling off of the tractor and deck in large pieces.. This lawn mower is a piece of junk , and I would never recommend this product because its overpriced and dealing with john deere is not a joyful experience. Also dealing with warranty people in manila is not a happy time either...by the way i changed oil and filter before recommended times , and cut about a qtr of an acre,,email address is kuraszb@yahoo.com

Jun 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
same oil burning problem
by: Anonymous

High idle it smokes, low idle it smokes, but other wise runs well, it only smokes til the oil hits a certain lever, but if its where its suppose to be right on the full mak it smokes, any feedback appreciated so i can fix this think.

May 14, 2012
Rating
star
Waste of Money--John Deere is going under...
by: Anonymous

Bought a John Deere LA125 in 2008, only has 42 hours...and the engine is blow! Called John Deere and their customer service person (Joseph) was a total "ahole" and no help at all. If this is the kind of product that jd is making now, they will not be in business in a few years. Remeber this Joseph when you are out of work! Will never buy another John Deere product.

Apr 22, 2012
Rating
star
John Deere your mower is crap
by: Anonymous

I bought my john deere tractor LA125 5 years ago,changed the oil, filter plugs belts every year before mowing season started. Kept inside washed and waxed it all the time. Two years ago I changed the oil and all of a sudden oil started shooting out of the fuel pump. Dealer told me I need my carb rebuilt, did that no change, I bought a new fuel pump no change. Dealer had no clue, I changed the head gasket and guess what I fixed the problem. Yesterday I was mowing the grass was wet and the mower shoot plugged and all of a sudden the engine stopped and would not start. I changed the plug and now I have gas coming out of the air filter when trying to start this piece of crap. Still won't start. I don't understand I take great care of this mower, father in law has a craftsman leaves it outside for 8 years and never has a problem. No sense calling the dealer I know more than them, I'm determined to fix the problem. This will be my last mower, a goat maybe my next mower.

Apr 21, 2012
Rating
star
Engine Blew at 12 hours
by: Tanya Ummel

Engine blew after 12 hours of use and they said it was our fault that we didn't have oil in it but we DID have oil in it. Had changed the oil and checked it before running. Now they want $900 to replace the motor. We are furious because we did properly maintain the engine. I do NOT recommend John Deere.

Apr 09, 2012
Rating
star
LA125 TROUBLE
by: Anonymous

STAY AWAY !!!
Big piece of Junk !
Head gasket blew after 120 hrs of moderate use with good maintenance.
JD recommends 10/30 oil, everyone who's had an engine problem fixed uses SAE 30 now.
JD does not acknowledge and issue with their head gaskets and there are plenty of Web testimonials and subsequent early life repairs on the LA125.
Self cleaning deck with the hose port is completely useless and causes grass buildup in the deck housing.
Grass bagger never worked right, clogged tube, even with light cut.
Nothing good to say about this very poor, not to mention expensive $$$ offering from John Deere.

Apr 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My LA125
by: Brian

I have one that is 2 yrs old with 75hrs on it. I serviced it today again as per the book.
I have had no issues at all except the very poor paint job on the deck/ I don't think they used a primer as the paint is peeling off in large flakes. I treat the area with a rust kill, then paint it with Rustkill paint, colour is imaterial.
The people complaining about battery trouble need to understand batteries are a dead or dying piece, they don't last. Get a better one, if it goes flat, have the charge system checked. If you are having battery trouble and need to get off, disengage the blades, apply the handbrake and get off, nothing to it.
I wash the machine after every use, I find doing that makes maintenance easier. I managed to break the self washer off ( which did not do a good job anyway) and use the hose fine nozzle by hand when the machine is cooled out.
Those people complaining about enlevel cutting need to simply adjust the levelling bolts either side. One way is to find level concrete and use a ruler to get the deck level, the other way is trial and error.
To sharpen bledes, raise the deck and get a large ring spanner. The nuts are r/h thread. The blades have splines to stop them spinning, so there is no need to get ham fisted with the spanner.

Apr 03, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Update from 2010
by: craiglb

I thought I'd update my thoughts on this mower. I bought this back in 2010, left a review here, and now I'm back. I like this mower. I've had no problems with it. I can't get to some grease fittings, like the ones inside the wheels, but otherwise no problems. The left front tire keeps going flat but I don't think I can blame JD for that. All I've done is change the oil and keep the deck underside clean. I mulch my lawn, which is almost 1/2 acre, and as long as I don't wait too long it looks good with no clumping. I was worried about whether or not I could get good traction with the tires around the small inclines in my yard when it was dewey. (I have a lot of trees to go around) But have had no problems, so far. The anti scalp wheels catch on my edging sometimes which has pulled them up and made me replace them, but once again, I don't think I can blame JD for poor edging placement.
Overall, so far I'm happy with this mower, I think I mentioned in my first review that the dealer said to engage the blades with the engine at low speed, the book says to do it at full speed. Can't believe all the salesman says..

Mar 23, 2012
Rating
star
Do not believe the good reviews it is a piece of junk
by: Anonymous

Brand new, already won't start doesn't have any power and never picks up the grass with a bagger this is the worst Waste of money I have ever put into a yard tools... Do not buy this piece of junk you will regret it. As far as long tractors go john deere is a complete failure. Sorry about the typos, using speech to text

Feb 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LA125
by: Anonymous

There is a head gasket problem with the engine.When she starts blowing oil out of the muffler, the gasket has a burnt spot on the block,throwing oil in push rod comp.I installed a gasket set about $50.00 and is running great.I know of two mowers with same problem. Ithink the head was not torqued correct from factory.

Feb 07, 2012
Rating
star
won't start
by: Anonymous

Bought it in 2008 and it ran great the first year. After that, trouble starting. Thought the battery was bad, but now the starter won't even turn it over when I jump it. It's always belched smoke when cold.

Expensive crap if you ask me.

Jan 05, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blown Motor LA125
by: Jake

My LA125 just started blowing smoke at 72hrs despite all the services being done on time.
Took it to the local dealer and the engine needs a rebuild!!!
I thought I was buying quality at $4250 (here in Australia) much dearer than similar Japanese models.
Won't ever be buying another John Deere product!

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
star
Junk Brigs
by: Dale

Bought A john deere la 135 and blew the engine after 54 hours. I have yet to talk to John Deere but I know what the out come will be. What a peice of junk! Do not buy John deere lawn tractors.

Oct 29, 2011
Rating
star
Wasn't rating the JD was rating the page
by: Anonymous

John Deere is a piece of crap, and to who ever wrote the previous message, must work for JD. HOw would you like it if you bought a new JD mower, ran it for 48 hours, kept it well maintained, then the engine just blew, now JD will not back their product.

Oct 29, 2011
Rating
star
Why give it 3 stars?
by: Anonymous

Why do you guys that hate the JD pos give it 3+ stars if/when JD won't acknowledge your dissatifified state?

Oct 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Piece of Useless junk
by: Anonymous

My LA 125 blew engine after just 48 hours of use, kept it maintained, it was on the class action law suit, but they keep running around the issue of the engine ID NUMBER. I sent it to them on 3 seperate occasions but each time, send me a letter stating need another number,when I have given them every number on the mower.
DO NOT BUY JOHN DEERE WITH BRIGGS AND STRATTON ENGINE, WILL NOT BACK.

Oct 21, 2011
Rating
star
Don't waste your money
by: Anonymous

Piece of junk. Engine blown after 80 hours. Always kept maintained. No warranty. Buy something cheaper so when it breaks you won't be so disappointed.

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Burning Oil
by: Randy

Bought the LA125 new in 2008 have 106 hours on it now it smokes, burning oil, rev it up it smokes or idle down it smokes, but not yet to the point of smoking all the time, sounds good, anybody know what the problem may be , i took very good care of this maintainence wise.

Aug 15, 2011
Rating
star
Blown engine
by: Portsmouth Reid

Same as previous commentor. Engine blew after 50 hours of use. Was told by the John Deere repairman that it had an oil leak. They want $1200 to fix it. We are not pleased with John Deere right now.

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
star
Don't waste your money
by: ASheffe

On our third season with this lawnmower (only 55 hours of use) and the engine blew. We've kept up religously with all required maintenance only to be told by John Deere that there was no oil and the warranty we paid $300 for will not cover the $1200 repair. Oil was checked regulary and before the incident occured.
We're hoping to talk to SOMEONE at John Deere that can help.

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere LA-135
by: Duane

I wrote 2 weeks ago about my LA-135 burning spot marks in my yard when evenI stop for a few seconds when engine is running. To date I have received no response from John Deere to my 2 letters to them on the problems.

Yesterday I was mowing my lawn when I heard a loud clunk and nower stoped. In looking under the mower deck I see my front bumper. Upon removing it I find it all busted up-see attached pictures.

I am sending the pictures to John Deere along with another request for a response to my LA-135 causeing burn spots in my yard.

My LA-135 is only one year old-John Deere certainly does not make the quality machine I am used to as in the past I have always had John Deere.


Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: ed ruiz

bought 2 years ago at end of 2008 ,expired warranty and now crank case seal looks like its blown had to add oil several times.i only have 117 hrs on this junk.made in usa great job american workers.i will buy japanese from now on ,same goes with cars.

Jul 28, 2011
Rating
star
DONT BUY THIS PIECE OF CRAP
by: Anonymous

I thought I bought the best when I bought a John Deere... Well, the joke was on me... I have 3.5 acres in Middleburg (NE) Florida... in the summer we have to mow the lawn 2x/wk... this piece of crap leaves the worse cut lines I've ever seen... It looks like one blade is cuting at 2" and the other cutting at 3"... I cross-cut the yard trying to get an even (ballpark) look... No friggin way Jose! WTF hasn't JD come up with a fix??? I see all these bitches about the crappy job the LA125 does... and JD don't give a shit... Their service dept's are a friggin ripoff too... God help you if you need a repair... bring some vascilene... cuz you're gonna get screwed...

Anybody want to drive by my house and look at the bitchen cut I get, come on by... 2845 Black Creek Drive Middleburg Fl 32068... Maybe this will provoke the JD crew to fix the piece of crap theY duped us into buying... being assured that the name says it all... SHAME ON YOU JOHN DEERE... COME UP WITH A SOLUTION HERE... I SURE AS HELL WISH I READ THIS COLUMN BEFORE I BOUGHT THIS JUNK FROM HOME DEPOT IN 2009

Jul 20, 2011
Rating
star
Engine going on 2 year old machine
by: Rick in Illinois

I chose the John Deere LA125 when I bought our house in Illinois with just over an acre. Using the Deere reputation as it the best, decided to spend the extra money to have a tractor for the next 10 years.

Mistake.

To protect my investment, each year I change the plugs, the fuel and oil filter, oil, belt, grease the fittings. Everything according to schedule.

After two seasons, the engine now burns approximatley 0.25qt of oil per hour. I'm left with either paying a landscaper $100 per week or limping along in a cloud of blue smoke until I can make it to the end of the year. I'll save the money and rid myself of it at season's end.

What an extreme disappointment.. I should have bought the Cub Cadet... Hell, I've had less problems with a near disposable Murray lawn tractor than this green piece of shit.

So long, John Deere. I won't be the fool a second time.

Jul 11, 2011
Rating
starstar
burns grass
by: Duane Plagemann

I have had John Deere mowers for many many years-always very pleased until I bought this LA 125.

I bought this mower to mow and keep my lawn a show place as I always have. Now I have burnt spots in my lawn that are very unsitely. I am extremly displeased with this.
You must be receiving many complaints on this and certainly must have a fix at no charge.

I would appreciate hearing from you and send what ever I need to correct this.

Thank you.

Duane Plagemann

Jul 09, 2011
Rating
star
Battery dead AGAIN
by: Anonymous

Well I was off to mow the lawn again this morning. Since I recharged the battery last week for a full hour, one would think it might have enough charge in it left to crank the engine once today. Wrong. Spent 30 minutes moving the car, finding the jumper cables and fighting the 'safety' features of this junk heap again. Think twice before buying.

Jun 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Help!
by: William

I enjoy the website very much. Can someone help me - to remove the cutting blade on an MTD LA125 rtg by the turning the central fixing nut clocksire or anti-clockwise?

It might seem trivial but it is of great importance to me as I need to remove the blade urgently to check a highpitched wine it makes when I engage it.

Many thanks.

stay@finca-altacocina.com

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
KEEPING THINGS IN PERSPECTIVE
by: Al

Have had my 125 for years probable one of the first 125's, those that do not like the mower try to do things the mower was not designed for like grass that is high and clumps in the pick up. Mow your grass regularly. I have had the same experience but understand the reason. I have beat this mower to death and kept it outside in the weather not cleaning it untill the deck rusted out I just built a new deck (cheaper than a new mower) I have treated this mower brutally. The engine will last a long time yet, I always maintained it properly. If I had kept it clean and covered it would still be nearly 100%. I have had several other brands they died years sooner. This is a five star mower for the price.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
LX125--I LOVE IT
by: Anonymous

I bought my lawnmower LA125 in Dec 2008. I have had very little problems. Having owned a Yardmaster, Toro, Pouland. I was buying a new mower every year and a half. Maybe I got a good set of parts but mine runs great and John Deer has made good on all warranty problems. Had a carb problem and went to get a part for the carb. The dealer looked up my mower and said it was still under warranty and replace the whole carb. I would recommend it to friends and have. My only recommendation would be to have a way to tighten the deck belt. I have sold 2 of them on my recommendation. I am in a power wheel chair, so I have to have a machine that performs.-- LOVE IT

Dec 17, 2010
Rating
star
dissappointed
by: Anonymous

Two months out of warranty and this tractor throws a rod and is worthless, The dealer asked if we have ever changed the oil! We have religiously followed the required maintenance squedule by the manual and were highly insulted!John deere is refusing to help with the $1200.00 repair, so needless to say, we will NEVER buy another John deere product!

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
star
Don't buy this piece of junk
by: Anonymous

Dave you very funny!! I was going to get this Lawn Mower but have changed my mind

Sep 08, 2010
Rating
star
For Dave...
by: Anonymous

Dave, are you Dave Barry? You are a comic genius and should have your own column syndicated!

Aug 28, 2010
Rating
star
Don't buy this piece of junk
by: Dave

This has to be one of the worst decisions I have every made. I bought this mower to save time. WRONG.
FLAWS: 1) The bagger clogs no matter how high you set the blade. 2) The battery dies in a week. 3) The rubber clips that attach the bagger to the mower regrade after a year and break. 4) The plastic chute comes loose and hits the blade. 5) The most uneven cut I have ever seen.
TYPICAL USAGE: 1) Go out and try to start L125, battery is dead and engine doesn't turn. Hand push mower to front. I then go find jumper cables and move car to get close to mower. I start the mower and am ready to mow. Wrong, the mower is so wide it won't fit through a typically average gate in back. So I take of all attachments and push mower through gate. Ready to mow.
2) Start mowing with blade at 3". Bagger clogs after one row.
So I get off of mower and am careful not to turn if off because I might have to repeat step 1. Reach in to chute and pull out four arm fulls of grass. Ready to mow.
3) Adjust blade to 4 inches, see 2)
4) Decide to mow only half rows see 2)
5) By this time, the driveway is covered with 1/2 inch of clippings because the clog throws everything out from under the mower to everywhere except the bag.
6) Decide that because of 5) mowing without bagger can't be bad because I have a 1/2 hour of sweeping ahead of me anyway.
7) Make sure not to bounce while mowing because the switch on the seat detects the slightest weightlessness and loves to turn the mower off. Don't want to repeat 1). But unfortunately kids have left their toy bricks in the grass and now I have a decision to make. Should I turn everything off, and unmount the mower to move the bricks or should I risk amputation. Well, I am so mad that amputation seems like the easy way out.
8) Put the mower into high gear and floor it, ignoring kids, dogs, neighbors and anybody who dare get in my way. By this point I am ready to light this dang thing on fire. But I must preserve because my neighbors are watching and wondering why there are 4 inch green tread marks all over my driveway, and why I am completely covered in grass clippings.
9) Finally done. Huge clump of grass all over my yard. Grass everywhere, and the yard looks like cr@p.
10) Go get Toro law mower and start over.

Anyhoo, things you want to watch out for:

1) None of the reasonable things (grass catcher, pipes, blade, rubber things that break, battery) are covered under the warranty. They are considered 'reasonable wear' items

2) Dealer in Escondido loved to offer no help at all and then ask 'Is there anything else I can help you with'. Uhhh, how about helping me not kill myself because I hate this stupid mower so much.

3) You will want to think about causing bodily injury to whatever engineer designed this piece of Winnie the Pooh. But put it in the back of your mind. There is always Craigslist and you might be able to get half your money back.

There, I feel better now.


Jul 25, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
good mower
by: craiglb

I bought a l125 last week and it's a good mower, but, the cutting height lever gets in the way when I get onto the machine. It's located on the left rear fender so I hit my leg or rear end almost every time. It says it has an 18" cutting radius, maybe, but it's no better than the 10 year old craftsman I just got rid of. The John Deere guy said when putting the PTO in, to engage the blades, do it when the engine is running at a slow speed. There are "belts and springs" under there that could come loose. My old craftsman, I engaged the blades at operating speed all the time, no problems. I didn't realize that I paid so much money for such a delicate machine. But it does a great job of mowing the lawn, nice even cut, does not clump, or very little clumping, I mulch my grass not bag it.
The best part of this mower is the seat, it is very comfortable and with my bad back it's easy to sit and mow the lawn with it.

Mar 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
requires some upkeep costs
by: Anonymous

John Deere 125 My husband and I purchased the John Deere 125 in May of 2006. We live in a fairly rural suburb in what many people would describe as "fly-over country". Our total lot size is 1.24 acres and borders a farm.

After two gruelingly humid mid-western summers spent trudging across the grass and tripping into gopher holes with an old push mower, I met the arrival of our John Deere 125 with great happiness. I am a petite middle-aged woman who had never operated a riding mower before. I had some reservations about the John Deere, but, after just a few minutes of instruction, I felt completely comfortable driving the mower. It is actually kind of fun. I am very impressed by John Deere's dedication to safety. When the driver exits the mower's seat the machine immediately shuts off.

This is a very welcome feature when the operator is met with sudden impediments in the mowing path, as is often my case. Moreover, the machine is very gas-efficient. The tank can hold approximately two and one-half gallons of gasoline, and requires very little oil, which is readily available at any Wal-Mart. The mower's tires have been a big disappointment. They are prone to deflate easily, especially in humid weather. They are also readily punctured. In three years we have had to replace two tubes and one tire. Although, admittedly, the expense on each occasion proved to be minor, all repairs were a big pain in the neck, since we had to pay to have the mower hauled to a local service provider. Having the mower's blades professionally sharpened, as suggested in the operator's manual, is not cheap.

Overall, the John Deere 125 is an excellent mower. It will definitely free homeowners up to landscape other portions of their property, since a 1.24 acre portion is easily mowed in approximately one hour--if you go fast. Consumers should be advised that tire care can be a problem. Upkeep of the mower will require a some cash. Despite these setbacks, I would strongly recommend the mower--the John Deere 125 has allowed me to focus on putting in extensive native wildflower beds. Additionally, I am now able to actually enjoy my summer weekends.

Nov 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A great mower for the price
by: Anne Cole

Pros
- virtually maintenance free
- affordable
- nice safety features
- looks great

Cons
- none

Rating
- 5 out of 5

We have had our John Deere LA 125 for 9 years and it is still running strong. It is virtually maintenance free. We have 2 acres of uneven lawn so we run it to the limit.

We purchased the lawn mower at Home Depot at a very affordable price. At the time of the purchase, we had been through a mower every 2-3 years and were tired of buying disposable mowers. We decided on John Deere because of the name brand and really did not research it much. Since that time, we have never regretted it.

Our teen age daughters are also able to operate it with the safety features on it. It turns off when you are lifted off the seat and also turns off when you are in reverse with the mower down.

The green finish still looks great and does not fade in the sun like other models. It also came with a portable roof to protect you from the sun and a drink holder for your beverage while you are mowing.

We would strongly recommend lawn mower to anyone that has less than a perfect yard. It is for someone that does not like to have a high maintenance mower. It is for someone that likes all the safety features for the young adults in the family to drive. It is overall a great mower for the price of the purchase.


Sep 07, 2009
Rating
star
Disapointed with John Deere
by: Anonymous

I was very excited to buy my first John Deere. I read a lot of reviews and researched the various models. One of the worst design flaws is the large plastic "chute" that takes the clippings to the rear bag containers. It almost always clogs. The only time it does not is when I am only cutting less than an inch. I can't tell you how frustrating this is and today the chute would not sit inside the bag catcher (another headache while I mow), so the grass was flying everywhere. This problem started from day one. A Deere mechanic told me that it was a design flaw, gave me a new tube, and it still does not work. I do not recommend this product.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A classic that never goes out of style
by: Anonymous

I have owned the John Deere LA125 Riding Lawn Mower for just over a year a now and I have do many great things to say about this piece of machinery. It is easy to start and easy to operate. BY the simple push of a front or back foot pedal, it moves easily. This John Deere is very quiet and you can barely hear it running. It takes corners with ease and provides a super sharp presicion cut that transforms my backyard into a golf course picturesque setting. This John Deere is great on gas also.

It only takes a couple of gallons of gas to fill it and it mows my entire 2 acre lawn in the country. The ride on the John Deere is a smooth one, with its big puffy yellow seat you can comfortable sit for hours on end and mow your grass. The shocks make it a smooth ride with fewer bumps and dips.

This John Deere comes in the classic John Deere green and yellow colors and is recognizable as being set apart above all of the rest.

This John Deere also has lights for night time mowing and also for those late night joy riding drives.

John Deere is a classic that never goes out of style and I would recommend everyone to own a Deere!

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A fantastic mower for the price
by: Anonymous

I own a John Deere LA125 Lawn Tractor and I must say it is an asset to my family! My mower is designed for comfort and convenience as well. It has a steering wheel, cruise control, and a very comfortable high back seat.

The two blade cutting system allows all of my mowing to go very smoothly. It has never clogged up on me once! The mower also has an area on the back that allows easy attatchment for a canopy or the bag system. It even has a wash port underneath the deck to provide easier cleaning at the end of each use!

I love that part! It has a cast iron front end for extra support and the engine is great for a mower! It supports a 21 hp engine that provides excellent lubrication for the very best performance.

Even the hood has lots of thought put into it! It will not dent and keeps all of the UV rays out! Two headlights are placed so even the most dedicated of mowers can mow at dusk! The operator station was very well thought out as well.

It features easy access to the ignition right on the dash, wide footrests for safety, and comes complete with a cup holder.

It has a 4 gallon tank that has an easy view gauge to make it much easier to know when to fill up. The mower has a neat reverse button that allows it to keep working even in reverse!

All in all, this is a fantastic mower for the price and is a simple way to get back to your life quicker!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.