John Deere -- Select Series X304 Tractor

by Megan
(Savannah, GA, USA)

I just love my lawn mower. It is a riding mower and it is so comfortable! It is so much better than using my old lawn mower which hurt my back so much after using it. Now I just sit back and watch the grass being cut without me doing much work. My husband loves it also, so does our son! He always fights for his “turn” to ride it with his father, but of course the man of the house always wins, haha.


My John Deere lawn mower cuts our grass perfectly. At first I honestly thought that it was just in my head, but then after a few uses, the grass was still cut the same and perfect, so then I knew it was not all in my head.
What else can I tell you about my John Deere? Oh, well that John Deere (for me) is the best brand that exists out there in the world, the best equipment that has ever been created really.

It is nice to not have to pull a cord in order to start my John Deere. All I have to do is push the clutch in and turn the key. When I bought this John Deere I put my old push mower in the shed and never looked back! Buying this John Deere lawn mower was the best investment I could have ever made. I suggest that if anyone is looking for a John Deere, to purchase the one I have because you will not regret it!

Comments for John Deere -- Select Series X304 Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 11, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent tractor
by: Anonymous

We've owned our X304 since 2007, mow an acre a couple of times a week in season and have logged almost 500 hours on the hobs meter. I've replaced a couple of mower deck drive belts, but other than standard preventative maintenance, that's it. Mower deck can scalp on a crest of a high spot, but only when you're not using the mower correctly. Proper adjustment and teaching the wife how to operate the mower on an incline is important. Mower adjustments are very simple and the deck drops with two easy to get to pins, when you need to sharpen the blades. All wheel steering is a dream. I removed the seat switch so I can get off a running tractor. I do have a couple of seat cushion cracks after a few years of service (easily fixed or replaced if this cosmetic issue troubles you) The left rear has developed a small transmission seal leak where the shaft meets the left wheel. Replacement is low cost and fairly easy. Will accomplish after 2014 mowing season.
This little tractor has been an excellent tool and the Kawasaki engine runs on and on.

Sep 25, 2013
Rating
star
Numerous problems
by: Grim Reaper

Wish I had bought one of the problem free X304s as I like the mower when it works. At 36 hrs the ignition switch stopped working and had to have it replaced. Then at 50 hrs the starter and the carburetor started failing and both replaced by local dealer. Local JD dealer only needed a part to fix the carb but finally gave up trying to fix it since he could not get the part and ordered a complete replacement. Now at 61 hrs the lift mechanism for the mower deck appears to have failed and is stuck in a low position. Appears I got a real lemon. Most likely my last JD.

May 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD X304
by: Anonymous

I have a X 304 2005 model this mower is excellent never have any problem what so ever, Some people complaining about their problem having on their X 304 I think they don't know how to operate or how to use these riding mowers!

Sep 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
x-304 great machine.
by: Anonymous

I don't understand all of the problems people are having with their x304. I have had mine for going on 4 years now and have never had a problem. I mow almost an acre of grass with steep slopes and tight turns and mower is perfect. I did add the mulch kit and the extensions for the deck wheels to keep it from scalping on turns, but that's what you're supposed to do if you cut higher than 3 inches. Also, I blow snow all winter (Denver, co) and it performs great. I can blow more snow than my neighbor does with his atv. He pushes his snow into a bank and I can blow my snow right up to the door.

From my perspective, the x304 is a little work horse with no problems.


Aug 28, 2011
Rating
star
WHAT IS WRONG WITH JOHN DEERE
by: SCOTT FERRILL

I just got my new x304 and it will not cut the grass on a slop without scalping the grass.I had there service repair man to my house three times and it is still on better. AND TO TOP THAT OFF IT HAS AN OIL LEAK. DO NOT BUY A JOHN DEERE. I WILL BE SHOWING THE WAY MY X304 CUTS MY GRASS ON U TUBE

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
Dont Buy John Deere 304 models
by: Mike Ullman

I am on my 3rd deck - they cost 600.00 each. They are not part of the guarantee and if you run over the smalled stump or raised patch of dirt, it will warp the blades and the deck. I have less than 45 hours on my mower. I am going to call John deere yet again tomorrow to see that they will do. I will keep you updated.

May 14, 2010
Rating
star
John Deere x304 Problems Stay AWAY
by: JACOB W.

I purchased the x304 2.5 years ago and listen to the problems that I have had.

When purchased it cam with a two year warranty not even a month later the warranty was changed for new buyers to 4 years or 300 hours which ever came first. Being that this was a practically new purchase I requested the same for my $3500 purchase. My request was denied. 4 months later the seat cushion cracked and I park it in a shed. It was replaced. 6 months later the deck warped and was cutting my grass uneven it was replaced. Explanation was a defect in the production of the deck. Had to bring to the dealer a view times because of a load rattling noise while mowing. Explanation spring loaded pins to drop deck was the cause of this annoying noise. I had the put a dab of silicon to cushion the metal to metal contact. then a month ago I had a transmission wheel seal started leaking. NO Warranty. I Purchased a new one cost $22 plus $4 for jd20 oil. All those problems on a new John Deere mower in the first 75 hours of use. Then just recently it started making wining noises while traveling and started showing signs of power loss while climbing slopes in my yard. I had my mechanic try to diagnose the problem. It came down to removing the transmission and what we found was silicon shavings and pieces that had stopped up the internal screen. This was a obvious manufacture defect. I contacted my dealer and they said for sure this should be a out of warranty covered item. I took my x304 to my local dealer and sent them a email with all the pictures I took of the trash in the transmission. Then it was a waiting game on John Deere to find out what they would do. Two weeks at my dealer and John Deere FINALLY responded. But it wasn't what I wanted to hear. They said it was out of warranty and they were not going to help. I was shocked. I emailed Torq Tuff the manufacturer of the transmission and explained the problems I was having and sent them the pictures I had sent John Deere. I told them that John Deere did not want to stand behind their products. Would they stand behind theirs? Four days later a new transmission was at my office. NO Help from John Deere. Highly recommend Torq Tuff transmissions. They stand behind there products and admit defects of workmanship. STAY AWAY FROM JOHN DEERE.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.