John Deere X300 Tractor, 42-Inch Edge Xtra Deck

by Chris H.
(Westfield, NJ, USA)

I've owned my John Deere X300 tractor for a year and a half now, and I love it. I own several acres of land, most of which is covered by lawn. I used to use a standard push mower, but it took hours to mow the entire lawn. I saw this mower from John Deere for $2800 at a store, and after sitting on it to see the controls, I was an immediate believer.


Control-wise, everything is beautifully color-coded for convenience. The engine speed and choke controls are separate, so I can warm the engine up pretty easily, even in cold weather. Comfort-wise, the seat is amazing. I had expected something uncomfortable, but the big yellow cushions on this seat make it more comfortable than my truck.

The cutting system is fantastic. I have never used a 42-inch deck, but I got used to it very quickly. It allowed me to zip up and down my yard and finish cutting in a half hour. Though the specs for the X300 say that it has a 16-inch turning radius, I felt like it was turning on its center - I actually had to watch and make sure I wasn't turning so sharply that I would be mowing over area I had already cut!

The other aspect of this mower I should mention is its construction. I had always thought of John Deere as an acceptable brand but not the highest quality of mower. This tractor changed my mind. The front axle is made of cast iron, and the whole frame looks and feels solid when you're riding on it. The brakes feel solid when you press on the pedal and don't fade or lag at all. My favorite little convenience that they added to the mower, though, is a cupholder so I can keep my beverage within reach and still operate the tractor.

Comments for John Deere X300 Tractor, 42-Inch Edge Xtra Deck

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love JDs but not the mulcher
by: Anonymous

As a farm boy who grew up on Johnny Poppers and I have always like JD. My X304 is quiet and powerful with the Kawasaki engine and the 4W steering will wind me around trees quickly. But the plastic mulch plate has been chewed apart by pine cones and small debris in one year. It makes a terrible racket and vibrates until some of the plastic is cut away. Only one year !
The mulch plate is made for fine lawns, not a 2 acre yard with trees. It's true that plastic doesn't rust......it just chops up and howls.


May 31, 2014
Rating
star
JD in Florida has poor customer care
by: Betsy Cathey

I have had JD lawn tractors for over 20 yrs. The first one just died at 20 yrs. I bought a 300 series with Kawasaki engine and a 48" deck that I was told would easily take care of my 5 acres. It is 18 mos. old with 60+ hrs on it. It has been back to the dealer no less than every 4-5 mos. for THE SAME THING each time. I am fed the line that I have old gas in the mower. How is that when I am mowing twice a week and none of my other gas powered tools have "gas issues"? In addition they have the audacity to charge me $60 to pick up and deliver their poor product.
I was sold a lemon and GreenSouth in Gainesville, Florida will do nothing to make me a happy customer.
I will never buy another JD product. I am shocked and appalled that customer care means so little to this company.

May 24, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
Almost killed me!
by: Almost retired - Minnesota

I have had a X300 for 4 years. It now has 350 hours on it. Still on the original belts and have never had one come off. Starts instantly. Had to rewire some of the non-sense safety shut offs.
I mow an acre and a half lawn and have a pull behind leaf vac with which I do some custom work.
It has hydrostatic drive. Most people are used to using their left foot for clutching and their right foot for breaking. (a 40 year Old Learned Beavior Habit) Braking on the x 300 is on the left,,, just the opposite,,,. Cruise control is scary. To disengage you need to re-step on the forward pedal.
If you come roaring into the garage and think you are going to stop with your right foot,,, you more than likely should have a helmet on. (See 40 year Old Habit.) It took some luck and some time to get used to the change.
Appears to be very fuel efficeint. The mower blade bearings are hard to grease. I'm considering putting some zerk extentions on it.
I had trouble reaching a 5 mph speed when hauling stuff to the the nearby land fill. (1/4 Mile away) Some adjustments helped.
It is very manuverable. Seat has good support, but plastic has already cracked. Also I miss having gears so I know how fast I am traveling when spraying. Speedometer would be good to have.
I would buy another one.

Apr 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
deck belt getting chew up
by: r fletcher

deck belt travels over a nut under the deck. the nut is the one you would adjust the cutting height .It will chew a side of the belt over time and cost you to replaes the belt.I like the x300 except this problem

Aug 24, 2012
Rating
star
tech support
by: tracy

John deere offer no phone tech support. If you help you need to contact the dealer, who will tell you to bring it in. $$$$$$$$$$$. If you dont own a trailer $$$ pickup and delivery. John deere says sorry you need to talk to the dealer.DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON JOHN DEERE

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
x300 with mulching 42 deck
by: frank gose

broke belt @ 12nrs JD & dealer will not guarantee it--cost $140---broke again @ 26hrs--took it back to burkhard(dealer)--something is wrong. they said some parts have to be changed---cost almost $900 but again John Deere and dealer refuse to cover the cost. I am now well over @4000 into this product--then it won't start--took it to an independent repair shop--bad module cost me @350. At 64hrs I've used five belts. This particular model and deck has to be badly designed and a defective product.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
problems starting John Deere 300
by: Anonymous

I have a John Deere X300 with 41 hours on it. If you stop it after you been mowing it will not start back. Also went to get it out of the garage today, did the choke and throttle as instructed. It floods itself out and just sits there and belches smoke. Anyone else having this problem?

May 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
glass hood
by: John

I check the oil and droped the hood from approximately 12 inches. It shattered like glass.
Otherwise, the mower has been great.

Apr 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD x300 surging
by: born-to-party

Have a friend's x300 he gave me to fix..........engine surges up and down about every second...rrRRrrRRrr. Anybody have any ideas on how

Jan 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Haters write fake BAD reviews
by: Anonymous

isn't that obvious

Dec 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Again a top performer
by: Brian

If you use your John Deere X300 for mowing grass and towing a trailer, it will last a very long time. But if you think mowing once a month and try to use it as a brush hog it will fail. Folks use common since with these lawn tractor and do you scheduled maintence they will last a long time. I still own my very first John Deere I bought my parents its a 1964 John Deere 110 and I have owned a 455 JD Diesel it was a super tractor w/front end loader, Tiller, Box Blade and a snow blade I used it hard, and it never failed, the same with my 2210 sub compact I entered it in a tractor pull and pulled 6,850 lbs. 305' a full pull and won. If you take care of your Deere it will always be there for you.

Sep 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
X300
by: Anonymous

I purchased the X300 due to its rating by numerous consumer product magazines and such. It runs quiet and cuts grass very well. My tractor experienced the same issue with the module being defective at about 40 hours. Replaced the module under warranty at no charge, 5 minute fix.
Since then I have used it with no issues other than a dead battery after two seasons. My local dealer informed me the stock batteries from the manufacture are rated for 1 yr. Battery was replaced under a pro-rated warranty. It now has 164.5 hours on clock and no other issues. I use only synthetic oil and inpect the belts, lubricate the chassis twice a year. Starts right up and running smooth, turns with ease. I plan on replacing the belts next spring.

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
star
Did not start
by: Anonymous

First yaer with X300 JD. less than 40 hrs on and would not start. Dealer knew what it was right away didn't need to finish sentence, he came out and replaced it. Less than 90 hrs on and belt snapped. $54.00 for belt what next????

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of Crap
by: Gunslinger

After only 150 hours, the deck is disentegrating, and the motor is blown. This tractor has been babied. They should change their yellow deer logo to a lemon!

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
star
mower deck bolts
by: pogomonster

my x300 is less than 3 years old ... 3 times a right hand spindle assembly bolt broke off ... same bolt every time ... these are self-tapping bolts so the dealer had to replace the whole assembly ... was all done under warranty ... but required 3 trips to deliver deck to dealer ... & 3 trips to pick up deck .. apparently, their stock of self tapping bolts were a bad casting lot ... this will , in future ,when warranty runs out , cost me $$$ for a whole new spindle assy as you can't just replace the bolt ...

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
star
X300 won't start
by: KPage

My x300 won't start. Only 47.6 hours on the thing! Called the dealer, said it's probably a "bad module," and that it's a common problem. It would only cost me $200 to get them to transport the thing. Sheesh!

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

cUTS UNEVEN AND MUST ADJUST THE DECK EACH TIME I MOW WHICH TAKES TIME.I would sell this thing in a second if I could.I also have a lx176 and mows great.The x300 is junk!!!!The dealer said live with it.Isnt that great of them?

May 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Slow in reverse
by: TomT

My throttle pedals are out of adjustment (i suppose )it barely moves in reverse. help?

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Service ,service, service!
by: Now Impressed

John Deere really stands behind their warantees and products. I took my X300 to dealer for service and not only did they give me a new battery but put on a new starting module because of mower starting problems I had with the two year old mower. The service was fast and completed without any hassle. The X300 runs like a top,and I hihly recommend this mower.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
Running like a DEER(E))
by: NOT IMPRESSED

I,too, went the extra dollar for a John Deere x300and what a hassle. First the mower belt went off the pulley system after using the mower for 6 hours. THEN after winter storage the battery was dead,was recharged, and the thing still won't start. Dealer said to bring it in - (140) mile round trip, and they would take a look at it. I have 44 total hours on this so called recommended mower. Nobody at the dealership said anything about starter motor problems or the module under the hood being defective. Nothing runs like a deer(e).RRRRiiiigggghhhhtttt!!!!!!!

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
X300 OH Deere
by: NewDeere

Well I just picked up my new X300 42" Deck John Deere. I had read lots of reviews and done my fair share of shopping around. I must say this unit is even better than I ever expected. It drives like a dream. It has power to burn with a Kawasaki engine and man is it a comfortable ride.

I had an Ariens Sieera 1440G and the bloody think kept throwing belts. I own 5 acres but only mow around 2. I tried the Cub Cadet LTX 1050 with a 50" Deck but the thing backfires all the time and doesn't drive as nice as the X300.

My new John Deere is just what my lawn needed. The strong deck, turning circle and power to burn makes my weekend fun again.

I would recommend the X300 over any ride on mower for 2 - 5 Acres.

Feb 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: ABJPSJ

This mower turns like it has power steering. The engine is very quiet and it does a very good job when mowing as it should. It is very good on fuel also, much better than my other mower. I've had this right at three years now and not a single problem. I purchased at GreenSouth in Florida. I don't know about service or warranty because I haven't had to use either yet.

I couldn't stand the back up safety that shuts off the mower deck when you go in reverse unless you pull up on the button. I finally wired around it so that is no longer a problem. I hate that this country has gotten to the plac where all companies have to protect us from ourselves. In the 1960s we could back up, get off the mower with the blades running and even in gear and it would keep running and that's the way we liked it.

This is a very good mower well worth the money.

Feb 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Awesome
by: Anonymous

I've had my X300 for 3 years now and it's perfect. It starts immediately every time. I mow 2 acres and haul lots of tree limbs and firewood in a dump cart that I pull behind the mower. Lots of power, super durable. I love it! No problems whatsoever.

Sep 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unhappy with new JD X300
by: wpickron

I am very unhappy with my brand new John Deere 42 inch X300 with mulcher. Less than a month old and back to the dealer twice. Deck not level (digs on the right) and mulcher doesn't work. Had a JD LX172 for 16 years with mulcher...no problems. Bermuda grass and set to cut at 3 inches and grass is dry. Even with half inch of growth, leaves a trail of lumps and have to go back with the deck up and blades going to distribute. Basically takes me twice as long to cut 1 acre yard. With the price you pay, extremely frustrating. Dealer working with me so far and has seen yard and agrees with level issues and mulcher issue. Going to replace deck and mulcher to see if this fixes problem. If not, says will give me another new one. We'll see. If doesn't fix it, plan to ask for my money back. What a hassle this has been!!!

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Starter on a Brand New X300
by: Anonymous

I bought my X300 a few weeks ago. I decided to buy a John Deere because of their reputation and the X300's best rating in Consumer Reports. Well the dealer delivered me a nice shiny tractor that drives beautifully.... Unfortunately, within the first week, I noticed a starting problem (the starter would spin but it wouldn't always engage to turn the motor over). I called the dealer to report the problem and they said to bring it in (they wanted to charge me $95 to pick it up). I was mad (it woould have been good customer service to offer to pick up the darn thing for free). Anyway, I took the tractor to them myself. The dealer replaced the starter motor under warranty (only 4 hours on my tractor). I don't expect quality problems so soon. It's very disappointing. I hope this is the only problem I ever have with this machine.

Jul 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
a fix
by: Anonymous

Hey guys. My x300 had the same problem with not starting, and no spark. The john deere dealer said it's a known problem. A module under the dash needs to be replaced. It's a warrenty item. They gave me the part, and I installed it in 10 minutes. It worked immediately.

Good Luck.

Jun 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
No Spark... common theme
by: Anonymous

First season of owning this (John Deere X300) lawn tractor was fine. I followed all of the winter recommendations, but in spring X300 would not start. Turns over fine, but I get no spark to the plugs. Have to take it in. I spent $3,300 to get a reliable machine. Very disappointing.

May 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not worth your money or time
by: Anonymous

I decided to spend the extra money and go all out and get a quality John Deere (X300) product for mowing a few acres. At 0.8 hrs I had the repair guys out to replace the entire belt system (chewed to bits). Now at 24.8 hours, the mower doesn't start. Beautiful day for mowing, and not a thing I can do about it. Of course the dealer is closed, and I'm waiting to hear the runaround speech.

May 15, 2010
Rating
star
suffered a "rare problem"
by: John Doe

I purchased this John Deere X300 mower with 55 hrs and at first loved it. The mulcing worked perfectly and the tractor had lots of power for mowing on the hillside. At approx. 90 hrs one of the bearings on the mower deck went bad. I had it replaced by the local dealer and was told this is very rare problem. Now at 105 hrs another bearing is out and a tooth broke off the starter. So much for John Deere quality.

Feb 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I Hope This Does Not Happen Every Season
by: Glen

I have a John Deere X300 one season and now it won't start. (No Spark) What a hassle Saturday morning nice for a week dry grass and cannot mow. John Deere not open on Saturday. I bouught a John Deere so I would not have these problems. And yes I had it winterized!

Nov 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
sabre drive belt chewed up
by: zmann4347

I have a sabre tactor heard a loud noise now the tractor barely crawls. I dropped the deck and noticed that the drive belt was chewed up. Chunks out of the inside of the belt. would this stop the machine from moving?
zmann4347@gmail.com

Oct 26, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Belt jumped off
by: Steve

With only 3.5 hours of use the deck belt has jumped the track. Mulching leaves with the deck setting up high off it came. I went to the owners manual and could not find a thing that tells the user not to run the deck with it raised to it transport setting. Gave it a 4 star because of the early belt problem.

Apr 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
It would be a great mower if the bugs weren't there
by: Roy

Have had this mower for one summer. It handles and rides like a dream. I love the power of the 17 hp Kawasaki engine and the smoothness of the hydrostatic tranny. No problems on the hills. However, within minutes of purchasing it and putting it to use on my lawn, the drive belt began getting chewed up. It was replaced and again did the same thing. The dealer finally did something that allowed me to finish the summer with no further problems.

After doing a proper winter storage I went to start my mower only to find there was no spark- a defective"module" the dealer said. The dealer has been great to help me on warranty but I bought this machine for its reliable reputation which I am getting nervous over. What's going to happen this summer? I really love the mulch deck as it cuts very well and leaves no clippings behind if you don't go too fast.

It would be a great mower if the bugs weren't there. I have read elsewhere that the belt chewing problem is a design flaw.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.