js 40 self-propelled lawn mower

by Brian Burke
(Hicksville New York)

The worst and the most expensive lawn mower to repair. Three years, I've owned this, the so called electrostatic paint is wearing, $150 bucks for the drive unit. Try taking it apart. Nasty, self-absorbed, so-called dealer here in Freeport Long Island. "You see the seven drawers behind the counter, your $10.00 bearing ain't in there, it will have to be ordered.""I don't have the room for every John Deere part." Plastic drive wheels that are connected to a steel pinion gear? You better fold the handles a certain way or you'll snap all of the cables. A mulching system, leaves a mess and you dirty. One of the biggest retailer's in the U.S. where this was purchased, and no parts to service it!!!!!!!!! No spark plug,belts, or an air filter, FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!!!


I had Craftsman's and lawnboy's that lasted 6 years, with the proper maintenance. I'm very dissappointed with John Deere, they manufacture giant combines that stand the test of time, so why won't these mowers last? This is one of the few remaining American companies that prides itself on American workmanship. Build a lawn mower that will stand the test of time all the way, I really don't want to buy a foreign made mower.

Comments for js 40 self-propelled lawn mower

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Still Running......
by: Aelious Rex

In 12 years I've replaced (DIY): 1 blade, rubber fuel parts, left rear tire and cog, mowing bag, 2 drive belts and the transmission. I can't kill the thing mowing 1/2 acre every week for 5 months a year. I'll probably get another 10 years out of it.

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstar
Cheap Parts
by: Agony

I have had every problem you can have with this mower. I have replaced all four tires!! Just bought three more this morning and it was $131.00. Why? Because the parts need to be ordered online. The mower cuts grass nice but I have also replaced the bag, chute and the front caster arm broke off and needed to be welded. At this point why? The only reason is that is does cut grass really good and looks good. I have a 1/2 acre I cut with the mower because I like the exercise

May 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Amazing!!
by: Anonymous

i have had this same one for 12 years and I have never ever had any problems with mine. Today I replaced the spark plug and sharpened the blades for the first time. I cut my grass from and my in laws grass from April until October every other week. You either got a lemon or it wasn't well taken care of. My mother in law used to have a landscaper who put oil in her lawn mower every week (before I took over and started cutting her grass) and her lawn mower blew up. Sorry but I would recommend this lawnmower to everyone I know!!!

Mar 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great mower
by: Anonymous

I've owned mine for the past 7 years and if you service it properly it lasts. Just put the first tank of gas in it for this spring and it fired after two pulls. I've only changed the oil and the belt a couple of times, no problems with the wheels at all.

Jun 05, 2013
Rating
starstar
JS40 John Deere mower
by: Anonymous

Whom ever decided that powder coat painting is better should look these mowers. Once it cracks It allows water then rust . to develop. It may also be due to poor metal preparation prior to painting but I have the same problem on two of these JS40 mowers. I give this mower 2-4 years based on what I see and am experiencing. That's only if you take it to someone who knows how to really work on it and fix the problems before they grow larger.

Mar 17, 2013
Rating
star
what else can i do
by: Anonymous

i have owned for 4 years they should name it murfey because every thing that can go wrong will
i have welder for deck but the air filter and the engines that smokes oil by the gallon which then ruins the filter 12 bucks down the drain unhook your vent tube from carb and you will save a bundle i have a bad back 5 bad disks so the wheels that turn in the front are the only reason i still have it saves my back because i donot have to lift the mower every time i turn a corner because i cut in squears

Jul 23, 2012
Rating
star
Recall this junk
by: Anonymous

I think every JS40 ever built had the $50 wheels break at least once. If cars are subject to recall for faulty parts I think it should apply to everything we buy. After reading these comments I think I have to get another job so I can pay for all the upcoming repairs. Glad I don't use this thing to make a living.

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
High priced china made quality
by: Anonymous

I bought my js40 model 1 year ago fjor 499.00 and half way through the season my front tire broke. The plastic pulled apart and the dealer says 40 bucks to replace and I said that I will get the super glue out. At Lowes it is 8.95 for two tires. John Deere is a poor quality and a overpriced china product. Too bad I got rid of my Toro that I had for 15 years without any problems except a 9.99 cable that was my fault.

Jun 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
UNDECIDED
by: KIL

Great power. Starts easy- but the front wheels have snapped off twice the last 2 years- I just bought a replacement wheel at JD for $50!
Noticed that the mower deck is ripping where the brackets connect. Looking to get it welded or just fuck it and buy another mower. Craigslist is great for that.

May 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Been Lucky
by: B. Smith

I have had my mower for 5 years now. I have had very few problems with it. Starts every year with no problem. Just a little smoke at first. I have had issues with the rear pinion because the plastic shroud broke and is letting in moisture. I have to be diligent to keep it greased well. I have really put this mower through some tough work, and it has held together nicely. I guess I've been fortunate not to experience the problems that others have.

Apr 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good ole tough mower!
by: Ed Nordby

I have owned my js 40 over four years and have had no trouble with it. Thank heavens it always starts with the first pull because it is a muscle ripping tug even for a stout man. I have mowed a 1/4 acre bumpy weed infested lot over and over again without any mechanical failures. Replaced one blade in all that mowing because of rocks. It is a workhorse and does the job nicely on my pretty grassy areas.

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
Thought I would buy the best of mowers
by: Thomas

Well guess again, I have replaced the rear wheels twice now, both sides, and again one is worn out for the drive. Plastic gear inside the wheel and the steel drive gear are not compatible. Front castering arm out of alingnment, had to be replaced, front plastic wheel hub broke. Wouldn't be so bad if the parts weren't so damn expensive. Also already replaced the transmission. Plastic dogs inside will not stand up to any extended use.
Definitely Green Junk. Sorry I got rid of my 30 year old commercial Toro. Wanted my wife to use nothing but the best when cutting the grass.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
Give me a break
by: Anonymous

I own one of the John Deere JS40's. Good grief, every spring it has to go in for a major tune up. It will not start until then. It is always properly stored in the winter to no avail. The last tune up cost over $130.00! Now, the front wheel has broken off. What a temparmental lawn mower. I do not recommend this mower.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
More Headaches With This Mower
by: Anonymous

Paid over $500 bucks for this mower less than 5 years ago. I have had to replace the cable for the self propelled 2x and going to have to buy another. Also, a very hard to start mower. Bought it for the John Deere name and it's dependability but really am totally disappointed. Won't buy a mower from Wal-mart because I think they are the spawn of the devil but John Deere. Fix your walk behind mowers or stop making them. I have read too many complaints about them and also hard to find dealers now and Lowe's forgetaboutit they sell you the mower and then you are on your own for parts.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
Not happy with the DEERE
by: Ty

What have I replaced on my Deere, 4 wheels at $25.00 per wheel, then the weld broke that hold the arm and wheel on to the mower deck and that cost $100.00. I will not buy a Deere next time.Does not have that much power.

Jun 03, 2011
Rating
star
CHEAP TIRES!!!
by: Anonymous

TIRES HAVE BROKE (THEY ARE MADE OF PLASTIC) BOTH FRONT TIRE BROKE OFF>>>>BAD IDEA

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
bad deal
by: Anonymous

The JS$) is the worst Mower i have ever owned the drive broke 150 to fix the wheels where they are welde have rusted off 2 times had to rewelded the deck is to thin and snd is rusting after 2 years is when this started.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
broken wheel
by: Anonymous

ive had my js40 for 3 years i broke the front wheel today. the bagging system on the js40 is a bad idea i have too hold my foot on the plastic piece that holds the bagger into place an then remove the bag. overall tho my lawnmower has worked ok . but it smokes bad now an the first pull. lol ut oh

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
WORST SELF PROPELLED MOWER EVER!
by: Anonymous

Worst lawn mower I've ever own. Properly maintained, but spp drive system is aweful. Won't ever buy another Deere product!

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
star
Repair, Repair, Repair...
by: M Hickcox

I've had a JS40 for two years. Both front wheels (plastic hubs) have broken. The bracket for one of the front wheels has bent and had to be replaced. The rear-wheel drive mechanism has been repaired twice, and now it doesn't work for a third time.

I'm sorry I sold my 24-year-old Craftsman - it was running fine, but I wanted the self-propelled function. The JS40 is one failure after another - a great disappointment. Nothing breaks like a Deere.

Aug 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
js45 good mower
by: Anonymous

i own one of these mowers and with the proper maintenance recommended by the dealer i have had no trouble at all.

Aug 02, 2010
Rating
starstar
drive gear
by: julius

yeah me too why dont they just put a metal gear to engage the wheels? im now looking for a cheap drive

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to John Deere Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.