Scotts Classic 20 Inch Push Reel Lawn Mower

by Glenn
(Texas)

Despite everyone I talked to thinking this would be a silly idea, buying a Scotts Classic 20 Inch Push Reel Lawn Mower was the best $100 I have spent in a long time. Free shipping from Amazon was certainly a plus.


The instructions were easy to read, and almost unneeded as simple as the assembly was. You only have to connect the handle to the mower assembly. This is done with just a few nuts and bolts which are tightened by hand. Absolutely no tools required. The whole thing weighs less than some vacuum cleaners I have used. You can pick it up with one hand. Just try doing that with a regular power mower.

The best part about the Scotts Classic 20 Inch Push Reel Lawn Mower was how it cuts. The best comparison I can make is to shaving with a new razor. This is still true after two months of use. The blades do not need to be sharpened for a long long time. The height is easily adjusted, and despite what the official reviews say, the Scotts Classic 20 Inch Push Reel Lawn Mower can cut 6 inch high Bermuda grass.

Everyone I have showed it to was amazed with how easily it is to push and how well it cuts. You get to set exactly what pace you want. Something that can't be done with a regular power mower. The only maintenance which is required is a spray with WD-40 now and then.

No more buying gas, oil, spark plugs, engine repair, etc.

Comments for Scotts Classic 20 Inch Push Reel Lawn Mower

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
powered by the person who push the mower
by: Anonymous

Pros
- The benefit for owning this lawn mower is that it is not noisy (as some other lawn mower does).
- It does not use any fuel (gasoline alike), therefore no extra cost of ownership.

Cons
- Lack of ability to cut down weeds or tall grass.
- When we go uphill on a lawn that hasn't being mowed for a while.

This lawn mower is one of classic push lawn mower. It does not have any engine to it because it is all fully powered by the person who push the mower. My family owned this mower and using it since 2007. We bought it from an online retailer that shipped it for free. Since we bought it, not even once we need to sharpen the blades. Every time we finished moving, all we need to do is spray the blades using the hose from our garden hose and make it clean. After that, we store the mower in our little shed.

So far, the con is the lack of ability to cut down weeds or tall grass. This means that we must trim down the lawn at least once a week if we want the mower to produce the best results. Another disadvantage is that when we go uphill on a lawn that hasn't being mowed for a while, it was quite a challenge to push the mower. The problem rooted at the tall grass and weeds. This mower is meant for a frequent mowing activity for the owner/user plus environmentally friendly (not noisy or using fuel). I rate this mower as 5 because of the fair pricing, easy of use, no extra cost of ownership, and giving me the opportunity to get some exercise while pushing the mower.

Nov 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
recommend to anyone who doesn't have enormous yard and is environmentally concerned
by: Anonymous

We purchased the Scotts Classic 20 inch push mower last spring at The Home Depot. The previous two summers our electric and gas mowers were stolen out of the backyard. We do not have a shed and we wanted to store it in basement between mowing. I was paying a lawn care company about $80-$100 a month and they were really doing a sloppy job. The last straw was a big bag of clipping they left in my yard which I could not even lift. We only have about 400 sq ft out front and out back and my son wanted to "go green".

He drives a Prius and does not like wasting gas (especially after the last spike). This lawn mower is great. The price was $99 new. We do not have to worry with purchasing, transporting or storing gas. I don't run over the electrical cord and have to stop and rewire. I can get up at the crack of dawn and not worry about waking the neighbors. I can get the grass cut before it gets hot, because it is so quiet!

The only thing you have to remember is do not let grass get too long or cut will look shaggy. About once a week keeps grass looking manicured. I would recommend this mower to anyone who doesn't have an enormous yard and is environmentally concerned. I didn't have to change the spark plugs one time!

Apr 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
would purchase again!
by: Anonymous

Pros:
-Very easy to operate
-Easy to store

Cons:
-Needs to be oiled before each use
-Doesn't cut thick weeds

I'm overall very happy with this mower. It was fairly inexpensive but works very well. I love the fact that there's no need to fill it up with gas...simply drag it out and start pushing.

It's ideal for small to mid sized lawns. It will need to be oiled/greased somewhat often but it's as simple as just spraying some WD-40 on it. It will however sometimes have difficulty cutting thicker weeds, such as daffodils. If you have a ton of those on your lawn this may not be the mower for you.

I also really enjoy that I can get a minor workout from cutting the lawn. Another good thing about this mower is that it's much gentler on the grass. It cuts it, without pulverizing it. I got many compliments on my lawn this summer, and the only thing I do differently then my neighbours is use this one.

It's also very easy to store, simply stand it up and slide it away somewhere. It's also very light and easy to transport. Simply fold up the handle and throw it in the trunk. Also since you don't need to haul gas around it's very convenient to bring somewhere to cut someone's lawn for them.

I've been overall very very happy with this purchase. I wish I didn't have to oil it before each use and that it cut weeds better, but overall all the pros strongly outweigh the cons. I'd buy this mower again and I'd strongly recommend it to anyone.

Apr 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
eco-friendly...great lawn job
by: Anonymous

I purchased this mower after someone stole my gas-powered one. They didn’t realize it, but they actually did me a favor. For almost five years now, I have been using it and I love it. People passing by constantly stop and ask me where I got it, and how I like it.

The best thing I like about it is the eco-factor. Not only is it non-polluting, but it also is economical. I haven’t spent a penny on gas for it. The second thing is that it does a real nice job on the grass. It gives my lawn a more natural look.

I usually keep my lawn height at about 3 inches, and the mower will easily go right over any small objects that may be in the way. One drawback is that, when the grass is going to seed, it pushes over the taller shoots instead of cutting them. I then have to go back over them with a weed-eater.

Another one is that, sharpening the blades can be a little tricky when doing it yourself. If you’re not mechanically-inclined, you might be better off letting a pro do it. All in all, I am very satisfied with this mower. I have to give it two thumbs way up.

It brings back fond memories of watching my Grandfather push one very similar to mine. I just keep on trucking, while others are fuming and fussing, trying to crank their little gas-hogs! Happy mowing and God bless!

Nov 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A reliable and environmentally sound mower
by: Anonymous

Pros
- great price
- quiet and small

Cons
- no cons

Rating
5 out of 5

Three years ago I was looking for a lawn mower. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that I would be a new homeowner. However, the day finally arrived and I was going to be responsible for the upkeep of my home and lawn.

As a woman in her mid-twenties and newly married, my husband and I did not have a lot of money to spend on basically anything. We had a small budget set aside for a mower and wanted something that the both of us could easily use on our 1/3 of an acre lot. Then one day, as we were walking in Home Depot, we found it! This mower cost us less than $200.00! The Scotts Classic Reel lawn mower has served us for well for three years!

As an environmentally conscious couple this mower is gas free, which means that it is exhaust free! In addition, it is quiet and small, making it easy to store. The best part is there are no cords to pull to start it! I had always had trouble pulling the cords to get mowers to start, but this is not an issue with my mower! I am very pleased that I have found such a reliable and environmentally sound mower.

I plan to keep this one as long as possible and to buy from the same model in the future. I have raved to my family and friends about this mower when the subject comes up and one of my close friends actually bought the same one!

Another thing that pleases me is that it handles on hills better than I thought it could. As a small woman, standing at only 5'1", I have always had trouble pushing mowers up hills. However, this particular mower goes up the hills in our yard with no trouble at all.

This mower has served its purpose well, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a push mower!

Nov 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great option for a small lawn
by: Philip Truax

Pros
- simple upkeep
- great for small yards

Cons
- doesn't edge well
- tall grass can be a problem

Rating
4 out of 5

I have owned a Scott's Classic Reel Mower for about a year now and have been very happy with the results of what I have gotten. When cutting the grass comes out greener and there is no browning like you frequently see with gas powered mowers or trimmers.

Upkeep is very simple requiring sharpening once or twice a year, which is accomplished by bringing the mower to a golf course or by buying a relatively inexpensive kit that lasts 3 to 4 years depending on the kit. The actual sharpening involves adjusting blade height and the ability to paint and turn a crank and takes about 15 minutes overall. The actual cutting in even and I have little problems even though I have a bit of a bumpy yard, though there is admittedly some technique that you'll learn for getting pesky dandelions and tall grass.

Mowing take no more effort than a standard push mower and the faster you walk the faster the blades spin, though a leisurely walk will spin the blades sufficiently fast.

Downsides of this mower include a lack of ability to edge well and occasionally having to go over the same spot more than once to get a perfect look.

The plastic gear inside the wheel that turns the blade can sometimes wear as well, though it hasn't been a major problem for me. Also, as alluded to previously tall grass and weeds can sometimes be a problem requiring a bit of a technique as the blades don't allow the tall grass to rise and be cut so you may have to slowly let the grass or weed up into the blades and then cut it.

Another method I use for edging is to spin very fast as I approach the edge and allow for some extra spinning in the blade to get that little bit extra.

All in all if you have a small lawn that you mow once a week this is a great option. If you have a larger lawn or are a bit more lax then I might recommend another mower for you.

Nov 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Scotts 2000 20-inch push mower: A Good Choice
by: Anonymous

The Scotts 2000 20-inch push mower is a useful product for two reasons. First, the price is competitive with most alternative mowers. Second, it's wide cutting width gives it an edge over its narrower competitors. That's a big plus if you have a large lawn.

The downside is that this mower doesn't allow lowering the blades sufficiently for a close cut. As a result, if you're trying to keep the lawn as short as possible, in order to reduce the frequency of cutting, this mower may not be as useful as others.

A second drawback is that it's a bit heavier than some of the other products on the market. As a result, it takes extra effort to push the mower, especially when cutting thicker lawns.

Rating - 4

May 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Best part is the environmental friendliness
by: Matt S.

Scotts, as many lawn enthusiasts know, is really just a costume for John Deere brand mowers. As such, Scotts mowers are often lauded for their quality workmanship. This Scotts 20-inch mower is no exception.

The first thing you notice is the ease of assembly. I was able to put the whole mower together in less than twenty minutes, from the time a took it out of the box to the time I had a complete mower. There are only a few parts, so assembly is truly a cinch. Along with the assembly, all the adjustments are easy to do. Adjusting the height, for example, only requires that you slide a small lever up and down.

But, of course, the real test of a mower is how well it cuts. The Scotts 20-inch mower is very smooth and cuts in a nice, level line. It requires very little energy, and with a small push, will spin very quickly. Weeds don’t seem to bother it (I was worried that the weeds might get stuck in the blades); the mower works fine both on weedless and weedy sections of lawn. The only issue is with sticks- if a stick gets stuck, you have to remove it or the mower blades will not spin. Also, the grass is cut very cleanly- no brown tips, and all at the same level. The easy height adjustment allows this mower to operate with any grass height.

But the best part is the environmental friendliness of the mower. There are no fumes or loud engine sounds, as with gas mowers. It’s a pleasure to hear all the outdoor sounds that you usually miss with a non-manual mower. Also, there’s no need to have extra gas and oil on hand, making this mower particularly cheap and energy-efficient. In general, the Scotts 20-inch mower is a fine piece of lawn equipment. Highly recommended.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Light, easily maneuverable and durable
by: Christine Burke

We actually have a small yard, less than ½ an acre. So, we were researching different lawn mowers, and finally decided that maybe we could buy a lawn mower while helping the environment as well.

So we decided to go with a push mower. I wasn’t sure how I would like using this sort of mower, as I am used to ones powered by gasoline.

After extensive research, we settled on the Scotts 20-Inch Classic Push Reel Lawn Mower #2000-20. It is an awesome mower. Since it doesn’t require batteries, cords, or gasoline, it doesn’t need recharging and it doesn’t pollute the air. Instead, it is powered by me. I also found that I got a good workout while mowing the lawn. I found that, as long as my grass was not too tall, it really cut the lawn well.

There are many useful features of this lawn mower. It has nine grass heights to choose from, varying from one to three inches. This feature is controlled by a quick-snap height adjuster. There are five steel blades. They are quite sharp. It also comes with a two-year warranty.

We purchased this lawn mower at Lowes. They had it in stock, so we were able to take it home with us that night. I really like this lawn mower. Not only is it light and easily maneuverable, but it’s also very durable.

At just under $140, it is a very reasonably priced lawn mower as well. It’s nice that I won’t have to buy gasoline for the lawn mower anymore.


May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Pleasant, affordable and manageable
by: Anonymous

Scotts 20-inch Classic Push Reel Lawn Mower #2000-20 After pouring yet another $50 into my old gas-operated lawn mower only to have it completely die, I was ready to try a reliable, low-maintenance alternative.

I had heard about reel mowers but didn't really know that much about them. Doing some basic research online on reel mowers, I realized that this mower would be more than just reliable.

No longer do I have to feed my mower expensive gas and then store the flammable stuff in my shed. No more noxious fumes bellowing into my face. No more gravel and other small projectiles being launched at my house, my neighbor's house or my face. No more emissions and noise polution.

I believe I found the perfect mower! Upon receiving my new Scott's reel mower, I found that assembly was very basic and easy to do by myself.

It was surprisingly light weight and easy to manuever too. It literally glides over my lawn - even my very uneven lawn.

It's gentle whirring sound is very pleasant. I actually have found myself enjoying cutting the grass!

Any negative aspects? The only thing that some may find less desirable about reel mowers is that it does not cut every single weed. Grass? Yes, definitely. All weeds? No, but most of them, yes. I've found that some weeds can be taken down by simply going over them again with a different approach or direction. Otherwise, hand-pulling a couple of weeds may be necessary but definitely is not bothersome. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to give up their high-maintenance, gas-eating, loud, stinky, rock-throwing gas mower. The Scott's Classic Reel Mower is a very pleasant, affordable and manageable option to maintaining your greens while going green!

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Perfect for small lawn areas
by: Ellen

This mower does a superb job without the noise and environmental impact of gas and electric mowers. It is perfect for small lawn areas. I have owned it for several months and it can cut my lawn neatly and evenly. I feel quite righteous using it as well. While all of the neighbors have hired people to mow their lawns and the neighborhood is filled with the whine of the gas mowers, I’m there happily mowing my little patch of green.

My lawn is mostly flat and level and so this mower can move easily over the surface, but I would expect that it would not be as effective on uneven ground. The only possible drawback I have seen so far, compared to my old gas mower, is that you have to be sure to rake up the clippings each time. There’s no bag to capture the clippings as with a power mower. But that’s just more exercise for me, so I’m OK with it. In fact, I really love this machine and I hope it lasts forever.

The height of the blades is adjustable and easy to adjust. It has a 20 inch cutting width, perfect for pushing. The blades are sharp, but must be cleaned and maintained in order to cut cleanly. This is very low maintenance for the most part.

This is such a safe mower that I can feel comfortable having my teenage son mow the lawn without worry.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
No energy costs and gives a good workout
by: Naomi

This push mower is great for homes that have a small front/back yard. It just seems silly to drag out a gas or electric mower when you can finish the job in under 20 minutes.

The mower is reasonably priced, feels sturdy and does a great job for a push mower. However, to get the best use out of any push mower you have to understand their limitations.

This model offers 9 variable height settings for the blades, which is helpful. However, no push mower is going to be able to cut very long grass without a lot of difficulty. Attempting to go over a long blade of grass from a different angle tends to grind the wheels into the lawn and is a lesson in futility. If you leave your lawn untouched while away on vacation, don't expect a push mower to do the job when you get back. If you keep your lawn maintained, a push mower like this one will work just fine.

Considering it has no complicated electrical parts that can break and need repairs, creates no energy costs and gives a good workout, I would recommend this mower to homeowners without a very large lawn to mow.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cuts the grass perfectly
by: Ann

I love my Scotts Green Classic 2000-20 push mower. I have always had the gas powered mowers in the past and I wasn’t sure what to expect with this “old school” type mower, but I had heard some really great things about this type and brand, so when I moved into my own place with a small yard, I decided to give the push mower a try.

To be clear, this is a manual reel mower. There is a large multi-blade reel and as you push it across your grass, it turns and cuts the grass perfectly. If you want, you can also attach a grass catcher on the back to make clean up a bit easier and quicker. This is the most economical way to mow your lawn that I have seen. The mower itself is about $125.00 which is about half the cost of a good gas powered lawn mower.

The added benefit is the savings in buying gas and maintenance on the other type of engine. My mower has a height adjustment for the lawn, so you can get it just how you want it and it does a great job. It feels pretty light weight to me, and you can get going on a pretty fast clip. It is quiet because there is not engine and you don’t have to fight with the pull mechanism of the gas powered type lawn mower to get it started. You just lower the reel and get busy. My neighbor got one shortly after he saw how well mine worked, and he was impressed with the fact that there is very low maintenance and absolutely no pollution.

This particular model of mower has a 20 inch reel so there is a larger cutting path, which also helps get the job done fast. The mower is small and I can store it inside my garage without taking up a lot of space, which is also important to me. I really like this mower and I think it has a lot of benefits.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Pretty easy to use - you'll work up a sweat
by: Tim

I just moved into a small house with a small lawn that needed regular care. I've used self-propelled gas-powered mowers in the past, but I was looking for something that was cheap to operate, quiet, and with a low environmental impact. Reel mowers fit the bill.

I decided on the Scotts 20-inch Classic mower after reading a few reviews online. Assembly was easy: just hand-tighten a handful of bolts with large, knobbed heads to affix the handle to the mower body, and you're finished. The directions gave pretty clear pictures of the process.

Scotts recommends lubricating the blades and wheels regularly. I wipe them down with WD-40 after each mowing session, but I'm sure that's overkill. Since it's a simple mechanical device, this is all the maintenance it needs.

As a young, out-of-shape adult, I find the mower pretty easy to use. I have a small lawn in the neighborhood of 1000 square feet with a mild incline, and it takes me well under an hour to mow. You'll work up a sweat, for sure--you're pushing the mower and powering the blades as you go. I usually brace the handle against my hips and walk at a moderate pace.

The mower does best with regular grass that isn't out of control. It pushes tall weeds over instead of cutting them down, so it's difficult to use in poor-quality grass. There's also a 2" distance on either side between the outside of the wheel and the edge of the reel's blades, so you'll need a fair amount of overlap on each pass and edging will be difficult. I have an electric string trimmer, so I'm not bothered by these problems.

Overall, I'm quite satisfied. It's more work to use when you're behind the handle but you don't have to worry about keeping gasoline and oil on hand. If you're physically able to use a walk-behind mower and your lawn is a manageable size, the Scotts reel mower is a good choice.

Apr 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The mower cuts well, even in wet grass
by: VF

Scotts, Model Number 2000-20, 20-Inch Classic Push Reel Lawn Mower is a well-made old-fashioned mower. It's powered by the person pushing the mower using no motor, but that has its advantages, which will be discussed later.
Right out of the box one could tell that some thought had been put into its construction. The mower is heavy, which means you'll have to do some pushing. But that's an advantage as it has the heft to stay on the ground when cutting a thick lawn.

Some assembly is required, but it is minimal and thoughtfully engineered. When the mower is shipped, the handle is in several sections in the box. To put these together Scotts includes bolts with wing nuts. There is only one type of bolt and wing nut used so these parts are all the same, no confusion as to which one should be used. The "wings" on the nuts are also large and plastic-coated making them easy to tighten. The only other parts required for assembly are the included "e" rings that hold the handle to the mower body. A set of pliers makes simple work of slipping these on to secure the sturdy handle.

The mower cuts well, even in wet grass. One drawback is tall grass or weeds will take several passes to cut with a reel mower. A lawn that has gotten out of hand will be difficult to cut with this type of mower. However, the blade height is easily adjustable to your liking.

There are many advantages to these motorless mowers. You get a little workout when pushing. You're truly going green with one of these mowers, which means you won't have to worry about buying gasoline, oil or dragging an electric cord around the yard. They are very quiet in operation. The only sound made is the whirring of the cutting blades.

If you're an early morning mower, you won't wake the neighbors or fill the air with exhaust. Also, these mowers don't throw a lot of grass into the air, making them a bit easier on those with allergies.

The Scotts 2000-20 20-Inch Classic Push Reel Lawn Mower is a good mower and a good value.

Oct 10, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
repair possible?
by: Anonymous

anyone know where i can go to repair my reel lawn mower?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.