Task Force 20 in. 12A Lawn Mower model #25043

by Ashley
(Colorado)

The Task Force is an electric mower with many different options. You can choose to mulch the grass- which just mulches the grass as you go instead of shooting it out the side or bagging. The next option you have is to have it shoot out the side- this does exactly what it sounds like; you open a shoot on the side of the mower so the grass shoots out the side as you go along.


Another option is to bag the grass- this is what it sounds like too, you attach the bagging attachment and the grass collects into the bag attachment as you mow.

The bag attachment is a reusable one so the grass has to be dumped when it gets full or when you are done mowing.

We have had this mower for a few months now and it seems to do a great job. Having an electric mower has its ups and downs.

With the price of gas sky rocketing, it is nice not to have to worry about gas when it comes to mowing. It also saves us time, energy, and money not having to get gas to refill the mower. Most of all, it doesn’t take all kinds/any yanking and jerking on a cord to get it started.

This mower is extremely user friendly and easy to use. The only complaint my husband and I have with it is that the electric cord gets in the way sometimes so you have to continually move the cord.

Other than that, this mower was well worth the cost. Since we don't have a huge yard, it works great!!

Comments for Task Force 20 in. 12A Lawn Mower model #25043

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
worked great for 6 years, then.....
by: David J.

I bought the Task Force corded electric mower, model #: 25073, back in 2008. It worked great and was very reliable until recently June 20, 2014. The bottom bearing, closest to the mower blade, froze up and the motor shaft would NOT move. I had to use my own hand to unfreeze the bearing so I could finish mowing. I tried spaying it with WD-40, but that didn't seem to have any effect. It still freezes up. The rest of the motor works ok. I took the top cover off to clean and further lubricate the electric motor with CNC (brand) electrical contact lubricant, and that helped a little, but that bottom bearing still freezes. I checked the owner's manual for part numbers, and there doesn't seem to be a part number for said pesky bearing. So I'm assuming it's considered a part of the motor. The motor part # is 3610138. (12amp, 120-volt, 3600 rpm, ac motor). The toll-free replacement parts number listed is: 1-866-456-8934. I've been told it is to a company called Sunrise. BUT, the folks at Lowes, and some folks on here have said to go to Dixie Sales, for replacement parts. The following is ALL the info I gathered about Dixie Sales:

Serventage Dixie Sales Inc.
HQ:
5920 Summit Ave, Browns Summit, NC 27214.

Distribution Center in Florida:
7780 Westside Drive, Unit 2, Jacksonville, FL 32219.

Phone Numbers:
888-375-7500
800-753-4943
877-500-7499 (consumers)
800-765-6937

They have an online contact form you can fill out explaining your dilemma with them, so you should include the model number mower, and all part numbers you are inquiring about.

May 29, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task Force Model 25073 10" Rear Wheels
by: Anonymous

My mower quit before I could lift up front end in deep grass and symptoms indicate it may be a part under the cover which I found. In taking it all apart and looking for the model number 25073 (I think the big rear wheels are only diff from 25043), I also noticed the Lowes Service subsidiary phone number, SUNRISE. Will have to call tomorrow as they close as 5 EST per recorded message. BUT hoping they will have the part that I think I need. Just wanted to post the number in case anyone else needs help with parts for the Task Force Mowers. Sunrise 866-456-8934

May 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why the mower works for a while then shuts down
by: Jim Carl

The speeding up and then dying is your signal that at least one if not both you brushes are worn and if to be replaced. I know this because after four years mine did the same thing. As I stated in my last msg. the motor must be replaced. Now the mower makes a new noise when operating even though everything seems tight but it does the job once again. It seems it isn't as powerful as it was with the oringal motor. Go figure!

May 11, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just stopped runing
by: Danny

Any answer to 'i need to bypass' comment made last June?

I've had for three seasons and this year slowly lost power and won't run. After a few days it will run again for a few minutes then slow down and stop???

Mar 17, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
my follow-up
by: Jim Carl

Since my last comment, the guy who had my mower couldn't fix it,so I ordered a replacement moter and new blade for $72.00 including shipping and did the replacement myself in about 1/2 hour. I purchased a new 75' cord to replace the old one and am looking forward to the first cut to see if it performs as well as it did when it was first new!

Mar 15, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blade Replacement for Task Force #20503
by: Katy / Atlanta

I noticed one comment that a replacement blade costs $42+. Go to DIXIE SALES at the number in my earlier comment and the cost for replacement blade including shipping is only $24.72. This is a decent mower, not a Husqvarna high quality, but does the job for us smaller yard folks who don't have the strength to keep pulling the gas starter cord and want to be environmentally responsible. Take care of your mower and it will give you years of service. Hope all have better luck than some of these comments listed earlier. Sharpen your blades,Happy mowing, spring is here in Atlanta!!!

Mar 13, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Location for parts for #25043 20 inch electric Task Force mower
by: Katy / Atlanta

Wanted to give everyone a contact for parts for this mower model #20543. DIXIE SALES in Greensboro, North Carolina 1/800-765-6937. They have all the parts in stock, excellent customer service, and reasonable pricing including shipping. I bought my mower from Lowe's 3/2007 and have not had one bit of problem except initially the plastic start/stop lever broke but I am still able to start/stop so not an issue, just a poorly designed cheap part. That switch replacement part is only $14.88. I recently hit a rock and bent the blade. Lowe's does not stock this part anymore but Lowe's floor personnel were most accommodating to refer me to DIXIE SALES for parts. As for my overall satisfaction with this purchase, I am more than satisfied for the money. This mower is not intended for huge high grass yards OR for grass that has been let go for long periods. If you take care of this mower, keep it clean, don't push beyond capacity you should have years of good use. Hope this information helps.

Sep 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bad brushes
by: Jim Carl

I have had better luck than most of you,I bought my mower in 2007 and found out a month ago the brushes need replacing. Am still waiting for the repairman to grt them from hjs supplier.Have been using my reel ever since.Believe me-with crab grass it;s a real chore!My red handle has got stuck in the on position a few times,but from what I've read hear that might not be a bad thing.Was also told at Lowes my blade could not be ordered any more.Sharpened it as best as I could but that's the least of my worries now.

Jul 06, 2012
Rating
star
Power switch has bad design
by:

Used the model #25113 about 12 times and the controlling plastic part in the power switch broke. It was suggested by a local repair place that it would be cheaper to buy new.

When a core component breaks so easily, I suggest you steer clear of their products.

Jun 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Need to bypass switch but how?
by: Anonymous

I tried forcing the little black box to stay in the "closed" position, as if the safety arm were held up, but it still doesn't run when I plug it in. There are 2 wires from the cord plug, but there are 4 wires coming up from the mower. White is already connected to white, but which of the others do I connect to black?

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
Do not waste your money ITEM # 0123845 MODEL # 25113 20 in. 12A LAWN MOWER
by: Anonymous

ITEM # 0123845
MODEL # 25113
20 in. 12A LAWN MOWER
This is by far the worst piece of crap ever made!!!!!!!!!!!
If you have any questions email me lpn83@hotmail.com

Jun 07, 2012
Rating
star
and the achillies heel is the..................
by: Anonymous

the handle, welded it numerous times the metal is weak made my own handle out of trated hard wood . works fine now cuts ok,the stock handle is junk i would not buy another mower this model, lowes/task force replacement part are non exzestant and so is any help to solving this major problem so i made my own hadle iam a wood worker .the achillies heel handle is no more.save some head aches don't buy it there are better reel mowers out there. if you got stuck like me, make your own handle.

Apr 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
task force mower model #25043
by: lynne t.

trying to get a new 20" blade for my task force mower, lowes dont have any spare parts listed so its down to me. gonna try some of these companies listed on here, see if they can help. also need a new grass box as mine folds up underneath, grass wont go in it...also a rubber stop on the bottom as mine is all eaten up. by the time ive bought all these things, probly best to buy a new one maybe? lowes really should carry or be able to get parts for things they sell!

Mar 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Blades for
by: Anonymous

I over rode my safty switch.just plug in and it goes.The blade is another story $42.20.CRIPES!!

Feb 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Saftey Switch
by: Todd H

My saftey switch also broke, and as others state, I'm looking for parts. Nice mower for the money, but the saftey "deadman" switch is the Achilles heel. is nice to not have to keep gas, and runs smooth with no other issues.

Jan 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
parts
by: DB ALLARD

I have read through the comments but not found many answers.
I need parts for my mower (20" Task Force, electric, corded).
I have not experienced problems with the electrical system (safety switch), and the bag does not fall off.
I can not find a replacement blade, or safety flap for the rear of the mower. I have had this mower for 3 years, and every year I have to grind and sharpen the blade; there is not much left to sharpen.
Who sells parts?

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
shorts out
by: Ray Hahn

I have a model 25073, it pops the circuit breaker every time i turn it on. i can ck every thing but the capacitor ( 4 conn post ). Is it possible that this is bad. if so , where can i get one.
plz advz ryhn@rcn.com

Sep 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
I fixed the safety switch
by: L2G

I got mine used. It ran fine for a month and then wouldn't start. I took the safety switch apart and the problem was mechanical not electrical. Very poor design but you can fix it. The problem is the little plastic cam cracks and won't depress the switch when you raise the deadman handle. I glued it good (Gorilla glue) and also glued on some duct tape where it was cracked. That seems to hold okay but the real fix is to drill a hole through the red safety button and clear through the case of the switch. Then put a # 10 screw and nut through the case so the red button is always depressed. The deadman handle still works the same but you don't need that red button. It is nothing but a nuisance. It has run just fine for about 3 months and isn't a bad little machine. I'll wait for all the other things to go wrong!

Aug 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Looking for parts
by: Kim

Is there any one out there reading this that knows were to buy parts for this lawn mower?I need the 2 looking pieces that goes between the blade and the nut. Please help Aurora Colorado
Thanks

Jul 29, 2011
Rating
starstar
Tim Powell Please Help!!!!!
by: Tom Yingling

Tim, if you are still reading these comments, please give the name and address, and/or phone number, of the place in Florida where you got your motor. Apparently we aren't the only guys who have had motor problems. There are lots of people on this site needing this part, and don't know where to find it. Thanks, Tom

Jul 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fuse, Bridge Rectifier
by: Anonymous

I second the details on the Bridge Recitifier. Took mine apart today and found the Ceramic Fuse was broken in half. Help!

Jul 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bridge Rectifier
by: Anonymous

Regarding replacing bridge rectifier, how do you test it and where do you purchase it? Also, any ideas where to get electrical diagram--I tried to check switch but it does not appear to be a single pole switch that just send power to the motor.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Loving my 50 cent lawn care
by: Ynot

Tim what is the number for the Apopka service center?? I don't want to wait in hold purgatory to get the number!! My 20" Task Force worked perfectly for six years till I hit a hidden steel pipe in the yard and bent the motor shaft. Yes the bag fell off annoyingly when I first got it. So I bent the hooked hangers a little tighter the first day. No big deal. It's never fallen off since. For those who find the power cord annoying may I suggest you google proper mowing patterns for electrics? If we can learn the shortest route through the grocery store isles to fill our grocery list, certainly we can learn to mow without the cord being a hindrance. click here:

http://books.google.com/books?id=J98DAAAAMBAJ&pg=PA149&lpg=PA149&dq=mowing+patterns+for+electrics&source=bl&ots=K8WTE-3yNZ&sig=ozfrTbUaTSqECgQSEEapohd5ds0&hl=en&ei=MDEZToDVOcS40AG48t2WBQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=4&ved=0CDwQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q&f=false

While you're at it, peruse the rest of the articles on this popular Mechanics site. I've read every edition of that mag for 38 years. It's an example of the knowledge base that has made our country a leader in innovation and the highest standard of living in the world. We can benefit from Chinese junk if we understand when cheapest is best and how to fix the little annoyances.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
no go
by: Bon

I guess because I have had the mower 1 week past the end of the warranty it's trying to teach me a lesson. My cords are A-ok, same with the outlet. No help with the trouble shooting in the manual. Even took off motor cover and cleaned(blew out) with air. Checked every connection also. Nothing loose or looking bad. Any ideas? Thank you
please email me if you have a solution. Bon

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Safety switch bale arm connector broke
by: corsair9

Apparently this electric switch handle has a habit of breaking. When mine broke I took an unique approach; I cut the brush end off of an old toothbrush and heated the handle until it generally conformed to the bend of the original plastic concave arm. I used epoxy and joined the whole thing back together... so far so good.

Jun 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bale arm safety switch
by: Anonymous

Safety switch bale arm connector broke. Nothing about the electrical system in the owners manual. Have bypassed the safety switch (which I hate to do) as no one locally can get me parts. Reading the site I see that the plastic safety switch is a common breakage part. Mower is just out of warranty so no help there. Can anyone suggest a service center that might be able to get this part? Otherwise will replace the entire switch assembly with a light switch.

Jun 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bridge rectifier
by: Anonymous

Motor stoped running burning smell from motor, blowing fuse. The bridge rectifier (small square solid state device mounted on motor) was bad. Replaced - runs lik a champ.

Jun 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bypassing safety switch
by: Anonymous

We bought our machine 3 years ago, After the second mowing the switch broke. It's plastic and Chinese so you can't get a replacement part.( if u did it would only break again!) I took the switch box off. eliminated the button etc. and taped the tiny black box so that it will be on as soon as u plug it in. It has worked for the last three years with no problem. try that.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Task Force Mower / Stopped Working Too
by: Arno

Looks like I have the same problem with My TF Electric. Worked last week stopped this week. Start of third season.

Anyone out there have any ideas how to safely repair or bypass the safety switch since the manufacturer can't supply replacement parts.

Thanks to all.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
mower quit working !
by: nima

so i have had this mower for a about 2 yrs or so.
it suddenly stopped working...i assume some
sort of electrical glitch.
took it back to LOWE's and was told the manufacture
does NOT repair electric mowers!!!!
I have been told to call the manufacturer to see if
they will provide me with an authorization code in order to return it to LOEW's for
either credit or a new mower.
i have been given this number 559-784-4102 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 559-784-4102 end_of_the_skype_highlighting to call
we shall see.
anyone nows if they ever issue an authorization code to
return the damn thing to LOWE's??

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
24 volt task forse
by: Anonymous

Bought a lowes task forse and a extended 3 year warranty. which includes 100% REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT FOR ELECTRICAL.

after i took my mower back to lowes for repair
i was told to come and pick it up that they do not repair electrical mowers.

I printed off the lowes extended warranty and showed the manager the line that said they will repair or replace the mower and he looked at me funny and walked away.

then i called the lowes service line 1-88877lowes
and was given a number to call but it was the wrong number

When i called back i was given a number to Rexon which services task forse but it was after 5 eastern time.

i am still within maufacters warranty and the man on the line from lowes service center said i should be able to return for a new one i will try
but dought lowes will honor thier contract.

I will persue this to the ends of the earth.
I will get my money back.
There is a line in the warranty froms lowes that states that you can get your money back from an insurance co this is for Washington state residents.

The line states that you may apply directly to the insurance company the obligor: AIG warrantyguard,inc (awigwg) 300 south riverside plaza,chicago illinois 60606-6113 PH # 1-800-250-3819 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 1-800-250-3819 end_of_the_skype_highlighting.

My warranty runs out on the 24 of may 2011
So i contacted the attorny generals office in order to have proof that i submited the claim befor the end of warranty.

I will try to let you know what happens

May 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Safety switch broken
by: Tim

Got my mower at Lowe's two years ago. Last summer, first year of use, the safety switch broke. Fixed it with duct tape. Worked the rest of the summer. This year, second mowing, duct tape gave out...going to try more duct tape. After reading these coments, if that doesn't work I'm going to dismantle the sob, break it into small pieces and put it out with the trash. China owns us! Buy American!

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
TASK FORCE MODEL 25042
by: Anonymous

Yes, we too bought one of these (Model 25042) last year (Nov-2010), and (1) can't get blades for it, (2) switch broke in two, (3) mower worked for a few (2-3) cuttings - then nothing. Do you realize this fact - there are no JUNK yards in China anymore, the USA BUYS all of their junk, and it brings to mind the old "naval" truth, it is a CHINESE JUNK - I too remember when WALMART used to advertize "MADE IN AMERICA" - NOW - you can hardly find American merchandise in their stores...Thank you

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Instructions
by: Anonymous

I had a friend put this together - and now I have no manual/instructions. Is there anywhere to get this online?

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Task Force #25043
by: Amy

I am having the same problem as some of you are. The mower is just a basic mower it does the job. However, the red handlet called the power switch is what broke. The parts supplier is HORRIBLE. Sunrise Global Marketing. I ordered the power switch assembly 08/18/10 and told 8-10 business days. Called back on 09/02 and spoke to Mary . She said my order was in limbo, nothing had been done with it. Assured me though that it would be sent out from the U.S. distributor. My grass is calf high already please do this speedy. She said I would have it the next week. Today, 09/09 she said it has not been shipped out yet and does not remember talking to me. Blah , blah , blah is all I heard. I ask for the supervisor to suggest ways of improving customer service. Kaitlyn's response was, "that's not our policy." Whooooa ! Did I just hear that? Yes I did. I would like to be the parts supplier of this Task Force and run their attitudes out of business. Think about it? We are being treated this way and so many people out of work. Well, here's an opportunity. The phone number is the same 866-456-8934
Only the name has been changed to protect the ignorant!

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
waiting on parts
by: frank

i have had the mower for almost 3 months the switch on the safty handle broke on the 5th mowing i called the help line waited 20 minutes finally got a human he knew exactly what i needed said he would send it out 3 weeks later no part caled back agiain 20 minutes said i would have it the next day 1 week later no part who s got the goats

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointed
by: Anonymous

I also bought the Task Force battery operated lawn mower after a couple of mowing jobs on my small back yard the starter switch broke, had to pay for a new one. Now after a year the battery doesn't hold a charge. I had my Sears Craftsman mower for twenty years no problems gave it to my daughter and after two years still going strong. I used that one on my front and back yard and many other peoples yards guess I'll go get another one. Not wasting money on another battery.

Sep 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
batteries
by: Anonymous

I have had my 24v rechargable Task Force for three years now. It mowed great, but just after the warranty ran out the batteries did also. Bought new ones (almost $200.00). used it for another year and now have batteries that wont hold a full charge. I mow for about 10 minutes then dead. This is after a night of charging.

Can't find any batteries for less than $188.00. Hmmm...almost $300 for the initial purchase, another $200 for new batteries. If I buy another pair for $200 that adds up to $700 for three years of lawn mowing. I like using rechargeable electric but don't think Task Force is the right system.

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Parts
by: Bob

You can call customer service at 1-866-456-8934. They can send spare parts, trouble shoot over the phone, etc. This is the parts servicer for Lowes. The company name is Sunrise

Aug 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Contact for replacement blade
by: Bob

a couple of you gave a phone # for Hong Kong Global Marketing as recent as July 2010. I tried that number and no longer in service and no listing for Hong Kong Global aka Sunrise? by one of you. Is there a correct current phone # anyone is aware of?

Aug 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dead after 3 years
by: Debby

Task Force 20 in., 12A lawn mower - Mower is 3 years old and has performed well until tonight. Just went dead. Wish I'd read your comments earlier. Thanks.

Jul 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how pointless
by: Anonymous

...stfu, previous. What moron goes to troubleshooting sites and berates people for troubleshooting? Take your overpriced mower that you bought because you're a chump and get a life.

Jul 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quit whining
by: Anonymous

And why did you not buy a 479.00 one fron a real dealership?This is unbelievable!!!!you buy cheap and then complain,americans now have 2 options;

#1-buy cheap import garbage for 159.00-200.00 and expect it to be perfect and gripe and complain
#2-buy american/canada/swiss made husqvarna,echo,stihl and spend double so it will last a lifetime,you cant buy tools but toys at horrible freight.

My boss said when he needed his house painted he got 5 estimates and took the highest and held on-quit buying cheap crap and whining!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Tim Powell - are you still there?
by: Ralph Gerber

Tim, if you are still reading these comments, please give the name and address, or phone number, of the place in Florida where you got your motor. Apparently there are lots of people needing this part, and bon't know where to find it. Thanks, Ralph

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This product is not worth the money
by: Unhappy Customer

I have owned this lawn mower for just over a year and the moter ate it's self. To me thats an inferior product. I called the service line and they told me there was nothing they could do. The moter, it broke. It's electric, and the motor broke. The point where the bruches contact the spindle of the motor had come apart and shadered the brushes, and the only thing they could tell me is that it has happened before. So I asked them to send me a new one, and they wanted 75 bucks? It's the motor, it's not supposed to break. They also told me that it happens often, the motor breaking. They want 75 bucks and however much for two new brushes? This product sucks. I have used electric motors 25 years old and no problems, but the Task Force has a life standard of 1 yuear in my book. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. To repair it would cost twothirds of the original cost. BUY A USED GAS LAWNMOWER.

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Not all that bad
by: Durk11780

My mower is about 3 years old now, my backyard is about 150'x80'. I have had some of the same problems as the rest of you, my starting handle for the mower snapped a long time ago, but I make due, and the bag used to fall off until I bent the hooks a little more. I ended up putting on the mulching system and about 90% of the time use that. I have 2 outlets in my backyard which allow me to mow my entire yard. I have read all these problems with motors burning up, the same thing happened to my first one due to my own ignorance. I ended up using a standard extention cord. You must, and I repeat MUST use an extention cord capable of handling 15A and not longer than 100'. This is a great mower once you get used to the quirks of having a power cable. The blade part # is 3331238.

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
electric motor broke
by: Ralph Gerber

I bought a little-used #25043 lawn mower, and was very happy with the way it cut - made a very smoothe lawn. Blade moved up/down very easily. The cord being in the way can be solved pretty easily if you keep it to one side and mow sideways from the cord. The bag was hard to empty as I had to shake it a lot to get it empty. While mowing I apparently hit a small tree that had been clipped off a little above the ground, and my mower started making a noise. I flipped it over, and found the bottom mower housing that held the lower bearing was broken. I looked on the internet for a motor but had no luck. I emailed a couple of businesses that advertised Task Force parts, but none of them answered my emails.

I decided to go to Lowes where the mower was bought by my cousin, to see just how I could get a new motor. Lowes didn't know, but the manager in the mower department said he had just marked down a mower that may have a motor like my broken one in it. I checked it out, and the motor looked the same, the mower said "Repaired" but looked unused to me. It was a better mower than mine, Model#25113. The bag is bigger, and has a larger hole where the grass empties, so it is very much easier to empty. This mower was marked $85.00 which is probably what a motor would have cost - if I ever found one! I believe it will be ok if I dont hit anything hard. I didn't realize it was 'Made In China' until I bought it!

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
broken safety bar connector
by: Anonymous

After 1 year the safety bar connector has broken and made the mower inoperable. i will let you know what the outcome is of from customer service. Very disapointing that after having this for only 14 months and I have a problem already.

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
broken safety bar connector
by: Anonymous

After 1 year the safety bar connector has broken and made the mower inoperable. i will let you know what the outcome is of from customer service. Very disapointing that after having this for only 14 months and I have a problem already.

Jul 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
How to get blade!!
by: Tony

Okay, being frustrated I wrote review before getting the scoop. This works. All Task Force products warranty and parts in both the USA & Canada are handled by Hong Kong Global Marketing in Montreal. The phone number that Lowe's gives out 866-456-8934 is to this company...it's what they say when they do FINALLY answer. They'll answer quickly, put you on hold and you will wait for 20+/- minutes as they You'll be placed on hold and truly I'd estimate 20+/- minutes I held before getting a human being. The 20" 12 amp mower is model#25043. The blade part# is 3331238. The cost is $25 but, that does include shipping. You can place order and pay by MC/Visa and receive the correct blade.

Jul 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacement blade problems
by: Tony

My female freind bought this task force 20" electric mower and for a few years she loved it. She recently hit a root and the blade bent and the motor quit turning. I took the motor cover off and stood the mower on the front tires and somehow the motor started working again. So, I pull the bent blade off and head to my local Lowe's to locate replacement blade.The Lowe's associate found nothing and suggested a universal blade, which is too wide to fit the mower. I have called Lowe's and was given a number for Task Force.....lo and behold it's the same number that a previous person has on here identified as Sunrise. Sunrise answers and asks if you want English or Spanish and then the trouble starts! I have been holding now for 10+ minutes and every few seconds the taped message thanks me for continuing to hold over and over again! So far my opinion is that Lowe's sucks for not carrying the blade. I'd suggest you buy another mower as blades have to be replaced periodically and this is a huge waste of my time!

Jun 21, 2010
Rating
star
Bag falls off
by: Anonymous

The clippings bag falls of CONSTANTLY and makes mowing my teen, tiny lawn a huge hassle. I'd like to strangle the person who designed this mower, or at least have them rake my yard after I mow. I'd never buy this product again.

May 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just out of warranty and the motor smoked
by: Anonymous

I've had it a little over two years and I was almost happy yesterday when the thing simply stopped and smoke started rolling out from under it.

I've never liked that mower much because the bag is virtually useless--the rear discharge chute clogs so almost nothing gets into the bag and the bag hangs at such a steep angle that what little does get in falls out when you remove it.

The other problem which I found rather amusing was the start lever would stick in the groves of the pad on the push handle which completely negated the "dead-man" functionality of the lever.

May 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good little mower
by: Jonathan

I have had this mower for just over a year now. At first the cord was very annoying, but after half a dozen time I started to figure out a method to the madness. Now I can zip through my 3200 Sq. Ft. yard just as fast as my neighbor can with his little 5 hp mower, and I'm doing it with out producing a single emission. Thats the important part here. Shouldn't we all do even just a little something to reduce emissions. . . even if it does take a little longer or is a little more difficult? I mow my yard every weekend and all my yard tools are electric. I also use a 100 ft 14 gauge "utilitech" lawn and garden cord. it gives great electricity delivery to the mower. Oh course it does bog down a little if I let my yard go for too long (2 to 3 weeks) but I just take it a little slower and/or let the mower cool down for a few minutes very so often (usually when I dump my bag) and especially on hot days. so far so good I have ha no issues with his mower. This spring I took the blade off in my garage and put it in the vise. I gave it a good sharpening with my drimel tool and its back to cutting the yard for another season. I'm sorry if you have had issues with your Task Force electric mower in the past. However I have found that it will take care of you just the way you take care of it... don't just run it in to the ground because you think it is "some piece of **** lawn mower" Perhaps there is some operator error occurring with the mowers that are breaking...

May 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
YOU WANT CHEAP YOU GOT IT
by: Anonymous

I read all the comments about model #25043 and all I can say is you get what you pay for. Mowers like this were made in the U.S.A. at one time but everyone wants to buy something for nothing well you got it . Its pretty bad when you have to order parts for something a store sells.A part as common as a blade.

Apr 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blades
by: Tom

Blades can be ordered from Lowes. I know, because I ordered and received one.

Apr 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blades
by: Anonymous

Where can you get replacement blades for this mower. I called Lowes and they do not have it and I call Task Force and they never answere. Does anyone have a part number for 20" blade

Apr 20, 2010
Rating
star
Mower and Customer Service Line are DEAD
by: Mike Bayless

Mower quit after about 20 uses and the customer service line is just a fast, busy signal. I have a very small yard - should have been no strain to the mower. Wish I'd gotten a couple of goats instead. Anybody selling goats? I'll trade you a TASKFORCE boat anchor.

Apr 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love it
by: Anonymous

I've had a Task Force 12-amp 20" electric mower for about 4 years now. It works great, I love it, it performs flawlessly. I've never had one single problem with it, ever. Today it works the exact same as the day I bought it. Maybe I just had good luck? Maybe it's because my lawn is really small (about 15' x 30'). Maybe it's because I clean it after every use. Whatever the reason, I have zero complaints about it. It has worked perfectly over the past 4 years. I would absolutely recommend buying a Task Force electric mower.

Apr 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Repair Parts...
by: Tim Powell

I have a 20in Task Force #25043 and recently hit a piece of Palm Tree Bark (usually a minor thing) and locked up the motor. Apparently the motor can't be repaired in a cost effective manner.

I called SUNRISE at 866-456-8934 and was quoted $75.00 including shipping. After a couple of inquiries, I got the part #3610138, for the motor.

Because I was in a hurry, I asked if there was an authorized service center nearby (Orlando, FL), and they gave me a number of one in a nearby city (Apopka). I then called the service center to see if they might have it in stock and they said they could get one in 5 days or so... for $31.00 (!) -Taxes included. — Needless to say I went with them. Apparently the wholesale prices to local service centers are a LOT lower.
So if you're looking to save money - I suggest that that's the way to go.

Tim Powell

Oct 27, 2009
Rating
starstar
Elecrical problems
by: Alex Rosas

I got my TASK FORCE Mod.# 25043 two and a half years ago. After I used a dozen times the safety motor switch arm broke off. I had a new switch assemly sent to my home under warranty. N/C. A couple months ago the motor locked up, I turned the machine upside down. tried to turn the blade by hand but to no avail. Took the machine appart, found the A.C.wire spade connectors at the ceramic resistor broken off, also found the permanent magnet in the D.C. Motor had came loose from the motor case and shattered locking the motor. Bad magnet adhesive? Mean while the machine is just out of warranty and I'm not even able to get a quote on the parts price. I have called 1-866 4568934 All I get is a Greeting in English and in French . then a voice tells me there are no reps. available Good Bye. What now....

Oct 27, 2009
Rating
starstar
Elecrical problems
by: Anonymous

I got my TASK FORCE Mod.# 25043 two and a half years ago. After I used a dozen times the safety motor switch arm broke off. I had a new switch assemly sent to my home under warranty. N/C. A couple months ago the motor locked up, I turned the machine upside down. tried to turn the blade by hand but to no avail. Took the machine appart, found the A.C.wire spade connectors at the ceramic resistor broken off, also found the permanent magnet in the D.C. Motor had came loose from the motor case and shattered locking the motor. Bad magnet adhesive? Mean while the machine is just out of warranty and I'm not even able to get a quote on the parts price. I have called 1-866 4568934 All I get is a Greeting in English and in French . then a voice tells me there are no reps. available Good Bye. What now....

Oct 03, 2009
Rating
star
The BAG - ARGH!
by: Anonymous

Bag falls off constantly. Incredibly annoying. Mowing lawn takes 2x as long as it should. Hate mower and company that made it.

Sep 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Task Force 20" electric mower
by: Rod

Bought mine in mid June '09. Thought I'd received a good deal on it price wise. Three months later the switch starts acting up. My prior B&D electric lasted 6 years before I had to replace the switch. Haven't had any other issues so far but the paint seems a little cheap. In the cut area, it was already pealing off after just a few mows and I made sure to clean the area well after each mow. We'll see how customer service responds when I call tomorrow.

Sep 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Bail Switch No Longer Works.
by: Richard

After using the mower 6 times, the Bail Switch stopped working. Now the mower will no longer run.
In my opinion the Bail Switch is very poorly designed. (My previous Task force Mower worked for 8 years.)

Sep 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wpm
by: Anonymous

Had this mower 3 months. Won't start. Any suggestions where to begin taking it apart? Common trouble source?

Aug 31, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great mower but cord problems.
by: Bala

Wonderful mower. Absolutely maintenance free. Did a great job on our moderate sized yard.

Pros:
No Gas
No oil
No air filter
No spark plugs...
No battery.. so no need to spend money on replacement batteries every now and then.
A little heavy, but still easy to handle.

Cons:
NO BATTERY! Though we'll be saving on not buying batteries, the electrical cord always... always... gets in the way. In the 1 hour of mowing I almost spent 20 mins getting the cord out of my way...

Guess its worth the money to get an electric mower with a rechargeble battery after all!

Jul 11, 2009
Rating
star
Safety Switch Broke On First Use
by: Anonymous

I've had no problems with the bag, but the safety switch (or rather the connector for the bar which is connected to it) broke the first time I used it and like others on this site, I can't find the parts to repair it.

May 21, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
sOURCE FOR PARTS
by: Anonymous

I've heard that:

You can call customer service at 1-866-456-8934. They can send spare parts, trouble shoot over the phone, etc. This is the parts servicer for Lowes. The company name is Sunrise.

May 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Parts
by: Peter

Very happy with the Mower...Bought it at Loews and they don't carry parts...any idea where to get parts for this Mower?

May 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Task force bag adjustment
by: cooter1335

I took a large pair of vise grips and bent the hooks for the bag down a little bit and that stopped it from falling off.

May 05, 2009
Rating
starstar
broken
by: Anonymous

Agreed the bag is incredably annoying. I have had this mower for 1.5 years. Now an electrical part has broken, and I can not find parts anywhere...

Apr 18, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Exceptional for the price
by: Anonymous

Have had this mower for two years and am still delighted with it. I have a smaller yard and this mower handles it with ease. Some people fail to remember not to have too long a cord 100' maximum recommended), and this causes power to drop off. If used according to manufacture's recommendations you will have wonderful results. Bagger is not too large, but large enough, and does not get snagged on fences or other objects as you mow.

Mar 15, 2009
Rating
star
The bag.
by: Jason

It appears I'm not the only one having issues with the catcher bag. Mine as well continually falls off and makes mowing my yards a huge hassle. I will definitely be getting a quality mower as soon as I can. I'm not going to go through another spring/summer with this low quality mower.

Mar 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
THE LAWN MOWER BAG
by: Anonymous

THE BAG ON MY LAWN MOWER KEEPS FALLING OFF ! I COULD UNDERSTAND IF I WAS MOWING ACROSS THE SIERRA MOUNTAINS. BUT MY LITTLE FRONT YARD ? THIS SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING !

Mar 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task force mower
by: Anonymous

Why I can not find electrical schematic for the Task Force model # 25042

Sep 16, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
catcher bag
by: Glenn

I bought the task force in May of this year to replace my last electric mower of 15 years. The mower is easy to use but the biggest problem and very annoying is the catcher bag. The bag will not stay in place on the mower during cutting. The two hooks do not have a good grasp on the rail and bounce off when the bag starts loading up. I am constantly having to stop to put the bag back on. The slightest bounce and its off.

Other than that the mower is okay--if you like bending over several times during the job at hand.


Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.