Task Force Cordless 20", 24 volt 3 in 1 Mower

by Patrick
(Yakima, Washington)

I purchased this mower two weeks ago after talking with folks at Lowes regarding battery life and asking if there were returns on the item due to disappointment. Lowes staff did not have much to report on the item; however noted I could purchase an extended warranty. By the second mow the battery was low and would not accept a charge.


The charger showed the battery was fully charged but the battery itself showed low charge. After 45 minutes to the call-in line, no answer but a message indicating I should leave my number for a call back. I redialed only to find that (east coast) they were closed for the day. I never received a call back. This morning I called the number again. After ten minutes I got a body. The attendant answered "Hello". Thought I dialed a wrong (residence) number. I explained my issue. The attendant said I had a bad battery and that this was typically due to improper charging or storage over the winter but I could take the battery back to Lowes and receive a new one.

I am not willing to go through the hastle and will wait for technology to improve. I simply want to mow my lawn. I would prefer to do it in a green manner but I guess we (America) are not ready. Very disappointed! My greatest fear in leaping to the cordless, green product was realized in just two weeks.

Comments for Task Force Cordless 20", 24 volt 3 in 1 Mower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 24, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
better than a corded mower
by: Don

My first electric mower used a cord and after a year I gave it away. Dealing with a cord was too much to deal with while mowing a lawn. So I picked up the TFC 20" 24 volt mower from Lowes. It mows grass without spilling gas on the lawn and it is quiet compared to a gas mower what else can I say?

The only real issue has been the battery pack which contains to sealed 12 v lead acid batteries. They are not designed for deep cycle operation. After about two years they just could not hold a charge anymore and I ordered online a replacement from Lowes. I think it cost about $135 and came as a drop in replacement, not separate batteries like I saw on their web site. This second set lasted about two years and it is now up for replacement.

Being a DIY person, I am thinking of swapping out the heavy lead acid batteries and using Li-ion batteries instead. It costs more up front but is much lighter, faster charging and should last a little longer. The key here is I can keep it on trickle charge 24/7.

Don

Jun 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
starting problem
by: Juels

I bouth this mower because the first owner told me that he lost the charge. The mower itself lookws new, used no more than a year. I got the charger from a company on the East coast.
I have tried all hells to charge the battery to no Succes. What is the problem? Please tell me.

Mar 24, 2013
Rating
star
LOL. People are so dumb.
by: Some guy

These comments are hilarious. Especially the ones by people who went back to where they bought the mower for a replacement battery. Can anyone think for themselves anymore? Take the battery out, get the model number off of it, and order one from a place that gets them directly from the manufacturer (which does not have to be the same as the original). That way you only pay retail markup once. Its a well known fact that places like Lowes and Home Depot mark their products up by 50+%. And that markup is applied to the price that Task Force has already marked up. So if you are dumb enough to buy a replacement from Lowes, then you deserve to pay a ridiculous price. And for all you who think you are being "Green", I've got news for you: This mower uses SLA batteries which contain LEAD and sulfuric acid, making this mower's waste worse for the environment (at least the way the government sees it) than the smog produced over a gas mower's lifetime. And keep those batteries charged if you don't want to replace them. Technically speaking, the life expectancy of any lead-acid battery is diminished every time the battery is allowed to discharge to less than 80% of full charge. Thats right, 80%. Your car keeps its battery at 90% or better by constantly charging it with the alternator which typically leads to a lifetime of about 7 years if the car is driven daily. One of the worst things you can do to any lead battery is let it sit for any length of time un-charged. Keep that in mind before posting negative reviews on a product that runs on batteries that YOU didn't properly maintain. And per another reviewer's comment: No, the technology is here but it's too expensive for a lawnmower. Would you spend $1500 on a push-mower? I didn't think so.
For the record, I do NOT work for Task Force. I just got this mower for free and was looking to see how much it cost new when I came across this page. The batteries in it are still good, but the handle is weak and broke at the bottom. No problem... tack-weld, tack-weld, fixed. No need to trash it and buy a new one. If I didn't have my own MIG welder, it would cost $15 at a welding shop.

Aug 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Don't buy battery through customer service
by: Anonymous

Battery lasted 2 years.
Buying the battery through the Task Force customer service cost me $125. My battery (Part#3660239-1) was shipped from ordertree.com

Customer service didn't say that you have to dismantle the battery casing to replace the batteries. Fortunately it's pretty simple (15 minutes)

I went to the ordertree.com website, which only charges $20 (+$50 S&H). So I guess task force just pocketed the extra $55 for my phone call.
The part# in the manual is #311003237, which was not in stock so they replaced it with #3660239-1
Seems to work ok so far.

Aug 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great lawnmower
by: Anonymous

I've had this mower for about four years with no problems so I am very happy with it. Now it won't start so I think I will change the start button and should be ok. The battery shows full charge. Overall a great lawnmower.

Apr 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
circuit breaker
by: Anonymous

I think the circuit breaker is the red button on the back of the machine. Just push it and it will restart.

Apr 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Circuit breaker location
by: Anonymous

I had this mower for about 3 years; northern Florida, ie. frequent mowing of small lawn.
No problems till today: Mower stopped, battery fully charged. Manual says follow instructions to reset the circuit breaker in "Adjustment Section".
But no info on circuit breaker.

Anybody who knows where it is?
Thanks.

Feb 22, 2012
Rating
starstar
Zero Battery Life!
by: Mo

I've had my Task Force mower for 2 years. The battery started dying out quickly within one year. The starter broke and needed to be replaced at 1.5 years.

I love the idea of not having to use gas. That idea was dashed after having purchased this piece of junk. I have no idea why other reviewers "love" this mower. Maybe they kept it in the shed and never used it. Maybe they are employees of Task Force, Inc.

I own it. I used it this afternoon . . . until it died after 10 minutes of use. BE WARNED: DO NOT BUY THIS MOWER!!!

Oct 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
1 Year on battery
by: Anonymous

Loved the mower. Battery lasted 1 and 1/2 seasons. Hundred dollars for a battery you have to replace so often makes this a VERY ungreen mower. back to gas for me!

Sep 07, 2011
Rating
star
Pitiful Battery Life
by: Anonymous

When it actually works, it mows a small yard decently. But the battery would not hold a charge after 13 months of use ... just a couple of weeks past warranty. I'm in SoCal so we mow the lawn every week or two and I followed the directions perfectly (initial charge of 24 hours; after that, charge for 1-2 hours then unplug) - battery still died. $120 to replace. Initial mower cost was excessive but I was trying to be environmentally friendly and ensure my teenage son didn't mow over an electric cord. Instead I have to take the dead battery to a hazardous waste disposal which defeats the purpose.

Aug 29, 2011
Rating
star
very unhappy
by: annoyed

I have a Task force. I bought it at Lowes. It may be a year old the battery will not charge I bought a new battery. when i was going to replace the battery. and took the old battery out. every thing in side feel apart. I can't find a place to fix it for me. Lowes doesn't seem to care or help. So much for going green.

Jul 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task Force mower
by: Anonymous

I have had mine for 4 years; never had to replace battery or any parts. small problems are:
1- have to mow my yard in two shifts [needs to charge]; lawn is about 6000 sqft
2- can't cut through thick grass or grass/weed mix well; if you have let your grass grow long, it will take two mows to get it down.
3- opening to mulch bag clogs if thick grass or wet grass; need to constantly turn mower on side to clear it out.
4- since not as powerful as conventional, need to ensure your blade is very sharp.

upside:
1- no smoke, moving part issues
2- very quiet
3- nothing to maintain
4- easy to start and stop

Bottom line: very green but needs more power; maybe a 36 volt will fare better than 24 volt; do not know.

Jun 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good Mower
by: Glenn in California

I've had this mower for almost three years. Only repair was a new switch/handle assembly which was replaced under warranty. I like it, my neighbors also borrow it. Large battery allows cutting front and back at both houses on one charge. Looking for another one for my neighbor.

Also a great muclh machine. Put clippings in a pile on the patio or lawn and let the mower cut it up for the mulch container.

Apr 07, 2011
Rating
star
What does the red light on the chager mean?
by: hydropaulix

I don't have an owner's manual and am wondering what it ment when the light is red on the charger.
Can some one please tell me? There is no web sight to go to.

Sep 04, 2010
Rating
star
24-volt technology is far from good
by: Frank Farish

For those green" people who cursed those who threw their Lawn Force movers away, I have but one simple reply for you: The replacement 24-volt battery costs $188.00 plus tax per Lowes!!!
Now, how green do you feel?

Aug 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks for the info
by: Anonymous

Thanks for the heads up with the battery issue. Also, dunno why people get so negative on reviews. DB's.

Jul 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blame America
by: Anonymous

Wow to lazy to get a replacement battery, so you just pitched the lawnmower...how green of you. And now apparently it's Americas fault. You sound like just another America hating, environmentalist, liberal, hypocrite.

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task Force Cordless 20", 24 volt, 3 in 1 Mower
by: Anonymous

Didn't write that in my review. Lowes informed me they needed to order the battery, which would arrive in a couple of weeks. I returned the mower.

Apr 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Task Force Cordless Mower
by: Anonymous

So, you could get a new battery but didn't want the hassle of going to get it? So you just threw away the mower? I guess you got what you deserved.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.