Task Force Reel Mower Model #26053

by Vance Cole
(Goodyear, AZ)

I purchased my Task Force Reel Mower from Lowes on May 20, 2007. When i got it home and open the box it had no screws in it at all, so i had to go back to Lowes and get some more.That was the only problem i had with it. Once i got back home with the screws the assembley was easy. It only took me about 10 mins to put it together. The instructions were well thought out. This lawnmower was grey and black, came with a bag to catch the clippings, and had leaver on each side that you could raise the cutting height to about 3" and as low at 1/2" The blades were very well sharpened and cut the grass with ease.


This lawnmower has a 20" cutting path witch is the same as a lawnmower with a motor on it. The reason i picked this lawnmower over a regular lawnmower is because of its low maintenance.

No oil changes, no gas, no tuneups, and not noisy at all. Plus it is good for you cause you have to use a little more muscle to move it and it does not hurt the environment at all. I never had any problems with it.

All you have to do to keep it running in good shape is clean it when you are done, lubricate the wheels and blades, and sharpen the blades every year.

This is a great lawnmower for people with small yards. I would recommend this Task Force Reel Mower to anyone!

Comments for Task Force Reel Mower Model #26053

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
20 IN LAWN MOWER TASK FORCE
by: Anonymous

Would you tell me how much you paid for your lawnmower? reply: angelcalls4u@yahoo.com

Thanks

Jun 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Decent Product
by: Anonymous

Purchased my Task Force Reel Mower Model #26053 and I think its a good buy if your into manual labor; when mowing the lawn if a branch gets stuck it will not allow you to mow; I have the lawn mower for for 3 1/2 years and the right lever broke. Now i have to try to find a replacement part. But it still works with out the lever after I put some tie wraps!

Mar 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Works great on winter rye grass
by: Anonymous

This mower works great on winter rye grass here in Arizona, but haven't had the opportunity to try it on our summer bermuda grass. I like to cut my Bermuda low, gives it that golf course appearance. But this mower doesn't lower as much as I would like it to. ...otherwise it seems like a great little mower.

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
Task Force Electric Mower
by: Anonymous

They should make one more and give it up! What a poor excuse for and electric lawnmower! In 40-years I've had 3-electric mowers: the BEST was a General Electric and they stopped making it. The second best was a Lawn Chief by True Value, they closed to many of their stores. If anyones lawn is perfectly level, they might be able to use a Task Force mower, otherwise forget it. I've managed to keep the grass catcher from coming off with a bungee cord (my own solution). Oh how I'd love to trade this piece of junk in for a working GE-mower (it was a well designed piece of equipment)!

Sep 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lowes - Task Force 20" Reel Mower, model 289835
by: Goodwill Junkie

Fantastic Deal!

Got mine at Goodwill for $8! New $140

Has a crummy handle but 10 minute fix, a small drill in the holding pins and two cotter keys will secure it. A quick light sanding of the blades and some WD40 and will work well.

If its a bit rusty, put WD40 on the blades, cut plate and inside wheel bar's. Roll it around for a few minutes on a concrete surface.

The height adjustment and the catch basket are ok. not a great product but usable - what does one expect from Crummy Chinese products?

Great for small and medium lawns but dont pay full price, there are many around.


May 12, 2010
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

I too had the arms bend and make the mower innoperable. Do not buy this. It has been a headache.

Apr 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
lightweight, effective, eco-friendly
by: Anonymous

Pros:
-Doesn't pollute the environment
-Is very quiet
-Easy to use

Cons:
-Cannot cut high grass well
-Sticks will jam the reel mower

My task force 20 inch reel mower is very quiet, efficient and best of all light weight. I can cut my medium sized front yard in about 20 minutes give or take. It is avery easy to use mower. This mower has it has a second pair of wheels at the rear, which makes it so much easier to push.

I chose a reel mower because I care about the environment. A push reel mower does not pollute the air with foul smelling gas emissions. I also chose a reel mower because it is very quiet. I can cut my yard at any time of the day (or night) without worry of disturbing the neighbors with noise.

Using any reel mower requires picking up all sticks in the yard because they can and do jam the reel. Since this is my first year cutting the lawn with a push reel mower, I opted for a cheaper model of mower. This brand ran about $140.

It has not disappointed me, however, I can see myself buying a better quality brand 7 blade reel mower in the future. For now I am happy with my 5 blade eco-friendly reel mower.

Feb 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just purchased
by: Fearless fly

I can't really rate this mower yet as I just purchased today and it is the middle of winter in Indiana. Lowes had it on clearance for $30, yes $30 and brand new in the box and I couldn't walk by it. Just checkin' online to see what other peeps are sayin bout it.

Oct 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
task force doubles the task
by: Anonymous

I just bought the Task Force 20 inch mower. If I can, I am taking it back tomorrow. I have adjusted the blades, but I still have to go back over every cut to get rid of the ridges.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
20"... I like it.
by: Anonymous

I bought one late last summer. It worked fine through the end of summer and into fall (once I adjusted the blades properly). THe manual is a bit unclear about how to adjust it, but it is decipherable. Better pictures would help. This spring has been VERY rainy and the grass has lots of time to grow REALLY fast, while I can't mow due to the rain. So mowing has been a bit shoddier this spring, but not more so than it was with the tractor I used to use. I took a couple of breaks between yard sections and mowed again the next day to smooth out the cut (the grass was really long and bent over on itself the first time around).

I like the mower. It is quiet, it FEELS nicer to mow with it, there are no engines, fuel lines or batteries to deal with. Sharpening is easy and quick. No gas or pollution. My yard is 100 x 200 and I cut it about 10 minutes faster than I had done with the tractor (I don't have to do those big swooping turns to get to the next cut).

May 05, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This Lawn Mower is CRAP
by: Anonymous

This lawnmower in my experience is JUNK! It's poorly designed. I too was very hopeful when I brought this product home. However, after pushing the mower through the lawn the flimsy aluminum push bars BENT!!! This rendered the mower ineffective as the push arms wouldn't stay on the mower body. This product is manafactured out of very flimsy and cheap metal on the arms.

I would not recommend this mower to anyone

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.