The Toro Recycler 20076

by Dan Schultz
(leominster ma)

The Toro Recycler 20076


With a 6.75 Brigs and Stratton engine this lawn mower will mow your lawn in no time. This is the luxury mower for the home owner. Toro has a revolutionary personal pace design. When you walk slowly the self propelled mower automatically slows down.

When you walk faster or come to a section of your yard that is uphill, the drive tires spin faster so that you do not have to work as hard. Toro has also made mowing much easier with this model by giving you an electric start.

The recycler has a 21 inch mow deck with and you can adjust the cutting height from one and a quarter all the way up to four and a quarter inches. The bag seems as if it has a much larger capacity than other mowers I have used.

Just over ninety pounds the recycler is light weight compared to other quality mowers. I can easily lift this mower into the back of a pick up by myself. I am happy that I have spent the extra few hundred dollars to get this mower instead of a base model, because I really believe with basic maintenance this mower will easily last 30 years. Toro stands behind their product and puts a 5 year warranty which really shows you they believe it is going to last.

Overall this is a great mower for someone who wants to buy one mower that is going to last them a long time without spending a lot of money in gas and repairs.

It is the best pick for older people that may have a hard time starting other recoil mowers or do not want to feel as if the self propelled feature is going to pull them over.

Comments for The Toro Recycler 20076

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 29, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Awesome
by: Anonymous

Had it four years and is the best mower I have had in 45 years. Still going strong with routine maintenance. Must take care of it.

However it will not mow the lawn for you or order you a beer but I am working on training it to.

Sep 13, 2012
Rating
star
20076 mower
by: Bob

The Toro 20076 is the sorriest excuse for a lawn mower i've ever seen. My first Toro lasted 20 years with just routine maintenance. The model 20076 I purchased in 2007 has had the recoil starter replaced, the drive box replaced and the engine developed a horrible oil leak. I will NEVER buy another Toro. The name Toro does not stand for quality anymore, it stands for JUNK!

Mar 29, 2012
Rating
starstar
Transmission Failed (POC)
by: R WEST

I've had 2 Toro mowers over the past 15 years. My first lasted a good 11 years before the B&G engine finally died, but the transmission was still working fine. So I bought a new Toro figuring I'd get another 10+ years out of it. WRONG! It lasted not quite 4 years before the transmission completely failed. The gears in the drive box just completely ground themselves up despite having all the lubricant needed. The cause, definitely poor design which yielded improper alignment of those gears and eventual over-wear to the point of failure. So what did I do.. I made franken-mower! I took the working engine off my newer toro and put it on the deck/transmission of my old mower (which was rusting behind my barn for the past 4 years).. and it works pretty good! I had to re-engineer some of the controls but all in all it works. But I'm not buying another TORO!

Jul 01, 2011
Rating
star
self propelled failure
by: Anonymous

just returned my second brand new Toro lawnmoer bedause the self propel feature failed after little use! Will never own another one!

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Transmission Woes For Toro Recycler 20076
by: Homeowner

I purchased my Toro Recycler in 2007. It has seen only moderate use of about 168 hours in that time.

It has worked very well until last week when its transmission started to make loud grinding noises.

I have bought a replacement transmission and will have it installed next week. The replacement has an identical four bolt arrangement as the failed unit to seal it. I now wonder if this replacement will also fail prematurely.

Toro touts its quality and reliability, but this transmission falls far short of that claim.

I feel that Toro, in the interests of good customer relations should shoulder the repair costs for this sort of PREMATURE let-down, even though the machine is out of warranty

Mar 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I love my Toro Products!
by: Anonymous

My recycler has lasteds me longer than any mower. In addition the sno-blowers are simply the best!

Feb 08, 2011
Rating
star
TERRIBLE DRIVE DESIGN
by: KENNETH CROSBY

THE FRAME WHERE THE DRIVE SHAFT GOES THROUGH IS NOT ON A NINETY DEGREE TO THE SHAFT. THIS CAUSES THE SHAFT TO WEAR EXCESSIVELY ON THE BEARING ASSEMBLY. WHICH CAUSES SLOP IN THE GEAR BOX. WHICH CAOUSES THE WHOLE SELF-PROPELLED DRIVE SYSTEM TO STRIP OUT. RESULT IS $95.00 FOR PARTS, PLUS HOURS OF GARAGE ENJOYMENT. MINE LASTED 2 SEASONS OF SINGLE YARD USE. SMALL YARD!!! TORO USED TO BE A GOOD PRODUCT BUT AFTER LOOKING AT THIS HORRIBLE ENGINEERING PROBLEM SO OBVIOUS MY WIFE COULD SEE THE PROBLEM I'LL NEVER BUY ANOTHER TORO. AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE ABOUT THEIR LACK OF QUALITY CONTROL. KEN CROSBY VENICE, FLORIDA

May 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst Mower I have ever owned.
by: Anonymous

The Toro 20076 has some really cool features that lures you into spending $400-500+ dollars on it. I have only had this mower just now three years and it has been used below average. It has been to the shop 3 times for transmission failures. Now the BOS blade cable broke and the transmission is out again.

I have an Ariens LM21S that I purchased in 1987 with the Sachs 2 cycle motor. This mower still starts on the first pull and has NEVER had any service done to it nor has it needed any. I even stored it outside for 10 years.

The Recycle 20076 by Toro is pure JUNK.

Apr 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Have used the past 4 summers
by: Randy

Mows fine leaves a great cut. The bagger is not the best when you dump it leaves grass on the ground when removing the bag. The flap dumps grass on the ground. The electrical start works sometimes but won't start the mower when hot. And sometimes even with a fully charged battery won't turn over fast enough to start.

Aug 21, 2009
Rating
star
Dealer
by: Anonymous

written by a dealer
beware

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to TORO Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.