Toro 20067 personal pace lawn mower

by Jason
(Naples Florida)

I just bought a Toro 6.5 hp personal pace lawn mover. This model comes with turn key electric start. It also has personal pace rear wheel drive, this comes in very usefull when you have to cut grass on a slope.


The Toro 20067 has side discharge, bagging, or mulch. This lawn mower is so easy to use, just push the primer bulb three times and turn the key, starts every time.

My teenage daughter helps me cut the grass! I would recommend any one looking for a new lawn mower to check this one out. In the past i would buy a cheap lawn mower every two years, but I will not have to buy another one for a longtime.

I use to hate cutting the grass, but now i like to. I hope this reveiw helps anyone looking for a toro lawn mower. good luck with yours, you will enjoy it...

Comments for Toro 20067 personal pace lawn mower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 27, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can't push mine forward
by: Anonymous

I bought an older model personal pace Toro and I cannot push the mower forward with the engine off. Is this normal? If not, what is the issue. I just pull it in the garage backwards but this defies all logic. Works fine when the engine is running and I push down on the drive bar, but won't go forward without the drive engaged.

May 27, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can't push mine forward
by: Anonymous

I bought an older model personal pace Toro and I cannot push the mower forward with the engine off. Is this normal? If not, what is the issue. I just pull it in the garage backwards but this defies all logic. Works fine when the engine is running and I push down on the drive bar, but won't go forward without the drive engaged.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Toro dropping the ball
by: Anti Toro

I bought a Toro 20067 in 2008. Engine runs great but have had problems with the transmission.$200 repair or buy a new mower, I chose to buy a Honda because Toro refuses to admit their mowers have a problem, if this was a car company there would be a recall. Bury your head in the sand Toro, but everyone who has this problem will abandon your company and there is a lot of completion out there. Don't buy unless you need some aggravation in your life.

Oct 16, 2011
Rating
starstar
Buyers Beware
by: Bigstrappin

I have also purchased the second recycler because I bought the first one for my father who had an easier time with the ablity to control the speed. However, within one year after buying it, the belt slipped off and I was unable to reinstall it because it is impossible for you to do it yourself. Then the wheel gears started to cause a problem. I brought it to an authorized dealer who put a new wheel on. This did not fix the problem. I brought it in again and at that time a new transmission was installed. This did not fix the problem. I brought it in again for warranty repair and at this time the mechanic noticed that the gears did not mesh with the wheels if you started to cut on any type of incline, as there was too much play between the transmission and the wheel gears. finally the mechanic took it upon himself to install washer/spacers to fill the gap and now the machine is working as normal. Like everyone has indicated the cheaper model ( not the super recycler ) has definite design flaws and the cheaper plastic gears to drive the machine. Buyers beware! SKETCH

Jul 08, 2011
Rating
star
TORO YOU SHOULD - RECALL ALL
by: Anthony

I purchased my second personal pace in 4 years, the older models had all metal gears ( rear sprocket and wheel ) , the new ones have metal rear sprocket gear on axle, BUT PLASTIC WHEELS, THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW, metal on plastic.
I have replaced the rear wheels twice already @ $ 24.95 each wheel (thats 4). You should know that metal and plastic dont work.
YOU SHOULD RETURN MY REPAIR COST , IF NOT BUY THIS JUNK BACK FROM ME.
E V E R Y B O D Y , A N Y B O D Y , D O N ' T B U Y T H E S E N E W E R M O W E R S . they are trash ! AND THE COMPANY GOT TO KNOW THIS.
Houston, Tx 713 - 385 - 3775. call me Toro !

Feb 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Rust problem
by: Anonymous

I wash the under-deck after each and every use. However, I also had the same problem with the deck rusting out. No problems with the engine I also had a spring and cable go out. The rear wheel dust covers last approximately a year. Otherwise, it has been a good mower.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
deck
by: Anonymous

I owned my personal pace for about 6 year now and the deck rusted out and I am having a hard time finding a new one. It is a great mower this should have not happen. I spent 4 years working all types of farm to personal equipment, should have not had this happen

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
star
Toro that caught fire
by: Anonymous

I've had my Toro about 18 months. Yesterday when my 30 yr old daughter was mowing - it caught fire. She filled the tank with gas, hit the fuel bulb once and WHAM, we had a fire. Bottom line - it shouldn't have happened.

May 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
toro personal pace mower
by: sam

I thought you pushed down to get the mower going. It seems I have to pull the handle back to get it to go. What is wrong with the mower

Nov 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Love the performance
by: JMS

Pros
- Super easy to start
- Variable speed transmission
- Easy to clean

Cons
- high on gas
- A lot of mulch residue

Rating
4 out of 5

I bought this mower in March 09 to replace a 10 year old Craftsman walk behind 4.5HP mower with a blown gasket. We have had A lot of rain this spring so I have had to cut the grass 1-2 per week.

It's super easy to start- never takes more than one pull. The variable speed transmission works great on hills and enven surfaces. And it's easy to clean (you just attach your garden hose and run the mower for a few minutes).

However, it burns much more gas than my Craftsman(I need to fill the tank twice as much).
Mulch residue collects in the wheel tracks(i need to overlap the wheel tracks in order to reduce the amount of mulch that is visable and collects in the wheel tracks.

Like I said I have used this mower every week often twice a week over the last 3 months and love the performance and look forward to yard work.

Oct 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
A little disappointed
by: Tim Martin

I have purchased 2 of the Toro personal pace mowers over the last 5 years. Each one has worked great until the gears that propel the tires wears out. In my opinion, they should have lasted much longer. The reason I like the mower so much better than some of the other self propelled mowers on the market is how the handle configeration works with the drive wheels. You don't have just one speed to contend with. You only have one bar to hold down and when backing up, there is no hesitation for the wheels to roll freely. It also mulches extremely well. Unfortunatly, I won't buy another one because of the self propel going bad so soon after warrantly runs out.

Apr 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A little skeptical
by: Paul

I bought the Toro Personal pace 3-1 lawn mower, and put it to the test on the job right away out of the box, and OH MY GOSH!
This baby did a number on what had to be done. STRAIGHT OUT OF THE BOX, no less.
Of course I didn't completely read the whole manual through (hey, I'm a guy - we know how to start lawn mowers) But I highly recommend you sit down with a cup of coffee, and READ IT!
I added the oil that comes with it, filled it with gas, looked for a primer bulb (which I did'nt see) (maybe I would have known where to look, if I read the manual) and cranked that baby up. Now, mind you, it's brand spanking new. It took me about 10 pulls to turn it over, (probably because there's a primer bulb somewhere - that I didn't see) but it growled to life and began to hum like a bird in flight.
I absolutely loved the gentle glide of the personal pace option. Looking to slow down a bit? Just ease off the handle, and it slows right down. Got to get moving again? Just ease into the handle and the the glider just moves it right along. Want to move faster? Do I need to tell you? Just walk faster, keep your elbows in a natural bend and this baby will take over until you tell it what to do. NICE!!
Additional starts during the job were 1 cranks! Really. 1 crank. It mulched leaves, small sticks, (I don't mean branches) and heavy grass into...what....MULCH! What'dya think it was.
The only thing I got caught up on was that the bag filled up way too fast. No, it didn't clog, it just filled up fast. And everything in that bag was just what was suppose to be in there, mulched up..whatever that got in the way of this monster. And you can't even tell how heavy the bag is, because the weight is balanced on the back of the mower. I found that by watching blowback from around the wheels pretty much told me that the bag was filled, and needed to be emptied, which by the way, emptied really fast. Nice too!
There is a BIG difference in handling with a rear wheel self-propelled, than a front wheel drive. There seemed to be better traction, less slipping going forward.
Excellent turning aroung corners, handles really nice. You don't need to be a race car driver, or heavy equipment operator to handle this piece of technology.
Remember, keep those blades sharp. Don't hit anything that is solid, like, BIG chunks of stone, corners of sidewalks, hidden pipes...well you get the picture.
Wear long pants and good shoes, and if you're REALLY safety conscious, wear eye protection. If you don't want to look like that ugly shop teacher you had with those scuba dive eye protectors...most hardware stores sell really cool looking eye protectors, they come in all sorts of colors. Heck, you might get a few winks like I did when I have mine on, or a couple of double takes, or an occasional stare like my wife gives me. Maybe, I should watch where I'm going while I'm at it.
Anyway. This lawnmower is well worth the price.

Jan 13, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Simple and guaranteed to start
by: Anonymous

I can't wait for summer again. I actually miss working on my yard. I am the one that handles all the lawn mowing and clean up. My husbands lucky that I love the work out that I feel from doing that kind of activity.

When we bought out new house I thought it was time for a new lawn mower. Time for an upgrade from our old, dingy, won't start half the time mower we have had for years.

We shopped around, checked features, prices, thinking about what we really needed. The first thing on my "really need" list was a lawnmower that I could actually start. I'm just not as strong as my husband.

That being said I'm over the pull starts. Half the time I have had to go inside and get my husband just to start the lawnmower. Not anymore. We went out and picked out the Toro Personal Pace lawnmower with an electric key start.

Simple to start, in fact its guaranteed to start for me for the next 3 years. It also comes with a two year warrantee from Toro. It comes with the personal pace rear wheel drive and a 190cc Briggs and Stratton engine.

Which honestly I don't fully get the whole engines ideas but my husband says its the best, and from the use we have gotten so far I have to agree with him. It starts every time, without fail. It is easily moved around your lawn.

It has a rear bagger or side discharge if your like me and just mulch everything. We have owned quite a few different mowers since moving out into the real world, to date this one is by far the best.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to TORO Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.