TORO 22" Model 20017

by Scott
(Delaware, OH, USA)

TORO 22" Model 20017 Personal Pace Self-Propel Recycler Mower with Rear Bag


I purchased this mower new in the spring of 2003. With tax, the purchase price came to about $380.00, so I expected a lot from this mower. I was not disappointed. Per Toro, they have a guarantee for their mowers to always start on the first or second pull. This fact, and the superb history of the Toro brand, is why I purchased this particular brand.

I did a lot of research before I made this purchase via Consumer Reports magazine and the internet. I have never regretted my purchase. This mower is wonderful. I have abused it at times and tried to take care of it at other times and it has never failed me. It ALWAYS starts on the first pull and has never broken down. Other than routine maintenance (i.e. filter/oil changes and blade sharpening), I have done nothing but use the mower, happily.

This particular model comes with a Tecumseh 6.5 hp GTS Engine and the 3-in-1 No Tools Cutting System converts from Recycler (mulching) to rear bag or side discharge without tools, so its easy for anyone to use. My wife who is horrible with yard tools (not to be sexist--it is just a fact of who she is), has been able to use this mower without any problems as well, especially since its self-propelled at whatever pace you walk. Its just a great all-around mower.

I would recommend this mower to anyone who is in the market for a gasoline powered mower that will last them for years and years. I recently sold this mower, as I switched to an electric mower, and I have to say I miss it. I love my electric mower, but the Toro one did work better all around.

Comments for TORO 22" Model 20017

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great mower
by: Anonymous

bought in 04 or 05, at a toro dealer not a box store. I mow year round, have done nothing but oil changes and blade sharpening. it still starts on the first pull 99% of the time. nothing has broken, closest thing to a problem has been the safety bar cable (or "throttle") needed some WD-40 because it was getting a little stiff. ridiculously reliable.

Mar 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SUX
by: Anonymous

I thought I was getting an upgrade when I traded "up" to the Personal Pace. After the second year, I have had to have it worked on every spring to get it going. I've tried 3 different shops. I don't leave gas in it. It stays in the garage. Its great when/if I can get it started, but I never know when that is gonna happen. I need 2 seasons out of it, then I'm getting something else. I've paid for a really nice mower in the years of repairs. Wish I'd kept my old manual drive Craftsman. Never again Toro or Tecumseh.

May 28, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Semi-abused it and still great
by: Anonymous

I have this mower 8 years and haven't taken the best care of it. It has been stored outside in a semi-covered area so it got rained on more than a few times. Changed the oil and plug a few times. Replaced the the belt once and the brake cable once. The only real problem was that the deck started to rust out but before it got too bad I put a bunch of bondo on it and gave it a little fresh paint. Again...somewhat expected considering it gets rained on.

Dec 14, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Piece of crap!

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Rear Wheel Drive Gear Wearing Out!
by: Anonymous

Is there any other quick and permanent fix to the constant wearing out of the rear wheel drive gears? I seem to be having this issue about every 18 months or so and have a really, really small yard.

Sep 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love It
by: Anonymous

We bought this mower in 03 and have not had any problems until earlier this season when the front right wheel came off and last month when the self propelled cable broke. 8 years and no problems. I would buy another one if i had to.

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Same problem as others - trans
by: DR DL

Got this mower in 04 and it worked great till last year. Yes, even the trans. Now it is murder to push through south west Florida grass every week. Was trying to find out if it can be fixed but it does not look promising from what others have said about repairs and parts. Maybe I will just get the workout I need once a week.

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

It ran fine for a couple of seasons, then I've had my neighborhood lawn mower guy work on it the last 3 years just to keep it running. I'm going out to buy a Honda mower today.

Jun 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
9 year and going.
by: Anonymous

I've had my Toro for 9 years and this will be the first time I have to work on it besides yearly maintnance. The gearing that moves the mower is having problems. I think anyone having troble with there mower leaves it out in the rain and dosen't keep up with maintnace. Still starts at first pull.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Ever!!!
by: Anonymous

Worst mower I have ever owned. I WILL NOT buy another Toro again!


May 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fantastic
by: Anonymous

Got mine in 2004, have never done anything to it but add gas. Runs perfectly.

May 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Starts everytime, Tranmission not good
by: Bob

I also did a lot of research on this mower. My yard is not at all flat so the personal pace transmission got a workout -until it gave out last season. After four seasons of use, the transmission is nothing but goo. It grinds horribly when I am pushing it up the hills. Not sure I will have it repaired, but if I do, it will be to shut down the awful gear-grinding noise it makes on every uphill climb -it is quite painful to hear.

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
star
very poor quality
by: Anonymous

Bought the 20017 in the spring of 2007. Worked great for 26 months. Transmission went out in June of 2009. Out of warranty so I paid to have it repaired. Worked great for 11 months. Transmission went out in May of 2010. Paid to have it repaired. Worked great for 10 months. Transmission now out in March of 2011. If all Toros are like this then they are making junk and I will never buy another one.

Jul 25, 2010
Rating
starstar
Very costly
by: John Hicks

I purchased a 20017 in 2005 and it was great for 3 seasons Then the trouble began, at first very noisy gears and the transmission failed. I contacted Toro and knowing it was out of warranty I asked if they would spring for the parts, They would not. I took it to a Toro authorized repair facility and for $220 I got one more season and the same problem started. Of course the first repair was warranted for 90 days so they would not do anything. I took it to a "handyman" and for $50 he fixed it as good as the Toro guy, but alas it is gone again. I guess I have a lemon and will not put any more money into it.

Jun 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
love my Toro but cannot get parts for repair
by: Anonymous

Dear Toro:

On May 5, I took my Toro in for repairs. Somehow the front right wheel needed repaired.

Also it was hard to push.

Well...I have been calling the repair shop but they say there is a back order on:
105-3048 Washer
105-1807 Arm
105-1809 Spring Arm
105-1818 Bushing
for Model 20017 Serial 220013807

It's the Right Front Wheel. Please let me know where I can get these parts. Thank you.

barb fandel
I miss my Toro

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to TORO Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.