Troy Bilt 42" cut Lawn Tractor Model: 13AV60KG011

by Robin
(Fairfield, Ohio, USA)

I had been using a push mower – which is fine at times but very exhausting, so I went on the search for the perfect riding mower and I found it.


The Troy-bilt has a 42” cut which helps cut my mowing time down considerably, the blades adjust to whatever length I want to cut the grass and it mulches and collects all the debris so no more clean up for me! Yay!

I love the seat, it is mid back and very comfortable, I had been on several others that seemed that the seat backing was too low or non existent, this one is just right if you have any lower back problems as I do. I tried out the cruise control setting just for kicks….

yeah I said cruise control on the riding mower, how cool is that? It does not really seem to be something you would need, but it is cool! The cup holder comes in handy on hot days, nothing like mowing the yard with a cold beer near by to cool you off.

The turning radius is 18” making it easy to maneuver around trees and bushes only one accident as of yet) I am getting better.

This mower gets up to a speed of 5.5 miles an hour going forward and around 3 miles an hour in reverse….not that I have tested that speed out or anything, just one of the cool facts in the manual.

I will never push mow again, the riding mower is the way to go from the cruise control, to the cup holder, to the fact that it is red and shiny and makes my neighbors jealous…everything about it is great.

Comments for Troy Bilt 42" cut Lawn Tractor Model: 13AV60KG011

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 10, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very Pleased
by: Anonymous

After reading all these horror stories I thought I needed to comment. I bought the mower from Lowes in 2007 and I have never had a problem with mine. I do change my oil every season which I am not so sure is needed. I would buy another in a second.

Jul 31, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
42 inch troy built pony shake rattle and no go
by: Anonymous

Bought the 42 inch pony July 7-2014 got home to see how in worked.Starts like a dream.Engaged blade and shook so bad I shut it off to see if blade came loose.Short story is tension pulley shakes so bad because blade stop spring on the end is stronger than tension pulley spring on front.Called Lowes and the next day they bought up a new one.Now thats service.Waited 2 days because of rain and then when tried to start it just clicked hard.After doing battery checks etc I find out it had hydralic lock in engine.(full of gas)clear out motor starts right up..Look in manual and the motors are not whats in mine.My carb has a wire going into the fuel bowl and right now I am guessing it has something to do with fuel shut off.If I keep the dam thing there will be manual shutoff installed.Have not mowed yet.As for the safety features they are crap especially the reverse that can not be used unless blade shutoff--very dangerous.My old Murry is 25 years old and is much better put together.
Sears mowers are also made by this MTD so do not look at them..

Mar 31, 2014
Rating
star
near total crap
by: Anonymous

throws blade drive belt every few weeks ,belt costs near $50 and carb needed to be replaced twice in two years, as alcohol in fuel eats it internaly

Aug 09, 2012
Rating
starstar
bad mower
by: susan

This mower was good for the first year then everything started breaking. I have had to replace a part of the steering 4 times since I bought the mower. I do not recommend this mower. There is no schemetics in the owners manual, which is not good when calling Lowe's to see if they have the part.

Sep 29, 2011
Rating
star
No Schematics-Sleazeball Manufacturers!!!
by: yacovou of waterford

Any sellers of Troy Bilt, etc lawn tractors,etc. are sleazeballs for not including a schematic of their product when purchased by a customer. You can bet you're ass I will not purchase a lawn mower product from any seller who does not include a schematic with their product manual. Anything to bleed a prospective customer. Do you think customers are stupid.

May 30, 2011
Rating
star
Troy Bilt Bronco
by: Anonymous

I bought my Troy mower in 2004. The first 2 years it was in the shop 3 times for a drive belt problem. Fortunately I bought the extended warranty so it didn't cost me anything. Now that the warranty is gone it has continued to throw off the drive belt several times a year. The easiest way I have found to fix it is to remove the battery and battery box. This gives you direct access to the pulley's and using a large screwdriver or bar I put the belt back on. I have been lucky to at least not have broken the belt, YET. Like many others had I known this lawnmower was made by MTD I would have never bought it.

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
Worst tractor ever purchased
by: Anonymous

I have owned four tractors over the years. I don't do anything but cut grass, never change the oil. All of the tractors I have had last me at least 7 years, always run. I buy this tractor in 2008 and actually decide to change the oil each season. It ran fine the first season, the next season, starter problems, blades won't turn, etc. I had to spend $400 for repairs to spindles and such to get it to spin. Late last year, after running it, it won't restart. Seems the starter is going bad. Just tried to get it started from the long winter, now the starter is shot, doesn't work at all. Biggest piece of crap I have had. I am selling it for part...I refuse to put any more money into this thing.

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy it!!
by: NJ

I bought it for my husband and has use it just a couple of times, have brought it 4 times to the shop and still having problems and Lowes will not exchange..
Would advice to spend a little more and not waste your money on this machine.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
Junk!
by: Preston

This mower is one big piece of CRAP! I have had it now for 30 days past the 2 year warranty and Troy Bilt will not fix it..The transmission it shot and it is going to be $500.00 plus tax to fix an $1100.00 lawn mower..My advice is to buy a good riding mower if you can..I am tomorrow! I highly recommend not to purchase this lawn mower!

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
star
PURE JUNK
by: Anonymous

i dont know the model of my troy bilt, it was given to me by a relative at no cost, so for that i can't complain but i would be MAD if i had bought this thing. biggest piece of junk i've ever owned. drive belt system is worthless. i just tried to mow the yard and the blades won't even spin hahaha guess i need to go buy a real mower.

May 13, 2010
Rating
star
This unit SUCKS
by: GOD

The drive belts slips or jumps off the pulley's.
The MowerDeck Belt is too long & the lowes in Jacksonville Ar has had too replace 7 on one mower in one summer.

I know the belt is too long...

May 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
This is not a great lawn tractor
by: Anonymous

I bought this tractor new from Lowes.

It has been hard to start from the beginning. You have to give it full choke or it won't start at all. Then you have to immediately close the choke and hope it doesn't die.

If I'm out mowing and I turn the tractor off for a minute, it won't restart. I have to let it sit for an hour or two, and then it MIGHT.

After one year, the main drive belt slipped a pullet and got damaged. You have to really tear down the unit to replace it. It is not made to be worked on.

Don't get all carried away with some cheap and trivial gadgetry like "cruise control." Skip this one and buy something you can depend on.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Riding mowers main page.