Troy bilt, 6.50 190cc 21" 2 in 1 push mulch mower with rear bag attachment

by Andrew Befano
(Mays Landing, New Jersey)

Troybilt 6.5, 190cc, 21” push mower 2in 1 mulcher with rear bag attachment.


This mower has a 21” cutting radius with a six position blade height adjustment. The blade adjustments require no tools when changing because it has levers and notches on all four wheels. Though they are manually adjusted it’s very easy to change the height.

The rear bag attachment, again, requires no tool, just lift the rear flip and slide the bag frame hooks into the housing bar of the mower deck.
Spark plug is easily accessed for replacement and or maintenance.

The gas and oil fill ports, especially the oil fill are large ports located on top of and slightly recessed into the motor housing (instead of the oil being that little tiny point at the bottom of the mower) for easy fill and a gauge to check the oil levels.

There is a push pump at the front of the mower for easy priming. It has an operational safety bar on the handle that must be held down to start and operate the mower. If it’s not the engine shuts down.

This is an excellent safety feature.
The pull start is mounted on the push bar support so there is no need to bend over to start the engine. Starting this engine is a dream; my 9 year old son starts the mower with one easy steady pull.

Likewise the mower is easy to push and fair light weight for its size. Again my 9 year old has cut the lawn, though he says that after awhile the vibration makes his hands numb. But, for an adult the vibration is such that is normally associated with a lawn mower.

At about 1’6” high from the ground to the top of the engine housing its difficult maneuvering this mower around and under my son’s play set climbing wall, rear ladder and table attachment.

So if you have lower clearances it is a little cumbersome. Also at a little over 5’ long, from front wheels to rear handle bar it gets tough to handle in close quarters.

If your landscaping has minimal clearance between raised flower beds and bushes/trees it’s a bit slow going.

All in all this is a great mower of the home owner or a small lawn cutting service to have. It runs quiet, easy to operate and seems to be fairly fuel efficient for a lawn mower.

If you have a half acre of land you may have to partial refill the mower to complete the task depending on the cut level.

Comments for Troy bilt, 6.50 190cc 21" 2 in 1 push mulch mower with rear bag attachment

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 04, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
working good
by: Anonymous

hi i have has troy belt lawn mower sine 2006 till to to day Saturday 5/5/ 2013 work just fine to me and I'm a woman ?

Jun 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Need an owners manual
by: Anonymous

I recently was given this lawn mower and I would like to get an owners manual. Where can I obtain one?

Aug 18, 2011
Rating
star
Troybilt lawnmower
by: Anonymous

Troybilt sucks. Would not start from day one. Noone did much at customer service either. Bad service Bad product.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
star
Unexceptable Quality
by: Anonymous

I recommend not wasting your money on this lawnmower. It is a lemon. The quality of it isn't worth the money I have spent on it.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
star
troybilt bronco piece of garbage
by: Anonymous

I have had nothing but problems with this machine. Do not buy troybilt they are a waste of hard earned money.

May 27, 2011
Rating
star
Troy bilt is no good.
by: Anonymous

I have a push Troy bilt and it will NOT bag the grass properly if there is even 2" of grass to be mowed. It does not blow the grass very far back into the bag thus you go a short distance and it starts leaving cut grass on the lawn and the bag only has cut grass at the front of the bag. It works if you mow every 2 days before it grows. My lawn is thick and this mower can't handle it. I suppose if you have a poor lawn that is thin and doesn't grow much this mower would be fine! Also developed an oil leak by the throttle shaft coming out of the engine block but that would be a Briggs engine problem. Never will buy Troy bilt again.

Apr 21, 2011
Rating
star
Dump your MTD/Troy-bilt stock before it's too late
by: Jim Hicks

I will never purchase anything manufacture by troy-bilt or MTD again because of their customer serve attitude. Their arrogance, lack of responsiveness and deceptive practices are the worst I have encounter. There are way too many other manufactures that want my business and have respect for their customer. When a company operates its business for the benefit of the employees at the expense of its customer they need to fail in the market place. The products are good enough for the price but without responsive customer service I have no use for them. Apparently all the mergers have created a culture of not caring about customers. If you own any of their stock I recommend you dump it before it’s too late.

Apr 09, 2011
Rating
star
Troy Bilt & Lowes Suck
by: TroyBiltSucks

I purchased a brand new mower from Lowes in June, 2008. I purchased the extended warranty as well. We used the mower to cut our small yard every week for the remainder of 2008, 2009 & 2010. The mower was maintained every year. In 2010, the drive belt had to be replaced. While replacing the belt, I noticed that the bolts holding the engine to the deck were rusting and the deck was cracking in a big way around the bolt holes. I checked the mower over and noticed that the engine shaft was bent. The mower had always vibrated more than normal. The bent shaft was the cause. I contacted Lowes about the warranty repair. They sent me to a local repair shop. The shop said that the mower's bent shaft was not covered. In addition, they indicated that Troy Bilt mowers are pieces of junk and I should buy one of their $800 better mowers. I took the mower back and called Lowes again. they referred me to a different repair shop. I took the mower to Lowes and they had the shop look at the mower. Lowes called after a week and said that the mower could not be repaired and that they would not stand behind the mower. So I have spent $450 for a piece of shit mower and a useless warranty. I will NEVER buy anything manufactured by Troy Bilt. Lowes says that the mower shaft bent because it hit something. I don't recall that happening. I have had many mowers in my life and having grown up on a farm, we had mowers that were far hardier. The farm had many more hazards which were sometimes hit. I never recall a motor shaft bending. All that should happen is the key holding the blade to the shaft shears and requires replacement. A part that costs less than $1! Whatever happened to quality?

May 06, 2010
Rating
star
P.O.S
by: Kelly Ray

I have went through 2 in the past 2 weeks the first one vibrated the carb off and the top mount bolts that hold the top plate on now the second one the pull string is hymned up and will not release.This push mower sucks major ass do not ever get the push mower by troy bilt...

Jun 28, 2009
Rating
star
Lowe's - Troy Headfake
by: Jason V.

I purchased this mower in the Spring of '06. I have about 1/2 of an acre of land.in a an area where grass grows thick and fast. I used it approximately 8 times and then put it up for the winter. I was gone most of '07 onsite for business but my wife complained that the mower was not working. I came home to do it one weekend and noticed the belt was gone (well duh) I replaced the belt directly from Lowe's (here was their chance to co,me clan about the product wince there was a known issue with the Drive system at this point...all service and resellers had alredy been notified). They did not tell me anything, just replaced the belt.
Ever since that day, the transmission has been more "assisted" than propelled and on anything but hard packed dirt will not even turn the wheels. Come to find out in the last 2 weeks, I have done checking on the internet and this was a known service update but only applicatory to people in warranty. Naturally since my 2 year has run out, I am stuck with a piece of junk and that is a push mower (and too heavy for that).
I will never buy Troy built or from Lowe's again.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Troy bilt Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.