Troy Bilt 6.5-HP 21-Inch Cut Rear Bag 11A-426A711

I've owned this mower for a little over 2 years.

It had been easy to start and use - until today.
It became very difficult to start, and then started backfiring and wouldn't keep running. It has since failed to start.

Fuel level was the first thing checked, and in checking the oil level - smoke was coming out of the reservoir. The level was just above "add." I would highly disrecommend this mower, and intend to just haul it off to the landfill tomorrow, after draining the fuel.

It's an under-powered POS that I should have replaced before the failure point. I think a Craftsman from Sears may be a better bet. Still researching...

Comments for Troy Bilt 6.5-HP 21-Inch Cut Rear Bag 11A-426A711

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 14, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower NEW
by: Samantha Wilson

My Lawn Mower is 9 years old and it has started up on the first pull every time. I would definitely recommend. This is the longest lasting mower that I have owned.

May 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
very touchy NEW
by: Anonymous

After the first year the blande sheered off and I had to install a new carburator. This week, it stoped running and i could not get it started. Cleaned the carburator, dismanteled, though it was only a year old and was not dirty, after reinstalling it the mower runs now. Next step is to increase the throttlel. I will not buy another try-bilt.

Jun 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
decent mower
by: Rob

I have the Honda engine. I am rough on my mowers. I help out other people and run my mowers 10-12 hours a month from late feb to early nov. I have had my mower for 3 years. I'm just now replacing the blade, filter, oil and spark plug. I starts up after some standard maintenance. People who can't get it to start should try hiring someone else to cut their lawn because they aren't qualified to be behind this mower. I'm happy with my $150 purchase. I'd buy it again in 7 years if I needed one.

May 08, 2012
Rating
star
mower
by: Anonymous

Mower is no good, I take care of my machines with all the preventive maintenance and scheduled manintenance. After first year mower will not start. I along with the other commenters will never buy another troy-bilt and will make sure no one in my family buys one...

Mar 16, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Not Bad for the Money
by: Anonymous

Had this mower for 3 seasons now, and am starting the 4th. Like many reviewers, I'm rough on my machines. But, I do drain the fuel every Fall, and put a little Seafoam into the tank. Then I pull the rope 5-6 times. I've never had a problem with starting in the Spring. Do consider the Briggs engine, though. A friend has the honda and had problems from the 2nd season.

Sep 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NOMORTHNSM
by: Anonymous

Hey Mr. Cal. I have had a lawn mower that sat in snow four winters, had to shovel it out to move it many times. This lawn mower started every time within the third pull. I did everything but baby it. All lawn mowers should last a good ten years before you would have to do anything with it.Oli change, plug, otherthan sharpening the blade. I am ruf on any and all machines I operate. Given the time and knowledge. I would say I have an expert opinion. Some mowers off the line are garbage, then tuesday they tend to last. Comes with quality control, and not to mention sales security. All the old style mowers go and go and go. The new ones are over priced, and not worth even looking at. just like everything else. They are making everything disposables. We need some new laws. First get rid of the people that we buy from, "JAPS". You will find we get quality once they are out of the picture.

May 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent Machine
by: Anonymous

I woefully admit to being a mower abuser. Bought this one in 2005 when I bought my house. Never did anything to it -- never anything right anyway. Started this spring on the first pull. After reading these comments, I am thinking of doing the decent thing and replacing the plug and air filter. Wonder if it has oil. Do they need oil?

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Sucks
by: Anonymous

I had mine for a day, and it died.I paid 249for it, I'm pissed

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
Frustrated
by: Anonymous

I'm having the same issue as many of the other's on this page. I've conducted all the proper preventive maintenance, checks and tune ups. It ran great for the first year, now it has deadlined. I'm very frustrated with this machine and will not be investing or recommending this model - or company to anyone.

May 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
it's the ignition module
by: Anonymous

i've had the same problems - replaced the ignition module and it works - i've done this twice since '04

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
transmission assembly
by: Anonymous

starts @ runs fine but the transmission belt was adjusted to tight from the factory, no way of knowing this until the transmission was totally ruined 122.00 for the trans + labor might as well buy a new mower good bye troybilt

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

I bought my mower in September '10 and have used it half a dozen times, max.

Put it away for the winter, drained the gas, did everything you're supposed to, and when I tried to start it, today--April '11, nada.

I ante'd up an extra forty bucks for the model with a Honda engine because the salesman assured me that Honda engines were substantially superior to those made by Briggs and Stratton.

Guess what? He's wrong.

First of all, they're a real pain in the behind to start. They have an on/off valve for the gasoline and a screwy manual spring operated choke. To start, you have to pull the lever back to engage the choke, and you have a couple of seconds to start the mower before the choke closes. If it won't start, you have to reengage the choke.

It's not so big a pain when the mower starts right away, but when you're having trouble, it's as frustrating as hell. There's gotta be a joke in there somewhere--how many men does it take to start a Honda engine...


Mar 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Jake

I purchased this mower in 2008, didn't realize this was a 2006 production model when I bought it. It's a great mower. As with anything else, maintenence is key. I change the spark plug and change the oil before using it every spring. Keeping it clean is another important factor after each use. For the price and durability, I'd recommend this mower!

Mar 16, 2011
Rating
star
FUEL LINE CLOG
by: Anonymous

I PURCHASED THIS MOWER 2 YEARS AGO.IT WORKED GREAT FOR 1 YEAR.LAST YEAR THE CARB WAS CLOGGED.IT WAS CLEANED AND WORKED UNTIL WINTER.I RAN IT THIS YEAR FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES AND IT DIED.I TOOK THE FUEL LINE OFF AND IT WAS PLUGGED .IT WOULD NOT RUN WITH NEW LINE.I PULLED THE CARB AND FOUND THE NEEDLE VALVE STUCK.THE CARB IS CARRODING FROM OUR BAD GAS.
TO MUCH MONEY FOR POOR ENGINEERING.

Oct 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent machine
by: Anonymous

Try pulling some maintenance you pathetic excuses for a men, you know air filter, oil, spark plug oh and by the way how long did you let you gas sit?
Geez- don’t blame the machine for your ineptitude.
Had mine for 5 years mowed year round in southern CA and it’s never missed a beat and works today just as fine as when purchased.

Jul 25, 2010
Rating
star
Troy Bilt 6.5-HP 21-Inch Cut Rear Bag
by: Frank Hawkins

I purchased my mower 3/29/10 from Lowes, I-35 and O'Conner, San Antonio, Texas. I left it in the box until 6/2010. I used it once and the next time it would not start. I took it back to my purchase location and they would only send it in for repair. They kept it for two weeks and after I received it back it still doesn't work. Lowes would not take the mower back or give me store credit.

I went to the repair shop which handles the warrantees; however they had two-three month back log. They suggested I check the fuel by cleaning the fuel line and trying new fuel with a boaster. I tried it, no success.

Lowes used to be my favorite store. I am so disappointed.

I don't know what to do with mine.

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Briggs is the Trojan Horse
by: Greg

My Try-Bilt seems to be following the pattern of others - works great for 3 years, then suddenly turns into a WIMP which won't cut 4" grass - slows dowwwwwwwn and dies. But the engine is by Briggs & Stratton, which makes half the engines around, and every one I've had has been ferociously hard to start, and short-lived.

Jul 15, 2010
Rating
star
Worst I have ever had
by: Anonymous

I've owner this mower for about 2 years and already took it in for repair twice. My model howevr had the electric start which stopped working after the first year; battery is too expensive so decided not to repair it! Too many problems to list including battery, spark plug, rope getting loose, self propeller not functioning; other mechanical stuff i do not understand... This was the worst POS lawn mower one can buy for $400. I would not recommend this brand to my worst enemy

Apr 17, 2010
Rating
starstar
Disappointed
by: D Smith

This mower worked fine for 3 years, then suddenly just stopped starting. I went through all the trouble shooting, but honestly don't feel compfortable putting any money into because I have the matching toy-bilt weed eater and all of a sudden it sucks too. Guess I'll hit craigslist-they certainly don't make em like they used to.

Feb 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mower review
by: Anonymous

I have had this one for a summer and a half and paid over $200 for it I like the mower until it soon tore up I know how to take care of them so don't know why it's junk now?

Aug 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good mower
by: Anonymous

I have had this mower for 4 years. It is a great mower that has mowed my yard perfectly and has started up effortlessly everytime. I cut my yard once a week for good 6 months out of the year and have had no problems besides routine maintenance and blade sharpening. "Great Product"

May 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
5 Years then caputz
by: Anonymous

I agree. I have had this mower for about 5 years or so. Worked great until last year then would stay running unless I kept pressing the primer repeatedly. I took it in and spent about 60 on a tune up and it worked for about 3 times then crapped out again. I took it back again they tuned it up and within a 2 months it crapped out again. I took the fuel tank off and drained flushed, did the same with the oil, replaced spark plug and air filter. Nothing worked. Mine is out front of my house with a free sign on it.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Troy bilt Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.