Troy-Bilt 190cc 21" Cut Self-Propelled Gas Mower

by Katye
(New Port Richey, FL, USA)

We purchased our Troy Bilt 190cc 21" Cut Self Propelled Gas Mower almost five years ago from Lowe's Home Improvement store. We had just bought our first home and really had no idea what kind of mower to buy - and not a whole deal of money to buy it with!


The people at Lowe's were extremely helpful in assisting us with finding the right mower for the right price. We don't have a very large lot, so spending money on a riding mower or even a high powered “Cadillac of mowers” would have been completely unnecessary.

Also, we live in Florida, where during the winter months we face a severe drought every year. Having the option to remove the rear bag and let the mulch clippings land back on to our lawn was a very important feature as the mulch clippings put nutrients back in to our yard.

We have crab grass, which can be extremely temperamental in harsh weather- hot or cold. The mower is self propelled, which is also another feature we did not want to go without!

My husband grew up in Vermont with an acre of land and a push mower, so he was definitely over that! Although I would have preferred a turn key start type (I am very short and sometimes have trouble reaching the pull cord and holding down the handle), the mower always starts on the first or second pull, which is a Troy Bilt guarantee. We also like that it has a 9 position height adjustment.

After our first run with the mower, we noticed that we cut the lawn a little too short and were afraid we were going to burn it. After some adjustments, we got the blade set at the perfect height and have had an eye-pleasing lawn every since! We would definitely recommend this mower.

Comments for Troy-Bilt 190cc 21" Cut Self-Propelled Gas Mower

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 11, 2013
Rating
star
Troy-bilt junk consumer reports lies
by: Anonymous

Bought mine a few year back and probably has less than 100 hours on it. Blew the transmission this week. $112 part. This mower is still shiny and red and thanks to cheap plastic gears is now only worth what I can get for the engine if I don't fix it myself. Now worth having it fixed. Next I"ll get a Honda mower.

Apr 08, 2013
Rating
star
JUNK TRANSMISSIONS
by: Anonymous

Transmission completely shot ater less than two seasons...quarter acre, smooth lot. Stay away from Troy-Built.

Jun 20, 2012
Rating
star
broke 4 times
by: Anonymous

bought troy built self propelled 21'' broke 3 times on the self propelled cable. it broke today same problem, going back to shop.

Apr 16, 2012
Rating
star
TroyBuilt are POS
by: Anonymous

Bought the most expensive troybuilt self propelled mower, 600$. Transmission went on it in no time. They want almost 300$ to fix. Never again!

Apr 07, 2012
Rating
star
Troy built sucks
by: Hayden T

I bought a troy built mower and it lasted a couple months.i bought a troy built pressure washer and it lasted about four months,had i fixed,broken cam gear in motor.the gear is made of plastic.what a disgrace briggs and stratton has become.They put red plastic covers on them to look like Honda's.Dont waste your money.

Mar 25, 2012
Rating
star
Disgusted customer
by: jim p

Bought Troybilt selfpropelled walk behind for my daughter at Lowe's. Belt will not stay on and have two-thirds of original cost in repairs It cuts good if you canlast pushing a selfpropelled mower over her yard. Never again.

Apr 10, 2011
Rating
star
this is what happens when lowes or walmart sells equipment
by: Anonymous

troy-built used to be the top of the line back in the day when you had to order from a t.v. add or go to a specialized troy built dealer. Unfortunately troy-built and john deere have gotten greedy over the years and want the big box retailers to carry their product. In order for them to do this the manufactures must manufacture a cheap POS to get the price down to be able to sell at lowes and walmart. If you simply just want a cheap mower buy it at lowes or walmart does not really matter which brand you buy they are all POS. If you want a quality piece of equipment go to a locally owned shop they will usually carry snapper, hustler, dixie chopper and ect.

real americans do not patronize walmart

Mar 28, 2011
Rating
star
Bad Mower
by: Anonymous

I purchased a Troy Built self propell mower in 2008, I own a small yard that take only about 30 minutes to cut. After two cuts the mower stating making noise. I brought it back to a dealer and they did not find anything wrong. The next time I cut my yard the same noise and only made three rounds when the mower stopped pulling. Brought it to another dealer and he replaced the transmission under warranty. Two years later the same problem buy guess what not warranty. I believe they have a bad transmission and should recall it. Would not buy another Troy Build very dissatfied customer.

Feb 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
troy-bilt mower
by: Anonymous

We purchased a troy bilt lawn mower I think is been about 5-7 years, stii running. i would definitely buy another one when is time

Jul 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Troy bilt self propel broke after 10 uses
by: Heather

Our Troy Bilt is from lowes. Sounded great, self propel and front wheel drive. Worked great only uses a few times last season. After our first time using this season the self propel broke. We used 2x more w/out self propel until it could be fixed. The repair shop could not find the parts to order. I called Lowe's to order the parts and they only offer the whole tranmission at $150 + ship + tax! Troy Bilt is terrible. Total waste of $300.

Jun 26, 2010
Rating
star
junk
by: michael

bought a push mower from lowes on 4/17/10 now it 6/23/10 mower will not crank paid almost 220$ for the thing what is the deal price go up but nothing gets better quality goes straight to the toliet i think that one of the problems with this country now every thing is so expenseive but nothing hold up any more i will not be buying anything else from lowes or troy bilt

Apr 30, 2010
Rating
star
self-propelled broke after one season :(
by: Anonymous

I too purchased a new Troy-Bilt from Lowes a 1-1/2 years ago. The mower no longer works in the self-propelled mode. The mower does start up every time but I am very disappointed in this brand. I do not recommend Troy-Bilt products.

Keith
in Michigan

Apr 18, 2010
Rating
star
Troy Bilt Mowers are no good!
by: Anonymous

I bought a new Troy-Bilt from Lowes a few years ago. The mower no longer works in the self-propelled mode. It only had one season worth of mowings with a small yard. Very disappointed in this brand. I do not recommend Troy-Bilt products. Their quality just isn't what it used to be and they really don't care because consumers will keep buying them anyway.
Eric
Virginia

Apr 01, 2010
Rating
star
Same Problem
by: VenturaNative

I bought a top of the line Troy Bilt $425 with taxes and the drive broke after 1 1/2 years. Lowes can't find anyone to fix it.
Troy bilt use to stand for quality, now its crap

Jul 29, 2009
Rating
starstar
TROY BUILT not so well
by: Anonymous

My mower did the same thing. How long will the repair last?

Jun 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Poor construction
by: Anonymous

I have a Troy Bilt with a Honda motor, the motor is great, but I recently started having trouble with the self propelled portition or the mower, I took it to a repair person and he looked into the excessive vibration, seems that someone had apparrently make a mistake and put a pully with the hole too loarge and just used 3/8" washers to take up the room and the washers wore out causing the pully to wabble and n turn screw up the shaft on the transmission. Long story short, around $100 to replace bad parts. Other than this problem, the mower is great.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Troy bilt Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.