Troy-Bilt Self Propelled Mower Model Series 860

by Joe
(South Carolina)

My yard is about a third of an acre with lots of trees and on a slight slope. I would mow horizontally on a path with power on the rear wheels and then I disengaged the gears while I turned around. Then I engaged the gears again mowing in the opposite direction.

I could not keep the gears engaged while a turned around. This method worked fine for almost two years and then the gears failed to engage. Looks like I burned out the clutch.
I always made sure I raised the handle all the way to engage the gears and lowered it all the way to disengage the gears.

Rather than push a mower with a failed drive, I removed the gears from each of the rear wheels. However, the drive belt is still on its pulley. As it turned out the mower is fairly easy to push (and pull) and furthermore it does not make the grinding sound when I push the mower while it is not running.



Comments for Troy-Bilt Self Propelled Mower Model Series 860

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 04, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Troy-Bilt Model 860 NEW
by: Anonymous

Have had mine for over four years with no problem! Starts quickly runs fine! Had an unbelievable hill to climb and it never fails. Read other reviews and it seems like they aren't a\talking about the same machine!

May 04, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Troy-Bilt Model 860 NEW
by: Anonymous

Have had mine for over four years with no problem! Starts quickly runs fine! Had an unbelievable hill to climb and it never fails. Read other reviews and it seems like they aren't a\talking about the same machine!

Mar 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
troy-bilt modle 870 NEW
by: Anonymous

I just bought one easy to start will update after 1st mowing i bought this without looking at the reveiws and now i am sick so we will see

Mar 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
troy-bilt modle 870 NEW
by: Anonymous

I just bought one easy to start will update after 1st mowing i bought this without looking at the reveiws and now i am sick so we will see

May 18, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
awesome lawn mower
by: Anonymous

Bought mine 5 summers ago, runs like a champ, never broke, starts up on the first pull!!! awesome mower!!! Take care of it and it will last a lone time.

Jan 04, 2012
Rating
star
troy bilt 650 series self-propelled mower
by: Anonymous

i bought this mower, 650, w/195cc engine about 3 years ago. it has been in the recommended shop at least 5 times. and although originally is was supposed to be under warranty,i always had to pay. THE BELT comes off every use, and i am disabled, so this makes it impossible for me to use. I have had switch problems, belt problems, engine problems, and the recommended repair shop 1st gave to me w/ no screws in the top, they finally found some screws, that never fit, and are all lost now nut one.
I bought this for my disability, but all i have is 3 foot tall grass, so i will never purchase a troy bilt again.

Aug 28, 2011
Rating
star
help
by: Anonymous

How do you get the rear wheels off of the axle shaft on the darn thing.i've tried everything short of the torch and melting the cheap plastic things off and replacing them w/ spoked rim wheels...next stop scrape yard, LAST troy bilt I EVER buy.

Send reply to djones@acsdish.com if you have solution,PLEASE.

Jun 14, 2011
Rating
star
Drive mechanism did not work from day 1
by: Dave

Purchased my mower from Lowes last year. First time I used it the drive mechanism quit. Lowes was no help - they just pointed me to an independent service center. The service center blamed it onme for cutting wet grass - PLEASE!!!

I got it back and and after the first cut this year it is back in the shop with the same problem. Been there for over 7 weeks now. At least this time they agree there was an issue with the drive mechanism and didn't blame me. But, they have no idea how to fix it. They are now "conferring with the manufacturer". I'm not optimistic.

Thanks Troy Bilt - I'll never buy from you again.

May 21, 2011
Rating
star
very unhappy with this mower
by: Anonymous

Bought the troy-bilt self propelled mower model series 860 from lowes.Used it two months and the self propell has gone out. Would not recommend.

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
Model 860 NOT Good
by: BC

Same results of many. This model is NOT good. Had the mower three weeks and the gears stopped working. Took it to the recommended repair shop (From LOWES) it took almost four weeks to get fixed. ...Will NOT be purchasing another Troy-Bilt Self Propelled Mower.

Apr 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
keeps breaking down
by: Matt

I bought a Troy Bilt 860 from Lowes and had it less than a year and the transmission went out, it was fixed under warranty and took about 3 weeks. A year later same thing, when this one goes I guess I will be looking at buying another, it will be cheaper than replacing it.

Feb 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wheel Bearing making noise
by: Anonymous

I removed the drive gears from each of the rear wheels of my Troy-Bilt Self Propelled Mower Model Series 860. Hence, I replaced horsepower with muscle power and it is easier to push and very quite.


Feb 08, 2010
Rating
star
breaking down after a year
by: Anonymous

I have had the mower for 1 year. So far the bearings driving the self propel portion is making a bad noise.

3 months ago the right lower handel broke. I fixed that with some conduit but now the left portion has broken. I will not buy another one.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Troy bilt Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.