Water the Soil

by Robin
(Ossining, NY)

Water the soil instead of the plant. Excessive water can promote rot. It's the roots that will benefit from the watering, not the leaves.

Comments for Water the Soil

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
True information is shared NEW
by: Bess

Made countries stress towards their preparation. They give present day progressions to their understudy so understudy get a huge amount of point of preference. So direction is to a great degree crucial for element of every country. You should write essays for money and make your writing professional.

Sep 12, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Agreed!
by: Anonymous

Definitely! It's the roots that really need the water and putting it on the leaves does absolutely no good.

Sep 06, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
So true!
by: Allie

I agree! For so many years I watered the plant and nothing happened; in fact, the leaves drooped! Then a teacher told me to water the soil and I tried it once and it helped. It's the roots that nourish the leaves, not vice versa.

Sep 02, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Thanks so much.
by: Janell

Thanks so much for the info. I think this may be the issue with my grandmother's gardinias. She passed away not to long ago. She lover her gardinia bushes. Since her passing I have been taking care of them. But the seem to be dying on me. I think I will try this. Because when I water then I water the plant not the ground. I hope it works. Thanks again for the info.

Aug 17, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Nice Tip
by: Anonymous

I agree. I've had so many plants die because I wasn't watering the soil. I have handing plants on my porch and when its time to water them, I water teh soil. I get a tin pie plate and fill it with water and set the handing plants in it. This helps because the soil absorbs the water at its own pace and I'm not drowning the top of the plant.

Jul 08, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
Good Point
by: Anonymous

Good point, as some plants don't like their leaves wet and the foilage begins to decompose. Plants with fuzzy leaves are particularly vulnerable if you water the plant and not the soil.

Jul 07, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstar
great tip
by: Anonymous

I agree with you because if you water the plants and not the soil the plant doesnt get any water at all. great tip for everyone out there.

Jul 05, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
Water for the roots
by: Anonymous

I agree,but, not totally. When you water the soil care should be taken so that the water reaches the roots and/or the roots can reach the water.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gardening Tips.