Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

by Alex
(Raleigh, NC)

In March 2008, after buying my first home, I decided it was time to own a lawnmower. Since we only have roughly 1/4 acre of grass, it was decided that a simple push mower would suffice. After strolling into my local Wal-Mart, I surprised to see how lowly priced the "weed eater" models were compared to other more well known brands. I was at first nervous to pay just over $100 for a lawn mower (when I was expecting to spend at least $200), but finally gave it a shot.


A year later, I could not have been more pleased with my decision. After reading the manual and following the operating and maintenance procedures to the letter of the law, I have had a total of zero problems with my supposed "cheap" lawnmower. And guess what? It cuts my lawn every time I need it, and it has been reliable.

The mower is easy to operate and it usually starts within the first two or three pulls of the start cord. There is a lever where you can adjust the cut height and there is a side discharge. The mower is fairly small and easily storable.

I will say, on the negative side, that sometimes the mower is rather difficult to turn because the wheels are basically just rotating pieces of hard plastic (which I found sort of strange). Also, it vibrates at a decent clip and it does not have that much “power”

The only foreseeable problem is the blade needing sharpened eventually. There is basically a large single blade that rotates so make sure you remove any hard objects from the lawn to avoid bending the blade, which I could see possibly happening.

All-in-all, this is a very economic mower, perfect for someone on a budget or has a very small lawn to cut. Make sure you properly maintain the equipment and you will get your moneys worth from the Weed Eater brand mower! Happy Mowing!!!!

Comments for Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawn Mower

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Has lasted 17 years so far!
by: James C.

Our 500 series Weedeater 21" push mower (essentially a Poulan Pro) has lasted over 17 year for us so far. It is on it's second blade and second carb build, and maybe it's 4th or 5th ignition plug, but the rest is all original and except for a slack bail cable which I opted to replace, nothing else has been replaced or added in that amount of time. The knobby tires still have 33-50% of their original tread and despite lots of use and innumerable 180 degree turns the whole machine rolls quite straight and true and vibration free.

The levers to raise and lower the deck height all still function well, though I had to tack weld one of the rear notched plates a year ago.

Our yard is between a 1/4 and 1/3 acre corner lot and though we have a secondary mower for bagging and mulching, this is the one we use most, and it has been a terrific mower for us; always starts on first pull or two after priming, and runs trouble free at peak torque.

Maintenance has been very easy and the B&S Quantum engine is still amazingly solid and trouble free; compression is still fine, original starter and cable are just fine. there's a little oxidation on the muffler but it's not notably loud or louder than any of my neighbor's lawnmowers. I changed the spark plug _almost_ every time I changed the oil, so with care and TLC and the use of a vwey small amount of Lucas Oil Stabilizer I can easily get three cutting seasons per oil change, which is a couple hundred running hours for us.

I really don't understand the really bad reviews here; some don't seem real to me, which is what prompted me to post about our li'l green mower. All I can say is "sorry about your luck, folks"- but then again, people can actually make their own luck, good and bad luck, with their habits and choices. We are a typical family of four in a typical neighborhood in Columbus, Ohio, and our experience with our Weedeater 500 mower has been a good one overall; I'd truthfully give it a B+ and realistically expect it to last another four years or more, before oxidation takes its toll on the metal and steel deck, and the tires bald or wobble and/or the rest or the plastic parts weaken much.

Thanks for reading.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
issues
by: grass not cut

1 year old always tightening nuts bolts ex ...shaking, always ,hard to turn, motor runs i thought to high. 1st bolts snapped to push bar handle. where meets the base, fixed .then muffler must have been loose, my bad shot off but today last straw motor running like aa champ comes undone from base by way of cracking all the way around hole bolts still tight ... ithink motor to be good, need to fix flaws fathers day today already spent two hours upset sorry to neighbors will have a jungle till have time to but another brand with maint plan and of better quality my fault you swindled me nice to see why we never get ahead when companies regularly take advantage for personal gain... try producing product you can be proud of....

Sep 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A-M-A-Z-I-N-G
by: Agnathas Crager

I must say we got our mower 4 years ago. I have my own small lawn care business. I have never had a problem with it until today. I have replaced the blade one time and always use fresh gas. Never replaced the spark plug, changed oil, or new carb,.. surprisingly it still starts on the first pull. :) I give you guys 5 starts. Best regular push mower I have ever used and PLAN on getting another in the next week or so.

Aug 24, 2012
Rating
star
sorry mower
by: Willam

My daughter this mower new tried to use it never got it started change spark plug still could't get started gave up on it

Aug 03, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I still think this is a good mower...
by: Anonymous

I loved this mower, but unfortunately I finally killed it. I hit a metal post, it still ran. I hit a second metal post a few minutes later, did it in. One of the best mowers I've had. Survived me, living under plywood in Ohio winters (lots of snow and ice), never changed a sparkplug for 4 years (but it did need it changed), just kept an eye on the oil and used fresh gas. I don't know why people are having problems with this machine.

May 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works fine
by: riffraff

I've had this mower for two seasons. It starts every time, and normally on the first pull. even now. Keep the air filter clean, use fresh gas (don't use last year's), and keep an eye on the oil level (of course, change the oil every year).

Apr 29, 2012
Rating
star
weed eater 5hp push lawnmower
by: Anonymous

I bought it in 2011 from walmart It worked fine for a couple of times then it didn,t want to start. I got it to start ran good for the rest of the season. I had to clean the plug many times. Fast foward to 2012 can,t keep it running long enough to mow my yard now runs a little while then chokes down and dies most of the time,I would not have anouther weed eater lawn mower if they gave it to me. I allso heard it had the wrong plug shiped with it . I noticed that the murrey 5hp has the same plug in it.

Mar 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Weed Eater mower
by: Sue in Des Moines

My basic 500 series Weed Eater push mower that I bought at Wal-Mart 14 years ago, at least, just died - the rope locks up and I won't take it to the shop at this age. But, I am in mourning - especially because I saw one on clearance for $75 last fall at WM. Now they don't have them. Rats!

Mar 08, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Weed Eater not at Wal Mart anymore
by: knowitallandtellit

Wal-Mart will not sell the Weed Eater 500 series anymore. I was told in the garden department when I was looking for a manual for my 5.5 that this nor any weed eater product will be sold. They are going to Poulon but what difference that will make I don't know since they also use the Briggs and Stratten engines.

Feb 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
No Problems with the 500 series mower in Louisiana
by: Gary

I bought a new mower from Wal-Mart last year. My yard is over 1 acre in size and also cut a few other yards with it and never had any kind of problem with it. I cut no more than about 2 or 3 hours a day with it and used it every week. Takes about 3 days to cut my grass at that rate. Filter must be cleaned often when its dusty. I did shear the pins which hold the blade in place but I hit a chunk of Iron so it was my fault. Thats the reason I saw this page while looking for a replacement part and decided to make a comment.

Oct 21, 2011
Rating
star
Worst mower
by: Anonymous

I bought from Walmart, only starting in first time, then never starting, I changed new gas still same, Then I sent it to the dealer, because it has 2 years warrty. But the dealer said the engine 's warrty is 90 days. it will cost about 70$ to fix it .
This is first time I bought weed eater production
and also is my last time.

Oct 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
shuts off when half full
by: Debbie

Please help. Im trying to find out why I have to full mower my mower to top ,so it runs good, then when it gets half full ,,it shuts off, WHY? please help

Sep 22, 2011
Rating
star
Wal-Mart would not take it back
by: Anonymous

It started on the first pull and I liked it.
But, the next time I went to use it, it wouldn't start! I took it back to Wal-Mart, but she said that they couldn't accept it if it had gasoline in it.

I took it back out to my car, but I decided to just turn it over and dump out the gas right there in the parking lot. A customer started yelling at me about the fire hazard, but it was raining pretty hard at the time.

I pushed it back inside and the customer was yelling at the top of his lungs that I dumped the gasoline in the parking lot. The manager came running and said that now she had to call the EPA and they would probably get fined! She said that they were not going to accept the return, so I just left with the mower.

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What's in a name?
by: Anonymous

The only difference that I can tell from this machine and others like it, from the past and present is the color and the name... Take a look around, most machines in this class all have the Briggs & Stratton engine on them... The ever reliable, functional Briggs & Stratton !!!! Probably one of the best designed small engines in the world. The one engine that all others are based on, whether it be a Poulan. Remington, etc., etc... Take a close look at your machine... know it before you pull that cord... Don't fault an engine until you take a look at faulty performance being nothing more than a loose spark plug, an air filter, factory soaked with oil that is choking the motor, a primer that was not pumped, etc. etc. check it out and good cutting.............

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
drain plug
by: jeff

It a good mower. Can't find the drain plug on it

Sep 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
high wheel model
by: rick

It is what it is, look at it...

She's a plain Jane, side discharge mower.
NOT a bushhog, nor Snapper or Toro either.

My used one I bought does the job on a
maintained lawn - yard. And no frilles
parts to worry about breaking.

Sep 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Hundred I Ever Spent
by: shredder

Great machine, never uses any oil, cuts good every time. Has paid for itself many times over. If you TAKE CARE of your machines they will take care of you!

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Omar

Bought one and used for maybe 1 year, does not work any longer. Bought another and used it 6 months and it will not work. Would not reccommend to anyone. Walmart needs to not sell this pieces of junk anymore. The offered warranty is such a hassle that it is not worth the price. I never but them because it is such a hassle to get any service from any of them i.e. 1. Sears-see you in several weeks 2. That is not covered. Read and see that not much is covered. Now have two of them over a span of less than 3 years and neither one works.

Sep 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Runs good
by: Ted

You have to clean air filter like manual says, dusty or dry grass will block air flow quick on any lawn mower, also it will get to hot if air cooling fins are dirty and blocked thus you get fuel evaporation, could cause a vapor locked engine. Dooooo preventive MAINT.

Aug 26, 2011
Rating
star
Weed Eater Mower
by: Mikw

WeedEater 500 series mower is JUNK. At least The Weed Eater Company and Briggs and Strat Co. are eating steak because of all the people who bought this piece of junk.

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BUY SPARK PLUGS
by: Anonymous

YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE SPARK PLUG FOR MINE EVERYTIME IT RAINS HARD. I CAN'T AFFORD A NEW LAWNMOWER BUT A 3.00 DOLLAR SPARK PLUG WORKS FOR ME

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Never a problem
by: Anonymous

I bought my Weed Eater from Walmart over 2 years ago and never once have had a problem with it. From it sitting outside with minimal coverage through summer and then the snow in winter, every time I go to use it is has been ready to go. Besides filling it with gas, I've only had to fill the oil once. Couldn't be happier with my mower.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
This lawn mower is garbage.
by: Anonymous

I bought my weed eater a month ago, after I put the gas and oil in it I used it and it started just fine...today I went out to use it (for the 2nd time) and guess what..IT WON'T START!!!! Now what?
I can't afford to pay that kind of money for something that only works once. If I can find my receipt you better believe I will return it.
No wonder I was hesitant in buying from Walmart.
Not so sure I will buy anything like this from there again.

Jul 29, 2011
Rating
star
Don't Buy
by: Kim

I bought the high wheeled one on 4/09/2011. I have a very small plain yard. ONly takes 40 min. to cut front and back. Or at least it used to. Got 3 lawn cuttings before it started spitting and sputtering and then it just quit. Went back to Walmart on 6/2/11 to find out they don't take them back after 30 days. Then had to take to the local warranty shop which could not look at it for almost 4 weeks. It cut 1 time. Now it won't start again. I plan on calling wal-mart corp and also trying to contact the manufacturer direct. I'm sure it won't do any good but at least I can have my say about this poorly made product that seems to have had a long history of problems.


Jul 28, 2011
Rating
star
Weedeater push mower
by: Ronnie

I have returned 2 Weed Eater push mowers to Wal-Mart,and am about to return the 3rd. Each mower did well the first few times I used them, but then they refuse to start! I've cleaned the plug, which looked 'oil fouled", the filter, and such but I shouldn't have to do this with a new mower!I was encouraged by the "Made in America" sticker on the motor, but am now wondering if that is really true. If I can get my mony back, you'll never see me purchasing another product with "Weed Eater" in its name.

Jul 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I'm surprised
by: Anonymous

Several months ago I left a comment about how well my mower works and I'm very surprised to see these negative comments. I'm a 56 yr. old woman with 3 huge dogs fertilizing a 1/2 acre yard, 1/4 acre of which I mow with this mower, large back wheels. The grass in the back (with the dogs) is sometimes (often) up to my knees or more and it gets through all of my "hayfield" (although I do go slowly) with no problem at all. The only problem I've had is when one of the dogs tore off the cable handle at the top and I had to have it repaired. The mower starts every time, It's never been tuned up, same spark plug, although I have added a bit of oil a few times. Also, during the summer months, this mower stays out in the backyard with a piece of plywood over it for protection - I am not nice to this mower. I'm sorry for the problems people are having, I just haven't seen it with my mower (thank goodness) and have definitely gotten my money's worth with this machine.

Jul 26, 2011
Rating
starstar
Too fragile for yard work
by: pmiker

I bought the high rear wheel version in late April, 2011. By the middle of June I had mowed the yard twice. It would not mow it a third time. Since this was beyond the 30 day return policy, it could not be returned to the store. They did replace the plug. I cleaned the air filter per instructions. (In hot soapy water, completely drying, and oiling.) It ran for about 10 minutes. I had to take it in to the repair shop where they replaced the plug (again). It appears that the air filter clogs very easily. This in turn fouls the plug. The air filter openings are at the bottom of the filter which puts it close to the debris. In this period of drought, mowing is a dusty job.

If you keep 2 or 3 oiled filters on hand and have the time to clean them after mowing, this may work out for you. Alternatively, this mower might be fine for small, neat, moist yards.

If you live in a rural area, do not buy this mower.


Jul 04, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
weedeater great service
by: jasilco

I bought this pushmower, filled it with oil, stabilized gas and got to work. I have used it to mow my yard three times and never looked back. no problems whatsoever! I have a riding mower, a Honda and an Ariens with a Kholer mower and in every way this one seems as good as the rest, with a little upkeep i feel it will last a very long time. A great no frills mower at a good price.

Jun 30, 2011
Rating
star
weedeater lawn mower
by: ralph sanders


Wish there was something below a 0. Wife gought two of these pieces of crap in three years. Both have caughed their cookies and puked all of the oil out the exhaust. AH SO yankee fool buy Chinky Chinese from Walmart.

Briggs and Stratton ought to be ashamed of themselves, used to be quality made in America product.

Trying to decide if I want to just take it to the dump or bring it back to Walmart, fire it up one last time and oil them down. OH so tempting but I guess I will just stay out of that crap store.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Never Again
by: Billy Singleton

This is the second time I bought one of these lawnmowers. The first one I used it twice and couldn't get it to start again. I had my uncle check it out and it wasn't getting gas, idling or whatever, so he "rigged" it, and it was running, but idled extremely high. It broke down after the first season. This time I bought the next step up, the 22, 500 motor, and it ran perfectly the first cutting. I just went out to crank it up and use it the second time and it won't start. I prime it, pull the cord, it tries to start up and dies. Pull, pull, pull, nothing, prime, pull, pull, tries to start, then dies. Never again, will I spend my money on this garbage. The only recourse I have would be to purchase a box and packing supplies, pay to ship it back to the dealer, and pray I get a lawnmower back, all before I'm fined for a yard that's beyond the cities ordinance limit.

Jun 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not happy
by: Anonymous

I bought this mower at the end of last summer from WalMart. I had purchased my previous mower from there. It was a cheapy too, but had worked great, with heavy use, for over 12 years.

I have had numerous problems with the Weed Eater mower even though I have used it very little. (Because it won't start much of the time.) If the least amount of dust is stirred up it sputters and dies. Once that happens changing the filter, cleaning everything and even changing the gas may or may not make it happy enough to bless me with a few minutes of service. I have taken the carburator apart and cleaned it even though it did not appear that dirty. It then worked for one mowing before it was back to the same problem.

I could not find a small engine shop that would work on it. I was told these mowers are "junk" and it costs more to fix them than they are worth.

I see it sitting with a $20 tag in my next garage sale.

Jun 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great little mower for the price.
by: Will G.

Bought mine at Wal-Mart in 2006. I've only had one small problem with it, and that was that the ground wire in the shutoff shorted, so believe it or not - the mower would not shut off. I had to cup my hand over the fuel tank to suffocate it. It was an easy fix. To you people that say this is junk, I will say this: either you got a lemon, or you are an idiot that shouldn't be operating a lawn mower anyway. As for the comments on it not having power, once again you are an idiot. There is a way to idle any Briggs and Stratton up for more power. You just can't be an idiot. Also, they sell the blades right at Wal-Mart, so I bought an extra one. When I replace the blade I just take the other one down to Ace hardware and they sharpen it - it's ready for next time. As a last comment, if you're an idiot that doesn't know how to operate something as simple as a lawn mower then you have no business writing a review on it. Idiot.

May 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
IT'S NOT THE MOWER IT'S THE PERSON USING IT!
by: Anonymous

A friend of mine was throwing his away,said it was junk.I said I'd take it if he didn't want it anymore.It needed a pull cord and new wheels.It sat in my shed for 3yrs.I fixed the cord the other day,and put some gas in it,pumped the primer 3x and one pull and it started right up.My friend is an engineer,I'm a truck driver.All those book smarts, but no common sense.To sum up my statement,most of the time,it's not the machine that's faulty,it's the people using them.Weedeater push mowers are good mowers.

May 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
$45 special
by: JT

I saw what would become my Weedeater 500 outside Wal-Mart's lawn and garden center one day. There were about 15 of them and a sign that said $45.00. I didn't think it could be right but it was. They were refurbished mowers, worked on by a local small-engine place. The Wal-Mart manager I talked to said the manufacturer did something wrong with the carbuerator that the repair place fixed. Me and a couple of customers and about 10 employees bought the whole bunch. Mine did fine one year, wouldn't start the next, and spent two years in a shed. My other mower died so I got it back out. Fresh gas seemed to do the trick on getting it going again. I'd love to have a nice big Honda, but this one does fine for what I paid.

May 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Anonymous

I purchased this lawm mower a little over 4 years ago and it has been great. I wanted a mower that would cut what ever I wanted cut. I live in the country on 15 acers so there is always something to mow. I love this mower and when it needs replacing, I won't buy anything but a Weed Eater 500.

May 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mine is good
by: Anonymous

I also got the one with the large back wheels, have had it for almost 3 years, and it has even lived outside oftentimes during the summer. It still starts almost immediately every time. I sometimes have really long grass in the backyard with 3 big dogs back there, and it does better than I would expect, making it's way through the "hayfield". I just had to replace the cable due to one of the big dogs somehow breaking the old cable off of the mower, but other than that it has been maintenance free. I'm sorry people are having problems with theirs, mine is good.

May 05, 2011
Rating
star
hard to start
by: Anonymous

Difficult to start and cuts off when pushed into thicker grass, grass height it should be able to handle; and then extremely difficult to start again.

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
star
Lets Call and Complain
by: Anonymous

Please call wal-mart corporate office and complain about this product if you have also been a victim. Let's protect other customers and save them money.

479-273-4000

tell the operator you are calling to complain about a product.

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
star
My weedeater Mower will not start either
by: Jason

I got online in an attempt to figure out how to get my mower to work. It keeps cutting off as well. I have not had it very long, nor have I used it a whole lot. We purchased our home last year and only used it once. I have new gas in it and it appears to look okay; but it does the exact same thing everyone else is stating. It runs for about 2 minutes and then cut off. I have had the mower too long to return it to wal-mart; but I am about to call their corporate office and complain, because I do not think they understand that this mower has a serious defect.

Apr 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great mower
by: Terry Spohn inTexas

I bought the model with the big rear wheels I have not had any problems with it. I bought it in Feb 07 havent changed the oil in till april 2011. I run high octane gas in mine. Havent changed plug till april 2011. I have replaced the blade a couple of times since Ive bought it. Im going to have to replace the air filter in april 2011.Love mine probably will buy another one if I need another one. Got mine at walmart.

Apr 11, 2011
Rating
star
worst
by: Anonymous

worst lawnmower i have ever owned, after mowing about twenty times it just simply refuses to run, it will start with starter spray and then die after running or about 8 seconds, i have cleaned everything

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Bought new used Weed Eater
by: Eric Pohl

I just brought home a new in the box 550 series push lawn mower with bag from Kmart. I brought home in the trunk and there was a strong smell of gas. I thought maybe they have to start the engines before they pack them. But paint is worn off where the ignition cable slides on the handle. The plastic spokes in the rt. rear wheel is broke, the grass catcher bag has snags in the cloth from sticks getting caught in it from use. I bought this thing a Kmart in Albuquerque NM, what a rip off. They use and repackage it sell it and try to push you to buy a replacement warranty before you walk out the door.

Apr 03, 2011
Rating
star
GARBAGE
by: Tall Tall Grass

I have gotten THREE of these sorry mowers. They are all still sitting under my garage and no one wants to fix them. Hey Weed Eater if you are so PROUD of your PRODUCTS, come and get this mess from me and get me something that will really work. Or at least have a good enough warranty to get the ones I already have fixed. This is CRAZY.. I would NOT recommend this product to my worst of enemies. I only give this one star because it is the lowest rating here. I would really like to give this product a big old ZERO!!!

Mar 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
great mower
by: Anonymous

I bought this mower at a pawn shop for $75. It wouldn't start but i figured it had just been sitting so i bought it anyway. Got it home put some gas and got it to start but would only run for a few seconds. Turns out it was the air filter clogged up. I rinsed it in gasoline and put it back in after that it ran fine. Had to change the blade. The old one was bent pretty bad, found one at Home Depot for about $15.

Mar 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Value for the Dollars.
by: Fredsaid

I have operated a lot of equipment from ships and offshore oil rigs to edgers and blowers.
I bought one of these Weed Eater 20" lawn mowers at Walmart to keep at a friends house to mow her lawn.
Starts every time, simple, easy, no problems. It does not matter the wheels are plastic, they roll. All rotary lawn mowers have the same basic blade type and if it is sharp it will cut with ease.

Keep all lawnmowers out of the rain because water will get into the carburetor and cause surging, rough running or no running at all.

Unfortunately lawnmowers are not idiot proof!

Mar 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Surging
by: Anonymous

Bought one at wal-mart. I put it together like the manual said. It started fine but started surging. So I took it back and exchanged it. The new one started fine, but same thing, surging.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
star
WHAT A POS
by: Meathead

bought one and brought it home. after we assembled it, it never did start. took it back, upgraded to another, lasted about a month and started shutting off, now it wont run, Wal mart wont make it good so I have stopped all my shopping at the retailer. Their prices have been creeping up and their selection has been going down anyway. A simple basic lawn mower should last longer that this. Whadda POS. Buy home depot or anybody other that Wal Mart!!!!!!

Mar 17, 2011
Rating
star
Weed Eater 500 Series Push Lawnmower
by: Larryw

I was in the market for a pushmower. I went to Walmart and found this thing at a very good price and bought it. The mower worked fine for about 3 weeks, then the engine began to idle up and down so badly, I could no longer us it. I'm just going to eat the loss and be me a quality pushmower. I would not recommend the this mower to anyone!

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
Thought I Found a Bargain...
by: Kevin

Well, it was the cheapest one at Walmart and I was strapped for cash. I have a small yard and didn't need anything fancy, just something to get it done.

First time the thing worked great, I was able to cut my front yard without any problems. A few days later I did the backyard and same thing, no problems.

So 2 weeks later I cut the front again, worked well, and decided to go ahead and do the backyard too while I was out there, and it immediately died after taking 1 step into the back. It wouldn't restart.

I waited 2 days and tried again, it started up and I was able to mow about half the backyard before it died again. After about 10 minutes I was able to get it restarted and finished the back.

This continued for about a month, the front would mow pretty well and would die if I tried to do the back on the same day. Then when doing the back it would die before I finish only to be restarted later and completed.

Now it's been about 4 months since purchase and it will start and run for about 1 minute and then die and refuse to restart. Basically I have to hurry and mow about 2 rows of grass before it dies and then try again the next day.

The oil is fine, and it's full of gas. Next year I'm buying a Craftsman.

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reliable and great value for the price
by: Adam

Bought this mower 2yrs ago and I must say it has exceded my expectations big time.I was expecting a crappy short term mower from this cheapie but it has performed great on my yard.Would definitely buy another one over the expensive brands anyday.

Aug 22, 2010
Rating
star
save your money buy a different mower
by: Anonymous

bought the mower @ walmart 4 months ago. when out to mow the grass and pushed the primer, started up then died. tried it again, same thing. a third time, same thing. took apart the carburator to clean it out. reinstalled it, same problem. And of course i misplaced my manual.

I guess you get what you pay for with this mower.

Aug 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
free and wont die
by: Anonymous

i have replaced blade 3 time over 2year i was given the mower for free over a 1/4 acre have been land scraping starts right up.dogged on it hard.i would buy a new one but it wont die$cant complain

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
star
weed eater lawn mower is junk!!!!
by: Anonymous

We went to walmart to buy this lawn mower, took it home cut the grass everything was fine. Took the lawn mower out 1 wk later and nothing. Piece of junk would not start. Not sure maybe we had bad gas we drained it took it back and exchanged it. Had to go thru all the hassle and the second one did the same exact thing!!! Really dissapointed in Walmart for selling such junk. Long story short we went to sears and got a Craftsman for $15 more and it mulches and is a better quality. Not to mention customer service was better at Sears. What ever you do stay away from this brand mower! You will save yourself time and trouble.

Jul 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Never changed the oil
by: Anonymous

Had this mower for 5 years, never even changed the oil and it ran great until now (it bogs down a lot). It served its purpose and for less than $1 per use. Headed to Wal*Mart to buy another one!

Jun 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
my veiws on crap mowers
by: Anonymous

personlly being osmeone who restores old mowers , i think that those cheap mowers are not that impressive and also if u look aroun most modern mowers will have plastic wheels which is the reason why i use old lawnmowers which are much more reliable than the modern ones.

Jun 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Weed Eater great mowers
by: Anonymous

We purchased a Weed Eater brand mower about 16 years ago and have it to this day. It runs like new. Hubby keeps it cleaned off and changed the spark plug every few years and sharpens the blade but that is about it. It even sat idle 3 years in storage while we lived overseas. Will probably never have to purchase another and if we do, we will go with a Weed Eater again.

Apr 08, 2010
Rating
star
Thanks for nothing Walmart
by: Mick

With a name like Weedeater, 22 inch cut and a 158cc Briggs & Stratton Engine the $158.00 I paid at WalMart 2 years ago was a total waste. It bogs down in the slightest high grass and idles way to fast and has know way to slow the idle down. It ran so hot it melted the spark plug wire. Frankly I am amased Briggs & Stratton would associate their name with this so called lawn mower. Never again will I buy a piece of equipment from WalMart.

Nov 11, 2009
Rating
star
Just a 'wimpie' mower
by: Anonymous

Don't be impressed by the 22 inch deck or the 500 series engine or even the 2 in 1 side discharge. This mower needs to be tossed off every shelf . I have had this lawn mower a little less than 4 months and I have had several problems with it.

Some of it may be attributed to "hard use" but I think it is just a wimpie mower. The second time I used it the pull cord broke. The 3rd time I pull it, the thing breaks! Unbelievable! That should have been my first clue. A couple weeks later I pull it out and fill it with gas and pull the cord (very gently and easily as to not break it again) to start it ... nothing, the thing won't start. I tried several times and the thing wouldn't start.

I let it sit a while, not wanting to flood the engine, and it still wouldn't start. Spark Plug. Although these things aren't expensive, I've had to replace the spark plug 8 TIMES! I'd say that is a little excessive, wouldn't you?

This mower is a piece of doodie and I don't recommend anyone to buy it. I don't even think that it should still be on the market! I called the company and they said that the damages did not fall under the 30 day warranty. I'd like to know why not.

If anyone is looking to buy this mower, DON'T! Its a horrible waste of time, money, and stress. I have already bought a new lawn mower and it works much better! Please do not buy this Push lawn mower. Its horrible!

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstar
you get what you pay for...
by: kenny p

My wife bought this mower about 2 months ago after the one we had for about 10 years decided it had enough and wanted to retire. It started great the first time. After that it has been nothing but problems. Had the issue with the side mulching as mentioned in another revue. It has not wanted to start, when it does start it wants to die out as if out of gas. We took back to walmart where she bought they were no help, took it to have it repaired and it'll cost almost as much as it did to buy it. hmmmmmmmmmmm.....
To top it all off we have only been able to use it 4 times. I have had to use my neighbors.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Sometimes gets bogged down on taller grass
by: Leah Bush

My husband and I bought the Weed Eater 500 series Push Mower about a month ago and have used it probably 4 times.

This mower has a 158cc Briggs & Stratton motor, which impressed my husband for the price. They also make the model with larger rear wheels but we didn’t have a need for those.

The lawn mower comes preassembled in the box which allows you to start using is immediately (which we did).

The only thing you have to do first is pour in some oil, which they provide, add some gas and your ready to mow. It is very easy to use and cuts our grass very well.

The mulcher seems to work really well but we did have a problem with the mulching cover on the side of the lawn mower the first time we used it but we have since figured that out.

The blade seems to be holding up really well to our grass and considering the last homeowners never mowed I am very impressed with that. I haven’t priced a blade for this mower yet but I hope that we won’t need one for a while.

The cutting area on this lawn mower is fairly large which allows you to make fewer rounds if your grass has already been maintained.

My only complaint is that sometimes it seems to get bogged down on taller grass so you have to make more rounds with it. But I think that will happen with any push mower if your grass is thick.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great simple lawn mower at a great value price
by: Ashley

My husband and I just in the last 6 months purchased a home. Of course when you buy a home you have a nice lawn that needs to stay up to HOA restrictions.

We purchased the weed eater 500 series. We have no complains at all about it. It works great, fill up the tank and it can last to mow our lawn at least 3 times, and we have a good size long.

The lawn mower is easy to push. The lawn mower is also very light weight, I can slightly lift it to turn to go back in the direction that I was just coming from. Simple. I love the big wheels that it has in the back. It just a great lawn mower for us being first time home owners.

Another thing that we really liked about the lawn mover is that it has 5 positions that we can higher or lower it to. And its nice before i'm the kinda person that like things to match and it has other appliance for outside that you can buy that match, as in the weed eater etc.

The lawn mower surely is a great simple lawn mower at a really great value price. I say that if you are a first time home owner and with the cost of just buying a home and you are surely in the need of a lawn mower this is the one to go for for the price and easy to use of the lawn mower.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.