Weedeater 300 series 20" lawnmower

by John C.
(Vero Beach, Fl)

Let me first say that the engine always started on the first pull.


I bought my now defunct mower 25 months ago at WalMart. 1 month after the 2 year warranty was up, the rear wheels fell off with a piece of the severely rusted deck housing. My mower was cleaned after each weekly use and kept in a water tight storage shed yet the mowing deck rusted out and the wheels fell off. ONE MONTH AFTER THE WARRANTY

A new replacement deck along with the required nuts and bolts and wheel mounting bracket parts were going to cost me far more than a new mower. WHAT A DEAL ! WHAT A MOWER !

No more of these pieces of engineering junk for me. After being a Weedeater user for quite a few years, I am buying something else better!

Pros
- engine always started on the first pull

Cons
- rusted
- wheels fell off

Rating
1 out of 5

Comments for Weedeater 300 series 20" lawnmower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not pleased
by: Anonymous

my weedeater 300 mower worked the first season. Put up for winter. Spring took out and mowed lawn first two weeks.Now it wont start. Took to repair shop. It worked for two weeks now wont start .. Worst mower ever had.It just wont start.

Jul 15, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
not pleased
by: Anonymous

my weedeater 300 mower worked the first season. Put up for winter. Spring took out and mowed lawn first two weeks.Now it wont start. Took to repair shop. It worked for two weeks now wont start .. Worst mower ever had.It just wont start.

Apr 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
UNDERCOATING THE MOWER DECK
by: MIKE IN VIRGINIA

I BOUGHT THE WEED EATER 300 SERIES 20INCH MOWER UNDERCOATED IT WITH A CAN OF DUPLI-COLOR PROFESSIONAL UNDERCOAT & SOUND ELIMINATOR AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.. ITS 5 YEARS OLD NOW LOOKS GREAT RUNS GREAT AND STILL STARTS ON THE FIRST PULL !!

Apr 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
UNDERCOATING THE MOWER DECK
by: MIKE IN VIRGINIA

I BOUGHT THE WEED EATER 300 SERIES 20INCH MOWER UNDERCOATED IT WITH A CAN OF DUPLI-COLOR PROFESSIONAL UNDERCOAT & SOUND ELIMINATOR AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.. ITS 5 YEARS OLD NOW LOOKS GREAT RUNS GREAT AND STILL STARTS ON THE FIRST PULL !!

Aug 06, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Oil for it is?
by: Anonymous

What weight oil does it use? Where do you get it?

Aug 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Oil Leaking
by: Anonymous

Why is there oil coming out of the muffer and leaking.is there a number that you can call?

Aug 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
I like my mower...
by: Anonymous

I don't think I'm qualified to make any judgments regarding any type of lawn mower since I'm 45 years old and never used a lawn mower until 2 years ago but an old boyfriend of mine bought me this mower and I love it. I've had it for 2 years so far and I beat the mower to death. Anything in my way, I run over it and so far it keeps on running. I am going to change the blade to a mulching blade as soon as I can get my friend over here to show me how to change it:)

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
rusted deck
by: Rebbecca Fly

Will never buy another one due to rusted deck and rearbwheels falling off. We should consider class action suit. Faulty and dangerous.

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
Weedeater mower
by: Anonymous

Weedeater mower

Rear wheels fell off . Rusted out within 15 months . Bad design . JUNK !!

Aug 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
weed eater mower 300
by: Anonymous

you are so right the same thing happend to me too

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Manual for weedeater
by: Anonymous

Does anyone have a manual for their weedeater??

May 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
adding oil
by: Anonymous

I believe you use a mixture of oil and gasoline..goes into where you add gasoline.

Apr 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
oil
by: Anonymous

you add oil where it says add oil here idiot

Oct 31, 2010
Rating
star
Worst lawnmower
by: R.C.

This is the worst lawnmower I have ever owned!! Did I pay a lot for it? No. Does it start? Almost never on the first try. Then sometimes it will on the second try. Once you get it going, it does fine. But it is definitely bottom of the line, and I would never recommend it.

Aug 27, 2010
Rating
star
Worst Lawnmower I ever owned
by: John Breland

Bought one a year ago. Mowed the lawn once. The next time it wouldn't crank. Swapped it out at Wal-Mart for another mower, same model. After a couple of mowings, the same thing happened. Took it to the shop, after which it worked for about two more weeks. Back to the shop. End of season.

This year started out with another trip to the shop. It limped through the summer until now. Now it's dead again.

No more repairs down this money hole. I'm going to junk it and buy something else.

Aug 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
weedeater 300 series
by: Anonymous

where do you add the oil?

Jun 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
can't find where to add oil
by: Anonymous

All i find is a little yellow thing that doesn't come off

Apr 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
weed eater 300
by: Anonymous

I just bought a weed eater 300 used twice, at a pawn shop for 40 bucks.
I painted the underside of the deck with a thick coat of RustOleum re greased the wheel spindles and dry film oiled the brackets.

I also replaced the oil with Mobil 1 synthetic, cleaned up the plug sharpened and balanced the blade. This is my very first mower that works anyway. I got an old Craftsman ride along that came with the house but it's about 20 years old and it's a rust bucket.

Might b good for some parts but not going any further with it. We shall see if I get my 40 bucks worth. I got a corner house and city grass as well to mow. Almost half a football field. I am going to work the piss out of it. Thats why I gave it some extra special attention. I am going to store it in the basement during the Kansas winter not far from the furnace ( with no gas) or course. I really like the light weight. It's half as heavy as an empty market basket. My neighbors use ride along tractors. But when I look at the cost it would be 10 times the expense just from the get go, not including 4 times the fuel. a ride along tractor weighs 500 pounds. Add 200 for the rider. Thats 700 pounds VS 50 pounds. Huge difference . Yea It take me 6 times as long but so what! What else is there to do in a yard besides not much. I enjoy mowing my lawn.
I will repost later to let any readers know how it's going.

Preventive maintenance can go a long way.


Apr 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
adding oil
by: Anonymous

Where do you add oil, I can't find it anywhere

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.