Craftsman LT2000 tractor

by Jeff
(Winter Haven, FL USA)

The Craftsman LT2000 lawn tractor features an 18.5 horsepower engine, hydrostatic transmission and a 42" cut. The mower operates well on a variety of grasses. I have over 1 acre of bahia and various weeds that must be mowed weekly or it can get out of control.


Typical pasture grass found in sunny central Florida. I have abused this mower in the three years I have owned it and have had no problems. The only thing negative I can say is the blades and oil are a little difficult to change. I have mowed 3 foot tall grass, weeds and even small oak seedlings down with my LT2000 and the machine has addressed each with little difficulty.

The machine is simple and inexpensive compared to other models. Overall, I would recommend this model tractor to anyone with a lawn over an acre in area.

Anything less than an acre however, I would recommend a rear engine rider.

Comments for Craftsman LT2000 tractor

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Yard Tractor
by: Kjunsniper

Had mine for over 8 years. Garage kept, I maintain it, clean it when i'm done with it. Couldn't ask for more. Its never let me down, even when it sits for the winter. Every summer it fires right up.

Apr 21, 2014
Rating
star
Not a good product
by: PC, CA

In 6 years used about 20 times at most (in a flat smooth acre). Try to started this year, did not wanted to start. I called for service and I was told the engine is shut!! Looks new-- but is gone- Around $1900 is the estimate to get it fix. Extremelly dissapointed and upset- can't afford to replace it!!!

Apr 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Craftsman LT2000
by: Bill H.

I have a Craftsman 20HP Briggs 42" cut that I bought used 4 years ago. I own a storage building complex and mow it several times a season. We're talking 5 acres of thick weeds, saplings, small mesquites, rocks and old auto parts. Buildings are on what used to be an Auto Salvage yard. Parts come to the top of the soil and end up in my blades. I did break a spindle when I ran over a 2 7/8" oil field pipe, I deserved that! I am totally happy with my mower and would buy another one. I would not recommend putting any mower through what I do, but I can repair it myself.
I'm not 100% sure mine is a LT2000, could be a LT1000 but I don't have it here to look at. I think it's a 2000 model.

Oct 08, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
Face it, it's an MTD
by: Anonymous Liberty

Face it, it's an MTD.
Slightly stylized, and upgraded stuff you buy at the Depot, etc.
It is not a John Deere (which could use improvement these days...)
I think 3.5 stars is about right.
The one at the Home Contractor store that seems to be the same model (platform) regardless of Brand Logo, has no Zerk fittings on the king pins, where the craftsman does, eg.
This mower platform seems to be heavily dominant across the entire rider market, again, regardless of brand name.

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
absolute junk
by: Anonymous

rattling piece of junk that has been a real PITA since 6 months after i bought it new. now the tranny or the linkage to the tranny has locked up and am fixing to put it up on blocks and try to fix that without spending another $500 bucks on it. they wanted $300 to fix the carb !!!!! did it myself.

junk junk junk

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
never again NEW
by: Joe

Should have taken it back right away and exchanged it. No excuse for going through all that.

Jul 26, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Job Mowing
by: Chuck

I purchased a Riding Mower and that's just what I got. It is still going strong after 9 seasons and I mow about an acre in forth gear at the #2 lowest setting and I do it in about 45 min. It must be done every week or else so it needs to run and go when the time comes to mow. I have replaced the main belt once and just patched a front tire yesterday and now I have to replace the Idler spring because when I disengage the blades they just keep going. It's a $3.50 part. So it has served me well. I do the proper Maintance to keep it running and it hasen't failed me yet. The key here is it's just a lawn mower for us lazy folks it's not ment for fields,ditches,ravens,canyons and interstate medians and the like. I'll buy another one when the time comes that I can nolonger repair this one. Happy MOWING everyone !

May 14, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
Sears Craftsman LT2000 B/S Intek 42" cut
by: Cecil Hays

It is one huge piece of junk. Purchased in 2010. It was on sale, now I know why. Didn't have it a month until drive belt jumped off. Took it to friend of mine, would not dare go back to Sears. He showed me how & now I have had to put back on at least 6 times. But now will not start, put new battery on, will still not start, probably needs a starter. Taking it back to my friend to see if he can fix it. Also, unable to get blades off to sharpen. Anybody out there got any hints on that. Will never buy any lawn equipment again from Sears. Also, the deck pins have broken on it 4 times. If you are mowing on a level yard with short grass, it does a fair job. Never, I repeat never try to cross a ditch or anything that twists it, the belt will jump off &/or break a deck pin. Anybody want to buy it?

Mar 25, 2013
Rating
star
never again
by: Anonymous

Between it eating belts like it is its job and replacing pulleys three times. this lawnmower has been sitting more that it can be used. to top it off, the last time I got it fixed I was only able to mow once and the motor stopped. The tech had to adjust the valves. I have only had the mower for one season. I will buy a used Murray before I will ever spend the money on a craftsman

Feb 02, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great tractor for the money
by: eric

I've owned this machine for over 5 years and it has functioned perfectly. I maintain it myself changing the oil every year along with fuel filter. I also usually blow out the air filter each year and wire brush the plug. Because of this I believe it has functioned perfectly. No issues with mower blades or deck. Bought the guide wheels which was a great investment. Not sure where the complaint about the oil changes comes from as it's the easiest thing to do. It has an integrated drain tube where no tools are even required to drain the oil. A good oil filter wrench and it's easier that anything. Overall I am more than pleased with this product.

May 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Craftsman LT2000 tractor
by: Joe

Correction: I have had mine for 9 years now and plow snow in the winter!

May 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Craftsman LT2000 tractor
by: Anonymous

Old Polish Proverb...Take car4e of it and it will last. Not hard to figure that out. I have had mine for 8 years and it is going strong as when I bought it...why? Preventative Maintenance.

Wow, can't figure why no-one can figure that out!

May 13, 2012
Rating
starstar
the ( quality) junk we buy
by: Anonymous

Lt2000 is a piece of junk. After one season the belt brakes,steering is tight, the blade spindles doesn't have place to grease them, nor do the steering spindles. The 19.5 Briggs is fine. I thought this was made by Electrolux but it's not. It's made by MTD which make alot of different brands of mowers out there. Cub Cadet is one, Snapper and many others. I have a Poulan Pro is been the best out of three that I've had so far. I guess in order to get a quality mower you need to 5 to 10 thousand. I may have to do this here soon. Hopefully it will last 10 to 15 years.

Mar 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
super unit
by: Anonymous

I've used mine like a bush hog and it's still going. But you do have to do yearly maintenance,oil changes,sharpen blades etc.

Mar 13, 2012
Rating
star
BAD MOWERS
by: Anonymous

i bought a lt 2000 2 years ago and have had nothing but problems with this brand of mower i have had to replace the spindles on deck 2 times now and every time i turn around always having to replace or put the belst back on i thought that craftsman was a good product until i bought a craftsman lt 2000 wont make this mistake again beware

Nov 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
re. malfunctioned by chris
by: Anonymous

I just got a free craigslist lt 2000 Same idea sears told him it was shot...did online research on the 17 hp kohler engine and replaced the broken part( a $1.66 flywheel key) the key will shear somtimes when it backfires causing the timing to go off ie backfiring thru the carb. not that hard to do , need a flywheel puller and a little repair knowledge i also cleaned carb and replaced fuelfilter and oil, machine runs like new. Im very glad they picked my name out of the 40 or so responces they got. Sounds like you may have the same issue. good luck danny

Oct 14, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SUPER UNIT
by: Joe

I have owned this LT 2000 Briggs & Stratton, 18.5 HP, 6 spd transmission since 2003. I even plow the snow in the winter with this guy. Can't beat this mower and/or tractor. Have never had a problem with this unit! Just now doing the brakes.

Jan 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A great Workhorse
by: Gus

Not only does it mow lawn very good, I also took it in my walnut orchard to mow thick weeds and it did the job. Great investment.

Dec 17, 2010
Rating
star
Craftsman quality
by: Jason abram

What happened to quality in craftsman? Your new manufacture for this transmission has came up with a poor product!! I'm very disappointed

Dec 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Craftsman
by: Anonymous

Works great! Doesn't work well in rough condition though... Overall great!

Nov 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
malfunctioned
by: Chris

Worked good when it worked. Now it is junk! Bought this lawn tractor in 2003. Followed the maintenance schedule and kept it in great condition. The engine just just started to malfunction so I had a service technician come to my house. I was told that the engine ws "shot" and that Sears does not even carry the kohler engine anymore. It worked good while it lasted I just thought I would at least get 10 years out of it. Guess I was wrong.

Oct 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
craftsman Lt 2000
by: phillip greene

its a really good mower but the light bulbs do not like to stay in place. but me and my brother use it to pull logs out of the woods. and it dose it with ease one thing that i would reccomend is tire weights or tire chains if you are doing something like this. but right now im not so to pull a log up aver a hill is kinda hard without good traction.

Jun 01, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lt2000 tractor
by: tha brayven

i purchased an lt2000, in april of '08, it has tha 19.5 hp b&s intek ohv 500cc block, 42 inch cut 6 speed, with beer holder....hehe, i have been nothing but pleased, more than enough power, in fact if clutch is dumped in 6th gear, u will be laying on your neck. tha cup holder if u have a bottle or can in a huggie is absolutely perfect, with no foaming or shaking, incredibly smooth ride, and as close to a zero turn radius, without dropping a fortune on a zero turn, quite possibly tha best cut, for a lawn tractor i have ever seen..4th gear is a little faster than a normal walk, changing tha oil is a breeze, even tha filter can been done in about 10 minutes start to finish seriously. tha only complaint i really have is tha deck adjustment, even on level three u are really clipping grass short...really short....lol. it does get really descent gas usage too, for such a big engine... overall i give this tractor a 9 out of 10... great work all u craftsman guys!

May 20, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LT 2000
by: Anonymous

I bought this as a second tractor for cutting at the cabin. I also own a Deere LX277. I agree with last review, blades are a pain to change. Oil is no more difficult than my Deere, the tractor has plenty of vibration throughout while underway, not the quietest tractor around. Bottom line is, its okay for the price, but riding my Deere, makes the Deere LX feel like a cadilac, which I suppose it is compared to a Sears model. One more note, those Home Depot Deere products are not nearly the same as the ones bought from a true Deere dealer. The tranny in the Deere 100 series (the models sold by the HD and Lowes stores) is giving a lot of owners problems. This info is easily found online. You get what you pay for.

Apr 17, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great low cost, entry level lawn tractor
by: Richard Moore

My lawn tractor is a three year old Craftsman LT2000 lawn tractor sold by Sears. This tractor has a 17.5 hp Briggs & Straton Intek engine, a six speed transmission, and boasts a 42" dual-blade deck system.

It even has a cup holder on one fender, but this is a little too shallow to be of much use (a bottle of water simply will not stay in place, resulting in my constantly picking it up from numerous drops in the yard).

Overall, this is an excellent lawn tractor. While intended as an "entry level" tractor for private residential use, it borders on being capable of commercial tasks.

I maintain three laws with my LT2000, totaling about three acres. It cuts all with ease. The engine is perhaps its best feature, able to propel the tractor at speeds faster than a walk while mowing down even tall, thick stands of grass.

As long as the blades are sharp, the engine will provide more than enough power to do the job.

The transmission is sufficient, and common to most entry level tractors. It is simple enough to switch between transmission speeds using the fender-mounted shifter.

But the clutch-brake combination makes for jerky shifts as you almost have to stop to change speeds. As there isn't much take-up in the belts and the braking mechanism, letting out the clutch/brake usually results in a slight jerk.

The feature I like the least about this tractor is the use of cast aluminum in the mandrels.

These are the spindles that bolt to the deck and contain the bearings and shafts that mount the mower pulleys and blades and allow them to turn freely.

These will break rather easily and are not cheap to replace.

One of these will break if you hit something while mowing that causes the blade to stop suddenly, such as a tree stump (hidden by leaves), a piece of firewood, a large stone or house ground rod mostly buried in the dirt, or similar solid and well secured objects.

And the mower, the deck gear in particular, is a little noisy, but much of that may be attributed to age.

For the most part, though, this is a very good tractor and I am well satisfied with it.

It handles well, turns as sharply as you could expect for this type of tractor, and performs quite well at what it was designed to do.

I would recommend it to others looking for a low cost, entry level lawn tractor.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - craftsman.