Husqvarna YTH20K46 Lawn Tractor

I purchased one approximately 2 years ago and have enjoyed using it very much. It is very easy to use and maintain. The engine has always started on the first crank and provides an easy throttle adjustment. The key selector switch allows forward only or forward/reverse operation. The throttle is smooth and the tractor is quick in forward.


The reverse is a bit slow, but is adequate. The deck is easily adjusted with a lever to the left of the tractor seat. The deck only has 6 adjustments, but it does provide a smooth cut once properly adjusted. The engine is easy to maintain with and easy to use oil drain and easy to access oil filter. There is an mulching blade and attachment available, but if you mow regularly, the mulching function is really not needed. The tractor is very stable and has a very tight turning radius. It can not match a zero turn tractor, but it easily handles trees with a single turn.

The construction of the tractor and body is painted steel and overall has held up well with no corrosion or issues. The tractor definitely stands out with its bright orange paint job, but not having to pay the extra cost for a Deere, even an non Texas Longhorn fan will appreciate this tractor. When not mowing, I have used this tractor to pull trees and tree stumps from the back of my home to the street.

It has plenty of torque and power to pull heavy awkward loads with ease. I would highly recommend this tractor to anyone looking for a value priced tractor built of high quality and that is highly reliable. I have never owned a Husqvarna product and originally was a little skeptical of the purchase, but I trusted my dealer and have to say that his recommendation was on the mark. You could pay more and get a few more bells and whistles like singe hose attachment for cleaning the deck or more deck adjustment, but the cost savings and larger deck more than make up for the difference in price.


Pros
- Lower cost than comparable size tractors, Very even cut for a 46" deck

Cons
- Headlight connections come loose,
- Only 6 deck height adjustments Rating-4 The Husqvarna YTH20K46 is a good value lawn tractor in its size class.

Comments for Husqvarna YTH20K46 Lawn Tractor

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 31, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Lawn Tractor
by: minnesota

Bought mine from a Sears outlet about 4 years ago.
Got a great price. Runs great cuts really good and pick up leaves really good. Have the Kohler engine. Best investment I have made on a mower. Had a Craftman for about 20 years and it work like a charm as well.(This was back when Craftman were USA made)



Jul 05, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
A Happy Camper
by: David Whaley

This is my first tractor lawnmower. Being retired military I have high standards especially on tools. This Husqvarna YTH2OK46 lawn tractor has lot of power for my 1 acre yard and cut very crisp. It starts up every time I crank it up. I had this lawnmower for 3 years. I changed the oil in this every year and have not one single bad thing to say about this mower. If I every buy a zero turn mower it will definitely be a Husqvarna.

Jan 25, 2014
Rating
starstar
blown 20hp kohler junk
by: Anonymous

This is the worst mower ever builted

Jan 25, 2014
Rating
starstar
blown 20hp kohler junk
by: Anonymous

This is the worst mower ever builted

Aug 02, 2013
Rating
star
Husqvarna
by: Anonymous

the mower steering is the worse design brought 2 of them in 3yrs time, both was over 1600 bucks.

Oct 03, 2012
Rating
star
DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY
by: Anonymous

I've had YTH20K46 for about 5 years. 1st issue was a blown motor after 2 years of light duty work (all routine maintenance has been performed). A new shortblock was installed under warranty, but a year later, it smokes like crazy. The needle jet in the carb is stuck open, so I had to install an inline fuel shutoff so it wouldn't hydrolock after sitting. I've had to replace the bearing assembly for the blades 3 times (they snapped the ears off where they bolt to the deck), and in general, it cuts like crap.

Nov 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great mower!!
by: Anonymous

I love our Husqvarna mower! I will agree with one of the others about the headlight wires coming loose. I thought it was from me running the mower into the inside of the building! She's a tough one! I think it is a great purchase!

Aug 25, 2011
Rating
star
Husqvarna YTH20K46 Riding Lawn Mower
by: sandy blackwell

this is the worst lawn mower i have ever had i've replaced the battery twice i've replaced the starter headlights have had a short in them my seat has ripped all up now the engine is blown and i've had it close to 4 years i've changed the oil like i was supposed to and kohler or husqvarna want do anything about it tomato

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
star
RUN AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Dustin Oliver

I have owned a 48" Husqvarna riding lawn mower for 7 horrific years i would tell you the things i have had to replace on it but the list would be much shorter to tell what i haven't. it has the 18 HP. Kawasaki engine which at this moment will only idle it had a major oil leak after one year i took it back to the local dealer to be fixed under warranty by the time he got to it it was 18 months old he supposedly fixed it but within 6 months it was leaking again and now out of warranty. so much for supporting the local guy i couldve gotten that kind of treatment from the big box store at least it wouldn't have cost as much! And for those skeptics who are thinking i wasnt taking care of it? after every use i would clean the mower deck, clean off excess grass with compressed air, read and follow the maintenance guide like my life depended on it, and store it in my heated daylight basement. Hows that for care. I wouldn't recommend this line of lawnmowers to someone i hated.

Sep 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Husqvarna 23 HP 48 in tractor
by: Anonymous

Mine has 550 hours on it and is probably 4/5 years old. 23 hp/ 48 in deck. B & S engine just starting to burn a little oil. Mower is basicly good but stamped metal deck will not withstand hard bumps on protruding tree stumps and will bend putting spindles out of alignment with each other...Also sandy soil will eat thru parts of the deck. Has good power, is comfortable, hydrostatic trans with reverse foot pedal is nice feature over models that require shifting into reverse. Has good power, is economical on gas. Was a good value from Sears at end of season sale for around $1,200 with rebates.

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
star
YTH20K46
by: Anonymous

Nothing but trouble for me. Lowes installed the mulch kits.... clogged up the deck, damaged the spindles.
Wouldn't even drive any longer. Had the local dealer pick it up and repair it. He asked where did you get mulch kits.... shouldn't even be on this tractor.
The whole deck is ruined now the height is all screwed up.
I hate this mower, make me an offer.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Riding mowers main page.